Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

1.8L petrol Opel Vectra, To buy or not to buy?

• 08-10-2012 9:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

I currently own an 06 astra 1.4L. My engine is a goner, and will cost me 2250 to repair with reconditioned engine. My car is valued at 5k with engine. 2750 is the trade in value the opel dealer is giving me before repair, the best i can get from any dealer. my options are 1) Pay the 2250 and have a recon engine and keep my astra, currently 112k on the clock. 2) Pay 2.5k plus my trade in, and get a 1.8l petrol vectra 130k on the clock (i need a bigger car with kids in tow) or 3)4750 plus my trade in to get an 06 1.9 cdti vectra with 91k on the clock. this would cost me 4200 with my trade in.

i'm leaning towards the 1.8 l petrol at the minute, i'm wondering what people would advise me to do, a,b or c. and particularly what a 1.8l petrol is like to run costwise. thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

I reckon a 1.8 petrol Opel would be fairly hefty on juice. I'd be thinking circa 30mpg being realistic. Not a particularly nice car though IMO...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 RMJH13

yea betwixed and between. feel like i have to buy within the range that this garage offers. have heard mixed reviews on 1.8l engine, dont want to have a car thats difficult to trade in after a few months either. but need to make a decision within the next 1-2 wks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Why do you think you have to buy from that garage or a Vectra?

You will get a Mazda 6 1.8 petrol for similar money as a 1.8 Vectra, the Mazda is light years ahead of the Vectra and will handle high mileage alot better too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

bazz26 wrote: »

You will get a Mazda 6 1.8 petrol for similar money as a 1.8 Vectra, the Mazda is light years ahead of the Vectra and will handle high mileage alot better too.

Pretty much this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

QFT. The last time there was a good Vectra was when the original model came out in 1989. Admittedly the model that came out in 2002 is a fairly nice car and is very reliable as long as you don't buy the 1.9 CDTI 150 bhp (the 120 is fine), but a petrol Mazda (do not buy a diesel Mazda 6 under any circumstances) 6 is just nicer in every way, plus it just won't go wrong as long as you service it on time every time (as you should with any make of car, of course;)).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

I have a 1.8 Astra h OP and it gets about 31mpg around town and I drive it hard enough. On motorways it is pretty shocking mpg wise and won't return much better at 120kph. I've had no real problems with mine in 18months and I do like opens but would agree a facelift Mazda 6 is much better choice than a vectra unless it's an Sri or elite

QFT. The last time there was a good Vectra was when the original model came out in 1989. Admittedly the model that came out in 2002 is a fairly nice car and is very reliable as long as you don't buy the 1.9 CDTI 150 bhp (the 120 is fine), but a petrol Mazda (do not buy a diesel Mazda 6 under any circumstances) 6 is just nicer in every way, plus it just won't go wrong as long as you service it on time every time (as you should with any make of car, of course;)).

I thought it was just the swirl flaps that had to be blanked in the 150 model. I see quite a few of them around with very high miles on them. It's funny the way the 1.8 Mazda 6 petrol is seen on this site too, the way people go on about them you'd think they never broke down, ever! I'm sure there's thing's that go wrong with them, same as pretty much any other car.

166man wrote: »
    ............ It's funny the way the 1.8 Mazda 6 petrol is seen on this site too, the way people go on about them you'd think they never broke down, ever!................

Name one other 1.8 petrol from the mid 00s that's as reliable as the 1.8 Mazda 6.................

What's funny is that you have no reply and no amount of googling will find one for you.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Name one other 1.8 petrol from the mid 00s that's as reliable as the 1.8 Mazda 6.................

What's funny is that you have no reply and no amount of googling will find one for you.

Have you experience of the 1.8 yourself? Ford's 1.8 in the Mondeo I always heard was reliable enough. The wouldn't use them in Garda cars otherwise and you see quite a few around today. A friend of mine has a 2000 VW Passat 1.8 N/A with 173k miles on it and swears by it. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,533 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Have you experience of the 1.8 yourself?

