Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Titleist 913 D2 and D3

• 10-10-2012 2:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭

Just got a mail from the Titleist website saying that "Titleist National Fitting Centres Start Fitting 913D2 and D3 drivers"

Anyone planning on moving to the new driver? Any one got any ideas on the cost when they are released? And finally anyone know how much the 910 D2 will drop in price once this is released :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 92 ✭✭IanPoulter

Getting fitted in Carton on 23rd Oct for the latest and greatest woods and the AP2's. Don't know the cost apart from €100 for 2 hour fitting. Will sit down before he tells me the cost :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

IanPoulter wrote: »
    Getting fitted in Carton on 23rd Oct for the latest and greatest woods and the AP2's. Don't know the cost apart from €100 for 2 hour fitting. Will sit down before he tells me the cost :D

The woods and hybrids are not out until January and unavailable for fitting until December (I was informed). So good luck with that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 639 ✭✭✭Arsenium

The woods and hybrids are not out until January and unavailable for fitting until December (I was informed). So good luck with that ;)

Hmm, the mail from Titleist says "Available now for custom fitting at all Titleist National Fitting centres"

http://www.titleist.co.uk/teamtitleist/gb/b/weblog/archive/2012/10/10/titleist-national-fitting-centres-start-fitting-913d2-and-d3-drivers.aspx

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

Arsenium wrote: »
    Hmm, the mail from Titleist says "Available now for custom fitting at all Titleist National Fitting centres"

http://www.titleist.co.uk/teamtitleist/gb/b/weblog/archive/2012/10/10/titleist-national-fitting-centres-start-fitting-913d2-and-d3-drivers.aspx]

It only says the driver is available for fitting.

I heard the fairway woods and hybrids were available in February.

saintastic wrote: »
    It only says the driver is available for fitting.

I heard the fairway woods and hybrids were available in February.

Aha...clears that up :-)

Ouch.....you're going to be parting with a lot of loot if you get the lot in one go. The AP2's I guess will be coming in around the 900 mark? The D2 or D3 is surely going to be around the 400 mark? The fitting is costing 100...that's 1400 in total.

That would be a fun day in the golf shop :-) I can only dream of doing that...

Ouch.....you're going to be parting with a lot of loot if you get the lot in one go. The AP2's I guess will be coming in around the 900 mark? The D2 or D3 is surely going to be around the 400 mark? The fitting is costing 100...that's 1400 in total.

That would be a fun day in the golf shop :-) I can only dream of doing that...

I've prepared her with a budget of €2000. This will be the last set of clubs (well that's what I told her). Disappointed to hear that the fairway woods are not out till next year so I'll have to talk to Mark O'Mahony in Carton to see what to do. I'd expect them to fit me for fairway woods in February with no additional cost considering I'm shelling out €100 for a two hour fitting.

I assume they can fit you now for the 910 fairways and you can just use the same settings in February and they may bring you back for a quick refresh to make sure they're right at no cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,080 ✭✭✭bustercherry

Aha...clears that up :-)

As I stated above (January I heard)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Hi all, if I was to book an appointment with a view to buying the new driver, do carton take my old 910 as a trade in? Or is it only straight deals?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Hi all, if I was to book an appointment with a view to buying the new driver, do carton take my old 910 as a trade in? Or is it only straight deals?

No trade ins afaik

m r c wrote: »
    No trade ins afaik

Carton don't sell you the driver. They do the fitting and provide the settings to the person who is going to order the driver for you. So if you are buying it through, let's say McGuirks, they will give you a trade-in for your driver and sell you the 913 with the new settings given by the Fitting Centre.

Selling it second hand on here or on adverts might be the best way to go as there is still a bit of value in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Carton don't sell you the driver. They do the fitting and provide the settings to the person who is going to order the driver for you. So if you are buying it through, let's say McGuirks, they will give you a trade-in for your driver and sell you the 913 with the new settings given by the Fitting Centre.

Selling it second hand on here or on adverts might be the best way to go as there is still a bit of value in them.

Available at €250 new now. Great value for a really good driver, reviews on the 913 seem to indicate only a slight improvement. It's suckers like me who they market them too though. Got to have the latest and greatest.... Foolish really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

dines08 wrote: »
    Available at €250 new now. Great value for a really good driver, reviews on the 913 seem to indicate only a slight improvement. It's suckers like me who they market them too though. Got to have the latest and greatest.... Foolish really

All joking aside and out of genuine interest - Why would you ?

How long have you got your old one ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 433 ✭✭onlyfinewine

Frank Thomas who is ex United States Golf Association Testing Director of long standing has a site called Frankly Golf (www.franklygolf.com) and he dispenses advice which has the benefit of full testing for the last thirty years or more. Some of the articles he writes about on his site are listed below with full informative explanations and no selling whatsoever as follows

Golf Drivers

Are the New, Bigger Drivers Better? (Compares advantages of larger heads etc)

Get More Distance (A discussion on ball speed,launch angle and spin rate)

Driver Launch Conditions (You get the picture?)

