Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

racism in the gaa

• 14-10-2012 7:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭

i attended cavan intermediate final last night and saw first hand a young cootehill player being racially abused
    this sickened me to the pit of my stomach and really has annoyed me , i know the usual banter goes on eg. your ma , your sis , wife , girlfriend etc
    but this is a new low and i feel really strongly about it
    is there anything in gaa law to do anything about it ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭paddy no 11

cavan4sam wrote: »
    i attended cavan intermediate final last night and saw first hand a young cootehill player being racially abused
    this sickened me to the pit of my stomach and really has annoyed me , i know the usual banter goes on eg. your ma , your sis , wife , girlfriend etc

From the crowd? You take the person to task?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,008 ✭✭✭kksaints

Players: Bans and fines. Also report to Gardai.

Fans: Bans and fines. Again report to Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭cavan4sam

from a player

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

this sickened me to the pit of my stomach

Could you elaborate? What was said? And what ethnicity was the player?

the player is mixed race ,not going to repeat what was said

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,356 ✭✭✭MakeEmLaugh

Mixed-race, as in one parent was Asian? One parent was black?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

Within the game itself, what needs to happen is that the ref has to take action. When Lee Chin complained in a match in Wexford, the response was what can only be described as pure, unadulterated GAA:

"I was shouting at the referee asking him if anything could be done, and we were both booked with yellow cards"

Well, that's that problem solved, thanks ref.

Technically the procedure is that, via your club, you should register a complaint about what you saw/heard. I dunno how big your club is, but how effective this course of action is will depend on that. But to be fair to Wexford GAA, once they realised the full extent of this, they went on the warpath, in a very serious way.

The conclusion? The GAA is serious about this matter, for both genuine reasons of disgust and because it is bad PR. So if you personally feel that official channels are not going to get you anywhere, contact the media. But make sure you give the official channels a chance, as they really do care about the game and don't want to see it go down the tube for the sake of some filthy racist corner boy looking for a way into the head of some young lad who has put his head above the parapet by even being involved with our games. There's too much at stake, and anyone who cares about our sports wont overlook this. If they do, straight to the papers.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

Within the game itself, what needs to happen is that the ref has to take action. When Lee Chin complained in a match in Wexford, the response was what can only be described as pure, unadulterated GAA:

"I was shouting at the referee asking him if anything could be done, and we were both booked with yellow cards"

Well, that's that problem solved, thanks ref.

Technically the procedure is that, via your club, you should register a complaint about what you saw/heard. I dunno how big your club is, but how effective this course of action is will depend on that. But to be fair to Wexford GAA, once they realised the full extent of this, they went on the warpath, in a very serious way.

The conclusion? The GAA is serious about this matter, for both genuine reasons of disgust and because it is bad PR. So if you personally feel that official channels are not going to get you anywhere, contact the media. But make sure you give the official channels a chance, as they really do care about the game and don't want to see it go down the tube for the sake of some filthy racist corner boy looking for a way into the head of some young lad who has put his head above the parapet by even being involved with our games. There's too much at stake, and anyone who cares about our sports wont overlook this. If they do, straight to the papers.

to be fair to that ref, there was nothing in the rulebook that he knew of at the time that could do anything with the Lee Chin incident, and it was his report, not a complaint from Chin, that got 2 players 8 week suspensions.

As the game grows, and as Irelands cultural layout changes, these things will become more and more apparent, so it is up to clubs and counties to get things right and not tolerate any form of racism. Rule books may need to be altered to give referees more power to punish offenders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Racism has no place in the GAA and should be stamped out immediately.

Few questions for OP though that is puzzling me about this incident.

1. I was not at the game myself but have asked 4-5 people who attended the game if they saw anything of this nature - all were unaware of anything of any incident.

2. There is nothing on any other forum etc about this - google search brings back this thread - nothing else.

3. In what capacity did you witness this incident - where you playing or in the crowd - if you were in the crowd how did you hear what went on between two players?

