Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ownership question

• 10-10-2012 1:25pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭

Just wondering if anybody could tell me If I buy a car an put it into my mothers name on the log book (she has her own car) can I insure it as normal myself with the policy in my name even though im not the owner?

thanks

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

The only people that can really answer that is you insurance company, some companies don't mind, some do.

• Administrators Posts: 54,424 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,132 ✭✭✭SRFC

Cant prove where I got cash to buy the car im buying so dont want the authorities giving me trouble,ill ask the insurance company so thanks.

Seriously, you think the authorities will be after you ? Are you "known to the gardai" or something as otherwise nobody cares where you get the money.
    You are likely to get non-owners insurance which will only cover your liability in an accident.

Not necessarily, you can get a regular policy if the log book is in someone elses name. Again, someone would need to clarify with their insurance company the finer details.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

SRFC wrote: »
    Cant prove where I got cash to buy the car im buying so dont want the authorities giving me trouble,ill ask the insurance company so thanks.
    I need to hear this reasoning!

Please, elucidate

• Closed Accounts Posts: 560 ✭✭✭andrew241983

the insurance company will ask you are you the registered owner of the car they always do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

With the added bonus that your mother gets the speeding fines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Can your mam prove where she got the cash to buy it? If so register it in your name and if your asked where you got the cash say your mam bought u the car. You won't be asked anyway unless your driving a bentley to the dole office and parking it in the doorway

Sorry for being vague,eh its a 7 series bmw im buying ive saved the money cash to buy it a year or two ive pay slips to prove this money but im unemplyed now so I dont want hassle of gardai asking where I got the money to buy it from because they do ask!

ill find out when im paying for the insurance next week anyways see what they say.

It's none of the Gardaí business how you got the car really

If the car is in your name, then there should be no issue if you're stopped

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

There's plenty of scum driving around in brand new cars that never work a day in there lives, I'd be proud of being able to pay for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

awec wrote: »
    I think legally you're grand. Surely you'd be better keeping a hold of your money for now seeing as you have no income though?

Can we try this on topic? Don't want it straying into that whole area.

I think legally you're grand. Surely you'd be better keeping a hold of your money for now seeing as you have no income though?

No ive saved all my money for the car ive dreamed of having i live once so im buying it while ive a deal in place work could be just around the corner with a bit of luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,795 ✭✭✭Neilw

I don't think the insurance company will allow this, the car usually needs to be in the policy holders name so they have an insurable interest in the car.

Neilw wrote: »
    I don't think the insurance company will allow this, the car usually needs to be in the policy holders name so they have an insurable interest in the car.

Yeah think you're right ill just have to leave it in my name thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Why would you need to prove that?

Revenue might (and should) get suspicious about people who buy expensive things while having no trace of such income officially.
    Income about which revenue doesn't know, might mean income not taxed yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭shane.

CiniO wrote: »
    Revenue might (and should) get suspicious about people who buy expensive things while having no trace of such income officially.

seriously revenue? think they have bigger fish to fry than a young lad saving his money!! unless its drug money!

CiniO wrote: »
    I seriously doubt the Gardaí are sitting in their car, waiting for a new model car, with a younglad in it to go buy so they can get Revenue involved

If the chap bought a couple of gaffs, and then the car then maybe....

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,255 ✭✭✭Yawns

Yeah as above don't worry about it. If on the very very off chance a guard asks how you bought it, just reply nice and politely that you've been saving over the years when you were working and got it. They won't ask unless you are a known trouble maker or something.

Insurance co will most likely want it in your name otherwise your mother may have to go as main policy holder with you as a named driver but you won't get a NCB in your own name and she cannot use her current NCB for a discount if she has another driving policy already with it. It would be best off to have it in your name and insured with you as the main policy holder so you can build up your NCB.

To be honest, it would be More suspicious if you were stopped and it wasn't in your name

Neilw wrote: »
    SRFC wrote: »
    Yeah think you're right ill just have to leave it in my name thanks.

I'm pretty sure I did post something on this thread as I can see it on my screen. You can do it, but its insurance company depending.

One of the cars in our household is in a different name (admin mistake at sale time) than the policy owner on it. Insurance company was asked did they want us to go get it changed, they came back and said no, it's fine. It may have been because I've been insured with them a while so know we're not pulling a fast one in order to get a young lads car insured for cheaper.

However some gardai will take a dim view of what you're trying to do if they do stop and quiz you about your insurance.

Yawns wrote: »
    Yeah as above don't worry about it. If on the very very off chance a guard asks how you bought it, just reply nice and politely that you've been saving over the years when you were working and got it. They won't ask unless you are a known trouble maker or something.

Insurance co will most likely want it in your name otherwise your mother may have to go as main policy holder with you as a named driver but you won't get a NCB in your own name and she cannot use her current NCB for a discount if she has another driving policy already with it. It would be best off to have it in your name and insured with you as the main policy holder so you can build up your NCB.

I was just about to ask this question,I have a quote off an insurance broker friend of mine he sorts me out for 2500 fully comp (its my first car 3ltr diesel) so good deal,I got a quote off aviva as named driver for 1800 but I filled the form in online with my mothers 5 years or more NCB so youre saying I cant add that into the quote so they will want double that quote I reckon if I fill it in again without that?

If your mother has a car and is currently insured, her NCB is tied to that policy. A second policy can't carry your NCB from the first policy so she would have to start from scratch for a second policy. She most likely would still have a lower premium for the 3L car as she has more experience driving and is full licence etc. She just can't carry her NCB to a second policy. Ireland doesn't do multi-car policies either unlike the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Do a Bertie on it, say you won a bet on a horse. Simples.

If your mother has a car and is currently insured, her NCB is tied to that policy. A second policy can't carry your NCB from the first policy so she would have to start from scratch for a second policy. She most likely would still have a lower premium for the 3L car as she has more experience driving and is full licence etc. She just can't carry her NCB to a second policy. Ireland doesn't do multi-car policies either unlike the UK.

Yeah thats what I thought I'll just get the policy ect in my name start the ball rolling with a NCB of my own,typed in a quote using her ncb with me named got one for 1800 then I tried with her down as no NCB an they couldnt give me a quote :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

Some companies will actually allow your mam to "mirror" her ncb meaning she can use it on two cars

Yes some will but few and far between. Didn't want to get his hopes up. Some insurance companies will also take named driving experience into account and offer say 1 years NCB in your own name for 2 years named driving experience. Not all will and it's at their discretion tho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Fair play to you for saving the money and buying what you want :)

I half toyed with the idea of a 04-era 7 series for a bit but I didn't have your cajones lol. The tax and potentially very expensive repair bills + fuel costs would keep me up at night.

Would be lovely though.. :)