Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

painting sheds north cork

• 03-10-2012 3:32pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

The bro in law has a 4bay roof to paint for REPS - he contacted 2 outfits with big ads in the Journal, both with the same area code (same outfit?) o Briens i think, all answered with the usual accent, offered great deals if you buy today, blah, anyways, when it came down to it, they couldnt come up with insurance cert for the work..these lads advertise as being insured!!!he rang his ins company, they refused to cover anyone for that kinda work.
    Rang another outfit, o Connors, they did ok work round here a few years back, same craic, no insurance...so you better watch out lads, demand to see the cert...
    Anyone know any reputable company at this work?...there was an outfit mentioned in the journal article on painting sheds a few weeks back, but cant find the damn thing...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭Grass Hopper

Hire a hoist and have at it.Did a 4 bay a few years ago between milkings.
    You can even get a corrugated roller which,with a good long handle makes it a doddle ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

As grasshopper says paint it yourself. Willie Joe Leahy used to paint sheds I don't know if he still does. That's the fella from Killcorney that made those slurry scrapes that aren't supposed to lose slurry. My neighbour got a quote from him a few years ago but said he was costly so he painted it himself. The other boyo's you mentioned will leave a nice shine on the shed after them which will quickly fade after a couple of months. Some of them use fake insurance certs so be sure to ring the insurance company if they produce one, they will disappear before you have the number dialed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

Maaan its a jungle out there...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭fastrac

Willy Leahy 086 8175917. He prob wont answer but will ring back.Has good gear and proper insurance . Wet yr probably has him well backed up with REPS work though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 802 ✭✭✭oldsmokey

thanks lads....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭djmc

Had lads paint my sheds a few years ago did one myself with a soft yard brush and paint in a bucket it was a better job at quarter the price and done in a few hours
    If old paint is flakeing off or roof dirty give a quick rub of the power washer first.
    DIY its easier than you would think just make sure its dry and watch your footing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭rooney32

if you can powerwash the shed first let dry fully. get a good dry day (best of luck there!!!) use synoxide paint brand its pretty exp approx €100 for 20 ltrs but its great paint.thin down with thinners 10 parts paint to 1 part thinners. get a basin and a few soft sweeping brushes change the brush every 2 hours. you will fly through it and save a fortune. best of luck with it