4. Did any of the other players react from Cootehill etc. The reason I ask this is that I've played with mixed race players before and have first hand witnessed them getting abuse walking off a field and everyone of his team mates were in to support him against the guy who shouted the abuse. What I am trying to say is that if the other Cootehill players heard what went on everyone in the ground would not there was an incident as they would have battered the lad shouting the abouse?

5. Who was the Cootehill player - I am not aware of any mixed race Cootehill player but am no expert on the Cootehill team

6. Have you lodged a complaint to Breffni Park?? Gardaí and what action are they taking?

Basically you are making a serious allegation against a player and you need to give more details on what happened.

If this incident did happen as you say, we have a more sinister problem in that everyone is in a conspiracy to brush this incident under the carpet so onus is on you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

I see you are from Cavan. So I have to ask;

Is the person actually of a a different or mixed race, as in of foreign ancestry or half-Irish?

Or is it a Northern thing of over-responding to being called a (horror of horrors) Protestant?

If its the former fair enough, you're right to highlight it as it has no place in the GAA.

If its the latter, then its a religious non-issue, not racism. And you'd need to just grow up.

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Racism has no place in the GAA and should be stamped out immediately.

Few questions for OP though that is puzzling me about this incident.

1. I was not at the game myself but have asked 4-5 people who attended the game if they saw anything of this nature - all were unaware of anything of any incident.

2. There is nothing on any other forum etc about this - google search brings back this thread - nothing else.

3. In what capacity did you witness this incident - where you playing or in the crowd - if you were in the crowd how did you hear what went on between two players?

4. Did any of the other players react from Cootehill etc. The reason I ask this is that I've played with mixed race players before and have first hand witnessed them getting abuse walking off a field and everyone of his team mates were in to support him against the guy who shouted the abuse. What I am trying to say is that if the other Cootehill players heard what went on everyone in the ground would not there was an incident as they would have battered the lad shouting the abouse?

5. Who was the Cootehill player - I am not aware of any mixed race Cootehill player but am no expert on the Cootehill team

6. Have you lodged a complaint to Breffni Park?? Gardaí and what action are they taking?

Basically you are making a serious allegation against a player and you need to give more details on what happened.

If this incident did happen as you say, we have a more sinister problem in that everyone is in a conspiracy to brush this incident under the carpet so onus is on you OP.

the player in question i am not going to name as i believe there will be an official complaint lodged , i

i'm good friends with a player that witnessed it and reported it the the ref straight away but no action was taken

you can ask the people who were at the game about an incident before half time that took place in the left corner of the bottom goals to see if they remembered it ,

a lot of the cootehill players were unaware of the incident until half time

this player received a broken nose in the drawn game so if we lose this player to soccer after the way he has been treated it will be no surprise

i was in cootehill saturday night after the game and while they were disappointed with the result they were more hurt at the treatment of one of their brightest young stars

i personally think its time for the county board to name and shame and take a stand

the player in question i am not going to name as i believe there will be an official complaint lodged , i

Well I think you pretty much have - its was the wee O'Connor lad - I heard he had his nose broken in original game?? I'm not trying to be funny here but if it is him is he really mixed race?

i'm good friends with a player that witnessed it and reported it the the ref straight away but no action was taken

But in your OP you said you witnessed it first hand?? Which is it :confused:

you can ask the people who were at the game about an incident before half time that took place in the left corner of the bottom goals to see if they remembered it ,

Will do but can you clarify if you seen it or not??

a lot of the cootehill players were unaware of the incident until half time

but yet you seen it from the crowd??

this player received a broken nose in the drawn game so if we lose this player to soccer after the way he has been treated it will be no surprise

i was in cootehill saturday night after the game and while they were disappointed with the result they were more hurt at the treatment of one of their brightest young stars

And yet there is no mention of it anywhere else - I find this strange!!

i personally think its time for the county board to name and shame and take a stand

