Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Going Diesel

• 02-10-2012 8:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭

hi
    I started new job and the commute is 40 miles each way.
    Currently driving a 00 1.4 Toyota corolla.
    Like the thread says I am thinking about getting diesel.
    Budget is low say around €2000 also would prefer to go up in years but that’s not my main concern.

Looking on done deal cars that seem to be in my budget would
    Peugeot 406
    Seat Toledo
    Ford Mondo
    Rover 75
    Toyota Aveines
    Bora

I know at this end of the budget a lot would depend on the individual car but is there any that should not go near at all.

My main requiment is something reliable, my current car has being reliable even if does like a lot of oil.

would have grown up with French cars, father last 3 cars having being Renalt laugna, would have learned to drive in 02 launga so will use to little things be wrong, so if the 406 is solid car and only small things that go wrong would probley be near the top of my list at the moment as they seem good value.

i am only 23 but have being driving 5 years now so cant image i will have any problem insuring any these cars even if the engine is bigger.
    All these cars a pretty big, don’t really need a big car but can’t think of any smaller cars that are diesel other than golf which seem overpriced.

Would be grateful of any advice on these cars are any other car that mite suit my budget. Also any idea how much my own car would be worth 140,000 miles 1.4 corolla once again thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

Peogeot 406 with leather or Citroen Xantia or even an older c5 would be very nice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,042 ✭✭✭Bpmull

406 diesel is a great car and you should get a nice one within your budget. Octavia diesel is another but hard to get a good one for your budget. If i was you i woulf probably go for the 406 as they are a great diesel and good value for money at the moment.

....... an older c5 would be very nice

Indeed, short NCT left on this one but that's not a huge issue if it's healthy :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3651784

View2-13049462.jpeg

Asking €2000.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

RoverJames wrote: »
    Indeed, short NCT left on this one but that's not a huge issue if it's healthy :)

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3651784

Asking €2000.

+1 I had one for 4 years and over 80k miles, with very few problems.
    and I loved it, like driving a bed. Roads i now dont travel in my alfa used to be taken at full pelt in the c5;)
    If you do get one get it serviced by a citroen specialist ( there are lots of good indy ones around) otherwise you get the 'eyes to heaven' treatment in every garage. Also there are a good few things that need looking after, they are all simple and cheap if you replace them when needed.

C5 comfy mile muncher but not much in the handling dept.
    406, not quiet as comfy but still an excellent car and much better handling,
    Get a Hdi if you can, td is underpowered (had one too, 80k in 2 years) fond of drop links but they are cheap as chips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19 arminkavix

Just watch the engine size , over 2l could hit you for €500 extra tax and then there is the insurance. Assuming you're getting about 35mpg from the Corolla the 406 might not get much better than 45 so the fuel saving is €27-ish a week although that is only going to increase.

As for the rest of your list
    Toledo, had one, very reliable, a rattley vw but the prce reflects this
    Mondeo, had one too, there was constantly something wrong with the front suspension/power steering/brakes so very soft Imo
    Rover 75 never even been in one so cant comment,
    Avensis, all the farmers round me have them, seem unbreakable, not a very inspiring drive though.
    Bora, id rather walk:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ccarr

thanks for the replies, never consider the C5
    arminkavik that fair point about how much i will be saving with the higher tax the potential saving on fuel would be about 32 euro, that includes €5 for lilter oil it gos true a week.
    but not really sure if my current car is up to the extra millage every week.
    pred racer thanks for advice on the mondeo saw one on donedeal earlier which i was considering but good to no there bit soft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

arminkavix wrote: »
    Just watch the engine size , over 2l could hit you for €500 extra tax and then there is the insurance. Assuming you're getting about 35mpg from the Corolla the 406 might not get much better than 45 so the fuel saving is €27-ish a week although that is only going to increase.

