Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cavan hurling developments

• 02-10-2012 11:21am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭

Cavan GAA officials are set to meet tonight after Saturday's senior hurling final between Mullahoran St Joseph's and Ballymachugh failed to take place.
    The game was postponed just hours before the throw-in after Mullahoran said they were unable to fulfil the fixture due to numerous players being involved in yesterday's SFC final against Kingscourt Stars.
    Tonight's meeting of the Cavan CCC is expected to hand Ballymachugh the title on a walkover.
    If this happens, Ballymachugh will represent Cavan in the Ulster club JHC, where they will face Down champions Bredagh next Saturday.
    Ballymachugh manager Brendan Sweeney says his side would still prefer to earn the right to be crowned Cavan champions.
    "We are unfortunate victims of this thing too," he said.
    Ballymachugh were unable to facilitate moving the fixture to a mid-week game this week as they have a number of players based in the UK for work and college purposes.

Bit of discussion on this in Cavan thread but said I would start a new thread to get a wider audience as this seems to have gone unremarked apart from the above article in yesterday's indo.

Basically as article says Senior County Hurling final didn't go ahead on Saturday as Mullahoran (with 7 dual players) refused to/couldn't fulfil the fixture as they were playing the football Senior County Final Sunday afternoon.

There is 2 games in the Cavan Senior Hurling championship at most every year so this situation in my view should have never been allowed to occur and illustrates the disdain which Hurling is treated with in Cavan despite talk of the contrary from the County Board.

So what the view on this - who cares, hurling will never take off in Cavan and County Board should stop paying lip service to it or the County Board should properly promote the game?

I should say that Eoin Morrissey was appointed as Hurling co-ordinator as is doing an excellent job at schools and club nursery level and is completely blameless in this fiasco.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Scenarios like this are exactly what I always refer to when people continually criticise Croke Park and the top brass in the GAA for not doing enough to develop and expand hurling in the ''weaker counties'', unfortunately and this is a perfect example, you cant help those who dont want help.

It works both ways of course but this is the other side to the coin that I always refer to when people just blindly blame the officials in Croke Park.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

Maybe cormac halpin knows what to do about this, seeing as he seems to think he knows everything....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,465 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Wasn't there a lad from Waterford that was on here a year or two ago who was involved in trying to improve hurling in Cavan? I presume that didn't go to plan. It's disappointing that they haven't been able to field a senior county team this season. The standard of hurling in division 3B is pretty appalling so it wouldn't take much to get them competitive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

lala88 wrote: »
    Maybe cormac halpin knows what to do about this, seeing as he seems to think he knows everything....

Put him on ignore trust me it will be the best thing you ever do ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Wasn't there a lad from Waterford that was on here a year or two ago who was involved in trying to improve hurling in Cavan? I presume that didn't go to plan. It's disappointing that they haven't been able to field a senior county team this season. The standard of hurling in division 3B is pretty appalling so it wouldn't take much to get them competitive.

Eoin Morrissey is involved in the schools and underage set-up, if that's who you are thinking off, and is doing phenomenal work by all accounts and the minor team done well in the Ulster C championship. But by allowing the county final fiasco sets back and undermines all the good work. - It really is nearly a case of why bother anymore?? :mad:

Tom Joad wrote: »
    Eoin Morrissey is involved in the schools and underage set-up, if that's who you are thinking off, and is doing phenomenal work by all accounts and the minor team done well in the Ulster C championship. But by allowing the county final fiasco sets back and undermines all the good work. - It really is nearly a case of why bother anymore?? :mad:

Seems to be him alright.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75953062&postcount=96
    Must be pretty soul destroying for him to put so much effort into it and for this to happen.

Seems to be him alright.
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=75953062&postcount=96
    Must be pretty soul destroying for him to put so much effort into it and for this to happen.

Wasn't aware of that thread - before my time here your honour:D

Would love to hear his views of what going on at the moment but probably a bit unfair to expect him to comment on it.

