Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drivers knock down cyclist(Video)

• 18-10-2012 8:18am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭

This is unbelieveable!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,184 ✭✭✭Kenno90

Sweet Jesus :eek:

People always complain about cyclists but the drivers are the worst

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,152 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Hit by one car and then another driver tried to finish the job! Unreal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

That woman in the focus needs her car confiscating and crushing pronto, a lobotomy wouldn't go astray either. I am assuming the first guy who clipped him drove off? Sorry, have no sound in work - or did he come back?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,669 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

Saw this on motors and the posters were almost universally astounded by the woman in the focus especially...
    Nutjob.......

Surveyor11 wrote: »
    That woman in the focus needs her car confiscating and crushing pronto, a lobotomy wouldn't go astray either. I am assuming the first guy who clipped him drove off? Sorry, have no sound in work - or did he come back?

He parked over the other side of the road...

But yea, the Focus driver should loose her licence, didn't have a clue that there was a cyclist under her wheels! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Surveyor11 wrote: »

He stays. Appears sincerly sorry, trys to help, etc etc. Woman spends entire video trying to defend her self.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,036 ✭✭✭Surveyor11

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    He parked over the other side of the road...

Ok, well at least he didn't keep going, although his number plate is a clear as day in the picture...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

At 0.47 does he say "I ain't got a licence"?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

One was an accident, the other was sheer incompetence.

She'll probably get a slap on the wrist and a fine, she pleaded "not guilty" even after seeing the video according to the youtube description.

The fact that people like this don't get banned from driving or at least put on some kind of probationary register (do something again in 3 yrs and lose your license, for example) is beyond me. She is a danger on the roads for being unable to handle a car, no awareness, etc. yet we live in a world where it's everyone's God given right to drive a car, whether they are capable of it or not. And don't mention driving tests, hell in this country you can still fail your test and drive home. The test itself is a joke, driving around an estate somehow prepares you for driving in zero visibility, wet weather at 120 km/hr on a motorway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

buffalo wrote: »
    At 0.47 does he say "I ain't got a licence"?

I think it was "I aint going to lie to you bro..."

Was good to see the other motorists volunteer their details as witnesses.

Posted about this on the motoring forum, and after watching it several times, still cant work our how the focus driver did not see him fall right infront of her.

Whilst both drivers are to blame her actions and responce are inexcusable, pleading innocence throughout, and continuing to do so in court recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,505 ✭✭✭✭DirkVoodoo

irish-stew wrote: »
    Posted about this on the motoring forum, and after watching it several times, still cant work our how the focus driver did not see him fall right infront of her.

Whilst both drivers are to blame her actions and responce are inexcusable, pleading innocence throughout, and continuing to do so in court recently.

Who knows, probably texting as she was waiting to get to the top of the queue, saw a gap and just hit the gas. Shocking driving regardless of what her reasons may be.

"I didn't see you" is not an excuse, it's an admission of incompetence.

However, in most cases, assuming that everyone is going to say "I didn't see you" is probably a good way to cycle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

irish-stew wrote: »

Is there follow up stories online?

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

We had a big discussion about this about a year ago;) (post #27)

AGC wrote: »

Only so far that the case was delayed until sept of this year, so that the court could play the cyclists video evidence.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

Kenno90 wrote: »
    People always complain about cyclists but the drivers are the worst

Which drivers? I think all road users are capable of being equally bad.

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭wayne0308

AGC wrote: »

If you watch the video on youtube itself there is some info:
    Driving without due care and attention.
    Driver one (the man) OF Harrow, PLEADED GUILTY ( His statement was that he's insurance company told not to plead not guilty as there was no damage to his car but on seeing the video he pleaded guilty). : RECEIVED SIX POINT AND A £230 FINE.
    Drive two (the woman) of Hanwell, has pleaded NOT GUILITY even on view the video. The court case has been delay until sep 2012 due to the court has not the facility to play the video format (.MOV).

I can't believe it was delayed just because they couldn't download vlc player or quicktime player which would play it no problem.

How the woman could not see him even though he was thrown from the bike in full view of her is mad. Scary stuff! Makes the helmet cam seem like a worthwhile investment.

Yea would be interesting to see what happened to the Focus driver...

Probably careless driving or driving without due care and attention, 4 points + £ fine?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

That's shocking. Fair play to the cyclist, he remained very composed and quite calm throughout.

The subsequent activity is very odd too, given that it's quote obviously the scene of a traffic incident (and potentially a serious one - if I saw a bike lying under a car like that I'd assume the worst):

* The female driver walking backwards onto the side road, in front of traffic trying to join the main road, apparently in order to take a picture of her car with her phone. You'd have thought she'd used up her quota of stupid for the day already.

* The cars at the junction continuing to push and shove to make space for themselves (which is the kind of thing that caused the accident in the first place). That happens all the time, but you'd have thought the sight of an accident would have at least calmed people down a bit and made them less pushy in the immediate aftermath.

* The truck that edges further and further out of the side road as the police car tries to get by it. Huh?

With the odd exception it seemed like people just continued on as if nothing had happened, or worse, got even more impatient and annoyed at the added delay to their own journey. Charming.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 11,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hermy

doozerie wrote: »
    With the odd exception it seemed like people just continued on as if nothing had happened, or worse, got even more impatient and annoyed at the added delay to their own journey. Charming.

There's nothing as queer as folk.:(

Genealogy Forum Mod

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

I think it was "I aint going to lie to you bro..."

Was good to see the other motorists volunteer their details as witnesses.

You're right. He says that several times later in the video as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Yea would be interesting to see what happened to the Focus driver...

Probably careless driving or driving without due care and attention, 4 points + £ fine?

I hope they throw the book at her.

The first driver did something stupid but realised what he'd done. This woman - on the video at least - doesn't seem to think she's done anything wrong, and that "I didn't see you" is a complete defence. Since she's pleading Not Guilty, I assume she's sticking to that. In my book, that makes her by far the more dangerous of the two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

Not only that, but she doesn't seem to care if he's injured or not. She barely talks to him, she just potters about her car muttering to herself.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

CramCycle response: Watches video, buys camera,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I can't believe how calm and composed he was. He must either be a buddhist monk, or have been severely concussed. If that was me I think I'd have to be restrained! I'd have been pulling the bike out from under the car just to wrap it around her neck, or worse. I was livid just looking at the bloody video!
    Fair play to the lad who knocked him down, he seemed to take full responsibility for his actions and appeared to be a decent soul. Yer wan though - utter scum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Zyzz

CramCycle wrote: »
    CramCycle response: Watches video, buys camera,

Already got a GoPro on the way :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,278 ✭✭✭kenmc

I'm also extremely confused as to what in the world has possessed the stupid wench to plead "not guilty". I mean like the bike is clearly under her car. Oh - silly me - the bloody cyclist probably planted it there instead of paying road tax or something - those hippies are always up to scams like that. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

That's some vid alright.

At no point does the woman who drove over the bike (you'd think the scraping sound would catch her attention) say either "I am sorry" or "Are you ok?"

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

How much do these helmet cams run to? I could have done with one last year when some dozy yoke ploughed into me at an offset junction. "The light was green" apparently makes it OK to drive over someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,452 ✭✭✭SomeFool

How much do these helmet cams run to? I could have done with one last year when some dozy yoke ploughed into me at an offset junction. "The light was green" apparently makes it OK to drive over someone.

I use one of these, if I can figure out how to edit video and post on youtube I'll pop up a clip for you but I find the quality of sound and video to be excellent. I keep it mounted on the strap of my backpack.