Golf Drivers & Spring Like Effect

Moment of Inertia in Golf Clubs

If you want to learn a lot quickly about golf equipment, and when you need to upgrade, this is the place to go.

All joking aside and out of genuine interest - Why would you ?

How long have you got your old one ?

I wouldn't but I have done in the past. Playing the game for 3 years and for the first year and a half I was changing a lot. Went and got fitted then by Foregolf as a Christmas present last year and have never looked back

Do you mean the 910 D2 is now available new in a store for 250? Where have you seen that? I am assuming it will drop in price once the 913 is released which is kinda what I am hoping for :-)

FDP...after months of reading your posts...I just realised your name is FIX DE PITCHMARK. Not FIXED PITCHMARK. I guess I am on the slow side !!!

Do you mean the 910 D2 is now available new in a store for 250? Where have you seen that? I am assuming it will drop in price once the 913 is released which is kinda what I am hoping for :-)

FDP...after months of reading your posts...I just realised your name is FIX DE PITCHMARK. Not FIXED PITCHMARK. I guess I am on the slow side !!!

I do indeed. Titleist 910 D2 brand new for €250 in Gleeson Sport Scene in Limerick

Not slow but dyslexic perhaps ;)

lol. :D

Your not the only one - "de" is a local parochialism - it is trying to deformalize the thing. :p

The 913 D2 and D3 are reviewed in this months golf monthly. I havent read the full review yet but the magazine lists them as £344 sterling !! A quick conversion puts that at €430. Ouch!! Bye bye any thougths of indulgence I might have entertained. That's insane. Or am I just tight?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 tippman26

ridiculous alright,think the r11s was 379

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

Jesus I only see his name now that you spelled it out

If you think about it fixedpitchmark was more profound, I feel a little hollow now :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

The 913 D2 and D3 are reviewed in this months golf monthly. I havent read the full review yet but the magazine lists them as £344 sterling !! A quick conversion puts that at €430. Ouch!! Bye bye any thougths of indulgence I might have entertained. That's insane. Or am I just tight?
    Why wouldn't you buy the 909 or 910 for a fraction of the price?, or would you not be seen dead with such an old club?.

MP62 wrote: »
    Why wouldn't you buy the 909 or 910 for a fraction of the price?, or would you not be seen dead with such an old club?.

I've a 910 and can't understand why you would need something for 400 euro +.

I think it is quite expensive. But that's the way it's going. TaylorMade seem to have a slightly better strategy in that the new R11 (reportedly to be called R1) is going to be $400 in the States (presume €400 in Ireland) and the new Rocketballz is going to be $300/€300.

I was told the 913 will be €375 - €399.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

I think it is quite expensive. But that's the way it's going. TaylorMade seem to have a slightly better strategy in that the new R11 (reportedly to be called R1) is going to be $400 in the States (presume €400 in Ireland) and the new Rocketballz is going to be $300/€300.

the price Quoted in the Mags are generally RRP's..... The self price rarely reflects this. I am waitng for stock to arrive next week and Im not 100% on this but I think they'll be put out at 349.

I've a 910 and can't understand why you would need something for 400 euro +.

My plan has been to wait for the 913 to be released then see if the 910's get reduced. If so then I will most likely buy a 910 D2. But I got a little tempted as the 913 is being released...but 344 sterling put a quick end to that temptation.

But Neckedit says they will probably be 349? Still expensive but I guess thats the price of a new driver these days. If the 910 goes down to 249, 100 euros is a big difference in the price of one golf club.

So I will stick with my original plan.

Neckedit, as you are in the trade, is it likely the 910's will reduce that much once the 913 is released?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 261 ✭✭tommyombomb

i was talking to a mate of mine recently in relation to drivers and their improvement on ones game and now getting itchy feet, but being a lefty means i have never tried another driver so looking for info/ideas.

my drive is low(abour 10-15ft) on average but outdrive the person i play with normally(about 250yards on a good day, 270 if something freakish happens(happened only handfull of times:D))

anyway, my loft is 9.5, bought the club second hand 7years ago and it was the jewel in my crown but my other clubs have moved on. Cant remember its name but its not a normal brand. in summary its pretty bad.

i am thinking of moving into the idea of buying a new(second hand ideally) driver. what loft would one think is best and are the tilteist the way for in terms of value/quality.

i was looking at the cobra ones and they seem pretty cool, especially with the noise that comes off of some of them.

Is there a new RBZ on the way?

I haven't heard about a new RBZ as yet, but as we all know TaylorMade are likely to sneek one in at anytime, The current one is still selling pretty well. As for the 910, thy are sitting about 299 at the moment, but as you say due to the release of the new they will come down further, but stocks should be low in most places as Titleist have giving good lengthy notice for the release of the 913.

i was talking to a mate of mine recently in relation to drivers and their improvement on ones game and now getting itchy feet, but being a lefty means i have never tried another driver so looking for info/ideas.

my drive is low(abour 10-15ft) on average but outdrive the person i play with normally(about 250yards on a good day, 270 if something freakish happens(happened only handfull of times:D))

anyway, my loft is 9.5, bought the club second hand 7years ago and it was the jewel in my crown but my other clubs have moved on. Cant remember its name but its not a normal brand. in summary its pretty bad.

i am thinking of moving into the idea of buying a new(second hand ideally) driver. what loft would one think is best and are the tilteist the way for in terms of value/quality.

i was looking at the cobra ones and they seem pretty cool, especially with the noise that comes off of some of them.

