Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Where To Next For Today FM

• 12-10-2012 5:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭

So, as most you probably have heard, Ray Foley is leaving the lunchtime slot on Today FM to take over the breakfast show at 98FM.

This begs the question, who will replace Foley?

I guess the smart money is on KC and Lenny, as they've filled in for both Foley and Fenton before, so would require little bedding in time in the slot. But then who would replace KC? Would we see Tom Dunne moving downstairs to reprise his Pet Sounds show, or will Phil Cawley make a return to weekdays?

How do ye reckon Today FM will bounce back from losing one of their bigger names?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭LETS BE AVN IT

Were they asked to move? Or did they want to leave?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

Were they asked to move? Or did they want to leave?

Hard to tell. Seems to be a little from column A, a little from column B.

Foley said on the podcast today that they wanted to try something new. That they'd been doing the lunchtime thing for six years, and could go on to do it for another six years or try something new.

I think they'd obviously prefer to stay on Today FM (as it's national), but want to test out how they'd do on a Breakfast Show before possibly replacing Ian Dempsey in a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭hoodwinked

Personally i would love to see KC and lenny do it, by chance one night i heard them together again on today fm and it was just how they used to be,

i miss their breakfast show alot though so it could have been nostalgia! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Jason Todd

Although I have my issues with say the 'older' jocks eg Phil Cawley, Tony Fenton, Tim Kelly, Bob Conway, they don't have prime timeslots anymore bar Tony. I can see the issues ppl have with Iano in the mornings and D'Arcy after him but imo they are still the best at what they do at that time.

Ideally Foley & JP would have stayed and KC & Lenny would have replaced Fenton at 2.30 but that's not happening now, so I'd have KC take lunchtime and Louise Duffy take Tony Fentons slot. Bring in someone new then for 5-7am and 7-9pm if the talent is out there. Cooper and McLoone are fine where they are, although I don't know why they got rid of Donal Dineen, he seems to have loads of fans. Keep the Cawley's and Fentons at the weekend or covering holidays.

Someday in the future if Iano retires or wants a time change I'd hope Ray & JP would be back...

That's what Id do anyway! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭countygorey

Ian 7-10
    Ray D 10-1
    News 1-1.30
    Tony 1.30-4.30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

Ian 7-10
    Ray D 10-1
    News 1-1.30
    Tony 1.30-4.30

Yeah, that's genius alright .....

Take an hour off the biggest radio show in the station so you can extend that into afternoons and loose a fortune in ad revenue,then replace Ray Foleys show with 90 minutes of News ???? leave it bleedin out !!:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,125 ✭✭✭heybaby

LeakyGee wrote: »

Take an hour off the biggest radio show in the station so you can extend that into afternoons and loose a fortune in ad revenue,then replace Ray Foleys show with 90 minutes of News ???? leave it bleedin out !!:confused:

Now my maths isnt my strong point but 1 to 1.30 for news in my book constitutes 30 minutes and not 90, that is reasonable enough for news at lunchtime I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,459 ✭✭✭Ledger

LeakyGee wrote: »

You might want to look at that again, 30 mins news.

But I do agree that it is a bad schedule IMO.

My perfect schedule would be (in a perfect world):

Iano 7-9
    D'Arcy 9-12
    Rick O'Shea 12-3 (including news 12.45-1)
    Will Leahy 3-6

I would put Foley in there as well....but alas.....he is a dub only DJ now...

Ian 7-10
    Ray D 10-1
    News 1-1.30
    Tony 1.30-4.30

Bad schedule in my opinion.

Today FM is a music driven station, there is no need whatsoever for a 30 minute lunch time news slot IMO.

In an ideal world, I'd have the following on Today FM:

6:00am-9:00 - Ray Foley
    9:00-noon - Ray D'Arcy
    noon-2:00pm(including 15 news) - Louise Duffy
    2:00-4:30 - KC and Lenny
    4:30-7:00 - Will Leahy
    7:00-9:00 - Tom Dunne
    9:00-midnight - Paul McLoone
    midnight-2:00am - Donal Dineen

But here's a more realistic one:

5:00-7:00 - Louise Duffy
    7:00-9:00 - Ian Dempsey
    noon-2:00pm(including 15 news) - Tony Fenton in an all-request lunch type show.
    4:30-7:00 - Matt Cooper

wnolan1992 wrote: »
    Bad schedule in my opinion.

Today FM is a music driven station, there is no need whatsoever for a 30 minute lunch time news slot IMO.

