Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the story about Fukushima these days?

• 13-10-2012 9:13pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 586 ✭✭✭

There seems to be very little mentioned about the crippled nuke plant in the media these days. Is everything going according to plan? Last I heard about the place we were told that they were clearing the spent rods from the upper storage area above the reactor in case of another quake. Where I'd the best place to get up to date news?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Have you tried here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,218 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Wikipedia for a start, op :)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fukushima_Daiichi_nuclear_disaster

**edit**
    Ah yes, El Weirdo with his usual sarcastic reply.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,449 ✭✭✭SuperInfinity

I think that what nuclear proves is that no matter how incredibly disastrous something could potentially be, if there's a large profit to be made and the risk is very small then they will drive it through the government.

The thing is that the law of averages doesn't take kindly to such risks being carried out over and over again. Let's hope that the entire world doesn't go kablam after thousands of such "miniscule" risks are taken.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Have a search through here - NHK World. Although judging by what the people on the ground say, they neither trust nor believe their government and news. Sounds familiar. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The average person would last 7 minutes in any of the exposed reactor buildings, A remote controlled robot would last 2 hours at the most due to EMF breakdown in PCB circuits.

Estimated time to remove spent rods and clean up most of the mess from reactors 1 to 4 could be in the region of 10 years.

Reactor building 4 is the most precarious of all the crippled buildings as a quake as low as magnitude 6 could topple the bring it down spilling its load of rods. If this was the case I would run further than hills. :eek:

http://www.veteranstoday.com/2012/10/11/what-are-efforts-to-contain-fukushima-2/

Good sites for up to date news and information.

www.rense.com
    http://enenews.com/
    http://fukushima-diary.com/category/dnews/
    http://www.fairewinds.com/content/fukushima-daiichi-truth-and-future

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,171 ✭✭✭kevin12345

The average person would last 7 minutes in any of the exposed reactor buildings, A remote controlled robot would last 2 hours at the most due to EMF breakdown in PCB circuits.

Estimated time to remove spent rods and clean up most of the mess from reactors 1 to 4 could be in the region of 10 years.

Reactor building 4 is the most precarious of all the crippled buildings as a quake as low as magnitude 6 could topple the bring it down spilling its load of rods. If this was the case I would run further than hills. :eek:

http://www.veteranstoday.com/2012/10/11/what-are-efforts-to-contain-fukushima-2/

www.rense.com

How did I know you would post on this RTDH?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

.....spilling its load of rods......

/snigger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭MistyCheese

Not too much of a story, everyone is okay luckily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,294 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

It'll be grand shur

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

El Weirdo wrote: »
    Have you tried here?

Helpful. Go Fuk yourself :rolleyes:

Banned

darlett wrote: »

Agree.
    I've actually seen alot of El Weirdo's posts. Apart from mod posts, all he does is just be sarcastic or generally be a dick in his replies.

How he is a mod ... I dunno. Or maybe thats how you become a mod around here? :confused:

Banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

In fairness, it's the answer to half the tarded questions posted on Boards. "How long will it take me to drive to Dublin?" Feck knows, try it and see, ya spa. "My gas meter is reading too high, what should I do??" Ring the gas company??? Tard. "My girlfriend is riding the lad next door, should I dump her??" Well, what would Chuck Norris do?? Woos. "Fukushima is worrying me. What the story?" It's a reactor, it's fecked. How good do ye think it might be? Scale of 1-10. 10 being "quite fecked!" How about a 9??

Pottler wrote: »
    In fairness, it's the answer to half the tarded questions posted on Boards. "How long will it take me to drive to Dublin?" Feck knows, try it and see, ya spa. "My gas meter is reading too high, what should I do??" Ring the gas company??? Tard. "My girlfriend is riding the lad next door, should I dump her??" Well, what would Chuck Norris do?? Woos. "Fukushima is worrying me. What the story?" It's a reactor, it's fecked. How good do ye think it might be? Scale of 1-10. 10 being "quite fecked!" How about a 9??

cour·te·ous/ˈkərtēəs/
    Adjective: Polite, respectful, or considerate in manner.

After all its ones own choice to reply, Pottler.

