Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Well Known Rescue Centre

• 18-10-2012 10:08am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭

Hi

I don't know if I am allowed to mention this Irish Rescue Centre so for now I will not mention their name.

This morning, I logged into Facebook and I noticed that this rescue centre had posted up a photo of new basset cross pups looking to be rehomed. I called them up and enquired as to what genders/how old they were etc and I told the man on the phone that I would be very interested in adopting one.

I currently have a 7 year old Golden Retriever, he is an outdoor dog, he is a really well looked after dog, we love and care for him so much. He gets a walk twice a day, he has a million toys, he loves to be groomed so I will bring him into a certain room every evening and I'll groom him for about 1-2 hours while I watch tv and he doses off on me. His kennel outdoors is about 5 times the size of an average kennel.

Anyways, I told the man on the phone that I owned a 7 year old golden retriever who lives outdoors and that one of these pups would make a great friend for him and a great addition to the family. Instead of been grateful that I was showing an interest he took my head off on the phone, he said "let me get this straight, your golden retriever is outdoors 24/7 apart from a few hours in the evening, that is disgraceful, as far as we are concerned he is not a member of your family, we would not allow one of our animals to be rehomed to someone like you".

To say I am furious would be an understatement. I am a huge animal lover. I care for my dog more than anything in this world and to be told I am irresponsible and cruel solely because he is an outdoor dog is very upsetting. If this is the way they are treating all their callers then no wonder there are so many animals without a home.

I do understand certain dogs are not outdoor dogs and I said this to him, but he is of the opinion that no dog should ever have to live outdoors.

What do other people think of this? I'm quite shocked and also a bit annoyed that they are accusing me of been an irresponsible dog owner, I hate animal abuse and in years to come I will have animals running all over my home, but at the moment I live with my parents and they do not want an indoor dog.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭golden8

Some dogs are better of outdoors but some dogs are house dogs. It all really depends on the breed of dog you have. I have a lab and shes indoors, whenever its warm enough the patio door is left open and she can come and go as shes pleases sometimes she stays out (her choice) sometimes shes in. She has basically the run of everything.

You do have to respect their wishes as it does state on the website.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Most rescues have blanket rules so that potential adopters will fulfil the rehoming criteria.

Dogs sleeping in the house would be probably one of the more popular rules and especially with pups.

I'm not going to argue pros and cons but you have to remember that for every 1 great and responsible dog owner who keeps a dog outside there will be 10 others who will just leave the dog out the back, forget about it and then probably return it to the rescue with a nice dose of behavioural issues. Most rescues are so busy, often run by volunteers, that there's no time to investigate every applicant that doesn't meet the criteria. However most rescues will try to get a good feel for the applicants situation before making a decision.

I do think the rescue could have communicated their reasons for having this rule with you in a much better manner. I can completely see why you'd be annoyed and frankly their attitude just widens the divide between people interested in rescuing a dog and the rescues themselves.

Most rescues have their rehoming criteria up on their sites so you can have a look before you contact them or you could get a pup from your local pound where there are no criteria for adoption save having the release and licence fee in your hand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,099 ✭✭✭maggiepip

Cheeky_gal wrote: »
    Hi

I don't know if I am allowed to mention this Irish Rescue Centre so for now I will not mention their name.

This morning, I logged into Facebook and I noticed that this rescue centre had posted up a photo of new basset cross pups looking to be rehomed. I called them up and enquired as to what genders/how old they were etc and I told the man on the phone that I would be very interested in adopting one.

I currently have a 7 year old Golden Retriever, he is an outdoor dog, he is a really well looked after dog, we love and care for him so much. He gets a walk twice a day, he has a million toys, he loves to be groomed so I will bring him into a certain room every evening and I'll groom him for about 1-2 hours while I watch tv and he doses off on me. His kennel outdoors is about 5 times the size of an average kennel.