In an ideal world, I'd have the following on Today FM:

6:00am-9:00 - Ray Foley
    noon-2:00pm(including 15 news) - Louise Duffy
    4:30-7:00 - Will Leahy

But here's a more realistic one:

5:00-7:00 - Louise Duffy
    7:00-9:00 - Ian Dempsey
    noon-2:00pm(including 15 news) - Tony Fenton in an all-request lunch type show.
    4:30-7:00 - Matt Cooper

The only change I might make to that is to put KC and Lenny on 12-3 and Fenton 3-4.30 (though I would rather him not there at all).

But yeah I think I would love your idealistic schedule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭molly09

I have to say I will be glad to no longer have to listen to foley's dribble on today fm. Its difficult to believe he made that move of his own decision.

molly09 wrote: »
    I have to say I will be glad to no longer have to listen to foley's dribble on today fm. Its difficult to believe he made that move of his own decision.

I know a lot of people didn't like him, I often had an argument to get him on the radio in work. :o

But an awful lot of people, including myself, did like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 140 ✭✭LeakyGee

I think Foley is one on the best radio presenters in Ireland - for the type of show he presents.

I also think that this move is huge for 98FM and surprisingly this could be a really good thing for Today FM.

I'd imagine Foley's audience come in for the show at 12 while a large chunk of D'arcy's audience bugger off. They need a show that will hold much more of what D'arcy has built up.

The new show still has to be fun,have great energy & interaction with great guests,creative elements and a bit of divilment thrown in.

Within Today FM at moment KC is the best replacement as he would continue to hold the feeling of the show.

Now unless they poach from 2 F........... nah .... nothing there really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,316 ✭✭✭darlett

CanNOT stand Darcy even if he was on the Zig and Zag show which I loved when I was growing up. I find him bland and grating but his audience figures speak for themselves. I also dislike that it takes 4 of them to present the show.

Foley, ah yeah ok, I found his cocky pretense usually great fun, him and his mate made better banter than the other 4 combined, but not everyones cup of tea clearly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Is there any truth in that post about yer man from Galway bay FM to replace Foley? I just can't see someone like that coming in to day time, that's why I don't believe it. I have never heard him..

I really liked Louise Duffy when she started as she was very fresh. I began to dislike her style for a while because she was falling in to the same trap of talking about herself all the time. Having said that, she comes across as a very nice person and maybe with a couple of people behind her she could be really good. It's reassuring to see people here include her on a possible schedule.

All I would say to Today FM is please don't bring back Phil Cawley. Really, please.

Foley going was bad news for me, because I think he is the best thing on radio in Ireland, and I have no choice in who I listen to, so will miss him, a lot.

The upside of that decision is that it gives hope that maybe they will have the balls to replace Darcy next!

I will have to be forgiven, but I can't remember the girls name that filled in for KC recently. I think she may have been from Phantom? Anyone tell me?

Anyway, I don't think there will be massive changes - here's what I think:

5-7: Louise Duffy
    7-9: Ian Dempsey
    9-12: Ray Darcy
    12-2.30: KC & Lenny
    2.30 - 4.30: Tony Fenton
    4.30-7: Matt Cooper
    7-9: Girl whos name I cant remember
    9 Paul McCloone

That girls name Louise McConnell, or O'Connell or something like that. Someone here said she filled in for KC a few weeks back, maybe they were testing her out? She was on today around 3o'clock today when I was in the car, not bad, lacking that little spark Louise Duffy has, but she seems natural enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Is there any truth in that post about yer man from Galway bay FM to replace Foley? I just can't see someone like that coming in to day time, that's why I don't believe it. I have never heard him..
    a

No chance. That was either the lad himself or one of his "fans" who posted that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

He's really leaving. What well I listen to at lunch time. I won't be turning on iradio

• Closed Accounts Posts: 298 ✭✭Cookie Policy

I really liked Louise Duffy when she started as she was very fresh. I began to dislike her style for a while because she was falling in to the same trap of talking about herself all the time. Having said that, she comes across as a very nice person and maybe with a couple of people behind her she could be really good. It's reassuring to see people here include her on a possible schedule.

All I would say to Today FM is please don't bring back Phil Cawley. Really, please.

Foley going was bad news for me, because I think he is the best thing on radio in Ireland, and I have no choice in who I listen to, so will miss him, a lot.

The upside of that decision is that it gives hope that maybe they will have the balls to replace Darcy next!

I will have to be forgiven, but I can't remember the girls name that filled in for KC recently. I think she may have been from Phantom? Anyone tell me?