Agree.
    I've actually seen alot of El Weirdo's posts. Apart from mod posts, all he does is just be sarcastic or generally be a dick in his replies.

How he is a mod ... I dunno. Or maybe thats how you become a mod around here? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

A nuclear power station survived a 9.3 magnitude earthquake and the resulting tsunami with no deaths caused by radiation.

Nuclear power is the way to go!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,984 ✭✭✭Degag

No, just use less gas.

I would disagree totally on this particular one.

With so much government lies, main stream media blackout and cover ups it is quite difficult to find the correct answers on the subject of Fukushima.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

IvySlayer wrote: »
    A nuclear power station survived a 9.3 magnitude earthquake and the resulting tsunami with no deaths caused by radiation.

Nuclear power is the way to go!!!!

and that was a very old nuclear station, modern ones would be even better built

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,378 ✭✭✭Krieg

In fairness, it's the answer to half the tarded questions posted on Boards.

Aye very true, but there wouldn't be much point in having a discussion board if 50% of the replies was 'LMGTFY', Unless the OP asks something specific like what year was a certain actor born.

The OP does bring up a very good point in that it hasn't been talked about much even though it was a relatively recent major disaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,903 ✭✭✭✭ted1

I think that what nuclear proves is that no matter how incredibly disastrous something could potentially be, if there's a large profit to be made and the risk is very small then they will drive it through the government.

The thing is that the law of averages doesn't take kindly to such risks being carried out over and over again. Let's hope that the entire world doesn't go kablam after thousands of such "miniscule" risks are taken.

explain what happened that was so bad? It was the tabloids that were blown it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭Show Time

Have the cheese eating surrender moneys(The French) went back to Japan yet??

**Don't forget they were the first out the door when the S**t hit the fan**

Oh please, for the love of god, please tell me you are a joke poster and not actually that stupid and... (what's a word like deranged but slightly less offensive?)

ted1 wrote: »
    explain what happened that was so bad? It was the tabloids that were blown it up.

More than 300 people, many of whom are innocent civilians, received more radiation than they should in their whole lifetimes. Estimates of people who are going to die from cancer range from none to 100 (peer reviewed) to 1000 (non-peer reviewed guesstimate). Yes I did just read this from wikipedia.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

www.rense.com

When you say ' the average person '... would Superman or Batman be above average ?, myself in school was classed as above average but the teachers always said I could try harder, so what category would I be in ?.

Mrs Mattjack reckons my level is gobshite however,would that be average gobshite ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

I would disagree totally on this particular one.

With so much government lies, main stream media blackout and cover ups it is quite difficult to find the correct answers on the subject of Fukushima.
    Yep. What he should do is ask you. You'll provide him with all the unbiased truth.

More than 300 people, many of whom are innocent civilians, received more radiation than they should in their whole lifetimes. Estimates of people who are going to die from cancer range from none to 100 (peer reviewed) to 1000 (non-peer reviewed guesstimate). Yes I did just read this from wikipedia.

because we know wikipedia is a perfectly credible source.

meanwhile in 2012 approx 300,000 people have died as a result of fossil fuel burning elec plants...

Well, I find wikipedia to be a credible source, especially for something like this. If you like go and follow the citations or search for where they're getting those numbers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

wrote: »
    Oh please, for the love of god, please tell me you are a joke poster and not actually that stupid and... (what's a word like deranged but slightly less offensive?)
    Gobshyte? It's the one that sprung to my mind anyway. Considering my average post is pure guff and intended(however much it fails)to amuse, what do you reckon?:)

because we know wikipedia is a perfectly credible source.

meanwhile in 2012 approx 300,000 people have died as a result of fossil fuel burning elec plants...

You won't find this in main stream media or Wikipedia.

Ground under Fukushima Unit 4 sinking, structure on verge of complete collapse

Conspiracy theories is in another forum.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 9,689 Mod ✭✭✭✭stevenmu

+1, the real untold story of Fukushima is that while it was obviously bad, it was still a lot better than a coal or even oil burning power plant on a good day. It's estimated that for every 1 death from nuclear power, 4000 people die from coal generated power.

There's a useful visualisation of this here, and a more detailed one here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

People killed in Fukushima incident - 0.
    People killed by the earthquake/tsunami - 25,000.