Sure it'd be no harm to PM him and ask. He'd probably get an email notifying him and may make his way back here. May be a slim chance but you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,635 ✭✭✭celt262

He said in local paper that he hopes some good will come out of review that will take place into what went wrong.

I'd say there will be feck all of a review.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭cormac halpin

lala88 wrote: »
    falling_off_chair_laughing-836.gif

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,243 ✭✭✭lala88

falling_off_chair_laughing-836.gif

sure i suppose all they need is some training gear and they'll be grand....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 897 ✭✭✭crucamim

Bit of discussion on this in Cavan thread but said I would start a new thread to get a wider audience as this seems to have gone unremarked apart from the above article in yesterday's indo.

Basically as article says Senior County Hurling final didn't go ahead on Saturday as Mullahoran (with 7 dual players) refused to/couldn't fulfil the fixture as they were playing the football Senior County Final Sunday afternoon.

There is 2 games in the Cavan Senior Hurling championship at most every year so this situation in my view should have never been allowed to occur and illustrates the disdain which Hurling is treated with in Cavan despite talk of the contrary from the County Board.

So what the view on this - who cares, hurling will never take off in Cavan and County Board should stop paying lip service to it or the County Board should properly promote the game?

I should say that Eoin Morrissey was appointed as Hurling co-ordinator as is doing an excellent job at schools and club nursery level and is completely blameless in this fiasco.

The dual player (hurling and gaelic football) is a serious problem and will continue to be while both games are summer games.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭breffni666

crucamim wrote: »

The dual player (hurling and gaelic football) is a serious problem and will continue to be while both games are summer games.
    Should not be an issue. Div3 football standard and no county hurling team, its not like it Cork we are talking about. A reasonable standard player should have no problem combining the two in Cavan. St. Bridgets won div 1 feile football AND hurling with 20+ players on both squads playing at the highest possible level at that age. It can be done, you just need a county board with the will, unfortunatly we dont in Cavan.

Not really an issue here as there is no county team in hurling and only 3 senior hurling teams in Cavan so burn out/too many games is never going to be an issue...:D

breffni666 wrote: »
    Should not be an issue. Div3 football standard and no county hurling team, its not like it Cork we are talking about. A reasonable standard player should have no problem combining the two in Cavan. St. Bridgets won div 1 feile football AND hurling with 20+ players on both squads playing at the highest possible level at that age. It can be done, you just need a county board with the will, unfortunatly we dont in Cavan.

I'd take a county board with a clue at this stage!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 WaterfordAWAY

Hi Guys I am happy to be contacted if you would like to talk about hurling and how you think it can be improved..

email- eoin.morrissey.hda.cavan@gaa.ie

Massive work is going in at all levels and league have been run for adult teams also all the way down with over 3,500 children plaing hurling in national schools with 100% INCREASE in youth teams taking part.. Cootehill National feile....

People in clubs are working tirelessly to promote the game and I thank them all.. I dnt like the way we promote negative press still their is plenty of promotion for the good activitty going on..

Check us out on Facebook and Twitter

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cavan-Hurling-Development/480611911972394

https://twitter.com/CavanHurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

In most counties that I'm aware of, players tog out in football and hurling for their clubs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭hardybuck

Not really an issue here as there is no county team in hurling and only 3 senior hurling teams in Cavan so burn out/too many games is never going to be an issue...:D

Yes, and even if there was, what's wrong with having a game every week or every second week at a minimum?

Often I see people complaining about the burdens of keeping both codes going, or inability to honour fixtures, and there are weeks at a time between games.

If you play soccer or rugby you generally have a game every week for a defined period of time. It's generally referred to as a 'season'. The GAA needs to get it's head around this properly.

Hi Guys I am happy to be contacted if you would like to talk about hurling and how you think it can be improved..

email- eoin.morrissey.hda.cavan@gaa.ie

Massive work is going in at all levels and league have been run for adult teams also all the way down with over 3,500 children plaing hurling in national schools with 100% INCREASE in youth teams taking part.. Cootehill National feile....