Absolutely but I think they need a complaint to be made and for it to stand up before taking it further

witnessed 1st hand as in i was there , didnt hear it but my friend reported it to the ref he said he didnt hear it so it will be interesting to see if it is mentioned that it was reported in his report

i hope cootehill report it as it needs to be stamped out

i'm not going to get into names as i dont think its fair or right to name someone in a public forum and i'd appreciate if you could edit your last post

where else had you expected to find it mentioned ?

witnessed 1st hand as in i was there , didnt hear it but my friend reported it to the ref he said he didnt hear it so it will be interesting to see if it is mentioned that it was reported in his report

i hope cootehill report it as it needs to be stamped out

i'm not going to get into names as i dont think its fair or right to name someone in a public forum and i'd appreciate if you could edit your last post

How did you witness it but not hear it?? - genuinely confused here... Can you clarify.

Can you please share with us what happened because without that your story is impossible to verify or refute - it's just hearsay - friend of a friend stuff.

Why would Cootehill not report it?? If this incident happened surely it has been reported by now??

Why would I edit my post - If rascist abuse was directed at a Cootehill player, it should be quickly apparent who it was directed to - if we were accussing somebody of doing obviously that would be different.

Racism has no place in GAA or any walk of life and it is disgusting - however to be frank I'm having difficulty with your story at the minute and I think you need to give details before we conduct a witch hunt against Lacken or a Lacken player, or by implication the Referee or the GAA in Cavan..

where else had you expected to find it mentioned ?

Well in a case like this I would expect:

a) To have heard about it from somebody else at the match in person - everyone I've mentioned alleged incident to have no idea what I'm talking about (and that includes people from Cootehill);

b) Somebody here on boards to corroborate your story or at least say - yeah I heard mention of this;

c) Mention on other GAA forums e.g. Hoganstand etc or local radio etc; or

d) Some kind of statement from either the County Board or Cootehill Celtic..

How did you witness it but not hear it?? - genuinely confused here... Can you clarify.

Can you please share with us what happened because without that your story is impossible to verify or refute - it's just hearsay - friend of a friend stuff.

Why would Cootehill not report it?? If this incident happened surely it has been reported by now??

Why would I edit my post - If rascist abuse was directed at a Cootehill player, it should be quickly apparent who it was directed to - if we were accussing somebody of doing obviously that would be different.

Racism has no place in GAA or any walk of life and it is disgusting - however to be frank I'm having difficulty with your story at the minute and I think you need to give details before we conduct a witch hunt against Lacken or a Lacken player, or by implication the Referee or the GAA in Cavan..

the lacken player in question fouled the cootehill player and while walking away from him the insult was thrown him basically he was called a little ***** f****r
    i'm not sure if it has been reported by now or not as i have no involvement with the club but i'm sure the player will have a say as to whether or not they proceed with it ,

i did not hear it but i witnessed the player reporting it to the ref ,
    i'm not interested in any witch hunt and have no affiliation with either club and have friends in both clubs
    i just think its a disgusting act that needs to be stamped out

the lacken player in question fouled the cootehill player and while walking away from him the insult was thrown him basically he was called a little ***** f****r
    i'm not sure if it has been reported by now or not as i have no involvement with the club but i'm sure the player will have a say as to whether or not they proceed with it ,

i did not hear it but i witnessed the player reporting it to the ref ,
    i'm not interested in any witch hunt and have no affiliation with either club and have friends in both clubs
    i just think its a disgusting act that needs to be stamped out

This is like playing give us a clue here - the word in green can you give me a hint even a few letters??

this whole thing is odd. First it was witnessing first hand a player being racially abused, but now it is being at a match where a player made a comment on the field that only the player could have heard. I think threads like this are on dangerous grounds as to what clubs/players are accused of without any proof/report/sanction being taken. In the Lee Chin case in Wexford, absolutely nothing was said outside of the diciplinary process until a full investigation was heard, as accusing people of racism without proof can tar their reputations if they are innocent.