Anyway, I don't think there will be massive changes - here's what I think:

5-7: Louise Duffy
    7-9: Ian Dempsey
    9-12: Ray Darcy
    12-2.30: KC & Lenny
    2.30 - 4.30: Tony Fenton
    4.30-7: Matt Cooper
    7-9: Girl whos name I cant remember
    9 Paul McCloone

Her name is Muireann O'Connell formerly of SPIN South West.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,698 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

It's more than one person who have mentioned "scruffy" Duffy (as called by foley himself) as having a move from early morning show. I like Louise as she seems to have an infectious cheerful attitude for 5am in the morning and she covered for KC a few weeks ago and I didn't hear anything negative about her stint.

In response to her talking about herself a bit too much ? Surely that is a consequence of gaining experience on the radio and feeling more sure of herself ?

Anyway once Phil Cawley doesn't inhabit a today fm weekday schedule I'm happy.

Is t bone Fenton okay ? He has been missing for ages now.

To be honest, I'm not a fan of T-bone at all, did enjoy the 'banter' with Ray & JP though, but if they shake up the schedule I'd prefer if he wasn't on it.

In saying that, he has had an awful run of things between his mothers death, his bankruptcy and his own battle with cancer. I hope his recent absence is not due to ill health again. Wouldn't wish that on anyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

The sooner 98FM go national the better! Today FM has died. Iano does nothing but competitions and ads, Ray Darcy moans about politicians then talks about nothing but women's issues. Tony Fenton would bore the life out of anyone. And RTE are worse again.

Its a shame the national stations are so bad. We need more competition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,274 ✭✭✭_feedback_

Who could they bring in?

Is there someone on local radio that is crying out for a national slot?

Is there another KC in Cork or another Foley in Dublin?

Who could they bring in?

Is there someone on local radio that is crying out for a national slot?

Is there another KC in Cork or another Foley in Dublin?

Very few standouts in Cork IMO.

Stevie G on REDFM is probably one of the closest fits to Today FM's style, but I don't think he'd do well on a national tbqh. Ditto Dave Mac and Philip Burke.

As for C103/96/SpinSW, I don't think there's anything there worth poaching for Today FM.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

nacimroc wrote: »
    The sooner 98FM go national the better! Today FM has died. Iano does nothing but competitions and ads, Ray Darcy moans about politicians then talks about nothing but women's issues. Tony Fenton would bore the life out of anyone. And RTE are worse again.

Its a shame the national stations are so bad. We need more competition.

Are you having a laugh? 98FM are dying on their arse. FM104 have left them way behind in the ratings. Foley has been brought in by Communicorp from Today FM in a desperate attempt to revive them.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056713114

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,443 ✭✭✭ofcork

I dont fancy louise duffy at all,she constantly stumbles over words,would like will leahy on today fm he is similar to foley imo and would slot in well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭countygorey

Tim Kelly
    Bob Conway
    Derek Flood
    Ed smith
    Any more
    Martin king Anton Savage are at other things so no need to incl them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭passremarkable

think they should juliette gash to do a slot :)

Tim Kelly

Was given The Blast! after Foley moved to lunchtimes. Don't have listenership figures, but by all accounts it was disastrous.
    Bob Conway

Not great IMO. Shouldn't even be considered for a weekly slot.
    Derek Flood

Floody is good at what he does. But keep him there doing Friday Night 80's and the like.
    Ed smith
    Any more
    Martin king Anton Savage are at other things so no need to incl them.

Phil Cawley and Dave Cous are the only two that come to mind.

Phil's an alright weekend DJ, fine for filling in, plus I think he's doing work behind the scenes as well.

Dave, who I just remembered myself, would be a decent replacement in the KC slot if he were to replace Foley.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Lavisa

I love Dermot & Dave on 98fm in the evenings, they could fit into Ray Foleys slot, similar kind of show but Dermot & Dave..way funnier.

Used to think Ray & JP were great, but now they just seem to ramble on & on & its not funny at all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,296 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Jim o Neil on Today Fm-fab. keep it up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,414 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I might get some slap for this, but if Today FM were looking to retain Foley style audience for the lunchtime slot, perhaps look to poach Dave O Connor from iRadio? (Not my fave style of DJ either but could work?)

This too shall pass.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Simon Murdoch on iRadio is good too....

Anyone once its not Phil Cawley!!

Who currently presents the brekki slot on 98?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

Foley from the blast is a different story form Foley at lunchtime.

His midday show is grand, but after listening to it everyday for a week or so it gets very repetitive. I guess its difficult for any dj that's on 5 days a week to keep things original.