Anyways, I told the man on the phone that I owned a 7 year old golden retriever who lives outdoors and that one of these pups would make a great friend for him and a great addition to the family. Instead of been grateful that I was showing an interest he took my head off on the phone, he said "let me get this straight, your golden retriever is outdoors 24/7 apart from a few hours in the evening, that is disgraceful, as far as we are concerned he is not a member of your family, we would not allow one of our animals to be rehomed to someone like you".

To say I am furious would be an understatement. I am a huge animal lover. I care for my dog more than anything in this world and to be told I am irresponsible and cruel solely because he is an outdoor dog is very upsetting. If this is the way they are treating all their callers then no wonder there are so many animals without a home.

I do understand certain dogs are not outdoor dogs and I said this to him, but he is of the opinion that no dog should ever have to live outdoors.

What do other people think of this? I'm quite shocked and also a bit annoyed that they are accusing me of been an irresponsible dog owner, I hate animal abuse and in years to come I will have animals running all over my home, but at the moment I live with my parents and they do not want an indoor dog.

I totally agree with this man from the rescue centre. Why is you dog outside alone 24 hours a day?? Why is he not a member of your family life?? Two walks a day out of a 24hr day is better than what some poor dogs get but still leaves your poor dog alone for what? 22 hours a day........

Its not so much the "outside" part of it - its the sheer isolation of leaving a pack animal alone so much. Not fair. If you lived outside with him in a tent he would be as happy as larry outside. You have your dog isolated and alone for the most part of his life and that is wrong.

As for having "lots of toys" - dogs do not play alone apart from chewing. Dogs need interaction to play.

If you love your dog so very much why are you so afraid of getting a few dog hairs on your carpet???? Cant you convince your parents of this??? Very easy to hoover up.

Many of these rescue dogs are from such isolated lives and they certainly do not want to send them back to another (although a friend for your dog would greatly enhance his life).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,208 ✭✭✭fatmammycat

OP I actually know which rescue you're talking about, and they're amazingly good at what they do and put the need of their dogs- indeed all their animals- first. Your set up doesn't sound ideal to me either to be honest and bassets are not really outdoor dogs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Cheeky_gal

OP I actually know which rescue you're talking about, and they're amazingly good at what they do and put the need of their dogs- indeed all their animals- first. You're set up doesn't sound ideal to me either to be honest and bassets are not really outdoor dogs.

Hi fatmammycat,

That is all well and good. As I said in my OP, I know certain dogs and more suited to indoors. Also, if that is their policy that is grand. It was their manner and accusations which were appalling.

Hi fatmammycat,

That is all well and good. As I said in my OP, I know certain dogs and more suited to indoors. Also, if that is their policy that is grand. It was their manner and accusations which were appalling.

Agree, he could have worded it better, but in my experience, folk who work with rescues are up to their eye-balls and not always as...er, diplomatic, with people as they could be because of what they see and deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,816 ✭✭✭unclebill98

Rescues places find the right family for the dog not the other way around.

However he seemed to annoy you in his tone over the phone which is not nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Papillon!

I went to a Rescure Centre a month ago with my boyfriend who wanted to adopt a cat. The receptionist there were really unhelpful as it was quarter to 5.

To her it was her job and she obviously wanted to get home, but it was appalling the way she spoke to us and she clearly didnt give a crap that he was so keen to fill out an adoption form.

This other lad came along and we got a quick look around anyway.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,772 ✭✭✭✭Whispered

It says very clearly on their website that they expect pups to live indoors. Why would you expect him to be grateful that you expressed an interest?

Whispered wrote: »
    It says very clearly on their website that they expect pups to live indoors. Why would you expect him to be grateful that you expressed an interest?

I never looked at their website. I saw a photo, I phoned 11811, got their number, and I phoned them to enquire.

All he needed to say was "our policy is this", instead he verbally abuses me.

There was absolutely no need. I am amazed that you think this is acceptable behaviour.