I could just as easily come on here and say I witnessed racism in a game and accuse a team/player of being racist, even though I didnt hear it and have no evidence of it.

Racism obviously has no place in the game, but there are ways of dealing with it. Hearsay isnt one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,638 ✭✭✭celt262

I was at the game and didnt hear or see anything other than a Cootehill player running to the referee at half time and saying something to him and a few Cootehill lads pushing and shoving a Lacken player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

bruschi wrote: »
    to be fair to that ref, there was nothing in the rulebook that he knew of at the time that could do anything with the Lee Chin incident, and it was his report, not a complaint from Chin, that got 2 players 8 week suspensions.

That's fair, point taken!

i've said my piece now i'm going to leave it to the powers that be to deal with it and the best of luck to them i hope i never see the player who made the remarks in the blue of cavan

bruschi wrote: »
    this whole thing is odd. First it was witnessing first hand a player being racially abused, but now it is being at a match where a player made a comment on the field that only the player could have heard. I think threads like this are on dangerous grounds as to what clubs/players are accused of without any proof/report/sanction being taken. In the Lee Chin case in Wexford, absolutely nothing was said outside of the diciplinary process until a full investigation was heard, as accusing people of racism without proof can tar their reputations if they are innocent.

I could just as easily come on here and say I witnessed racism in a game and accuse a team/player of being racist, even though I didnt hear it and have no evidence of it.

Racism obviously has no place in the game, but there are ways of dealing with it. Hearsay isnt one of them.

This is exactly my point and why I was trying to get at the heart of the issue with my questions. There is no evidence here but yet the OP (who has changed his story a couple of times) gets to slur a team and by implication the referee and doesn't like being questioned on it... Pathetic

i've said my piece now i'm going to leave it to the powers that be to deal with it and the best of luck to them i hope i never see the player who made the remarks in the blue of cavan

Can you answer my last question before you go, please? i.e. what's the missing word

Yeah, be better if this thread was deleted or locked its just idel gossip at this stage and if anything further comes out about it we can start a new one.

There is a County Board meeting tonight so there may be a mention of it at it.

This is exactly my point and why I was trying to get at the heart of the issue with my questions. There is no evidence here but yet the OP (who has changed his story a couple of times) gets to slur a team and by implication the referee and doesn't like being questioned on it... Pathetic
    I am not trying to slur a team or referee this happened and it's not good enough

i believe an official complaint has been lodged
    lets hope the county board dont sweep it under the carpet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

Wasn't there a County Board who had a couple of incidents of this recently, was it Wexford or Waterford I think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭spud65

why is it only a bit of aul banter when a players mother,sister,wife,girlfriend ect, etc, get slagged off but when a player is called a little ***** f****r you get sickened ,annoyed and feel very strongly about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

i believe an official complaint has been lodged
    lets hope the county board dont sweep it under the carpet

sounds like you're expecting it to not be brought up...

Why is this thread still here - nobody else has heard a word about this - there is no evidence, the story has changed when the OP was questioned on it (went from witnessing it himself to hearing about it later and no one else in the ground did/ Everyone is Cootehill was talking about it Sunday night - it was never mentioned unless it was in code).. The player who was allegedly racially abused hides his mixed race extremely well - complete non event and I would love to know the OPs agenda here... :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,127 ✭✭✭yore

Please don't take this the wrong way so hear me out before you jump on me.

I think that sometimes this is a "PC" over-reaction. By that, I mean that although it is probably slightly worse than a "standard" insult, it shouldn't be treated any differently. Most people, in the heat of the moment, will say the first sh1te that comes into their head. Be it "argh, ya baldy/fat/lanky/midget/ginger bastard" or whatever. Yes it is probably slightly worse if the lanky/baldy/whatever is replaced by an ethnic charachteristic. I'm currently not in Ireland but if someone called me a "thick f*****g Paddy", I'd be equally as insulted as if they called me a "thick baldy f****r" or a "thick white f****r". No more, no less. (I'm not bald......and I'll add that if they mixed me up and called me a thick Brit f****r then I'd get mad :D )

Now if it's thrown out by someone on the sideline then that's a diferent matter but then again passions can run high. I'm not saying it is ok. I'm just saying it isn't too far from the other insults. I think that maybe all should be treated the same way, and maybe that means that be all treated with more severe punishments.