Context, people

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    People killed in Fukushima incident - 0.
    People killed by the earthquake/tsunami - 25,000.

Context, people
    OK, as you said, no one died in Fukushima,

Would you be content to live in towns within 50 kilometres of the crippled plant?

NO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,461 ✭✭✭--Kaiser--

OK, as you said, no one died in Fukushima,

Would you be content to live in towns within 50 kilometres of the crippled plant?

NO.

Well, that'd be one hell of a commute

--Kaiser-- wrote: »
    Well, that'd be one hell of a commute

In other words no. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 776 ✭✭✭Tomk1

Here's the link, basically same title:
    Japan..fukushima....it hasn't gone away you know!!!
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056724516

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 521 ✭✭✭Voodoo_rasher

enenews . com tells you pretty much everything.

for instance: http://enenews.com/twice-as-much-contaminted-water-entering-ocean-from-fukushima-as-officials-claim-japan-govt-600-tons-of-groundwater-enters-ocean-each-day-at-plant-nytimes-tepcos-figures-assume-all-water-ent

japanese solutions to a japanese problem..

Hope Tepco like their whalemeat..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,696 ✭✭✭Jonny7

ENEnews is a little sensationalist to say the least

The clean-up is still quite serious and challenging, but as of now the only real threat this level of contaminated seawater poses is to the immediate area, local fishermen and so on.

US scientists and the EPA have said there is little or nothing to worry about from their end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

The slow drip drip of the real truth continues today

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,014 ✭✭✭MonaPizza

Jonny7 wrote: »
    ENEnews is a little sensationalist to say the least

The clean-up is still quite serious and challenging, but as of now the only real threat this level of contaminated seawater poses is to the immediate area, local fishermen and so on.

US scientists and the EPA have said there is little or nothing to worry about from their end.

Ah yes..."challenging", that euphemism used by the coverup people to describe "fcuking catastrophe".
    Japan has upgraded the disaster:

http://www.rte.ie/news/2013/0821/469319-japan-fukushima-nuclear/

Standing next to the leaking water for an hour and you would receive 5 times the annual dosage that is the ceiling for nuclear workers. Tell us about these scientists who say there is no threat from their end. Are they some of the same paid-off quacks who work for Popular Mechanics or deny climate change? Because there is a 30 percent increase in thyroid defects in newborns in the Pacific states of the US since the Fukushima disaster.
    This clusterfcuk is vomiting radioactive water into the sea at unprecedented levels and nodody is hearing about it because it's an absolute mess.

I wouldn't eat Japanese fish anytime soon unless you want to start sh1tting blood in a few months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Remember listening to a guy on CNN a few months back claim the worst was still to come and that the Japanese had made a complete balls up of the disaster from day one. The Americans had offered to send over their best engineers to help control the situation and the Japanese had refused the offer. The interviewer asked him how they where keeping on eye on the levels of the contaminated water in the tanks and he said by sending a guy up the ladder opening the hatch and looking in. Amateur hour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 906 ✭✭✭Eight Ball

Indeed :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

People freak out too much over nuclear waste. Every year hundreds of thousands are killed by coal and petrol fumes, and there are innumerable other environmental hazards that we should be worried about - but the slight chance of a few dozen killed by NUCLEAR!!! RADIATION!!!!! is the only one that matters

MonaPizza wrote: »
    Ah yes..."challenging", that euphemism used by the coverup people to describe "fcuking catastrophe".
    Japan has upgraded the disaster:

I prefer to be spoonfed the facts and coverup story than the actual terrifying sensationalist reality in all it's glory

goose2005 wrote: »
    People freak out too much over nuclear waste. Every year hundreds of thousands are killed by coal and petrol fumes, and there are innumerable other environmental hazards that we should be worried about - but the slight chance of a few dozen killed by NUCLEAR!!! RADIATION!!!!! is the only one that matters

because it's a coverup man

The people who clearly know most about the situation are in basements in San Francisco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭jaffacakesyum

Well ya learn something new every day. I didn't know so many more people died from coal and oil related incidents than nuclear.

What exactly are all the deaths attributed to for coal and oil? Oil rig explosions and things like that I've heard about...what about coal? Fires is it?