I didn't comment on his behaviour at all. I pointed out that their policy is very clear had you looked at it, and asked why you would think he should be grateful to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

It doesn't cost anything to be polite to people

- perhaps if they took the time to explain why they have the policy to a person unfamiliar with it they might get people to change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

My two dogs are outside dogs - but that is their choice (seriously). They are not comfortable indoors now (except for firework nights, when the two of them sit quivering on my lap).

The first lad we got as a pup - he gradually spent more and more time outside. It was March when we got him. So with summer coming in - he decided to stay outside at night in the shed in his bed. I gave him the choice to come in.
    The second dog (Westie), I got for a house dog - but he decided to go out and live with Pippin outside.

I had to put down the Pippin at five years old. And the Westie was lost by himself. So then got a miniature Jack Russell, again as a house dog, guess where she went....

I bring the dogs in on the really cold nights and the firework nights. During the two cold winters - they would come in for the night - but they would want to go out again. They are more comfortable outside. But I leave the back door open most of the day. we have a lot of interaction with them throughout the day.

Back on track - a dog outside doesn't necessarily mean it is abandoned. His reaction was over the top, there was no need to be that rude to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭ppink

Hi

I think most rescues have this policy now purely from experience, it does sound like he could have told you in a better way though....after all it is his opportunity to explain that indoor has advantages also.
    totally agree with Pawrick's point.

Indoor/outdoor is very individual. we always had outdoor farm dogs but to be fair they were never alone from 6am to 10pm anyway with all the comings and goings.
    However I did inherit a couple of outdoor dogs and when they moved indoors I saw a completely different creature! I dont think (personal-no scientific basis!!) that pack/herd/group animals do well alone for prolonged periods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,003 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

While I personally don't like to see dogs outside 24/7, sometimes it is necessary. For example my old Jack Russell cross would cry and cry anytime she came inside, even just as far as inside the back door. She hated it with a passion, wouldn't come in even if you gave her a lifetimes supply of pigs ears! Some rescues are kinda kicking themselves here, I think they should assess the individual cases rather than a blanket ban on all outdoor dogs. What if the dog is outside in a secure run, big huge insulated shed to sleep in, the family spend all their time out with the dog and bringing it places and they just literally sleep outside? Sometimes it's not a case of the dog is just thrown out the back and forgotten about, they could be happier outside than inside. Obviously some special needs cases, and toy dogs will need to be indoors, but I don't see any reason that a basset couldn't be kept outside after puppyhood is over, and once the place is secure, I hear they are wanderers. They are a hunting breed after all! And all that's going to happen is that the people that the rescue refuse are going to go and find a breeder who won't give a damn where the pup is kept, and make room for more litters. (not saying all breeders are like this, but ye know yerselves they are out there!) Not saying this is what you would do OP but I've known of a few cases where rescues refused to home an animal to someone then they went out and bought an obvious puppy farm dog... it's just sad really!

Bassets are very much people dogs and very vocal about being left alone or outside. Yes, they're bred as hunters, but to be part of a large pack. If the OP's parents don't want a retriever in their home, can you imagine their reaction to a howling, digger scent hound who moults 24/7 and wants to be inside?

But what of the individual dog itself doesn't like being inside? There would be the retriever outside so there would be company for each other.. not saying it's what I would do, but I can see that maybe that's what the OP was thinking, the dog wouldn't be on their own as they would have each other. I dunno, just trying to see it from all points of view I suppose!

This is exactly it. He would have a great friend in my Retriever! I feel like the guy who answered the phone really dismissed me without even understanding my situation.

We had a dog behaviourist (friend of the family) in our home recently, and she said that our dog seemed like such a healthy/happy dog.

Tbh, I think it is a crazy policy for a rescue shelter to have. However, I do respect and accept that it is their policy. I think it should be reviewed and perhaps they should send a person out to your home to assess your situation.

It is a pity as I would love to adopt a dog but now I know this is never going to happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭Papillon!

What about checking out your local pound? There are so many gorgeous dogs in pounds :)

Agree with the above, pounds aren't discriminatory, they just want to get the dogs out alive!