Of course it can be an easy thing for witless gobsh1tes to target, but for a once off, you just have to ignore it. There should be rules against it, but no more than for other insults.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭WumBuster

Op, on a side note, the ''usual banter'' like your ma, your wife your sis, why is that acceptable?? Verbal abuse is verbal abuse whether it be racially motivated or otherwise. Surely its time to crack down on ALL types of verbal abuse on a GAA pitch. Dont see why some stuff should be ok and some not. Sick of listening to braindead morons thinking they are tough guys shouting nonsense and winding up other players over the years and it going unpunished.

Tom official complaint made .back of mail on sunday last weekend. I've no agenda i just don't like racism. Maybe you should ask a few more people now .but the county board like yourself may not like what ye hear and I expect no action to be taken

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-football/cavan-launch-investigation-into-racism-row-3270009.html
    A CavaN GAA club has claimed one of its players was racially abused at a game, with the allegation discussed at a meeting of the county's Competitions Control Committee (CCC) last night.

Cootehill Celtics, who lost the county intermediate football final replay to Lacken last week, formally made the complaint by letter on Friday last.

They claim a racist remark was made against one of their players by an opponent, which was also heard by one of his Cootehill colleagues.

Cavan PRO Declan Woods confirmed that a complaint had been made and would be dealt with by the Cavan CCC.

"This will be investigated thoroughly by our board. There are specific guidelines to follow in these matters and we will be following them," he said.

The Cavan CCC are awaiting the referee's report to see if there is any reference to the alleged incident before launching the investigation.

Cootehill Celtics chairman Larry McCluskey said the decision to lodge a formal complaint to Cavan County Board came after a club meeting that followed discussions with the player in question and his family.

"We're satisfied that we have grounds for taking this action to ask Cavan County Board to investigate," he said.

"There is a lot of disquiet in our club about it," he added.

Earlier this year, two Wexford club players were suspended for two months each for alleged racist remarks made to inter-county star Lee Chin, who was playing for Sarsfields in a Senior Football Championship match.

The alleged remarks were raised in the report of referee Brendan Martin and subsequently acted upon.

Chin later testified that he had brought the matter to the attention of the referee after he himself had been yellow carded.

"It's becoming more of an issue for me, and it's not just me having to put up with this. There are younger people of mixed races coming up against this too. Some of them may just listen to some of the things being said to them and think, 'Is it worth this at all? I'm not going to bother'," Chin said at the time.

The issue of 'sledging' came to light during this year's Allianz football league when Armagh claimed in an initial statement after their match with Laois that "alleged racist and personal abuse directed at our players is apparently going unpunished."

That initial stance was diluted later in the week when a joint statement issued through the GAA press office from Armagh and Laois claimed Armagh's statement "did not accurately reflect" what occurred at O'Moore Park.

Meanwhile, a man in his 30s has been charged with a public order offence, which took place during the Ulster club championship preliminary round tie between Cavan champions Mullahoran and their Tyrone counterparts Errigal Ciaran.

The man, understood to be from Northern Ireland, is due to appear before Cavan District Court on November 15.

Tom official complaint made .back of mail on sunday last weekend. I've no agenda i just don't like racism. Maybe you should ask a few more people now .but the county board like yourself may not like what ye hear and I expect no action to be taken

Yeah just read the article in the Indo there - I don't have an agenda either and I abhor racism in any form and am glad that this is being dealt with in the proper way i.e official complaint made being made to county board by the player and the club involved.

Up until this it was quite frankly speculation and to be fair it was difficult to give much creedence to your version of events. Nothing to do with liking what I hear - i don't like witchhunts or trial by media especially when the story keeps changing and somebody gets defensive when basic question are asked.

