Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Finding it hard to sell car.

• 13-10-2012 12:21pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭

Currently trying to sell a 2010 Toyota Auris on behalf of a relative. I have it up on adverts, Done deal and I have ads up in various shopping centres as well as various small ads websites.
    The trouble is I have had it up for well over a month now and I have received absolutely no offers. In this time I have also reduced the car by €3000 since I put it up. As I am a novice at selling cars, I am just looking for some advice to help me shift it, Thanks,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Currently trying to sell a 2010 Toyota Auris on behalf of a relative. I have it up on adverts, Done deal and I have ads up in various shopping centres as well as various small ads websites.
    The trouble is I have had it up for well over a month now and I have received absolutely no offers. In this time I have also reduced the car by €3000 since I put it up. As I am a novice at selling cars, I am just looking for some advice to help me shift it, Thanks, CB

BTW here is my ad: http://www.adverts.ie/2090190

Car is too dear, it is more than the average of the 2010's on cbg. Most of those sellers are dealers, and some the others are diesels which people seem prepared to pay more for.

So you will have reduce the price it looks like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Forget adverts, donedeal is the man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Go for Done Deal.

Do NOT put up "Genuine reason for sale." - Pet hate of mine. Noone really gives a fiddlers.

Too pricey.

Tax is almost out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

The OP appears to have the car advertised on donedeal as well as adverts.

The car is overpriced probably needs to be reduced by up to 2K to shift it. The starting price must have been a joke altogether.
    Sellers who over price their car get what they deserve - no calls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 247 ✭✭DUBLIN_person

The OP appears to have the car advertised on donedeal as well as adverts.

The car is overpriced probably needs to be reduced by up to 2K to shift it. The starting price must have been a joke altogether.
    Sellers who over price their car get what they deserve - no calls

Started advertising the car at around €14500 as I saw the same model and year on adverts/donedeal/carzone for €15500.
    I soon realised the error of my ways as I realised these were all dealer advertised (thanks for the criticism by the way) I have now reduced by another grand as the general consensus was it was over priced.
    Thanks everyone for the advice and please keep it coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭glic71rods46t0

Started advertising the car at around €14500 as I saw the same model and year on adverts/donedeal/carzone for €15500.
    I soon realised the error of my ways as I realised these were all dealer advertised (thanks for the criticism by the way) I have now reduced by another grand as the general consensus was it was over priced.
    Thanks everyone for the advice and please keep it coming!
    Nothing personal in the criticism. The car is a petrol so demand is limited compared to a diesel at similar money. Also I think the reg goes against it- but there's nothing you can do about that. You mentioned manufacturer warranty on the ad - you need to specify when this expires - I imagine there is just a few months left on it judging by the reg it was a January 2010 car????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,525 ✭✭✭miller50841

Hi op change the picture to a front/side angle of the car for main pic.
    Put as much information about the car up so how many owners, service history, cd player, Bluetooth if it has, all new or good tyres, spare never been used , all manuals, tools, elec mirrors/ windows, and so on take the max amount of pics so cover all 360 degree outside and show pics of inside (seats, dash, boot)

Hope it sells and don't put on the ad selling on behalf of someone else....

Take out the mud flaps they do look terrible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,411 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

First of all, the cheapest similar model on carzone is from a dealer for the same money. Alot of people like buying from a dealer due to the preceived peace of mind. So you will need to undercut their price to have any change of attracting a buyer.

Secondly, anything of that age in petrol form is difficult to sell as the whole country is gone diesel mad. A friend of my father had a higher UK spec Auris petrol for sale for months, it was priced below everything else similar but eventually sold. You just have to be patient it will eventually find a home to someone who has the cop on to realise they don't need to buy a diesel for low motor tax.

Thirdly, it is a the basic Terra model which is not greatly equipped. You mention air conditioning in your advert but the Terra model never had air conditioning and I cannot see the air con button from any of the photos.

Thanks For the advice everyone, these are my new updated ads:

[snip]

Is there anything I need to ad/ remove do you think?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

€9995 for a quick sale.......

My father's friend had a 2009 higher UK spec TR model with the same 1.33 litre engine for sale last year and got just under €11k for it in the end. I'd say you will struggle to get that for your one now.

MidlandsM wrote: »

I am under strict instruction not to sell for under €11000 unless I really have to as well as The money is needed to fund other projects.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭sumo12

You mention in the ad that the car has aircon, it doesn't ! It's a Terra model. You need to remove that from the ad for starters. As others have said, it's a petrol so few will want it. Price it right and it will sell though :) good luck

I am under strict instruction not to sell for under €11000 unless I really have to as well as The money is needed to fund other projects.