This is exactly it. He would have a great friend in my Retriever! I feel like the guy who answered the phone really dismissed me without even understanding my situation.

We had a dog behaviourist (friend of the family) in our home recently, and she said that our dog seemed like such a healthy/happy dog.

Tbh, I think it is a crazy policy for a rescue shelter to have. However, I do respect and accept that it is their policy. I think it should be reviewed and perhaps they should send a person out to your home to assess your situation.

It is a pity as I would love to adopt a dog but now I know this is never going to happen.

I think it's a reasonable policy, considering that many outdoor dogs only get an hour or two of company a day. Which really is not enough. I know there are some wonderful outdoor dog owners on the forum who probably spend more time with their dogs than I do with mine who live on my couch. But the worry is that this is not always the case. Rescues really are just trying to ensure they do the very best for the animals they currently have in their care.

I know you have the best of intentions, but a puppy really is not suitable for going to a new home and being placed outside. Their formative months are so very important. And I think in Ireland it's too cold in autumn to have a young pup sleep outside, even on our milder autumn nights. There is no guarantee that your older dog will allow a pup snuggle in for warmth either. Phoe is here nearly 2 years now and Harley, while he loves playing and wrestling with him, still only just about tolerates him when he is in a snuggly sleepy mood. So the other dog is not really a guarantee of warmth.

You could take a dog from the pound. They have no criteria for rehoming other than the legalities of licensing etc. I would suggest if you're going to do this to look at dogs no younger than 6 months, and maybe a bitch so your fella can have a little girlfriend in his life rather than a little upstart dog.

If you pay close attention to their coats/breed and choose a type who could cope with being outdoors. My staffy really feels the cold and would be miserable outside, his coat is just too thin. I'm not sure what breeds in particular would be suitable, but I'm sure people here would be able to tell you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 183 ✭✭sionnaic

Bassets are very much people dogs and very vocal about being left alone or outside. Yes, they're bred as hunters, but to be part of a large pack. If the OP's parents don't want a retriever in their home, can you imagine their reaction to a howling, digger scent hound who moults 24/7 and wants to be inside?

I have a basset and this description is dead on...made me chuckle!!
    They're very needy and emotional (my 4 stone lump is lying across my lap on the couch nudging me for an ear scratch as I type)
    They're also really not that hardy - prone to chronic joint and ear and eye and digestion problems. (3k vet bills this year and counting!)
    And they feel the cold as their coat isn't very thick - we have a collie cross as well and he doesn't feel the cold at all in comparison.
    He also has a bark that sounds like it should come from a Great Dane and carries for miles
    You really need to be sure you want a basset...they're not for the faint hearted! I love him but he can be hard work & frustrating
    Trust me when I say they don't stay small adorably cute puppies for long. We rescued ours at 4 months from ppl who got him as an uber cute pup and then decided he was too big and hard to train...at 4 months old!!!

I wouldn't dream of having him as an outdoor dog (personally I detest that ppl think outdoor dogs are ok anyway)

Rescue ppl can come across as quite abrupt or even rude sometimes (my experience with 5 or 6 different places). But (particularly in the rescue under discussion) they are usually incredibly overworked and regularly have to deal with the aftermath of terrible neglect and abuse. These ppl in question in the OP have literally devoted their entire life, home and money to rescuing animals. They're incredibly dedicated. They insist on the best life they can get for their animals and are totally right to refuse an outdoor home for an 8-week old tiny pup. Pups need constant care and supervision. And any dog deserves more than just a couple of hours attention a day.
    They are also basset rescue specialists.
    They were so helpful to us once they knew we weren't time wasters and open to learning about what was best for a dog, gave us loads of advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,461 ✭✭✭Queen-Mise

sionnaic wrote: »

I wouldn't dream of having him as an outdoor dog (personally I detest that ppl think outdoor dogs are ok anyway)

Would you get that chip of your shoulder.

