Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cross Country running

• 02-10-2012 2:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭

Just wondering how hard it is to transition over to cross country, just for one race?

once has come up close to me, only 6k so thinking of doing it.
    I've only ever done road running, so would ye need to change up training or do some cross country before it?
    would normal runners be ok?

Few other things, I sometimes get shin splints, so usually wear compression socks to alleviate. Would CC running bring this on more or less?

And time wise, would it be quicker or slower and by how much usually?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

You could have a look in this thread

You don't need to change your training. If you have the time and the inclination you could do some fartlek work, but it isn't necessary.
    Same with runners - spikes would be best, trail runners would be next best, but if you don't have any then regular runners will be okay. (It depends on how mucky conditions are, the slippier it is the more benefit you get from spikes)

Cross country is easier on your legs, because the ground is softer than paths and roads and more uneven. It's also slower, for the same reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,762 ✭✭✭✭ecoli

Personally I find my body takes a few sessions on gras to get used to cross country running. I did a few one of XC races over the past 18 months and what I found was my body was not used to the uneven ground and as a result muscles in my lower back tightened up something fierce (not an injury worry or anything just mild discomfort)

Normal runners would be okay provided the course is relatively dry otherwise spikes are major benefit for grip

In terms of shin splints this should be easier on the legs than running on roads

In terms of time you are going to be slower no doubt. How slow depends on the course and the conditions. No two courses are the same and even the same course is never the same two years in a row. Ran an XC race myself at weekend over 5k and was roughly a minute slower than my current road pace.

If the 6k is the Dublin Novice in two weeks I can tell you now forget about times as its "around 6k". The beauty of XC is you get away from chasing times and focus on pure racing. Every position counts

I would highly recommend it as it can be of great benefit in long run for alot of Road runners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 767 ✭✭✭wrstan

+1 on highly recommending it.

It's very different to road racing, but can be a lot of fun, if you forget about the freezing rain, the muck, the wind, the wet soggy socks, the unforgiving hills... should I go on??? :D The worst bit is definitely standing on the line shivering in your singlet waiting for the gun. Seriously though, just give it a go, you might find you like it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

cheers all.
    its not until November (Noel Mc Guill & Sandra Floyd Memorial Races) so ill see closer to the time.
    probably will now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,370 ✭✭✭pconn062

event wrote: »
    cheers all.
    its not until November (Noel Mc Guill & Sandra Floyd Memorial Races) so ill see closer to the time.
    probably will now

Hi event, I'm a member of the club that organise that race, Dunleer AC. Just to give you a bit of info about the course, it is held over at the Louth training grounds in Darver and it is quite easy by cross country standards. Four 1500m laps (for the men, 2 for women) and contains one fairly substantial hill on each lap but apart from that the course is flat and it is fairly dry ground so muck shouldn't be a problem. Actually it won't be too dissimilar to running a road race apart from the numbers in the race, about 50-60 in the mens race. As the lads said it's all about position not time as courses are rarely exact. It's a great (and cheap) race so hopefully see you there!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,119 ✭✭✭✭event

cool.
    Im from up that way myself (dunleer), did the 4 mile in just over 31 minutes so we'll see how it goes.