People in clubs are working tirelessly to promote the game and I thank them all.. I dnt like the way we promote negative press still their is plenty of promotion for the good activitty going on..

Check us out on Facebook and Twitter

http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cavan-Hurling-Development/480611911972394

https://twitter.com/CavanHurling

Eoin - Fair play to you for posting here and I take your point about the negative press and to be fair to you I am not going to ask you to comment on the "county final".

You will see from my previous posts that I have acknowledged the work being done by yourself and others for hurling in Cavan - you deserve huge credit for this and I for one am delighted that in a few years time when he's ready I can take my young lad to a club that plays hurling. People outside the county probably don't realise what a massive achievement this is.

I started this thread because of my frustration with the fiasco that the County Final became - I don't put any of that at you're door and to be fair I know you can't comment on it on a public forum. I felt it undermined the great strides being made at underage level and could have been avoided.

But on the positives - keep going with the work that has been done - a solid foundation has been put in that can be built on.

One thing strikes me is the difficulty of getting sliothars and small hurls in any sports shop (for a toddler) in the county - small steps like this can make a huge difference.

Best of luck with all the work you are doing and pop back in here and keep us posted on what's happening.

Thanks Tom

There has been a review from what occured and sometimes this is good for The greater good of Cavan Hurling..

We have got help from The Sports Shop in cavan who stock hurls/helmets and balls...

Also a hurly maker (Martin Baker) has set up in Cavan in the last 6 months making real hurls in Cavan Town (I can pass his number to ye if you like via email) and I was even in a shop in Shercock recently who have some hurling stock due to work being done in that direction for hurling,

Its a very enjoyable challenge and hopefully when you son/daughter comes to age you might get involved in a local club and help invest into the future of Cavan Hurling

FYI- U12 and U16 Finals next monday in KBP at 6.30pm

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭AGC

breffni666 wrote: »

There was only 1 lad who didn't play hurling so basically 25 lads won both the football and hurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 cootehill32

The latest update on Cavan Hurling.
    The Cavan Minor hurlers have topped the Ulster Minor Hurling League Division 2.
    There are four counties in the division, Cavan, Monaghan , Tyrone and Fermanagh.
    Cavan now play in the final on Friday 5th April.
    This is a remarkable achievement when one takes into account that it is almost a completely new team from the one which reached the All-Ireland "C" Final last September.

Credit to all involved - has been great progress over the last while - I've actually seen kids on their way to schools carrying hurls recently - something I never thought I would see in Cavan..

Is it possible to change the title of this thread as its evolved into a good new story?..

Yes it would be great to change the thread... :) Im delighted with the progress of everyone in Cavan. Still alot of work to do but people have really come together! It shows you can promote hurling, not effect football and in fact improve the overall strucutre within GAA in Cavan thus seeing more children play GAA more often.

Eoin Morrissey

Is it possible to change the title of this thread as its evolved into a good new story?..
    Better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 cootehill32

I agree, reluctantly, that it is time to move on from last year. I know the teams, players and management involved in last year's events and I understand exactly how they feel about the situation.
    However there's a lot of good and committed people involved in Cavan Hurling and there is definitely a tremendous amount of work being done at underage level and with the rising numbers of players and people involved, nobody or nothing can stop the inevitable rise of Cavan Hurling and it can not longer be ignored, neglected or pushed aside. The people involved and the families of hurlers simply won't tolerate it. The future of Cavan hurling is very bright !!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

the cavan hurling GPO has me plagued on facebook with updates from Cavan

Better?

Superb thanks Hammer :)

So any word on whether Cavan will be back in the league next season? It really wouldn't take much for them to be a competitive division 3B/3A team. Last year Longford were in turmoil and gave a walkover in their final game and were hammered in the other two. This season, they topped division 3B.

Apologies :)