There is no problem with outside dogs. My dogs would end up in therapy if I forced them into the house. They are happier outside. They get really nervous spending time in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭boomerang

I used to be 'indoors is the only way' but I'm more open-minded about it now. It really all depends on what the dog is used to. They are creatures of routine. If they've always slept outside, that's generally where they're most comfortable. (Except for greyhounds, possibly, who take to home comforts like they were born to it, lol!) So long as outdoor dogs have company, are treated as part of the family and get to come indoors to spend time with the family, I'd never rule it out. Especially if the the pooch has another dog for company and get plenty of walks and outings.

Unfortunately though there are plenty of people whose dog really lives on the fringes of their lives and is confined to the back garden to be out of the way, given food, and that's about it, really. This is what rescues are afraid of. That's why home visits by a rescue are great - you don't have to stick unbendingly to a rule because you can't tell for sure what kind of outdoor home the dog will be getting. When you can meet people at home and they show you the set up they envisage, you can be a lot more flexible and understanding.

That said, being outside really isn't for ever dog, depending on age and breed. And outdoor dogs barking at night is such a flamin' nuisance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 955 ✭✭✭Scruffles

I never looked at their website. I saw a photo, I phoned 11811, got their number, and I phoned them to enquire.

All he needed to say was "our policy is this", instead he verbally abuses me.

There was absolutely no need. I am amazed that you think this is acceptable behaviour.
    it was rude how he spoke and perhaps shoud think about putting in a complaint so they will realise they coud actualy be putting off people,obviously offended people are going to tell others arent they?

have had a similar situation in england,am not wanting to put negativity on the sanctuary as it has done amazing things over the years so wont mention their name but we were looking for a domesticated; non feral/barn cat for a long time for our farm,the farm is not only lived on it has many people on it all the time and the cat was also to have their own large comfortable bungalow type building.
    it had different cat beds all around the walls and we also had a IP webcam to watch her when we werent there which is a lot more than what most people who have a regular residential setting do.

anyway had gone to check the cats out,they were very understanding for disability needs of mine as far as that was concerned,and was shown all of their beautiful kittehs.
    being a huge cat lover was also looking at the older and special needs cats to as our family home has never been without a special needs or disabled cat, was willing to take a seven year old which had behavioral issues and was a long stay resident,however they asked staff of mine about the setup the cat will live in and as soon as they heard 'farm' they zoned out on the rest, they assumed it was a industrial type farm which ours isnt-its a private farm for people with autism or learning disability,they look and run very differently.
    she refused to come out and do a visit and had a go at staff for coming there because they were not 'farm cats' and we shoud only be looking for ferrals/barn cats.

we gave up,spent a few months searching and eventualy after much searching on uk sites like preloved came across an amazing two year old tortie and white girl called lottie whose parents were moving to another country,kept them updated all the time with photos and stories how she is getting on,she was in heaven at our farm with her own house and all the beds [the barn cats had to share the barns] ,the poshest food,mice on demand,she had all the farm cats under her command with a flick of her tail,she had a boyfriend; kai who she shared her dinner with,she loved the constant attention...a neighbour across the road had started feeding her however,and encouraging her to stay at her house and one day there had been a crash at a main road not far away; they had detoured everyone down our farm road and poor lottie had been going there at the time,a speeding driver had hit in the head as she was going to this ladies house.

we have another cat now called missy,however she was a stray who had started going to a friend of the farm owners and was untraceable but she didnt want to put her in sanctuaries.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,731 ✭✭✭Bullseye1

You will always meet unpleasant people in every walk of life. He sound particularly unpleasant. I would log a complaint. Some people think dogs are people which is ridiculous. Dogs like being outside. Mine happens to sleep inside but once your provide a secure and warm kennel outside I see no problem with keeping them outside.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,957 ✭✭✭Magenta

Scruffles wrote: »
    it was rude how he spoke and perhaps shoud think about putting in a complaint so they will realise they coud actualy be putting off people,obviously offended people are going to tell others arent they?