I hope this is dealt with in the proper way and investigated fully as racism has no place in the GAA - end of story and it is disgusting that a player should have to face racist abuse (or indeed abuse of any form in any game).

I am still confused as to the nature of the incident i.e what happened that no one else witnessed and what was the nature of the abuse - can you clarify this?

Yeah just read the article in the Indo there - I don't have an agenda either and I abhor racism in any form and am glad that this is being dealt with in the proper way i.e official complaint made being made to county board by the player and the club involved.

Up until this it was quite frankly speculation and to be fair it was difficult to give much creedence to your version of events. Nothing to do with liking what I hear - i don't like witchhunts or trial by media especially when the story keeps changing and somebody gets defensive when basic question are asked.

I hope this is dealt with in the proper way and investigated fully as racism has no place in the GAA - end of story and it is disgusting that a player should have to face racist abuse (or indeed abuse of any form in any game).

I am still confused as to the nature of the incident i.e what happened that no one else witnessed and what was the nature of the abuse - can you clarify this?
    As this is a public forum and an investigation is underway I feel I cannot say exactly what was said but I will tell you that the player that witnessed the comments reported them to the officials at the time. I hope the player and his family get the dignity and respect they deserve during this investigation. I'll stress again tom I've no affiliation with either club or hidden agenda.

Sorry cavan4sam but that is a load of my arse. You created the thread here bringing our attention to this issue which all normal minded people see as disgusting and want to stamp out of our game. But there is a way of dealing with these things - firstly complaint to the officials at the time and then to the county board and let the matter be dealt with and then we can discuss here on a public forum whether it was dealt with properly etc, etc.

But you, not me, chose to start a thread on this so expect to be questioned as to what happened - when you were questioned here your story changed and now you are saying it is out of respect to the player involved - why start the thread in the first place so :confused:. You started a thread, gave us so much information which only caused confusion but you are unwilling to answer the fundamental question that is at the root of the issue and basically say trust me this happened (but we're not sure what happened) and if you hear no more word about it is because it was swept under the carpet by the county board - So therefore no matter what happens you are telling us that the Lacken player is guilty and should be treated as such. - That's not fair to either side involved..

Sorry cavan4sam but that is a load of my arse. You created the thread here bringing our attention to this issue which all normal minded people see as disgusting and want to stamp out of our game. But there is a way of dealing with these things - firstly complaint to the officials at the time and then to the county board and let the matter be dealt with and then we can discuss here on a public forum whether it was dealt with properly etc, etc.

But you, not me, chose to start a thread on this so expect to be questioned as to what happened - when you were questioned here your story changed and now you are saying it is out of respect to the player involved - why start the thread in the first place so :confused:. You started a thread, gave us so much information which only caused confusion but you are unwilling to answer the fundamental question that is at the root of the issue and basically say trust me this happened (but we're not sure what happened) and if you hear no more word about it is because it was swept under the carpet by the county board - So therefore no matter what happens you are telling us that the Lacken player is guilty and should be treated as such. - That's not fair to either side involved..

tom i started this thread to see if there was a precedent in such a case and because i was angry in what i had heard FROM the player who reported it (who is one of the most respected in the club scene with almost 20yrs experience)
    so now you are judge and jury telling us when we can discuss the issue , maybe you should have stated that at the start and we would have all towed the line because tom said so ,
    the fact of the matter is that this happened and it has to be dealt with , you dont like my version of events well sorry to disappoint .
    i just feel for the player involved because i know the type of people he has to come up against at county board level and would not be surprised if you sit with some of those committees ,

i'm not here to stir and wind people up you can head over to hogan stand for that if you want that

tom i started this thread to see if there was a precedent in such a case and because i was angry in what i had heard FROM the player who reported it (who is one of the most respected in the club scene with almost 20yrs experience)
    You started a thread which when I seen it i thought "hang on a minute how come I never heard about this - wtf happened here, surely this couldn't have happened in a game in Cavan", I mentioned it to a few people who were at the game who had heard nothing about it, including a few people from Cootehill - responses were generally - didn't see/hear anything and how can you racially abuse a player unless he is of a racial minority - good point I thought so I asked you questions because I wanted to know what went on and whether this was some giant cover-up.

