Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Welcome parades for losers. Why?

• 01-10-2012 8:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭

Apparently, 5000 showed up today to greet Galway.
    Kinda adds insult to injury.
    I'd be embarrassed as a player to have to go through that charade and I'd be pretty certain that it's the last thing the Galway/Mayo players would have wanted.

Why put them through it?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Cause getting to an All Ireland Final takes great personal sacrifice and brings a huge lift to the county, people like to show their appreciation for their teams and show them that they're behind them whether they win or lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Considering where Galway was 6 months ago, fight just to stay in Division 1, it turned out to be a good year, winning Leinster for the first time and almost winning the All-Ireland(in the first game). So it is a way for the supporters to show an appreciation for the hard work and success the Galway hurlers provided this year. Plus it may be another 10 years before Galway get to a final again...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,507 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

gearoidc wrote: »
    I'd be embarrassed as a player to have to go through that charade and I'd be pretty certain that it's the last thing the Galway/Mayo players would have wanted.

Why put them through it?

In what way are you certain that it's the last thing that the runners-up would want?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

or maybe because its the most games Galway hurling ever played and won in a single Championship that must be celebrated ?
    In the olden days they'd be all ireland champions twice over after winning so many games ! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,736 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

For teams that do not regugarly get to All Ireland finals they seem to be accatepale, they are good for the kids IMO

I remeber back in 1989 there was a huge one in Mayo for the lossing team, it had been 38 years since their last final appearence.
    There was none in 2006 after two hammerings in very quick sucession and the one last week was quiet small also, whne you go 0-6 in All Ireland finals in 23 years even the kids get sick of lossing homecomings

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

There was a fairly big homecoming for Clare in 02

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Wouldn't agree with the OP's choice of words for a start, they are not ''loosers'' they were runners up in the greatest competition in sport ( I assume he is talking about Galway)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,428 ✭✭✭Talib Fiasco

Wouldn't agree with the OP's choice of words for a start, they are not ''loosers'' they were runners up in the greatest competition in sport ( I assume he is talking about Galway)

Chill...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,925 ✭✭✭aidan24326

Why put them through it?

It's fitting that they should have a homecoming welcome even in defeat. Getting to an All-Ireland final isn't easy and these players will have put in an enormous amount of effort and personal sacrifice to achieve that. They gave all of us Galway people some good days this year, and brought a great buzz to the county. And there's good reasons to believe that they will buck the trend of previous Galway teams and actually come back strong again next year. It's not a celebration of defeat but simply an acknowledgment of what these guys have done.

TheComeUp wrote: »
    Chill...

Well it is and always will be in my eyes and Im sure many more including those who turned up to welcome the Galway team gome last evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭ceegee

I remember in 2000 the Kilkenny team saying that not wanting to face a third losing homecomings in a row was a massive motivation for them. There were big crowds there in 98 and 99 and all the players seemed to appreciate it despite how hard it is to face a day after defeat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,101 ✭✭✭randd1

ceegee wrote: »
    I remember in 2000 the Kilkenny team saying that not wanting to face a third losing homecomings in a row was a massive motivation for them. There were big crowds there in 98 and 99 and all the players seemed to appreciate it despite how hard it is to face a day after defeat.

Brian Hogan said in his acceptance speech last year that one of the main motivations they had last year was that something like 17-20,000 turned up for the homecoming after they got beaten by Tipp and were singing and cheering for the lads like they had won and that they wanted to bring back the cup to the fans for that lift and support.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

randd1 wrote: »
    Brian Hogan said in his acceptance speech last year that one of the main motivations they had last year was that something like 17-20,000 turned up for the homecoming after they got beaten by Tipp and were singing and cheering for the lads like they had won and that they wanted to bring back the cup to the fans for that lift and support.

Hurling needs a shake-up. Kilkenny have won too much. As for the All-Ireland Hurling Championship being the best competition in the world - keep dreaming

Being from Kilkenny I don't think Kilkenny have won too much. I'm old enough to remember that we only one twice after 1983 until 2000, a veritable famine.

Agree the hurling Championship is not the best competition out there and needs to restructure to be truly great. But its still better than most.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭Mr. Boo

Well it's currently the top prize in the gfreatest sport in the world! ;)

Having been through plenty of tough championship seasons as a Galway supporter I know this team deserved a homecoming, and the gratitude of the people of Galway for what they achieved this year. They showed the most dedication and team spirit you could expect from a county panel, and in doing so gave us all a few great days out and memories.

Although I made it home for the first game, I had to watch the replay in a pub in the UK. I was genuinely upset to see supporters walk out after our fate was sealed. The level of dedication shown by players is deserving of the respect of their supporters. They had to stand out on the pitch while their opponents lifted the prize, so the least people could to is cheer them on to the end.

Congratulations to Kilkenny. Until we meet again.
    Here's to the Galway senior hurling panel 2012. Gaillimh Abú!

