Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Which crew cab for me?

• 15-10-2012 11:56am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭

Which crew cab for me: L200, Hilux, Navara, Ranger, KT200??? €5k budget, hoping for a 2003 upwards... Any other brands gladly considered;)

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

locky76 wrote: »
    Which crew cab for me: L200, Hilux, Navara, Ranger, KT200??? €5k budget, hoping for a 2003 upwards... Any other brands gladly considered;)

What are you going to be doing with it? Trailer work, school run etc? Had a travelling salesman in here with a Hi-lux and he was always moaning about it being very awkward with a trailer. 'As long as a train' he used to say.

I've never driven any of them but lot's of people complain about how uncomfortable they are in the back seat.:D;)

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 867 ✭✭✭locky76

blue5000 wrote: »
    What are you going to be doing with it? Trailer work, school run etc? Had a travelling salesman in here with a Hi-lux and he was always moaning about it being very awkward with a trailer. 'As long as a train' he used to say.

I've never driven any of them but lot's of people complain about how uncomfortable they are in the back seat.:D;)
    Tipping around at the weekend, I had a 1997 landcruiser LWB commercial but with the imminient arrival of child #2 i have to upgrade to a 5 seater, I only do about 3k miles per annum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

locky76 wrote: »
    Tipping around at the weekend, I had a 1997 landcruiser LWB commercial but with the imminient arrival of child #2 i have to upgrade to a 5 seater, I only do about 3k miles per annum.

like the man says what do you intend to use it for? if your not doign much work or mileage on it might not make sense to have one most only do about 25-30mpg

was driving an 2.4l l200 for a bit and it was fine for farm work but a bit rough on the road and a hure on diesel, the 2.8l versions are better for power and also on juice too.

was looking in to getting one about 2 years ago as I was throwing stuff into the car and sticking the trailer behind it. was chatting to a few lads in work who where in a similar situation.

one lad had a landcrusier which he used to going to work and also when buying and selling cattle and moving between home place and outside land, thing is he also dropped the kids to and from day care a couple of times a week, so on those days would take the car and his wife the jeep. that was fine except he would need to wait for the missus to get back from work if he needed the jeep in the evening (a couple of days a week). so he swapped the land cruiser for a hilux and is delighted as he a pop the kids in the back when he needs to and can bring the trailer to work and go straight to the farm/mart afterwards if he needs to.

Other lad had a hilux but was spending more time using it to go to and from work and picking up the kids then using it for towing and she was just guzzling diesel. so he swapped his 06 hilux for a 01 hilux and a 03 yaris. uses the yaris to go to work and general flying around and the hilux for farm work (but can still pop the kids into the back if need be). Picked up the car and hilux for less then he sold the other one for and even though he is paying more for tax and insurance his fuel bill is a lot lower. worked out his motoring costs are about 20% lower.

I on the other hand changed the car for a bigger one as I still need to get to and from work and also do a bit of trailer work but not enough to justify a 4x4.

grazeaway wrote: »
    like the man says what do you intend to use it for?
    Like I said, tipping away at the weekend, hauling a few cattle, shifting a few tonnes of 804, firing some paling posts into the back and going down the field fencing etc. etc. Just a general farm vehicle which i can take onto the road for trips etc.

Had a lad in with me last week with a Navarro, and he had mixed message on it. Already had the engine out twice and a few niggly probs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

Had a lad in with me last week with a Navarro, and he had mixed message on it. Already had the engine out twice and a few niggly probs.
    I had the engine out of mine twice this year.2500 grand later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Isuzu D Max with an auto box would be a good yoke.

