Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

NCT - pass but no cert

• 02-10-2012 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭

firstly, entirely my fault.
    I never read the form and didn't bring ID so initially when I was paying for the test the girl told me if I passed I wouldn't get my cert there and then.

No point in arguing with her but I was kinda giving out when I was walking away and this fella who had over heard said "you can use mine". .I presumed he was joking but the girl behind the counter said "look, If you come in here with a licence and I don't see where you got it, I don't care where it comes from"...

So I walked up a few mins later with yer mans licence and she told me I had to wait until after the test to show "my" licence..
    All very confusing .. anyway, car past thankfully and yer man was gone so I just left it and will pop over during the week with my ID.
    Like I said, totally my fault for not bringing ID but I felt if they are prepared to look the other way regarding whose ID you show..why ask for it in the first place???"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

because the staff are bound to record the name of the person presenting the car - not neccessarily the owner. The system is to stop the scam where dealers were continually presenting cars to a specific NCT tester who would pass the car for cash. Now they can see patterns as the name is recorded.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

mickdw wrote: »
    because the staff are bound to record the name of the person presenting the car - not neccessarily the owner. The system is to stop the scam where dealers were continually presenting cars to a specific NCT tester who would pass the car for cash. Now they can see patterns as the name is recorded.
    Did not know that, cheers for the info!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭doughef

ah...

That makes a bit of sense now.Still though,.. bit harsh I felt but sure them's the rule's I suppose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Ive only ever used fonthill for my NCT's. Do all the centres have the guy in the hut with the rope that checks you in and tells you which lane to go to?

Presumably he'd have to be in on any scam that involves your car going to a particular tester?

EDIT. While we're on the NCT subject. Have to go back for a retest this week after I change a balljoint on the missus car. Do I just turn up whenever suits me or does it need to be booked cos it needs the slip slide test done again.

yeah, this place had the fella check me in before I went to reception.

Its just a bit odd that the girl behind the counter was very quick to say I could use someone elses ID without me even asking?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,163 ✭✭✭ZENER

. . .
    EDIT. While we're on the NCT subject. Have to go back for a retest this week after I change a balljoint on the missus car. Do I just turn up whenever suits me or does it need to be booked cos it needs the slip slide test done again.

At the bottom of the test result it will inform you that you must complete a test before a given date - usually 28 days after the date the first test was completed. It will also inform you at the rear of the results that you must book a retest x number of days in advance to ensure it's done before the final day.

Ken

doughef wrote: »
    yeah, this place had the fella check me in before I went to reception.

Its just a bit odd that the girl behind the counter was very quick to say I could use someone elses ID without me even asking?

The person presenting the car for a test is not/ does not have to be the registered owner of the vehicle. I recently brought the GFs car for it's test using my own licence. In fact they will not release the car to anyone but the person who presented the car for test (who produced valid ID) or the registered owner on presentation of valid ID.

There was a case recently where a disabled driver was brought to a test center by a friend who presented the car for test producing her own driving licence and then left the center for the disabled driver to collect her own car afterwards. The car wasn't released because the disabled driver - the registered owner ! - didn't have her drivers licence with her !

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

doughef wrote: »
    ah...

That makes a bit of sense now.Still though,.. bit harsh I felt but sure them's the rule's I suppose

How is it harsh? By law your required to carry your drivers licence any time your driving, so to get to the NCT centre you should have your licence. IMO they should add some sort of fail, or an extra charge, to the NCT for not being road legal if you don't bring your licence.

The Gardaí giving 10 days to produce should also be done away with, no licence in vehicle no vehicle.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

ZENER wrote: »
    The car wasn't released because the disabled driver - the registered owner ! - didn't have her drivers licence with her !

Ken

Well in fairness , if she dose not have any ID too show she owns the car there hardly going to go handing the car out..

msg11 wrote: »
    Well in fairness , if she dose not have any ID too show she owns the car there hardly going to go handing the car out..

Exactly the point I was making. Read that in a paper a month or two ago and said exactly the same as you. Some would think that simply because the owner was disabled she should have been given the benefit of the doubt !

Ken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

All nct centres do not have a guy giving directions on where to park etc. My local one has a single lane but about 3 testers. If I want a particular tester, I would get there a little early and as soon as required guy comes to public counter, go up and book in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,685 ✭✭✭✭wonski

Ive only ever used fonthill for my NCT's. Do all the centres have the guy in the hut with the rope that checks you in and tells you which lane to go to?

Presumably he'd have to be in on any scam that involves your car going to a particular tester?

You need to book it in advance. ASAP is the best answer - you need to do it within a month, so if you start looking at a date week before deadline you may be in trouble.
    Last time i had to go to Dublin( no dates available in Naas), if i didn't i would have to pay for full test again, and you never know what they find during visual checks.

Del2005 wrote: »
    How is it harsh? By law your required to carry your drivers licence any time your driving, so to get to the NCT centre you should have your licence. IMO they should add some sort of fail, or an extra charge, to the NCT for not being road legal if you don't bring your licence.

The Gardaí giving 10 days to produce should also be done away with, no licence in vehicle no vehicle.

ah here,.. Gimme a break will ye, and as you pointed out , you normally have ten days to produce it. As for adding a fail or an extra charge for no ID? Do you work for Ryanair?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

wonski wrote: »
    You need to book it in advance. ASAP is the best answer - you need to do it within a month, so if you start looking at a date week before deadline you may be in trouble.
    Last time i had to go to Dublin( no dates available in Naas), if i didn't i would have to pay for full test again, and you never know what they find during visual checks.

Booking the original test was no problem. I rang because the missus had put the wrong reg date in and blocked the online one. I could have had a test later that arfternoon if I wanted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

Del2005 wrote: »

If Law requires all drivers to carry driving licence at all times, and you want garda and NCT centres to enforce it, then in the first place, authority which issues them (motor tax offices) should make sure no one is left without licence while exchanging one. You might not be aware, but some motor tax offices, make drivers wait for their licence for about 10 weeks. Do you want all of us to avoid driving for 10 weeks, just because motor tax office is unable to do simple things?