Mr. Boo wrote: »
    Well it's currently the top prize in the gfreatest sport in the world! ;)

Having been through plenty of tough championship seasons as a Galway supporter I know this team deserved a homecoming, and the gratitude of the people of Galway for what they achieved this year. They showed the most dedication and team spirit you could expect from a county panel, and in doing so gave us all a few great days out and memories.

Although I made it home for the first game, I had to watch the replay in a pub in the UK. I was genuinely upset to see supporters walk out after our fate was sealed. The level of dedication shown by players is deserving of the respect of their supporters. They had to stand out on the pitch while their opponents lifted the prize, so the least people could to is cheer them on to the end.

Dead right. This Galway team have won their first meaningful championship trophy in 24 years (we'll discount the short-lived Connaught championship), got to their first AI final in 7 years and came within a whisker of winning Liam for the first time in a quarter of a century. They deserve a home-coming.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,874 ✭✭✭Brain Stroking

Mr. Boo wrote: »
    Well it's currently the top prize in the greatest sport in the world (in my opinion, of course)! ;)

FYP. And a little typo for good measure ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,418 ✭✭✭curry-muff

Win or lose there was going to be thousands of people in Donegal Town to greet the team. The effort that those players put in throughout the year for nothing and how proud they made us as a county, those players deserve the respect that is due.

curry-muff wrote: »
    Win or lose there was going to be thousands of people in Donegal Town to greet the team. The effort that those players put in throughout the year for nothing and how proud they made us as a county, those players deserve the respect that is due.

Damn right curry, anyone that realised the efforts these guys put in would feel the same, fans in general are all too willing to get on lads backs when things go wrong (as a Tipp man I'm sure ye have an idea what Im talking about :p) but seem to forget that each and everyone of them lads are giving up so much of their own time and effort to serve their county. No one goes out to intentionally under perform, its sport, **** happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭gearoidc

Clareman wrote: »
    Cause getting to an All Ireland Final takes great personal sacrifice and brings a huge lift to the county, people like to show their appreciation for their teams and show them that they're behind them whether they win or lose.

Well your reply kinda sums it up.
    Seems to me it's because the cheerleaders demand it.
    Doesn't look like much fun for the lads though. Why not just settle for a lap of honour in Croker...applaud the fans etc...?

557751_10151181867730890_2088861931_n.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭morcheen k

just for the fans to show their thanks.i know if i was a player i wouldn't want a parade for not winning,but next year could be the one and a winning parade :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,916 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

I always wonder where people get their opinions on these things despite not having a clue. It's the same story with pitch invasions.

Nearly every player in interviews says they agree with the new pitch invasion rules, that it's better that they can celebrate together as a team after the final whistle, or gather their thoughts when they lose. These players put in month after month of harsh effort and dedication to be on the pitch on All Ireland final day, and to earn a victors/losers homecoming. Only they can say whether or not they want the a parade (or pitch invasion).

Yet you'll have lads who've never been in that position saying "I know if I were a player I would definitely want pitch invasions and no welcome parade if I lost" despite nearly every player not wanting pitch invasions, and wanting welcome parades.

(Though I'd say Mayo are sick of losers welcomes at this stage)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,851 ✭✭✭Mountainlad

I remember when Waterford lost to Kilkenny in 2008 there was in excess of 10,000 people to welcome them back.

I think it's great. Imagine if you come back and nobody wants to talk to you, and it feels as if basically you never did anything at all. I think it would be a terrible thing if people were only interested in their teams when they were winning, and while the players I'm sure would like their downtime, I also believe that they appreciate the show of support and solidarity received at times like these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭gearoidc

I always wonder where people get their opinions on these things despite not having a clue. It's the same story with pitch invasions.

Nearly every player in interviews says they agree with the new pitch invasion rules, that it's better that they can celebrate together as a team after the final whistle, or gather their thoughts when they lose. These players put in month after month of harsh effort and dedication to be on the pitch on All Ireland final day, and to earn a victors/losers homecoming. Only they can say whether or not they want the a parade (or pitch invasion).

Yet you'll have lads who've never been in that position saying "I know if I were a player I would definitely want pitch invasions and no welcome parade if I lost" despite nearly every player not wanting pitch invasions, and wanting welcome parades.

(Though I'd say Mayo are sick of losers welcomes at this stage)

Strange post. The pitch invasion issue has nothing to do with this. Have you evidence that "every player" wants welcome parades?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,895 ✭✭✭Poor_old_gill

I'd imagine it is something as simplistic as-it is easier for both finalists to organise a parade in advance of the final for logistical reasons and then both do so.
    One will be a winners parade and one will be a losers parade

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,316 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

It teaches kids and others that winning is not the be all and end all.

Which it isn't.

Why put them through it?

I disagree with you. It's a great message to send the players that have missed out on an all ireland final despite years of being in the wilderness that the supporters are 100% behind them.

If anything would lift your spirit and encourage you to do it all over again its the fans out greeting you despite the result.

Look at Lar Corbett. A hero two years ago but now getting dogs abuse from a few morons amongst his own people.

Puts the people who bother to get up of their arse to come out and support the team in a time of disappointment into perspective doesnt it?