Do you ?
    I've driven one or two for people before they bought them. A friend worked in an engine centre, they aren't a troublesome engine.

Ford's 1.8 in the Mondeo I always heard was reliable enough. The wouldn't use them in Garda cars otherwise and you see quite a few around today.

They guzzle oil and petrol.
    Being a fleet car of AGS wouldn't be indicative of reliability. Where did you hear they were reliable? I heard Michael Jackson wasn't dead, I don't personally believe everything I hear.
    ............ A friend of mine has a 2000 VW Passat 1.8 N/A with 173k miles on it and swears by it. :)

20v?
    Those 20v nasps are a dog of a thing.
    Are you actually suggesting that the Ford 1.8 or the thing in the Passat offers equivalent reliability as the 1.8 in the 6?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Tea 1000

Probably the Honda Civic saloon, 1.8 litre. Came out in 2006. The hatch had a handful of minor enough problems, but the saloon is built in Japan and is solid. But there aren't many cars as reliable as the Mazda 6. To be fair, the Avensis 1.8 is solid too.
    Have you experience of the 1.8 yourself? Ford's 1.8 in the Mondeo I always heard was reliable enough. The wouldn't use them in Garda cars otherwise and you see quite a few around today. A friend of mine has a 2000 VW Passat 1.8 N/A with 173k miles on it and swears by it. :)
    The 1.8 in the Mondeo is a pile of dung. Ford ditched it in 2001 in favour of the Mazda 1.8 for the remaining few years of that Mondeo. The guards or anyone in public office making fleet decisions haven't a balls notion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,359 ✭✭✭Mar4ix

why wouldn't you get that car in regular garage(non dealers), replace engine(or get fixed - depend of price) , get quotes from 2 -3 garages ? i assume those engines have to be around, id say around 1 k you'd be sorted. .. well that's just rough numbers.

what exact fault has your engine ? Id call engine goner, if engine block is cracked, and head has split, but still you have all sensors and ancillaries, which cost good bit of money. would be possible get bear engine for not too expensive money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,053 ✭✭✭Zipppy

1.8 engine will be big on road tax,....and apparently going up again in budget....plenty of 1.6s that are as good as 1.8s

Kids or no kids could you not look at a 1.6?

.. a 2.0 isnt even 200 more than a 1.6 at the moment, can't quite see how a 1.8 could be deemed big on motor tax tbh. In the overall costs its effectively nothing. The likes of a 1.8 Mazda 6 are very reasonable to buy too in comparison to 1.6 petrols.

Do you ?
    I've driven one or two for people before they bought them. A friend worked in an engine centre, they aren't a troublesome engine.

They guzzle oil and petrol.
    Being a fleet car of AGS wouldn't be indicative of reliability. Where did you hear they were reliable? I heard Michael Jackson wasn't dead, I don't personally believe everything I hear.

20v?
    Those 20v nasps are a dog of a thing.
    Are you actually suggesting that the Ford 1.8 or the thing in the Passat offers equivalent reliability as the 1.8 in the 6?

A car that likes a drop of oil and petrol doesn't make it unreliable. My Alfa likes petrol and oil and that's fairly reliable last time I checked. ;)

I never said the 1.8 engine in the Mazda wasn't reliable. I'm sure it's a very strong engine but surely there's other common problems with the car as a whole same as any other cars. I don't know btw, I'm just asking...

As for the Passat, you asked about 1.8's from early 2000 that are reliable. I'm just telling you that his has 173k miles and he only ever has good things to say about it. Not saying they're good or bad, just giving some experience of them. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,865 ✭✭✭✭MuppetCheck

A car that likes a drop of oil and petrol doesn't make it unreliable.

I think it does - issues resulting for constantly burning oil can be costly. It's more than a drop of oil that they burn, try sourcing a secondhand replacement for one. They can be slim on the ground.

Burning oil is a different issue though. Obviously I'd agree with you there, but my Alfa and Dads old 166 liked a fair bit of oil but they never went wrong in general. Both are still going strong with 130k km and 170k km respectively.