That's good and well but it is only worth what someone else is willing to pay for it. You will need to keep dropping the price gradually until someone bites if you are not in hurry to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

OP, you're stating that the car has air conditioning. It doesn't, you've even shown a photo of the heater controls and there's no a/c button! Put a bit of tax on it as well, it's only €225 for a year's tax on one of those, especially as with all the rumours it's going to go up big time after the budget. You'll get the €225 in tax back in the selling price on a car that new.

Unfortunately, despite the fact that it has very low mileage, is in the same CO2 and tax band as the diesel (well the higher spec diesels anyway), the fact that it is the poverty spec basic model and in particular the fact that it is a petrol limits its appeal, even though for most buyers petrol makes so much more sense than diesel, but that's typical Irish group think and 'man in the pub said you should buy a diesel' for ya!

It's too expensive at the moment for all the reasons mentioned, and another thing that doesn't seem to have been mentioned is that the Auris is just about to be replaced by a brand new model, which is going on sale next month and that makes the car even less desirable. I'd advertise if for €11k and take €10k, if it was a Luna or Sport model and in particular diesel it would be so much easier to sell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

The only problem with that is that if noone is willing to pay the €11k, then no money will fund the other project.

Car is only worth what people are willing to pay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Thanks For the advice everyone, these are my new updated ads:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3905562
    Is there anything I need to ad/ remove do you think?
    You have only uploaded 6 of 10 photos allowed on your ad and used less than 600 characters in your description, where you could have put 1000. You paid for the ad, so why not use its full potential? Of course, the price is another thing, but start with the ad.

Any other websites I should consider advertising it on ?

Also does anyone know if a facelifted auris was released in 2010?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 596 ✭✭✭sumo12

Yes, yours is face lifted model - indicators on door mirrors is easiest way to tell.

Thanks everyone for the help regarding the ads, a lot of things which I hadn't thought off have been suggested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

Thanks everyone for the help regarding the ads, a lot of things which I hadn't thought off have been suggested

Ring mccoys Toyota in Lucan. Ask them what they would expect this car to realise on their forecourt. Pull 1500 back off this figure. You now have the real price of the car. As said before, the car is 9995 to sell. 11k is implausible at best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,046 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Take out mention of having a touch up pen included, this implies the car is in bits from the owner lashing paint on it. The pen is worth less than €20, not worth mentioning when your talking an asking price of €10k.

Thanks for that advice! Hadn't really thought of it that way!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,731 ✭✭✭✭drunkmonkey

I'd also change the contact time to call anytime not the text before six mumbo jumbo etc you either want to sell it or not if that involves answering the phone before 6 so be it, don't make anything difficult for the potential buyer or most people won't even bother. It's sounds like you don't want to be disturbed.

Changed that now..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,673 ✭✭✭mahamageehad

I think the ad reads very badly.
    As another poster said you have paid for 1000 characters, why not use them??
    There are a number of grammatical errors and most of the sentences aren't proper sentences. But the biggest problem for me is the lack of paragraphs in that big chunk of text. People tend to read by scanning or skimming so why make it harder for them? As others have said the price needs looking at but one reason that I hate adverts and donedeal is the really crappy copy people use on their ads! :mad:

I think the ad reads very badly.
    As another poster said you have paid for 1000 characters, why not use them??
    There are a number of grammatical errors and most of the sentences aren't proper sentences. But the biggest problem for me is the lack of paragraphs in that big chunk of text. People tend to read by scanning or skimming so why make it harder for them? As others have said the price needs looking at but one reason that I hate adverts and donedeal is the really crappy copy people use on their ads! :mad:

Ok ... Point noted and will fix but I have used the 1000 characters in the ad fyi.

and longer this protracted sale lingers, it'll only be worth €8500.

take the dive now.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 117 ✭✭Hal Decks

"... If the right price is received I will tax it for six months."

In all honesty, this is one of the most ridiculous things I have ever seen in an advertisement.

Why is the OP so worked up about selling someone else's car?

and longer this protracted sale lingers, it'll only be worth €8500.

take the dive now.....

If you want to make an improved offer.... Please PM me ;) ... Thanks for the advice I have a price in mind.

Hal Decks wrote: »
    "... If the right price is received I will tax it for six months."

In all honesty, this is one of the most ridiculous things I have ever seen in an advertisement.

Why is the OP so worked up about selling someone else's car?

Very close relitave, simply trying to offer an incentive for someone to put in a reasonable offer instead of a stupid unrealistic one... Well do you have any suggestions for enticing people to offer higher?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

Very close relitave, simply trying to offer an incentive for someone to put in a reasonable offer instead of a stupid unrealistic one... Well do you have any suggestions for enticing people to offer higher?

I'd just tax it now or reduce the price. How would it work if someone wanted to buy it quickly. Would they have to wait before you tax it before buying it?