Its a different 3 litre engine than the trooper

• Closed Accounts Posts: 156 ✭✭sheehan12

caseman wrote: »
    I had the engine out of mine twice this year.2500 grand later.
    what age is it . is it the 03/04 model d22 or new type d40..... what was wrong to cost 2500 grand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

like the man says what do you intend to use it for? if your not doign much work or mileage on it might not make sense to have one most only do about 25-30mpg

was driving an 2.4l l200 for a bit and it was fine for farm work but a bit rough on the road and a hure on diesel, the 2.8l versions are better for power and also on juice too.

was looking in to getting one about 2 years ago as I was throwing stuff into the car and sticking the trailer behind it. was chatting to a few lads in work who where in a similar situation.

one lad had a landcrusier which he used to going to work and also when buying and selling cattle and moving between home place and outside land, thing is he also dropped the kids to and from day care a couple of times a week, so on those days would take the car and his wife the jeep. that was fine except he would need to wait for the missus to get back from work if he needed the jeep in the evening (a couple of days a week). so he swapped the land cruiser for a hilux and is delighted as he a pop the kids in the back when he needs to and can bring the trailer to work and go straight to the farm/mart afterwards if he needs to.

Other lad had a hilux but was spending more time using it to go to and from work and picking up the kids then using it for towing and she was just guzzling diesel. so he swapped his 06 hilux for a 01 hilux and a 03 yaris. uses the yaris to go to work and general flying around and the hilux for farm work (but can still pop the kids into the back if need be). Picked up the car and hilux for less then he sold the other one for and even though he is paying more for tax and insurance his fuel bill is a lot lower. worked out his motoring costs are about 20% lower.

I on the other hand changed the car for a bigger one as I still need to get to and from work and also do a bit of trailer work but not enough to justify a 4x4.
    I found the L200 to be a good jeep, 120000 trouble free miles, no worse on diesel than any other jeep, traded it this week,just for a change, .....she's 02....she'll be a clean cheap jeep for someone

rancher wrote: »
    I found the L200 to be a good jeep, 120000 trouble free miles, no worse on diesel than any other jeep, traded it this week,just for a change, .....she's 02....she'll be a clean cheap jeep for someone

not saying they are a bad machine, i just found the 2.8 version better than the 2.4 and i was a bit suprised that the 2.8 was better on diesel. also found the same with the pajeros. its still an option i might go to maybe next year. we also have a small van at home for doing light work and picking up bits and pieces but its not great for towing. like my buddy at work i might get myself a good second had l200 or hilux and then pick up a small car for going to work and the shops/pub etc. the missus has the good car.

I think mine is a 2.5, what year was yours and was it turbo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 Dude1981

We have a 2003 Hilux 2.5D4D, Crew Cab

Advantages

>> Getting 37 - 39mpg
    >> Crew Cab handy for passengers
    >> Extremely reliable
    >> No problem towing

Bad Points

>> It's long with a trailer
    >> More expensive than other alternatives
    >> Not much else really!!

Excellent Jeep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

you'd be absolutely mad to buy a car and jeep.

For 3000 miles per annum it really doesnt make a huge difference what you get.

at 1.60 a litre your fuel bills would be as follows:

MPG €
    10 2184
    15 1456
    20 1092
    25 874
    30 728
    35 624
    40 546
    45 485
    50 437

25mpg would be costing you €73 a month. I spend that in a frickin week! and it still wouldnt pay me to have a car as well as the heap.

a second set of tax, insurance and nct bills will buy a fair bit of diesel

JohnBoy wrote: »
    you'd be absolutely mad to buy a car and jeep.

For 3000 miles per annum it really doesnt make a huge difference what you get.

at 1.60 a litre your fuel bills would be as follows:

MPG €
    10 2184
    15 1456
    20 1092
    25 874
    30 728
    35 624
    40 546
    45 485
    50 437

25mpg would be costing you €73 a month. I spend that in a frickin week! and it still wouldnt pay me to have a car as well as the heap.

a second set of tax, insurance and nct bills will buy a fair bit of diesel

Just telling you what the man told me. these are the approx figures he told me

Car cost him €3000, pick up cost him €2500
    Car, tax €280, insurance €350
    pick up, tax €310, insurance €400
    Fuel, car €120/month, pickup €100/month
    NCT €55, NVT €98
    Total for year €4133

Pick up on its own (sold it for about €10,000)
    Tax €310 insurance €550
    Fuel €450/month
    NVT €98
    Total for year €6358

Plus the price for tyres on the car is a lot less as are the other service costs. Reckons he wont have to change the tryes on the pick up for years, and things like bulbs, oil and filters are not much different. For him the reduced milage in the pickup is making a saving for him. mighnt be the same for everyone but there ya go.