Where you getting €500 from? A 1.3 Corolla is about €320 a year to tax and a 2.0 is €660. More like €300 a year. Those HDI's are supposed to be super reliable, I'd say it would be 50mpg compared to 30ish mpg. With diesel 10c a litre less at the moment the savings would be fairly substantial I'd have thought.

arminkavix wrote: »

166man wrote: »
    Where you getting €500 from? A 1.3 Corolla is about €320 a year to tax and a 2.0 is €660. More like €300 a year................

.... the likes of this

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3956775

View2-14508424.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭johndaman66

Where you getting €500 from? A 1.3 Corolla is about €320 a year to tax and a 2.0 is €660. More like €300 a year. Those HDI's are supposed to be super reliable, I'd say it would be 50mpg compared to 30ish mpg. With diesel 10c a litre less at the moment the savings would be fairly substantial I'd have thought.

Ah now in fairness you ought to be getting substancially more than 30mpg from a 1.3 litre Corolla. At least 40mpg if the most of your driving is on the motorway and you are driving half sensibly. It will obviously take a hit if a lot of your driving is in towns and built up areas...just like any other car really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Corolla 1.3 tax is €358 if we're being picky

Ah now in fairness you ought to be getting substancially more than 30mpg from a 1.3 litre Corolla. At least 40mpg if the most of your driving is on the motorway and you are driving half sensibly. It will obviously take a hit if a lot of your driving is in towns and built up areas...just like any other car really

I'd have thought the smaller engine would struggle on the motorway. You are right though 35mpg would probably be a realistic average. Still a 406 HDI should be doing 50mpg, wouldn't it?
    colm_mcm wrote: »
    Corolla 1.3 tax is €358 if we're being picky

That's the 1.4 tax rate right? I always thought the Corolla was a 1.3, oops..:o

What's the roll eyes about? The chap specified tax over 2.0 in his post that you questioned ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

The ego has landed . . . .

Jellicoe wrote: »
    The ego has landed . . . .

What was your old username?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

I'd have thought the smaller engine would struggle on the motorway. You are right though 35mpg would probably be a realistic average. Still a 406 HDI should be doing 50mpg, wouldn't it?

When I had a 1.3 corolla I consistently got 38 mpg calculated by brimming the tank and refilling
    1301cc - 1400cc = €358 tax per year

• Closed Accounts Posts: 492 ✭✭Jellicoe

"RJ can't handle it" as far as I remember. What's your other usernames again ?

I only have the one account :)

What's the roll eyes about? The chap specified tax over 2.0 in his post that you questioned ;)

The OP asked about the

-C5
    -Toledo
    -Mondeo
    -Octavia
    -Avensis
    -Bora,

At his budget I'd imagine most if not all of the diesel engines he would be looking at would be 2.0l or under, so I don't know why he was mentioning tax over 2.0l.

tuxy wrote: »
    When I had a 1.3 corolla I consistently got 38 mpg calculated by brimming the tank and refilling
    1301cc - 1400cc = €358 tax per year

That's impressive mpg for a small car. If the OP was getting anywhere near 40mpg out of his corolla then it probably wouldn't make so much sense to change. I was basing it on 30mpg as I had no idea whether these yokes were economical.

Forgot about the tax band too.

The OP asked about the

-C5
    -Toledo
    -Mondeo
    -Octavia
    -Avensis
    -Bora,

At his budget I'd imagine most if not all of the diesel engines he would be looking at would be 2.0l or under, so I don't know why he was mentioning tax over 2.0l.

..... You asked where was the 500 coming from, its the difference between 1.4 and 2.2 tax :) geddit ;) given you had no idea about what you were spouting, corolla mpg, perhaps you should add a disclaimer in your Sig for folks not aware of it, newbies etc.

I asked where the €500 was coming from when we were mainly talking about 1.9/2.0 diesel engines. I can count you know, doing maths in college etc...:)

I didn't know what the Corolla's mpg was so I took a guess saying 30ish. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Nice spec Rover 75 here and it has the more reliable older BMW diesel engine:
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3832834

Just to add, the 2.0Hdi will do 50mpg if driven normally, if careful you could see more, I drove the bollix outta mine and it averaged 47mpg!

