Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Downtube shifter to STI

• 13-10-2012 6:38pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭

Probably been covered before but a search throws up no useful results...

Thinking about building up a 10spd winter bike, frame currently has downtube shifters. I have seen adapters on some bikes that fit onto the downtube where the sifters are and the shift cable runs through them, I just don't know what they're called. Does anyone know what they're called?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,625 ✭✭✭happytramp

colm_gti wrote: »
    Does anyone know what they're called?

'Downtube cable stops' seems to do the trick on google images. Most bike shops should have a few lying around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

happytramp wrote: »
    'Downtube cable stops' seems to do the trick on google images. Most bike shops should have a few lying around.

Excellent, thanks a mil!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Doing this depends on a couple of things and how old the frame is and out of what material it's made. You probably know all this anyway Cgti, but just in case... 10spd is going to need a 130 mm rear dropout width. If it's an older steel frame with 126 mm spacing then it's easy peasy, just spread it slightly to pop in the new rear wheel. 2mm either side means feck all. If it's smaller than that, then you're gonna have to get the frame cold set to widen it. If it's an aluminium frame, you can't do this, full stop.

The downtube cable stops should run around 15 quid + postage. Ebay is full of the yokes. Got a pair myself recently as I'm currently rebuilding my early 80's Zullo Columbus SLX frame to modern standards*. I got Campagnolo ones, cos I'm a pretentious eejit, though the Shimana Dura Ace ones are better made and designed. Be sure Cgtii that the seller includes mounting bolts as many don't and the standard old stylee downtube shifter bolts are too long.

*after a recent crash buggered some of my old stylle components(and me) and a client gave me a set of boxed Campag 11 speed Super Record brifters in lieu of a bill.Yep gave me as the bill amounted to 60 quid. A week later I won an ebay sale for a pair of ultra torque Athena cranks for less that 45 quid inc postage so the stage is set... :D

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

I have a set of Dura Ace ones which i have no use for if you want them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,505 ✭✭✭colm_gti

I have a set of Dura Ace ones which i have no use for if you want them.

How much do you want for them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,076 ✭✭✭gman2k

Just to throw my query in here...
    I have a frame with no bosses for shifters on the down tube, but I want to fit a set of indexed shifters. The frame would have originally have used a band on shifter.
    Is there any band on shifters that will allow the fitting of any downtube shifter, or even cable stops?
    I could get a set of bosses and braze them on, but the hassle!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,291 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Simply take the band on shifter and remove the vintage shifter mechanisms and you'll have a pair of banded bosses.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Simply take the band on shifter and remove the vintage shifter mechanisms and you'll have a pair of banded bosses.

I'll be trying that, but was told in a shop that it may not work......
    I was just seeing if there is a generic solution out there!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭RockWerchter

You can have them for a tenner if you're around Dublin city center anytime during the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,382 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

gman2k wrote: »
    Just to throw my query in here...
    I have a frame with no bosses for shifters on the down tube, but I want to fit a set of indexed shifters. The frame would have originally have used a band on shifter.
    Is there any band on shifters that will allow the fitting of any downtube shifter, or even cable stops?
    I could get a set of bosses and braze them on, but the hassle!

You could run a complete cable (inner and outer casing) from the rear Derailleur to the shifter. It'll work, but may not look great.

07Lapierre wrote: »
    You could run a complete cable (inner and outer casing) from the rear Derailleur to the shifter. It'll work, but may not look great.

Not if I want downtube indexing!