Dude1981 wrote: »

We have a 2003 Hilux 2.5D4D, Crew Cab

Advantages

>> Getting 37 - 39mpg
    >> Crew Cab handy for passengers
    >> Extremely reliable
    >> No problem towing

Bad Points

>> It's long with a trailer
    >> More expensive than other alternatives
    >> Not much else really!!

Excellent Jeep
    Glad to hear it, just after buying a new one

You won't be sorry, great jeep. We had Pajero pre Hilux and it robbed us blind!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,025 ✭✭✭Tipp Man

Lads what are the Hilux like in fields? Can't imagine you can go the same places as a jeep?

Tipp Man wrote: »
    Lads what are the Hilux like in fields? Can't imagine you can go the same places as a jeep?
    Shouldn't be much different than L200 which went everywhere

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Have an 06 D-max 3.0L

30-32 mpg
    I do 13-15000km per year.
    €50 does 10 daysI came from a skoda superb to a D-max. Compared to te car it is a bit bumpy and a little rough on the road. I have it 18 months and have had no problems yet. All it got aws a service so far (due another 200km ago)
    Bottom line, its my first jeep ever on the farm and I wouldn't swop it for ferrari at this stage. It is slow and not as comfy as the car but the wife has a good car if I need to go a long journey and she loves driving the jeep for a day or two for novelty:D.
    They can be bought reasonably cheap, I paid €7350 when it was 5 years old with 90,000kms on the clock. half the money of a hilux for 7/8 the pick up.

The long wheelbase and weight is a big advantage, while you mite get into trouble in front the back is usually on better ground (and like wise).

We used it for drawing turf out of the Bog and it was excellent :-)

Just telling you what the man told me. these are the approx figures he told me

Car cost him €3000, pick up cost him €2500
    Car, tax €280, insurance €350
    pick up, tax €310, insurance €400
    Fuel, car €120/month, pickup €100/month
    NCT €55, NVT €98
    Total for year €4133

Pick up on its own (sold it for about €10,000)
    Tax €310 insurance €550
    Fuel €450/month
    NVT €98
    Total for year €6358

Plus the price for tyres on the car is a lot less as are the other service costs. Reckons he wont have to change the tryes on the pick up for years, and things like bulbs, oil and filters are not much different. For him the reduced milage in the pickup is making a saving for him. mighnt be the same for everyone but there ya go.

€450 a month in a modern hilux that does 30mpg at €1.60/l is 22k miles per annum.

€100 a month in an older hilux that does lets say 27mpg at €1.60/l is 4,450 miles per annum.

€120 a month in a yaris that does 50mpg at €1.70/l is 9308 miles per annum.

There's a shortfall in his maths.

to do the missing miles will add another hundred a month to his petrol bill, which still works out cheaper, but not by much, and I personally would rather not do 17k miles a year in a yaris.

to get similar mpg from a bigger/comfier car will push up the tax and insurance (which he's getting an amazing deal for on for the second vehicle) to erode even more of the savings.

I've done the maths, many many times. 20k miles with 20% in the jeep is probably around where it might start making sense.

it's closer to 30k with 20% in the car for a 2.5 passenger taxed jeep unfortunately.

Anyway, for our man here with 3k miles per annum it makes no sense to run two vehicles.

€450 a month in a modern hilux that does 30mpg at €1.60/l is 22k miles per annum.

€100 a month in an older hilux that does lets say 27mpg at €1.60/l is 4,450 miles per annum.

€120 a month in a yaris that does 50mpg at €1.70/l is 9308 miles per annum.

There's a shortfall in his maths.

to do the missing miles will add another hundred a month to his petrol bill, which still works out cheaper, but not by much, and I personally would rather not do 17k miles a year in a yaris.

to get similar mpg from a bigger/comfier car will push up the tax and insurance (which he's getting an amazing deal for on for the second vehicle) to erode even more of the savings.