Why don't you ring them up and tell them your issues rather than complaining behind their backs on an internet forum where they will likely never see it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭Ms2011

Whispered wrote: »

I think it's a reasonable policy, considering that many outdoor dogs only get an hour or two of company a day. Which really is not enough.

Just out of curiousity, how much individual time would each dog in a rescue get on a daily basis?

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Ms2011 wrote: »

Just out of curiousity, how much individual time would each dog in a rescue get on a daily basis?

Not as much for the short while it's there as it will when placed in a well-chosen new home, I suspect.

DBB wrote: »

Not as much for the short while it's there as it will when placed in a well-chosen new home, I suspect.

Would the policy be more flexible for more long term residents?

I can't and won't speak for other rescues. But I will say that any long term (2-3+ weeks) dogs that I take in are placed in foster care til they're rehomed.
    It has been levelled at me before that I can hardly insist that the dogs I rehome are indoor dogs, when I keep them in kennels while they're here (short termers). But I think that given the transient nature of their stay here, and given that I'd rehome zero dogs unless I kennelled them as I've nowhere else to put them, that a stay in kennels that's barely longer than an average owner's fortnight-in-the-sun holiday, is a pretty good compromise for the dogs. They come from a home where they're not wanted, at best, or at worst come from horrendous neglect and abuse. They spend a few weeks in a super kenneling facility til they're ready for rehoming, then off they go to their new forever (indoor, as it happens, with occasional exceptions depending on the dog) home. Not too shabby.
    But, I speak for myself only here.

That's good, the reason I ask is I've seen 'long termers' (as in months) on rescues Facebook pages & it occured to me that if policies were more flexible that these dogs might be adopted quicker, I can't see how a warm kennel outside is worse than a long term stay in a rescue?
    Also how can you ensure that a dog who is placed in an indoor home will never end up outside?

That's good, the reason I ask is I've seen 'long termers' (as in months) on rescues Facebook pages & it occured to me that if policies were more flexible that these dogs might be adopted quicker, I can't see how a warm kennel outside is worse than a long term stay in a rescue?
    Also how can you ensure that a dog who is placed in an indoor home will never end up outside?

You can ensure nothing when it comes to humans, to be honest!
    The best you can do is do the home checks, make as sure as you can that the new home ticks all the "commitment" boxes, and to be honest, you get better at spotting potential problems with experience. You get pretty good at knowing who's genuine, but I'm not aware if any foolproof system. You can only seriously reduce the chances.
    For what it's worth, I have serious issues with some rescues holding onto dogs for months, years on end in kennels. It is so bad for dogs, and hardened as I am, I recently stood in tears in a very well known rescue centre, so upset I was to see so many dogs turning into un-rehomable basket cases, having spent too long in this high-stress environment. In some cases, dogs need to be rescued from rescues.
    I won't place a dog in an outdoor home for the sake of getting him a home... He'll stay in his foster home for as long as it takes. But I will place a dog in an outdoor home if he has clearly shown he prefers this, and as long as the owner is an outdoorsy type with whom the dog can spend plenty of time. But now that I think of it, I can only think of two dogs that fell into this category!
    I think it misses the point to say the dog suffers if not living inside. I think it's more correct to say that dogs suffer if left without social contact, no matter what the breed. So, e.g. a working farm collie tends to get oodles of social contact (and work), and lives happily outside in a comfy shelter. I suspect there are lonely dogs living indoors too! But by the law of averages, people who enthusiastically want an indoor rescue dog are more likely to provide for the dog's social needs, whilst on the other hand, wayyyy too many Irish owners abandon their dogs to a life of near-solitude in the garden.
    So, people looking for an outdoor dog have a whole lot of convincing to do to satisfy a rescue that they're not one of these all-too-common owners. I can understand where OP's rescue was coming from, but really, the way it was dealt with by the rescue is bad form indeed. I have felt like strangling the person at the other end of the phone, I admit, but I hope I'd not be so rude, but rather try to educate them with facts n figures. I hope :-)