I was more asking if the Mondeo's were and sort of assumed that they would be. Wrong assumption so apparently.

Burning oil is a different issue though. Obviously I'd agree with you there, but my Alfa and Dads old 166 liked a fair bit of oil but they never went wrong in general. Both are still going strong with 130k km and 170k km respectively.

I was more asking if the Mondeo's were and sort of assumed that they would be. Wrong assumption so apparently.

Hope the OP doesn't take your assumption on board and buy one.

Might be fine, might not. Not worth the risk on the older engine if you ask me if there are better options out there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 336 ✭✭icjzfmq7ewon1t

RMJH13 wrote: »
    I currently own an 06 astra 1.4L. My engine is a goner, and will cost me 2250 to repair with reconditioned engine. My car is valued at 5k with engine. 2750 is the trade in value the opel dealer is giving me before repair, the best i can get from any dealer. my options are 1) Pay the 2250 and have a recon engine and keep my astra, currently 112k on the clock. 2) Pay 2.5k plus my trade in, and get a 1.8l petrol vectra 130k on the clock (i need a bigger car with kids in tow) or 3)4750 plus my trade in to get an 06 1.9 cdti vectra with 91k on the clock. this would cost me 4200 with my trade in.

i'm leaning towards the 1.8 l petrol at the minute, i'm wondering what people would advise me to do, a,b or c. and particularly what a 1.8l petrol is like to run costwise. thanks.

Had the same issues with an an 06 Astra a couple of months ago. Picked up an engine for 1200 euro and cost 600 to fit it.

Hope the OP doesn't take your assumption on board and buy one.

Might be fine, might not. Not worth the risk on the older engine if you ask me if there are better options out there.

Fair enough. Many people assume quite a bit on boards anyway.

I just assumed as I would imagine that the Guards wouldn't bother with them if they were crap engines. They run them to 300k km tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

The Mondeo petrols gave trouble until about mid-2003, or whenever it was that they first facelifted the Mk3 model. After that the oil burning and swirl flap issues were resolved.

Thanks, didn't know this. Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭Momento Mori

1.8 would indeed be hefty on the juice, especially carrying those extra passengers. I don't think I'd go for it.

To me it sounds like you need a diesel!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,481 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's because they starting using the Mazda unit from then on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,121 ✭✭✭ghogie91

go for option C

They guzzle oil and petrol...........

A car that likes a drop of oil and petrol doesn't make it unreliable. My Alfa likes petrol and oil and that's fairly reliable last time I checked. ;).....................

I didn't say they like a drop, I said they guzzle oil :)
    Burning a drop and guzzling it to the extent the cat is wrecked and the car won't pass an emissions test are incomparable, to reiterate I didn't say they like a drop.

What oil your Alfa uses would be nothing compared to the 1.8 in the Mondeo when they act up, they struggle to pass emissions tests and they were are in demand 2nd hand (when 1.8 Mondeo with ring problems were worth a few quid) but really difficult to get a good one.

That's because they starting using the Mazda unit from then on.

Indeed, as their own engine was a ball of sh1te.

Burning oil is a different issue though. Obviously I'd agree with you there, but my Alfa and Dads old 166 liked a fair bit of oil but they never went wrong in general........

As a matter of interest if burning oil is a different issue (apparently) what do you think happens the oil in your car and your Dad's 166?

It comes out the exhaust as fairy dust surely?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 597 ✭✭✭sumo12

Had a punter with an 02 Mondeo 1.8 which *chewed* oil - 2 litres in 100 miles!!!
    Failed NCT too. Rang a pal in Ford dealer and he said its common around these years, take engine out and throw it in the bin!

1.8 Vectra ok car, ugly, clunky but *should* be very cheap and really quite reliable. Avoid diesels unless you really have to...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭lifer_sean

Mar4ix wrote: »
    would be possible get bear engine for not too expensive money.

Not for an Astra H 1.4. Very hard to get and making around 1000 euros secondhand when you can get. Advertised as 995 stg on ebay.co.uk.