I've done the maths, many many times. 20k miles with 20% in the jeep is probably around where it might start making sense.

it's closer to 30k with 20% in the car for a 2.5 passenger taxed jeep unfortunately.

Anyway, for our man here with 3k miles per annum it makes no sense to run two vehicles.

Older Hilux 2.5D4D does 35mpg ++

which only spreads the divide, 450 a month at 35mpg is just shy of 26k miles.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

I've drove through several crew cabs. Currently drive a Hi-Lux. It's fairly bulletproof. I previously drove a Mazda 2500 and an Isuzu D Max. Of the 3 the Mazda was the best off road, it would go anywhere. The Hi-Lux I find hard on ground, but it probably needs oversize tyres? For general driving comfort and towing the Hi-Lux is by far the pick of them.

which only spreads the divide, 450 a month at 35mpg is just shy of 26k miles.

havent heard of too many lads averaging 35mpg from the newer hilux's

that said i reckon the lad in work is using the wifes car more, met him in croke park this year and he used her car to drive up, in previous years he had the pick up. either way he is much happier these days.

as for the OP it might be tough to justify having a 4X4 for weekends but if you need one on the farm and will be carting kids around then id say the crew cab makes sense. but as you have already have a 4x4 then you proably need one and use it. as for what type, best to listen to the experts. from what i'm hearing the hilux is the best but you pay for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭DMAXMAN

whatever you do dont buy a navara!look up knackered navara if you want the reasons why. had a good clean one and it nearly broke me. happiest day came when i pawned it off to a garage when i bought the dmax. great jeep reasonably comfy on the road(fitted with oversize tyres, seemingly makes a fierce difference).often travelled 400 miles in a day in it and wouldn^t be any more tired than having drove the car for same distance. the only good thing for the navara was it was more manouverable than the isuzu

DMAXMAN wrote: »
    whatever you do dont buy a navara!look up knackered navara if you want the reasons why. had a good clean one and it nearly broke me. happiest day came when i pawned it off to a garage when i bought the dmax. great jeep reasonably comfy on the road(fitted with oversize tyres, seemingly makes a fierce difference).often travelled 400 miles in a day in it and wouldn^t be any more tired than having drove the car for same distance. the only good thing for the navara was it was more manouverable than the isuzu

Like the look of the d max but haven't seen a lot of them around. The country was full of troopers at one stage so they can't be too bad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

Like the look of the d max but haven't seen a lot of them around. The country was full of troopers at one stage so they can't be too bad.

10 a penny about here and no bad reports abut repair bills yet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 453 ✭✭caseman

sheehan12 wrote: »
    what age is it . is it the 03/04 model d22 or new type d40..... what was wrong to cost 2500 grand
    05 d22, first time broke conrod ,3 months later crankshaft broke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

TBH if you are doing only 3K miles a year it will not matter much which you pick as you will have to do a DOE ever 12 months it will pick up any faults early so that they will be fixed in time.
    With the kind of budget you have in mind 5K I would not worry about the year I would be looking for an ultra clean low milage crew cab. You are looking for a crew cab that will last 8-10 years or more after all you will only have 30K miles on it in that time.

Get it well checked out it might pay to have a look over the water if you have contacts there.

Sorry JohnBoy for not being clearer, I do 40k miles per year for work in an Avensis, I need a jeep for tipping around at the weekend & evenings on the farm e.g. wife dumps the 2 kids on me and i fire them into the back of the jeep and go down and count the cattle, something i cxan hop in & out of with the dirty boots etc.

TBH if you are doing only 3K miles a year it will not matter much which you pick as you will have to do a DOE ever 12 months it will pick up any faults early so that they will be fixed in time.
    With the kind of budget you have in mind 5K I would not worry about the year I would be looking for an ultra clean low milage crew cab. You are looking for a crew cab that will last 8-10 years or more after all you will only have 30K miles on it in that time.

Get it well checked out it might pay to have a look over the water if you have contacts there.

now there a bit of sense