Of the Today fm jocks that don't have a regular/full time slot Tim Kelly is my number 1. Doesnt talk too much rubbish and just gets on with the music, but that's probably not what they're looking for in a show on at that time of the day.

Poor oul Phil Cawley got a fair bit of abuse when filling in on Friday Night 80s about some of his selections. That would increase big time if he got a midday slot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

Jim o Neil on Today Fm-fab. keep it up!

That he's in South Africa would probably preclude that

We have a replacement for Foley...

Not surprising in the slightest really. Ready made replacement in fairness.

Will be interesting to see who takes over from KC now. Could we see McLoone reclaim his 7-10 slot and maybe bringing back Donal Dineen? Or perhaps Louise "Scruffy" Duffy might make the move to evenings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭nacimroc

They should have given it to Paul Collins! He has a great sense of humour and watching that video of today fm olympics he could do a half decent job I reckon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,478 ✭✭✭✭gnfnrhead

nacimroc wrote: »
    They should have given it to Paul Collins! He has a great sense of humour and watching that video of today fm olympics he could do a half decent job I reckon!

Paul Collins is only ok in small doses. He is annoying as hell when he is on for more than a couple of minutes. Cant imagine how painful a full show would be!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,412 ✭✭✭toadfly

Jeez I turn off when Paul Collins talks there's no way Id listen to his show.

Id rather listen to Louise Duffy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Any word on if lenny is Co Presenting?

I hope so. The fact he mentioned him as part of the team along with Adelle is a good indication I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,257 ✭✭✭blue4ever

Today FM would want to watch one thing - their Dublin/Non-Dublin balance. They completely under perform in Dublin in comparison to their 16% national figure (10% in Dublin). Not that listeners are that much different. But the Dublin Centric agencies would prefer to see better number in the Capital

Martin King gone from saturday mornings according to the Today FM facebook page.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

Yeah I heard his last show this morning. 10 years and 3 months is good going in any live show. Fair play to him - very likable presenter.

Bit of change though in marconi house. Foley gone, KC moving so space in his spot and martin king now gone so space on saturday morning.

10 years? Wow, didn't know he'd been there that long. Not the most edgy show on radio, but definitely one of the better weekend shows.

Wonder who'll replace King? I'm starting to think the chances of Louise Duffy moving slot may be very likely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

Ye. Was sorry to hear Martin was finishing in the Saturday morning slot. Thought it was a fantastic show - great selection of music along with a bit of banter. Always looked forward to truckers tune. I think he built up quite a following for a poor enough slot. 10 years is some going. Always came across as a warm pleasant individual. Won a weekend break on his show once and I was chatting to him off air when he rang for my details - a genuinely nice guy. Even when he signed off he was taking about how his life has changed in the last 10 years which felt weirdly nostalgic.

He said Muireann O'Connell is taking over and he also briefly mentioned that he will still be doing work with Today FM. He gave no mention as to what form that work will be. I'd certainly tune in if he was on air.

Ye. Was sorry to hear Martin was finishing in the Saturday morning slot. Thought it was a fantastic show - great selection of music along with a bit of banter. Always looked forward to truckers tune. I think he built up quite a following for a poor enough slot. 10 years is some going. Always came across as a warm pleasant individual. Won a weekend break on his show once and I was chatting to him off air when he rang for my details - a genuinely nice guy. Even when he signed off he was taking about how his life has changed in the last 10 years which felt weirdly nostalgic.

He said Muireann O'Connell is taking over and he also briefly mentioned that he will still be doing work with Today FM. He gave no mention as to what form that work will be. I'd certainly tune in if he was on air.

Muireann o Connell filled in for KC recently enough didn't she ? That's if I've the correct lady in mind.she played a none censored version of an eminem song I remember.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 50 ✭✭celtenal

I could never stand Foley. He was as pathetic on Radio as he is on "Take me out" on TV. KC is only a slight improvement but TBH my cat would have been an improvement over Foley. I could listen to Ian Dempsey and Ray Darcy all day long however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,061 ✭✭✭gutteruu

What has happened. I used to love todayFM. Ray Darcy is back to moaning and the nagging wife was back last week to make every man switch off as it sounds like home. The actual radio signal reception everywhere in the country is terrible the last few weeks ( I work nationwide). KC makes me die of boredom. 2:30-4:30 still sounds like its 1980. The whole thing needs a good shake up. Its a shame as I only have boom boom iradio or rick "I talk annoyingly quiet" on 2fm.

The country is in bad need of some competition for nationwide.