Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best condom type

• 02-10-2012 10:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭

Just wondering what in people's experience are the best condom brands/types which are readily available in Ireland and whether there might be different considerations in play for anal rather than vaginal sex.

I know there have been similar threads before in AH or Gentlemans Club but none really dealt with anal sex.

Basically I'm wondering whether there is any greater risk of splitting and whether something like feather lite might not be advisable in the circumstances.

A quick google suggests not, but that ain't necessarily conclusive.

I don't want to take unnecessary risks or anything, but find something like Extra Safe just doesn't provide enough sensation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭coolperson05

I have used Featherlite before and found them to be safe and intact following the event! I think proper lubrication should ensure all brands are ok.

I also share your feelings about extra safe...:/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

I don't know about the whole sensation argument because although I know the differnce, none apart from those durex ones that are coated with something to numb you, have ever stopped me from arriving as they say on the southside! I don't think a minor difference in sensation warrants a greater risk! As for most brands of Durex I find them unsafe for either anal or vaginal as, they have burst more than any other brand I have used. The major problem I have with generics is the smell of the latex they use which is quite pungent!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 455 ✭✭Davyhal

A pox on Durex Extra Safe I say!!! Might as well be 100 miles away for all the sensation you feel, especially when you have used lube too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 437 ✭✭Sir Pompous Righteousness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,293 ✭✭✭1ZRed

Feck extra safe! Condoms are bad enough without using them to completely dull everything.

I find pleasuremax to be great and they do live up to the hype. Nice friction for the wearer and I've found them to be most pleasurable, decent fit for me, and given enough lube you should be sorted for anal sex.

Featherlite is good. Maybe a bit too delicate for my size and style of play but definitely a solid contender.

I'd also buy online. Way cheaper and you get to browse through loads of different types and mess around trying new ones out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,236 ✭✭✭Dr. Kenneth Noisewater

1ZRed wrote: »

Featherlite is good. Maybe a bit too delicate for my size and style of play but definitely a solid contender.

Thinly veiled (hehe) "I'm massive and ride like a jackhammer" post.:p

deccurley wrote: »
    Thinly veiled (hehe) "I'm massive and ride like a jackhammer" post.:p

Ah.. I won't deny the last part of that anyway :p

Looking back over the post now it came across that way alright. Didn't mean to be a dick about it

But I'm an above average guy so I think it's fair enough to give a perspective on how effective some condoms are for lads that are bigger than average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

I always thought there were specific condoms needed for anal sex? I remember getting a talk on prostitution as part of my studies once and that's what we were told anyway.

Not that I know anything about it tbh. Yay monogamous lesbianism!!!

I always thought there were specific condoms needed for anal sex? I remember getting a talk on prostitution as part of my studies once and that's what we were told anyway.

You don't need to use specific condoms for anal sex, any one will do and if you lube up and keep it in mind, you'll be grand.

You can get condoms that are thicker and more for anal sex, but there's SFA sensation in them and IMO, not worth it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,156 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

You don't need to use specific condoms for anal sex, any one will do and if you lube up and keep it in mind, you'll be grand.

You can get condoms that are thicker and more for anal sex, but there's SFA sensation in them and IMO, not worth it.

You should ALWAYS use water or silicone based lube though. There are some condoms that had a spermicide chemical on them called Nonoxyl-9 that should not be used for anal sex. I'm not sure if that is still a problem.

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Hamhide

I find the tingle ones from durex do it for me.they dont smell as bad which can sometimes put me off the mood and have a kinda minty tickle afterwards which I really like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Aurongroove

Aren't there very light Durux ones? they'd do I imagine.

apparently anal is mostly about good lubrication.

(there's a sentence I'd never though I'd be writing)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,824 ✭✭✭floggg

Hmm. I think I'd rather put up with condoms than try sex without at least one penis involved! Sorry Lesbians!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,112 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Fetherlite (originals) haven't ever failed on me, anyway. Lubrication is far more important.

As is finding one with a suitable diameter - length doesn't matter anywhere near as much but even with a manufacturer there's differences, e.g Durex Fetherlite Ultra are 52mm, normal Fetherline 56mm whereas "Comfort XL" is a whole 1mm bigger at 57mm.

Fetherlite Ultra's feel absolutely horrible, they're oddly shaped and I think they cut off blood flow too much.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Lubrication is the important thing - I've never had a problem with featherlite condoms during arse f*cking - either giving or receiving.:)

Nice to know we're all seasoned in the use of condoms! :P No virgins around here! Haha

So it's virgins you're after, ah? ;)

Haha!! Well that's me firmly back in my box! Lol

Well, if you can't get your hands on a few you'll be firmly back in your own box alright

Oh god! I'm sorry I commented now! :O

So it's virgins you're after, ah? ;)

Expect to see him sniffing around the coming out/confused about my sexuality threads a lot more so...

Oh god! I'm sorry I commented now! :O
    Ah, just fucking with you!

But that wasn't a no.. :p

Lol! One must be more careful of the wording of one's posts in future! And it is a No lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭bikeman1

Someone said, lube is very important, I'd like to second that. Don't know why or how it happened, but don't ever use the Durex Fire lube!! I'll say no more!!!

bikeman1 wrote: »
    Someone said, lube is very important, I'd like to second that. Don't know why or how it happened, but don't ever use the Durex Fire lube!! I'll say no more!!!

By the sounds of it, I think I'd sooner take deepHeat as lube instead of that!

I've never come across any Durex sensation lubes that were for anal. That could explain it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭bikeman1

bikeman1 wrote: »

I've never come across any Durex sensation lubes that were for anal. That could explain it.

More to do with it being un-labeled and the surprise was, well, hot!!!

I don't know if I've ever seen any that necessarily said for Anal but I don't recall seeing any "not suitable for anal" warnings either.

Though the Durex ones generally seem to be a bit **** - they dry out fairly quickly.

While we are on the subject, any good lube recommendations? I'd generally use KY as the most easily available.