DBB wrote: »
    So, people looking for an outdoor dog have a whole lot of convincing to do to satisfy a rescue that they're not one of these all-too-common owners. I can understand where OP's rescue was coming from, but really, the way it was dealt with by the rescue is bad form indeed. I have felt like strangling the person at the other end of the phone, I admit, but I hope I'd not be so rude, but rather try to educate them with facts n figures. I hope :-)

This is what I was trying to say but you worded it much better! Why not ascertain the individual circumstance rather than, as said above, despising all people who keep dogs outdoors? I just have a pet peeve against rude people! not so long ago it was nearly unheard of to have an indoor dog, not that I would ever keep a dog outdoors again myself, but it seems crazy to me the almost snobbery that seems to be around indoor dogs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭LucyBliss

Here's the thing though: a good friend recently lost her dog due to the dog's declining health in old age. She works full time but the dog was well exercised every evening and the two of them had an especial bond like you wouldn't believe.
    Two weeks ago, her next door neighbours (a young couple with a baby) went on holidays and my friend offered to feed the dogs and exercise them. The couple aren't exactly committed owners. One dog is a GSD who was an indoor dog for five years until the baby came along and then it was unceremoniously booted out into the garden. Because it was making noise, naturally enough at its new position, they got another dog from a rescue in the east of the country to keep it company - in the garden. When my friend asked the husband how much food the dogs would need, he shrugged and said, oh 3 days worth, save you having to bother to come in. My friend said, no she'd be in every day to make sure they were okay. Both dogs have been walked every day by her. Both are starved for human affection. She said the GSD in particular now comes over and sits beside her for ten minutes worth of petting time when she arrives in the morning to see if they're okay.

This couple have no real interest in their dogs but because the wife is home full time, they got a second dog from that rescue. My friend is a complete dog lover who has family and other friends as a back up when her dog needed to be checked on at any time or needed someone to mind it when she was away. Most of the time, the dog came with her on family holidays anyway. But because she works, no rescue will give her a dog.

I'm not saying the policy of the rescues are wrong. Of course they want the best for their dogs. But when you have people getting dogs under false pretences and others who really want a dog and would do whatever it took to make it work (she took two weeks off when she got her last dog thirteen years ago so they could hang out and get used to one another), it just makes me a bit cross and makes me wish for a bit more leniency in some cases.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

My pal had the most georgous golden retriever - had ite IBM basket in the corner of the kitchen; lots of activity- people coming & going, TV etc. Two years old. Off it went for the first time to kennels for a fortnight ... < boom> came home zn " outdoor " dog!! Howled to be let out, sleeps outside under s bush, dashes outside to frisk about the garden every opportunity it can. Unbelievable transformation!!! She wants it be an indoor dog but it's not having any!!!

My dog was supposed to be an outdoor dog- sleeping in it's insulated kennel on a sheepskin rug,digging manly holes & keeping burglars at bay in the garden.
    Well that didn't happen!!

Each dog is different. I agree that the rescue guy sounded as if he was rude but think if the stress he's under night & day - and mostly all because of uncaring pet owners. They have rules & mabye he thought " cute puppy spotter - no research done" , no planning done & that's why he was so short. Shouldn't have happened.

I'd agree with him re puppies not being left all day .& puppies & indoors - & its coming into Winter - but then again that's me .

Either way no doubt you can rescue one elsewhere - one unseen cute begal puppy is much the same as the next - or you could buy one & then nobody can lay down terms & conditions that will prevent you from getting one.

As someone else said - many people do just leave their poor dog alone in the back all day - some of my neighbours do - & it's dreadful to see and hear their howling.
    ( sorted now!)

LucyBliss wrote: »
    She said the GSD in particular now comes over and sits beside her for ten minutes worth of petting time when she arrives in the morning to see if they're okay.

I would well believe it, poor thing. My fellow likes nothing more than a few minutes cuddling in the morning, actively seeks it (I know how this makes me sound, but what the hell). I"ve never had a more affectionate dog before. He just loves being with people.