Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

people who dont drink

• 07-10-2012 9:31am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭

Are they control freaks ,ex alcoholics , a holes with drink on them dry ****es , boring , just too fruckin squeeky clean .
    Are they excluding themselves from alot in life . ( typical sober head answer ; excluding myself from a load of drunks falling on each other )
    I personally think these people should get up out of bed this morning get a beer into them and see what they remember tomorrow .
    If man cant trust himself to have a beer I dont trust him .
    Im not talking about people who rarely drink . Im talking about sober sallys . People who get uncomfortable around someone having a good time . I find the uncontrollable drunk man fascinating you never know what he wi
    ll do next .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

'hic'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

cloptrop wrote: »
    Are they control freaks ,ex alcoholics , a holes with drink on them dry ****es , boring , just too fruckin squeeky clean .
    Are they excluding themselves from alot in life . ( typical sober head answer ; excluding myself from a load of drunks falling on each other )
    I personally think these people should get up out of bed this morning get a beer into them and see what they remember tomorrow .
    Im not talking about people who rarely drink . Im talking about sober sallys . People who get uncomfortable around someone having a good time . I find the uncontrollable drunk man fascinating you never know what he wi
    ll do next .

Irony; your post is full of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

People who dont drink tend to have more self confidence than those who do. Theyve no problem with staying sober in social situations and still have the craic.

i admire them.

And im sure theyve never had a problem getting outta bed in the morning, its alot easier hangover free ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Some of the most miserable people I know are non-drinkers, and I can say that because my best mate is a non-drinker so I'm not being racist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,766 ✭✭✭juan.kerr

Sh*** thread that you'd only see in Ireland. Another person who can't have a good time without drink.

Your post says more about you than non drinkers. You should reflect on that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭FairytaleGirl

juan.kerr wrote: »
    Sh*** thread that you'd only see in Ireland. Another person who can't have a good time without drink.

This

Op you sound like someone who probably drinks too much ( probably for a deep down reason) and are jealous of those issue free people who dont need to drink to forget. Thus manifesting in a ' people who dont drink are ghey- lets all jeer and laugh' mentality when inside youre crippled with self loathing.

Just a thought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

People who dont drink tend to have more self confidence than those who do.

You left out the last bit. More confidence than those who do until they reach their 5th drink.

Honestly, a lot of the people I know who don't drink are dry ****es. But to be fair, they'd probably be annoying gits if they did drink.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭Ando's Saggy Bottom

People who choose not to drink in this country in the face of the bullsh*t contained in the OP are to be admired. We have such an immature attitude towards booze.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

My wife is a non drinker she has never taken any drink. She is also one of the most social people I know. she is happy in the pub or at a party had has a great time. Also she can slag me off the following day because of anything I may have done and all with a smile.
    I know a few non drinkers and only one is anything like those in the OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Captain Chaos

And im sure theyve never had a problem getting outta bed in the morning, its alot easier hangover free ;)

I actually find it easier getting up in the morning with a few drinks the night before. I don't sleep right with drink on me and wake up a few times a night and I'm always lying there waiting for my alarm to go off as apposed to going to bed sober, then I have to scrape myself up each morning. I don't really get hangovers, unless I drink a silly amount. Probably get about 3-4 hangovers a year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,211 ✭✭✭Royale with Cheese

I'd agree with Grayson. I've known a couple of people in the past few years who didn't drink at all, and confidence was something they definitely didn't have. They really needed to loosen up and to be honest I think could have used a drink or two.

I've no problem with people who don't drink, but I'm always curious as to what the reason is. I've known people who don't go out and get hammered all the time but they have no problem with a glass of wine etc. But people who flat out refuse any alcohol, there has to be a reason for that. I've never asked though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭audi a4 2008

ll do next .

are you for real....i dont drink /smoke but when i go out and meet people its me the real person they see and talk to,not a clown that has a few pints and think there the man chest out loud the list goes on....

theres nothing worst than watching a person so consumed in drink ,spending all the have on it and at the end of the day nothing to show only pub fairytales...

most of the clowns i see cant hold a conversation make no sence and dress ****..instead of spending on drink ...clean up for god sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,119 ✭✭✭saintsaltynuts

I pity people who dont drink.They cant talk out of their ass just like the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

I say fair play to people who don't feel the need/want to drink. I love having a few sociables but some people don't, no big deal. Only gripe I would have is people who use the fact they don't drink as an excuse to act better than someone.

Ah I bet they save so much more money than me tho! :o

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Apt username is apt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

juan.kerr wrote: »

Ah you dont only not drink you are one of the people who says things like only in Ireland .
    I dont believe there us such a thing as drinking too much provided you arnt making a spectacle of yourself .
    I have no issues that need forgetting .
    I dont feel uncomfortable around strangers . I just think things are more interesting with drink on board . Why exclude yourself from it .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Yes we have an infantile attitude to drink in Ireland. No, you are not a better / cooler / more sexually active person simply because you drink.....

BUT in my experience the OP has a minor point, badly made. A lot of non drinkers are very puritanical, miserable fúckers with a superiority complex in my experience.

Only when you go abroad do you realise that life doesn't revolve around how many pints somebody had last night. The whole Irish drink thing is just juvenile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 778 ✭✭✭jessiejam

No problem with none drinkers once their not sitting there miserable for the night. Couple of my friends don't drink but always enjoy the night. The worse thing about having a non drinker amongst a bunch of drinkers is that they remember every little detail.:o

I have one friend who doesn't drink that relays every detail of the night before to us the following day.. somethings are better left unsaid:o

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 427 ✭✭GKidd

Ever tried chatting up a non-drinker when you're half cut? Such effort but such reward when you pull it off. I would never drink with OP. I bet you don't like queeeeaaarrrrrrs either?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭Dave0301

Ah you dont only not drink you are one of the people who says things like only in Ireland .
    I dont believe there us such a thing as drinking too much provided you arnt making a spectacle of yourself .
    I dont feel uncomfortable around strangers . I just think things are more interesting with drink on board . Why exclude yourself from it .

You've clearly forgotten about how cirrhosis of the liver occurs or are currently under the effects of said substance.

Since moving abroad I've cut down alcohol consumption from about 4 days (heavy drinking) a week to one, if at all. As in two or three bottles. It is amazing how much better I feel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 731 ✭✭✭inmyday

Are you drunk right now?
    Because you are talking sh1te!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

Dave0301 wrote: »

You've clearly forgotten about how cirrhosis of the liver occurs or are currently under the effects of said substance.

Since moving abroad I've cut down alcohol consumption from about 4 days (heavy drinking) a week to one, if at all. As in two or three bottles. It is amazing how much better I feel.
    So you do drink whats your point . If somebody thinks drinking 3 pints a night makes him feel better would you object .