I'd love one of those 406 coupe's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,523 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Since 1992 the 1.3 corolla was 1332cc, same with the starlet 96>
    00 corolla is 1398cc, all in the same band

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

If going for a 406, beware the old shape ones, a few of them came with a 2.1 that had a bloody awful lucas pump and are a good bit more expensive to tax than the 1.9

90bhp HDi had a standard flywheel. The rest have dmfs and the 2.2 has a dpf too!

Very economical and comfortable cars though :)

dgt wrote: »
    If going for a 406, beware the old shape ones, a few of them came with a 2.1 ............. and are a good bit more expensive to tax than the 1.9.............

We're not allowed mention that apparently :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

If going for a 406, beware the old shape ones, a few of them came with a 2.1 that had a bloody awful lucas pump and are a good bit more expensive to tax than the 1.9

90bhp HDi had a standard flywheel. The rest have dmfs and the 2.2 has a dpf too!

Very economical and comfortable cars though :)

The 110 hdi has a bog standard flywheel too. No dpf aswell. (the DW10ATED)

I eeked 65mpg out of my 110hdi xantia before, very economical mile muncher. Very reliable and as said, its like driving a bed. They can be had for a grand now or a little more.

As for the old corrola 1.3? 37-38mpg on the motorway. It's a big enough car for a 1.3. The starlet with the same engine gets about 42-45mpg with the same driving

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Always thought the 110 had a dmf....!

The 110 in the c5 does anyway, mine was nearly bollixed when I sold it;)

The ones in the Xantias and Xsaras were the last to not have it. i.e up to about 2001ish.

EDIT:

Probably the early run of engines. Not sure about the C5/later 406s but I'm only going on what K Hurst mentioned to me a while back.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 47 VINCWM

Stay away from French/ Italian cars. If you're looking for reliability then I suggest going with German/ Japanese makes.

How about a Golf TDI? Very reliable and comfortable cars for the 40 mile journey.

VINCWM wrote: »
    Stay away from French/ Italian cars. If you're looking for reliability then I suggest going with German/ Japanese makes.

How about a Golf TDI? Very reliable and comfortable cars for the 40 mile journey.

LOL

VINCWM wrote: »

BX 19 wrote: »

To be fair, the Golf TDI's are very good cars in general and if they're looked after they can do serious mileage with excellent fuel economy. The problem is trying to find one for €2k that hasn't the sh1t driven out of it. So many of them going around are really past it at this stage.

I would agree with the suggestion of going Japanese but I always thought their petrols were better than their diesels. Open to correction there.

Due to this idea that French and Italian car's are crap in Ireland they go very cheaply. The 406 was a very good car but fell foul to the usual ''oh it's French so it's crap'' assumption.

To sum it up, €2k will buy you an awful lot more 406 diesel than Golf TDI these days.

To be fair, the Golf TDI's are very good cars in general and if they're looked after they can do serious mileage with excellent fuel economy. The problem is trying to find one for €2k that hasn't the sh1t driven out of it. So many of them going around are really past it at this stage.

Never said they weren't, they're a grand diesel and if a bit agricultural sounding. Hold their value well, that can be an advantage and a disadvantage though.

I was rather ridiculing the silly notion that all french cars are rubbish. Anyone who knows anything about cars knows that Peugeot/Citroen were among the pioneers in quality diesels.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/3117089

Other end of the scale. Bit of haggling. Be sure of its history though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭ccarr

ye would be looking to keep the engine size to below 2 liters.
    other than Toyota avenues is there any other Japanese diesel engine cars to consider.
    but think my best would be to look for good 406 in no real rush to change as the corolla does give pretty good MPG in around 37MPG, that's from the on board computer so not 100% sure if that's accurate.
    just to clarify does the 110hdi 406 have DPF.
    would like a golf because of the size but don't think i will get a good in my budget. thats kind of the reason i was considering the Seat Toledo.