Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Panic button

• 04-10-2012 9:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭

Long story but if I wanted to get a panic button fitted that would ring. 999 would they come out even if I couldn't talk. To them because I was in danger?? Thanks cathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,562 ✭✭✭kub

cathy01 wrote: »
    Long story but if I wanted to get a panic button fitted that would ring. 999 would they come out even if I couldn't talk. To them because I was in danger?? Thanks cathy

Cathy the only that I know of that you can do this is to get a monitored alarm system fitted. So part of this system will be a panic button either fixed or within building mobile. So if it is pressed a panic signal is transmitted to an alarm monitoring station who will contact the Garda control room in the district in which you are located, the monitoring station will advise the Gardai that it is a Panic signal and they will treat it accordingly.

There is another Panic system available but I would rather not disclose too much about it here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭Locust

Panic button - its in the name...

Most burglar alarms have them or can be fitted quite easily.

Get the likes of Eircom etc... With a bedside key/button. You activate that and it will ring through to dispatch the guards. Yes even if you didn't talk etc... just pressing that button would alert guards to your 'panic alarm'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

This kind of device ?

http://www.quicksafe.co.uk/phone-panic-alarm.htm

You'd need to ask if it worked here etc ( slightly different phone setup in Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

Monitored alarm like Eircom Phonewatch will ring you first to see if the button press was a false alarm or whatever,if you don't answer then they call the Gardai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭timmywex

Something like one of these systems could be what your looking for? http://www.emergencyresponse.ie/index.htm

Could have a panic button around your neck or similar

Monitored alarm like Eircom Phonewatch will ring you first to see if the button press was a false alarm or whatever,if you don't answer then they call the Gardai.

Well if that is what Eircom do, then that is not the done thing in the monitoring stations which I deal with.

I can just imagine a situation whereby some misfortunate has pressed a PA button for real, then Eircom ring to check on them. What are they going to say, 'oh there is a guy here with a knife to my neck, please call The Guards'.......I have my doubts.

The onus is on the person to contact the monitoring station if they have accidently pressed a button. There is obviously a way in which the person can prove their identity to the monitoring station staff, if the person has not bothered to contact them then they deserve the good talking too which I expect that AGS will give them on arrival.

In all fairness to The Gardai, they always give panic button activations the highest priority

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,827 ✭✭✭fred funk }{

Any registered, licensed alarm installer can set up a panic button that will contact a monitoring company who will then contact the Gardai immediately. Sometimes they will contact the key holders but the Gardai are contacted regardless.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

In a panic situation there should be no call made to the site . You should be getting priority Garda response.
    Perhas ask for clarification on this on the Eircom forum.

Is there any way you can have a panic button without having a phone alarm fitted? I heard other countries have this system for the elderly.

Hi Dr,
    The answer to yur question is yes, an alarm can be monitored without a telephone line. The alarm industry is constantly trying to stay ahead of criminals.

I would encourage you to have a chat with a professional installer in your own area, just ensure for your own sake especially that the installer is licensed by The Private Security Authority.

For any assistance you may require please visit here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1366

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,269 ✭✭✭cathy01

kub wrote: »
    Hi Dr,
    The answer to yur question is yes, an alarm can be monitored without a telephone line. The alarm industry is constantly trying to stay ahead of criminals.

I would encourage you to have a chat with a professional installer in your own area, just ensure for your own sake especially that the installer is licensed by The Private Security Authority.

For any assistance you may require please visit here

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=1366
    Thanks all for the advice ill let you know when ingot sorted big hug to all for their help Cathy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,938 ✭✭✭deadwood

Thanks all for the advice ill let you know when ingot sorted big hug to all for their help Cathy
    A last word on this, if you don't mind.

This is an internet forum so don't assume that those posting here are members of AGS or in any way qualified to give advice or make any recommendations.

Contact your local Garda Station and make an appointment for your Crime Prevention Officer to call you or to visit. They are the experts and will deal with you as discretely as you require them to.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 24,789 Mod ✭✭✭✭KoolKid

I can verify that 3 users replying in this thread are PSA licenced installers.

