Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Issues with owner occupier landlady

• 03-10-2012 1:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭

Hi lads,
    Need your advice, i'm having an issue with my landlady who also lives in the property. We have a verbal rental agreement. I was informed when i moved intothe property 2 years ago that I would have free t.v both in the main sitting and in the bedrooms. We also had a agreement that the landlady would provide both tenants with soarview boxes, for the bedrooms. The landlady has known that soarview boxes would be needed for the last 6 months and had agreed to but them before the cut off point of 24th October. I asked about getting the boxes when I paid rent in september and was told that she would get them before the 24th of October but it would prob be the last minute. She is now refusing to provide us with saorview boxes as she can not afford it. I have offered to but me own but have said I would take the cost out of the rent, as I have it in writing that I have free t.v. The landlady won't agree to this and has said that if I do that she will call the Gardai and tell them that I have stolen form her, and that if I don't like I can move out.
    Where do I stand on this she is telling me I have no rights as I rent a room in her house
    Sorry for the long post hope it makes sense

Clashmore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,049 ✭✭✭✭murphaph

She sounds a bit of a wagon as my old man would have said but she might be under financial pressures that you aren't aware of, so I'll reserve judgement. Unfortunately for you she is correct that you, as a lodger, have absolutely no right to remain there. She can literally remove you at a moment's notice as you are considered no more than a guest under Irish law. You have no tenancy in law.

It's just another piece of the broken tenancy laws in Ireland I'm afraid. If you want the box, you'll have to buy it yourself or chance your arm that she doesn't flip out and have you removed. It's your call really, you haven't a leg to stand on if she does want you out though :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭jonnybangbang

Free tv? do you mean the use of the tv? I take it you don't have UPC or Sky and were just using the TV's to watch terrestrial tv?

If it was me, I would move out, threatening to call the guards is an over reaction to the problem and tbh the guards would probably just laugh at her.

If she couldn't afford it why did she insist she was going to get it up until September? if she does turn around now and get it for you do you want to be in a hostile environment?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Clashmore

A wagon is one thing I would call her amongst others
    Free t.v as in she would cover all the costs of it.
    I said pretty much the same thing about the Gardai that they would just laugh at her as I havn't stolen anything.
    She says i'm trying to bully her as I reminded her about them in September. I told her that if I move out she will owe me €260 deposit as I pid that and rent in advance when i moved in. She said she could borrow the €260 to return my deposit to me, so i asked why couldn't she borrow the €50 for a saorview but she said that she couldn't do that. It makes no sense.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭edellc

it makes perfect sense op, she doesnt want you there and instead of being up front and honest about it she is doing this. best to start looking for somewhere else to live as realistically you have no rights as said already you are just a guest in her house and the fact you are getting to watch tv for free is a bonus she could well have charged you for that

there really isnt any need for this to get nasty so please try refrain from stooping to that level, get your affairs in order and find somewhere else to rest your head

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭Clashmore

I'm not trying to make this nasty. All i'm trying to do is get the landlady to stick to the agreements made when I moved in. We have come to a mutual decision that I should move out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭edellc

i never said you where being nasty, I said there isnt any need for this to get nasty which is what your LL seems to be on the verge of, please read responses properly

also the agreement you have with her isnt worth the paper its written on tbh you are a guest not a tenant and you have no rights and are not entitled to anything whether you agreed it or not