I would highly recommend going for a fitting. They will tell you what shaft you should be using, what loft and what setting on the driver. There are different reports on ForeGolf but they allow you to try different drivers. If you settle on a brand, try go to a demo day or else if you decide on Titleist, go and get the fitting done in their National Fitting Centre in Carton House.

According to some rumours in the US and also a club fitter in Dublin, yes, there is.

Rumours about them bringing out a new RBZ tour and a non adjustable head have been around since mid year, but still nothing concrete, they did just release a new iron on the 26/10/2012 The RocketBladez and the tour version, We were half expecteing that launch to be a new driver as they were keeping it very hush hush.

Just got an email from taylormade golf advertising reduced prices on the r11s and rocketballz range.....something new and shiny on the way perhaps?!!!

McGuirks are selling the R11S for €229 now.

Also, Golf Store Europe are selling the 913 for £299 which works out at approximately €375.

Had the fitting and now the quote (including €100 fitting)

AP2's 4-pw
    3 Vokeys
    913 Driver
    910 Hybrids (16 and 20 Degree)
    Golf Pride mid size Dual Compound Grips on all

€2000 all in

She took the news quite well :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

I haven't a pot to piss in and lads are dropping 2 grand on a set of clubs holey moley.

Best of luck with them Ian. Wish I could afford that. They would need to be magic clubs for me to spend that money though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,191 ✭✭✭Dr_Colossus

AP2's 4-pw
    3 Vokeys
    913 Driver

€2000 all in

That's a serious spend on clubs, were your existing clubs decades old that the whole set needed replacement at once? Would have been more inclined to spread the cost over a period and change the irons first and later woods etc but if you've saved for them and have the money to hand sure why not. Maybe you'll be able to recoup some of the cost selling off your existing set if they're not too battered. All the best with the new clubs, some set up you have now so will be expecting great results in 2013.

As a matter of interest did you hit any of the Titleist CB or MB forged irons during the fitting? Would you have considered them over the AP2 or had you your heart set on those before the fitting? Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

AP2's 4-pw
    3 Vokeys
    913 Driver

€2000 all in

Crikey that seems very expensive.

I managed the get the following:
    AP2's 4-pw
    2 Vokeys
    910 Driver
    910 Hybrids (20 Degree)
    for €1350.

AP2's 4-pw
    3 Vokeys
    913 Driver

€2000 all in

Jesus!! Fair play man. That's some spend. And some set up. How about a Scotty Cameron putter? Surely an old putter will tarnish the look of that bag :-)

2K, I'd want 4 wheels, a steering wheel, tax and insurance for that !!!

That's a serious spend on clubs, were your existing clubs decades old that the whole set needed replacement at once? Would have been more inclined to spread the cost over a period and change the irons first and later woods etc but if you've saved for them and have the money to hand sure why not. Maybe you'll be able to recoup some of the cost selling off your existing set if they're not too battered. All the best with the new clubs, some set up you have now so will be expecting great results in 2013.

As a matter of interest did you hit any of the Titleist CB or MB forged irons during the fitting? Would you have considered them over the AP2 or had you your heart set on those before the fitting? Thanks.

Wilson Fat shafts 10 years old and Ping G5 Driver, 3 wood and 5 wood second hand 6 years ago
    Only tried the AP1 and AP2'S - and AP2's performed better on Trackman.
    Reganovski wrote: »
    Crikey that seems very expensive.

I managed the get the following:
    AP2's 4-pw
    2 Vokeys
    910 Driver
    910 Hybrids (20 Degree)
    for €1350.

When they're custom fit you don't get the discounted prices of in stock models. The new driver is €400 (€100 extra over the 910), extra Vokey €125, extra hybrid €225, €100 for fitting and around €150 for Dual Compound grips.

That makes €700 on top of your €1350

Belated 50th birthday present from me to me and doing my bit for the economy ;)

Wilson Fat shafts 10 years old and Ping G5 Driver, 3 wood and 5 wood second hand 6 years ago

When they're custom fit you don't get the discounted prices of in stock models. The new driver is €400 (€100 extra over the 910), extra Vokey €125, extra hybrid €225, €100 for fitting and around €150 for Dual Compound grips.

Fair play, you're dead right, enjoy the clubs! Good luck with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 967 ✭✭✭Reganovski

Mine were custom fitted.
    But who cares how much they cost :)
    You've a fabulous set of clubs. Enjoy.

Reganovski wrote: »
    Mine were custom fitted.
    But who cares how much they cost :)
    You've a fabulous set of clubs. Enjoy.

Absolutely. Best of luck with them. Fair play.

Yes!! I knew it. The 913's are in McGuirks and as I expected the 910's have been reduced.

Yesterday the 910 D2 was €290 and today it can be picked up for........wait for it......€289 !!!

Sweet :-)