@op, what is wrong with the original engine ? How dead ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

Sorry, but what is with RJ and 166man always being... er... At each other? Sorry to be off topic!

On topic, the cheapest economical option is to fix the 1.4 looking at those figures. Maybe find an indy who can do the work cheaper? Though you haven't mentioned what happened to the engine.

thanks for all the help and info people. the coolant pipe broke off the engine, and i got no warning signs, just a load of steam suddenly coming from under bonnet.noticed the steam just as i was entering the m1 roundabout at ardee. was jammed with cars so had to go all the way around to get off the road. head gasket gone, 2-3 compression rings gone too. cooked it. very annoyed with no warning light.

also feel as if i'll get the most value from dealer in monaghan. have checked trade in value with 10 dealers around, mon, louth, dub meath and kildare. 1500 without engine, 3500 max with fixed engine. the garage i'm in is offering me 2750 trade in value without the engine. most value i can get anywhere, just not blown away by the cars they have available. opel gives a 2 yr guarantee on the recon engine.

When I said burning oil, I meant something like the above where a car burns 2 litres in 100 miles or so. Then clearly the car has a problem. An engine will get through oil anyway but when it's at that rate clearly there's something wrong.

@Barura - I don't know tbh, he just likes to pick up on the finer details and make a fool out of me I guess. :)

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

barura wrote: »
    Sorry, but what is with RJ and 166man always being... er... At each other? Sorry to be off topic!

The mods created the 2 ids for the entertainment of the rest of us, have you ever seen them BOTH attend a motors meet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,502 ✭✭✭barura

RMJH13 wrote: »
    also feel as if i'll get the most value from dealer in monaghan. have checked trade in value with 10 dealers around, mon, louth, dub meath and kildare. 1500 without engine, 3500 max with fixed engine. the garage i'm in is offering me 2750 trade in value without the engine. most value i can get anywhere, just not blown away by the cars they have available. opel gives a 2 yr guarantee on the recon engine.

It's still cheapest to get the engine done though. If you want to save money I'd do that if I were you. If you want a different car, however, go for their offer. I think 2250 is a bit steep though... I'd call around and see what other garages have to say about that.

@Barura - I don't know tbh, he just likes to pick up on the finer details and make a fool out of me I guess. :)

That's it, nothing at all to do with the incorrect drivel and spoof you post as fact than come along and say you didn't actually know but just assumed it was true ;)

Btw, many engines don't get through oil anyway, dunno where you heard they did.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

That's it, nothing at all to do with the incorrect drivel and spoof you post as fact than come along and say you didn't actually know but just assumed it was true ;)

Pretty much more OT I've been doing between 4-800 miles a week in the alfa recently, it consumes feck all oil, I've been monitoring it closely and am amazed.

Going on an average mileage of 2000 a month, it's six weeks between top ups of the oil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,234 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

What ever about all other cars, the 1.8 engine in the vectra seeing as how I have th exact same engine in my car, does burn a bit if oil alright but nothing that you can't handle and nothing to stop you looking at one.

It's still cheapest to get the engine done though. If you want to save money I'd do that if I were you. If you want a different car, however, go for their offer. I think 2250 is a bit steep though... I'd call around and see what other garages have to say about that.

Have also priced this up:
    opel liffey valley 3600 fitted recon engine
    airside opel 2900 fitted recon engine

shocking the difference between 3 opel garages for the exact same thing.

will price other garages but may not get a guarantee with those.

I'm quite happy to hold my hand up if the Mondeo isn't that reliable, no problem there. I thought it would be a fair assumption that they would be reasonably reliable otherwise the Guards wouldn't bother with them. Seem's like a fair assumption to me. Whatever though, I can admit when I'm wrong.

''Incorrect drivel and spoof'' is a bit harsh though isn't it?

Leave it there anyway, no point taking this more OT, it would appear that the only car for you OP is a Mazda 1.8 petrol. :)

Sorry, but what is with RJ and 166man always being... er... At each other? Sorry to be off topic!...........

He's PMing me now :rolleyes:

Sweet Jesus.