I had posted this because a friend of mine age 63 was assalted by a man age about 40.how brave he was to start roaring and shouting and threatening a grandmother of three .she has heart problems and was so frightened she couldn't talk and didn't know what to do.in the end she rang the local Garda station and it took them an hour to call down.
    I just want to make sure she's safe .ill look into all the suggestions .she doesn't have a land line .
    Thanks all for the help and advice .i honestly would be lost with yous .

I had posted this because a friend of mine age 63 was assalted by a man age about 40.how brave he was to start roaring and shouting and threatening a grandmother of three .she has heart problems and was so frightened she couldn't talk and didn't know what to do.in the end she rang the local Garda station and it took them an hour to call down.
    I just want to make sure she's safe .ill look into all the suggestions .she doesn't have a land line .
    Thanks all for the help and advice .i honestly would be lost with yous .

Give her a mobile phone then. A panic alarm is for serious situations happening at the moment in time. Not afterwards when the assault is over. A panic alarm is not a substitute for the Gardaí not appearing as soon as you call them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Is there any way you can have a panic button without having a phone alarm fitted? I heard other countries have this system for the elderly.

There are alarms for people working alone like this sort of thing :

http://www.sigtec.ie/lone_worker.html

can also send alerts if the person falls and so on

I think I have found what I need . It's a type of alarm it rings me or you or whoever when the button is pressed.
    I can listen in to see if everything is ok and ring the Garda if its not.
    It's around 350 I think but worth it to know that she's ok.
    She did ring the Garda when it was happening but it took an hour for them to get there. She delayed ringing the Garda for about 15 mins hoping the gut would just go away. He didn't .
    Thanks all for the e
    Help advice and different look in things .

foreign wrote: »
    Give her a mobile phone then. A panic alarm is for serious situations happening at the moment in time. Not afterwards when the assault is over. A panic alarm is not a substitute for the Gardaí not appearing as soon as you call them.

Foreign, in order for the lady to use a mobile phone she really does have to have the ability to speak, as you may apprecaite the OP mentioned that the poor woman was unable to speak from the fright.

Who is to say that this incident was not a serious situation, one thing can lead to another. I fail to see where anyone mentioned that a PA be pushed after an incident, the actual timing of same in my own experience depends on the mindset of the victim at the given time. Of course a PA button is not a substitue for The Gardai, my advice to people is, if they have had to press a button, then they should also ring AGS and tell them what happened and what the culprits are driving/ route/ description etc.

Does anyone who knows what is going on in this country currently expect AGS to be with them in a matter of seconds?

Was there an actual assault of just the man shouting and threatening her?
    Foreign, in order for the lady to use a mobile phone she really does have to have the ability to speak, as you may apprecaite the OP mentioned that the poor woman was unable to speak from the fright.

Who is to say that this incident was not a serious situation, one thing can lead to another. I fail to see where anyone mentioned that a PA be pushed after an incident, the actual timing of same in my own experience depends on the mindset of the victim at the given time. Of course a PA button is not a substitue for The Gardai, my advice to people is, if they have had to press a button, then they should also ring AGS and tell them what happened and what the culprits are driving/ route/ description etc.

Does anyone who knows what is going on in this country currently expect AGS to be with them in a matter of seconds?

With respect, a panic alarm is treated as an emergency. Someone getting a slap or being shouted at is not an emergency. Traumatic yes but no need for member of AGS driving to an emergency if it is something that can be reported later.

foreign wrote: »
    Was there an actual assault of just the man shouting and threatening her?

With respect, a panic alarm is treated as an emergency. Someone getting a slap or being shouted at is not an emergency. Traumatic yes but no need for member of AGS driving to an emergency if it is something that can be reported later.

I agree with you, but at what point would you or indeed any other AGS members here, think that pressing a PA button is the correct course of action.
    Granted PA buttons started their lives on bank counters, eventually under every till in every shop in the country and now a days they are part of every domestic alarm system, well the monitored ones at least.

I agree with you, but at what point would you or indeed any other AGS members here, think that pressing a PA button is the correct course of action.
    Granted PA buttons started their lives on bank counters, eventually under every till in every shop in the country and now a days they are part of every domestic alarm system, well the monitored ones at least.

Robbery, somebody breaking into a premises, a physical attack. Any false activation's should come with a financial penalty. (Alarm fault, pressed to see what it does, etc).