If you want to make an improved offer.... Please PM me ;) ... Thanks for the advice I have a price in mind.

lol .....god no, :pac::pac:

i'm not offering (i would'nt have one of them low rent yokes)

Vuzuggu wrote: »

I'd just tax it now or reduce the price. How would it work if someone wanted to buy it quickly. Would they have to wait before you tax it before buying it?

Yes suppose that is a fair point, its just to avoid people being ridiculous and saying " The tax is nearly out therefore I will have to lower my offer" etc etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,502 ✭✭✭Seweryn

Yes suppose that is a fair point, its just to avoid people being ridiculous and saying " The tax is nearly out therefore I will have to lower my offer" etc etc...
    Because the motor tax for that thing is relatively inexpensive, I would simply tax it for 6 months and put that in the ad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,528 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Or just not tax it and reword the ad a bit better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭oregano

lol .....god no, :pac::pac:

i'm not offering (i would'nt have one of them low rent yokes)

No, that was me who texted you the offer, not MidlandsM !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Dont say its in showroom condition and then mention scratches further down the ad; its either spotless or its not!

Also if tax is only €225 for the year then tax it for the year now; a years tax is a good selling point and will probably bring up the eventual selling price more than what it costs to tax the car now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

Photos could be improved on. You have two from the drivers side from almost the same angle, and none of the passenger side. They could do with being a bit sharper too but thats just being pedantic. You can put up 10 photos AND a video on DoneDeal, so why limit yourself to 6 or 7?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

Top Dog wrote: »
    Photos could be improved on. You have two from the drivers side from almost the same angle, and none of the passenger side. They could do with being a bit sharper too but thats just being pedantic. You can put up 10 photos AND a video on DoneDeal, so why limit yourself to 6 or 7?

+1, no passenger side pics makes me wonder what's wrong with the other side!

There should be 4 outside pictures minimum. At the four corners of the car:

Back/Right hand side + front/right hand side + front/left + back/left.

I don't think taxing it is a stumbling block here or going to make it any more or less attractive to a buyer. The tax is the same as the diesel version so imo it's a mute subject. What is a stumbling block is the high asking price, the basic spec and the fact it is petrol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,035 ✭✭✭goz83

Tell the owner it will not sell for 11k.
    Tell theowner he/she will be lucky to get 8k if they wait for another month, because it is a basic model and it is petrol and the new model comes out then. Then tell the owner that you might have a hairline chance at getting 10k if you act now. After approval, advertise price of 10k. State that no lower offer will be accepted, as car is in excellent condition.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,196 ✭✭✭the culture of deference

how many services has it had?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34 FacebookLAD

how many services has it had?

I was thinking the same thing. Probably hasn't been serviced yet?
    Needs better pictures. Get rid of showroom condition and €11990 O.V.N.O.
    The yoke doesn't even have alloys!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 262 ✭✭tigerblob

Very few scratches as kept in garage since new? Why does it have any scratches at all? Just take out the 'very few scratches'. If it is scratched enough to have to mention, say it in a separate sentence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 225 ✭✭shabbyalonso

After a read of the ad, the language used appears to be "all-wrong" for some reason - it leads me to feel that I've been mislead somehow. I would suggest a re-write and take out (as previously mentioned in other posts) the likes of "show-room condition" - this is in clear contradiction of your suggestions that it only has a few scratches? - genuine reason for low mileage - why would I think otherwise?? I don't know but because you mention there's a genuine reason for it, it raises an eyebrow. However, I'll stop there. The bottom line as mentioned, is that it's overpriced - while it's certainly not my cup of tea in terms of a car, I can't imagine I'd fork out anywhere near 11k for it - it's petrol into the bargain and this, mixed in with the recession and the fact that diesel is supposedly the way forward, unless you reduce the price drastically, I suspect you'll be attempting to sell for quite some time.

However, good luck with sale nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

Op don't sell it for pennys, genuine cars are hard to find and albeit a crap spec, it's still a car with Demo mileage for half the price of a new one. You're not far off with the value of €11,850.

The "book" value of it is around €12,00 with above 40k on it, so hold tough.

Maybe contact your Local Toyota dealer, let them know you have it and let them know what you would be willing to take for it, you never know, they might keep it in mind for a future customer ';)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I was thinking the same thing. Probably hasn't been serviced yet?
    Needs better pictures. Get rid of showroom condition and €11990 O.V.N.O.
    The yoke doesn't even have alloys!!!

It's a good point, no mention of it means that there hasn't been a service, which means that the warranty is invalid as they're supposed to be serviced every 15,000 km, or once a year, so that car should have had two services by now.

Personally I wouldn't touch it if it hasn't been serviced on time, especially because it's a low mileage example, it's probably only done short trips, which is very unforgiving on engine oil, it's probably started turning into sludge at this stage.

And definitely get it taxed, it could be the difference between getting a sale and not, especially because it's such a small amount relatively speaking. A year's tax is definitely a selling point, especially as they will probably hike that up a good bit again in the budget.