When I, amongst others on this thread asked you questions on the issue you're story changed about whether you witnessed or not and you won't tell us what happened which is the basic crux of the matter - you tell us out of respect to the player involved you don't want to say what was actually said - I genuinely cannot understand this.

so now you are judge and jury telling us when we can discuss the issue , maybe you should have stated that at the start and we would have all towed the line because tom said so ,
    the fact of the matter is that this happened and it has to be dealt with , you dont like my version of events well sorry to disappoint .

No, I abhor racism but before we have a trial and get a lynch mob going I would like to know what happened and get the story straight.
    i just feel for the player involved because i know the type of people he has to come up against at county board level and would not be surprised if you sit with some of those committees ,
    I am disgusted if racist comments were made and the sanctions should match the crime and should involve lengthy bans - zero tolerance of this is the only way forward (I think we are in agreement here).

I have no involvement with the County Board and anyone who has read my comments on this forum will know my thoughts on the County Board but your view from the start was that the county board would sweep this under the carpet - they haven't so far and that must be acknowledged. If your issue with my posts on this is that I am asking questions to establish what happened here well I'm afraid that is something anyone investigating this will do.. If I was involved with any committee of the county board I wouldn't be on here asking about what happened would I?

i'm not here to stir and wind people up you can head over to hogan stand for that if you want that
    Have never been a member of hoganstand and never will be - I'm asking questions to establish what happened here - what's the problem with that?

See responses in bold

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Rocheydub

Good Jeysus.

Let me state, I am a Dub, and have no party to this incident or non-incident, whatever the case may be!

I witnessed a racial slur in a game in Dublin at under 15 or maybe 16 level in Dublin with one of our players years ago. The Dublin county board dealt with it, as did the offender's club at the time... But this was an open and shut case. An opponent called our player a n****r and while the referee didn't hear it, the uproar on the sideline, and the players reaction were obvious.

I absolutely abhor racism. It was one of Hitler's benchmarks. That speaks volumes...

My problem with this case is, there appears to be no witnesses, or at minimum, 1 witness. Sour grapes, as the team lost the game, or even just a grudge, could be the reason for the complaint.

Not that it matters, but it appears that this team had no one of an ethnicity that would be regarded as a possible racist target? I'd like that resolved too! Sounds bizarre!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,603 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

if it's just a he said/she said, then surely nothing will come of it...

can I ask what race the person who was abused is? ie Lee chin suffered racial abuse in Wexford and he is of Chinese origin.

Rocheydub wrote: »
    Good Jeysus.

My problem with this case is, there appears to be no witnesses, or at minimum, 1 witness.

Why would there only be one witness be a problem, football pitches are big and not everyone will hear what is said.

Sour grapes, as the team lost the game, or even just a grudge, could be the reason for the complaint.

The complaint was brought up at half time so that rules out the auld sour grapes.

Not that it matters, but it appears that this team had no one of an ethnicity that would be regarded as a possible racist target? I'd like that resolved too! Sounds bizarre!

I don't know enough about the player in question to comment on that.

right tom the facts
    i did not hear the comments but i spoke to the player who reported it at half time ,
    the player is mixed race
    i will not repeat what was said on a public forum
    i do expect county board to act on it as i feel they have no option now that it has been brought to the attention of the national media (not by me before you ask)
    this is not a witch hunt as i respect both clubs
    i do not think cootehill would have launched a complaint and risked the integrity of the club on a serious matter if they did not believe action would be taken ,

on a footnote the article in the irish independant was written by colm keys a man whose family are steeped in cootehill and cavan football history