Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

new house / housemates

• 01-10-2012 9:07pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭

ive moved into a new house recently and im sharing with 2 guys, im female. ive never shared with just males before but they work shifts so are never there in the evenings which is grand. I havnt even met them yet! Landlord said they are sound though ( I can always move if they are freaks )The thing is - the house is not spotless clean - the fridge is kinda gross,the microwave is too and the bathroom needs a clean. These things make me queasy!!! My old house was spotless and im used to this. The new house is grand - maybe im too fussy. Would it be rude of me after moving into the house to tell the guys to help me clean? The house is tidy though. But as il probably not even meet them as they work shifts maybe I should just clean them myself??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,093 ✭✭✭✭looksee

For a start you could do the cleaning yourself, then when you are a bit established you could start to suggest a cleaning rota. You are of course entitled to live in a clean house, but there are more ways of killing a cat, etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,328 ✭✭✭cafecolour

Honestly, if the house is generally clean/tidy but not up to your standards of 'spotless', then I think it's a bit unfair to demand they help keep things up to your standards, especially as they've been the ones living there already.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭Pippy1976

Clean it yourself initially... if they're not there in the evening it gives you plenty of time to get stuck in.

After that, mention it casually that you could do a rota: each take a room or a chore and rotate it on a monthly basis. No harm in suggesting it - all they can do is laugh at you!!

Nothing worse than a manky fridge or bathroom. I'd be straight into getting that cleaned ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭scarymoon1

I cleaned the bathroom yesterday and bought cleaning products. Was cleaning the kitchen sink this evening and though f this, I'm moving out!! Then I saw one of the guys had bought new candles and left them out. So I guess they are making an effort when they saw I had cleaned! I need to relax on the OCD of cleanliness I think and give this house a go before I run! By the way I moved in a rush and hate house hunting so just took this!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭Janedoe10

scarymoon1 wrote: »
    I cleaned the bathroom yesterday and bought cleaning products. Was cleaning the kitchen sink this evening and though f this, I'm moving out!! Then I saw one of the guys had bought new candles and left them out. So I guess they are making an effort when they saw I had cleaned! I need to relax on the OCD of cleanliness I think and give this house a go before I run! By the way I moved in a rush and hate house hunting so just took this!

I think u need to give the place and the lads a chance . Guys buying smelly candles ya that's an effort .
    U have just moved in . They may have just let's things go a bit .
    Wait till week 2/month 2 before u start whipping them into shape !!!

It's easier to live with lads than all girls in a house anyway , better dynamic

Oh ya u have not decided to do extra wrk as a cleaner so do your share ... But not all of it or they will expect it .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 595 ✭✭✭tony81

If they keep the place fairly clean and tidy, you can go the extra mile to keep it spotless.
    I shared with 2 women before and they didn't seem to notice the dust accumulating, the bathroom getting filthy, or even the kitchen presses getting grubby. I just spent a few minutes a day freshening up those things to my standards.. they were easy to get on with & I never had any trouble with them so it was a small price to pay

So I met one of the housemates, he waited to meet me. He's grand but not really someone I'd mix with!! Heck I feel like I've made a big mistake moving in :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 963 ✭✭✭Richy06

Try getting to know your housemates before you form any preconceptions of whether or not you'll 'mix' with them or not. You don't get to know someone from a brief encounter.

Yeah but ya know when you live in a place and the cooker is gross and the fridge isn't clean, I can't explain it. It just feels gross. I'd never use the cooker, gross! I feel bad as the guy was friendly. I suppose il have to stay for a while as I don't want to lose my deposit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

Did you not look at the house before you moved in? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 884 ✭✭✭cats.life

didnt you see the house before you moved in? if you feel that strongly about the dirty house find a bedsit for you only.

I did look and it looked fine. But I didn't look at the fridge, cooker etc. I couldn't live in a bedsit on my own, depressing or what lol! Il give it another week and see how it goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,882 ✭✭✭Mighty_Mouse

Ok it seems you want to live with people but are unwilling to compromise.
    Tbh the cleanliness problems can be overcome with the advice offered above.

You attitude towards your new housemates seems to be a larger issue.
    So I met one of the housemates, he waited to meet me. He's grand but not really someone I'd mix with!

So they wait to meet you, buy candles, make the effort to be friendly but you adopt a negative attitude from the get-go?
    These "people" are not your type? What do you mean?

Are you judging these people by their character or by what you believe makes a person "cool" enough for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Ellsbells

Why don't ye put a few quid each week and get a cleaner a couple of times per month to do the big stuff like cleaning the fridge, cooker ROTC and ye maintain it in between.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

Ellsbells wrote: »
    Why don't ye put a few quid each week and get a cleaner a couple of times per month to do the big stuff like cleaning the fridge, cooker ROTC and ye maintain it in between.

Exactly what I was going to suggest! I know loads of people who get a cleaner in, either on a weekly basis, or for one big clean once a month. It would be very affordable between three of ye!

I'm not sure about a cleaner!! Uugh someone has the washing machine on and there must be something wrong with the drains!!! Gross! I think that's made my mind up, moving out time! Landlord won't be happy with me but nothing I can do!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 250 ✭✭AhInFairness

I'm not sure about a cleaner!! Uugh someone has the washing machine on and there must be something wrong with the drains!!! Gross! I think that's made my mind up, moving out time! Landlord won't be happy with me but nothing I can do!

Why can't you ask the landlord to get the drains fixed?

Look OP, you sound completely unwilling to compromise on any level and you are going to continue to have problems no matter where you go if you adopt such a negative and inflexible attitude.

Also, your attitude towards the flatmate that made the effort with you is actually appalling. Generally the people you move in with aren't hoping to be your best friend. They tend to expect civility, politeness and friendliness. The fact that you can't even bring yourself to realise this really just shows that you would be much better off living on your own.

Why can't you ask the landlord to get the drains fixed?

Look OP, you sound completely unwilling to compromise on any level and you are going to continue to have problems no matter where you go if you adopt such a negative and inflexible attitude.

Also, your attitude towards the flatmate that made the effort with you is actually appalling. Generally the people you move in with aren't hoping to be your best friend. They tend to expect civility, politeness and friendliness. The fact that you can't even bring yourself to realise this really just shows that you would be much better off living on your own.

Not sure how my attitude was appalling, I said he was a grand guy but not someone I'd mix with!! Not sure of the problem in that to be honost! But anyway thanks for all the replies on this matter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,830 ✭✭✭Jonty

Just as a matter of interest, how old are you OP?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,390 ✭✭✭The Big Red Button

I couldn't live in a bedsit on my own, depressing or what lol!

If you're living in a houseshare just for the company ... why on earth would you not have made sure to meet your housemates before moving in? :confused:
    I'm not sure about a cleaner!!

Seems like the (very) obvious solution, but OK ...
    I think that's made my mind up, moving out time! Landlord won't be happy with me but nothing I can do!

Well, what does your lease/rental agreement say?

What age am I?! Why?! I don't think you have to be a specific age to live on an unclean house! I've to give a months notice! Ah it's not the cleanliness totally, the room is too small aswell. I just made a mistake moving in there, that's all.

• Administrators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,907 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Big Bag of Chips

scarymoon1, are you looking for advice here or just a rant? Because people are making suggestions, but you seem to have your mind made up to move out anyway.

So maybe give your notice, and spend the month trying to find somewhere you'd be happier...?

I'm not looking to rant. When I opened the thread I wasn't sure about moving out or not, that's why I opened the thread!!!! But now I've realised I made a mistake moving in so I'm going to move out. So I guess the thread can be closed. Thanks.