Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First tax return on new business. help if you can!!

Options
  • 09-10-2012 3:31pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

Total noob question here, I've registered as self employed in august and I've only had a relitively small income so far.

Do I need to file tax returns by the end of this month? I've read that if you are in your first year you can wait till your second to file for the first and second years but I could be misunderstanding.

Also the income tax paid from profit after expenses, is this based on the job itself (cost of goods sold etc.) or is expenditure by the company (equipment, cost of new products for sale etc.) factored into this?

Any help is much appreciated, I'm educating myself at the moment on tax responsibilities as I guess I didn't understand it aswell as I thought. Money is tight so I am hoping I can do this without an accountant for this year anyway.

Thanks.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 287 ✭✭Mellio

condoh22 wrote: »
    Total noob question here, I've registered as self employed in august and I've only had a relitively small income so far.

Have you registered to return online through ROS, in my experience this is the handiest way to do your returns and pay your taxes.

Do I need to file tax returns by the end of this month? I've read that if you are in your first year you can wait till your second to file for the first and second years but I could be misunderstanding.