Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So.... Who are you?

• 12-10-2012 3:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

The recent thread about the IFA day of action really made me think. Less than 10% of the voters said they were in favour of the march. However a recent survey at the ploughing (http://www.independent.ie/farming/news-features/day-of-action-gets-thumbsup-but-concern-at-public-reaction-3247191.html) reported that 68% of farmers supported the protest. Now, in reality I think it was between 12.5% and 25% of IFA members who turned up for the match which doesn't fit in with any of the polls!

It has come up in a few threads as well about the "average age" of a farmer with the suggestion being that many who post here on boards would be younger than that. So now I'm just curious!

So what demographic do you fall under? For privacy it's an anonymous vote.

Whats the farming and forestry demographic? 153 votes

Male: 26 or under
    0% 0 votes
    Female: 26 or under
    11% 18 votes
    Male: 27 - 39
    1% 3 votes
    Female: 27 - 39
    55% 85 votes
    Male: 40 - 65
    3% 6 votes
    Female: 40 - 65
    24% 37 votes
    Male: 66+
    1% 3 votes
    Female: 66+
    0% 1 vote

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

The recent thread about the IFA day of action really made me think. Less than 10% of the voters said they were in favour of the march. However a recent survey at the ploughing (http://www.independent.ie/farming/news-features/day-of-action-gets-thumbsup-but-concern-at-public-reaction-3247191.html) reported that 68% of farmers supported the protest. Now, in reality I think it was between 12.5% and 25% of IFA members who turned up for the match which doesn't fit in with any of the polls!

It has come up in a few threads as well about the "average age" of a farmer with the suggestion being that many who post here on boards would be younger than that. So now I'm just curious!

So what demographic do you fall under? For privacy it's an anonymous vote.

the results are hidden ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Can you not do an anonymous vote without hiding the results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 FarmerWatch

You probably can, I'm just an eejit. :o

If a mod could show the results but keep it anonymous that would be great! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

can you include the option of "none of the above"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,853 ✭✭✭brian_t

If you are 40 you seem to have two options.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Rovi

You probably can, I'm just an eejit. :o

If a mod could show the results but keep it anonymous that would be great! :o
    I've made the results visible.
    brian_t wrote: »
    If you are 40 you seem to have two options.
    I've changed the two 27-40 options to 27-39, and changed the wording of the 'under 26' option.
    If this messes with anyone's vote, PM me and I'll shuffle the figures.
    Can be done, but why???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

What are you bob ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

just want to make sure all farmers are represented :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,753 ✭✭✭lalababa

Either Bob is a hemaphrodite or an embryo:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

just want to make sure all farmers are represented :rolleyes:

IFA rep ??
    Surely not :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,786 ✭✭✭✭whelan1

guess who i am?:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭pakalasa

I think you're 'ploughing a lone furrow' there...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 307 ✭✭Askim

whelan1 wrote: »

Bob's wife ???

the poll is actually very interesting....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭rancher

the poll is actually very interesting....

Certainly wouldn't reflect the age profile of farmers in Ireland

rancher wrote: »
    25% so far are male age between 40-65 does that not go with the ifa's view:confused:

The only reason my comment has anything to do with IFA is that I read this on the indo on the bus to Dublin on tuesday

''The CSO census of agriculture shows the average age of farmers in Ireland in 2012 was 54, compared to 51 in 2000.

It also showed more than half (51.4pc) of all farm holders in 2010 were 55 or older.''

Some difference, explains a lot

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

Will ya stop giving out and trying to pick arguments. The op specifically said in his first that he wants to find out what demographic people fall under. He never said that he wants to show that the poll reflects the age profile of farmers in Ireland.

reilig wrote: »
    Will ya stop giving out and trying to pick arguments. The op specifically said in his first that he wants to find out what demographic people fall under. He never said that he wants to show that the poll reflects the age profile of farmers in Ireland.

''It has come up in a few threads as well about the "average age" of a farmer with the suggestion being that many who post here on boards would be younger than that. So now I'm just curious!''

I'd say that's stating the obvious, I read the paper on tues, why shouldn't I put it in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭grange mac

Askim wrote: »

Bob's wife ???
    Funny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

1.52%

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

''It has come up in a few threads as well about the "average age" of a farmer with the suggestion being that many who post here on boards would be younger than that. So now I'm just curious!''

I'd say that's stating the obvious, I read the paper on tues, why shouldn't I put it in there

jayus rancher,did you ever think of taking up boxing,get it out of your system like:p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 702 ✭✭✭Pulsating Star

Rovi wrote: »

Can be done, but why???

Obviously not Bobs reason but would cover the likes of me, I am not farming, just an extra pair of hands when needed but still interested in the forum.( I make myself useful sometimes in passing on some of the advise given)

If the likes of me were included though the relevent demographic would be skewed so not voting.

keep going wrote: »
    1.52%
    2.35%

keep going wrote: »
    jayus rancher,did you ever think of taking up boxing,get it out of your system like:p

Ah!! its alright...budgets coming up... the guys bring me along to meet the politicians for my bad cop input

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

We appear to be lacking in farming wimmens.
    Come on Whelan1, we'll stick together!:)

Kovu Murr wrote: »
    We appear to be lacking in farming wimmens.
    Come on Whelan1, we'll stick together!:)
    I see six wimmens in the poll thats not too bad , next we should have a F+F beers night so we can start putting usernames to faces :D

moy83 wrote: »
    I see six wimmens in the poll thats not too bad , next we should have a F+F beers night so we can start putting usernames to faces :D

That wouldn't be a bad idea, I'd be interested in helping organise one.

I always think that being on this form is like being in a pub having a quiet pint & listening to everyones conversation.
    Sometimes gossip, sometimes good advice & sometimes a good row with Rovi & Reilig as the refs :)

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

Theres a few closet women so....come out let ye :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,810 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

Theres a few closet women so....come out let ye :D

You might be disappointed :D:D:D

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

I always think that being on this form is like being in a pub having a quiet pint & listening to everyones conversation.
    Sometimes gossip, sometimes good advice & sometimes a good row with Rovi & Reilig as the refs :)

A
    Its nice to be able to listen in to every side of the conversation here alright , but id say there would be a bit of craic too if a few of us were to meet up some night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Obviously not Bobs reason but would cover the likes of me, I am not farming, just an extra pair of hands when needed but still interested in the forum.( I make myself useful sometimes in passing on some of the advise given)

If the likes of me were included though the relevent demographic would be skewed so not voting.

Hmmm yeh has anyone done a poll here to see what % of posters are actually active farmers? It would be interesting to see!

Timmaay wrote: »
    Hmmm yeh has anyone done a poll here to see what % of posters are actually active farmers? It would be interesting to see!

It would be, but define active ?? I have 1 acre rented, have 3 pigs with herd number, also grow beg for ourselves, & sell 1 pig to relation.

Am I a farmer ??? I have herd number & sell some produce. Or is a farmer one who gets a portion of his income from farming, but what about the guy with 20 cattle & just breaking even.

I would class myself as a hobby/ self sufficient / smallholder farmer

A

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

but what about the guy with 20 cattle & just breaking even.

Plenty of suckler farmers out there with 100 acres and making a loss. How would these guys be classed?

reilig wrote: »
    Plenty of suckler farmers out there with 100 acres and making a loss. How would these guys be classed?

I'd class them as tolerant!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Bizzum

It's making me feel old!

I think I'll play the "with age comes wisdom" card now:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 FarmerWatch

God there's way more women than I thought there would be! I thought it was just you whelan1! Hello ladies! ;)

We're a fine old mixed bunch aren't we?