Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

House robbed

• 01-10-2012 7:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭

The guts of 2 grand of stuff was robbed on us in lismore landlord said theres nothin that can be done it gone and he didn't seem to give a f88k :mad: so where do we stand? what can we do? 6 of us in total

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Wexfordboy89

kearney13 wrote: »
    The guts of 2 grand of stuff was robbed on us in lismore landlord said theres nothin that can be done it gone and he didn't seem to give a f88k :mad: so where do we stand? what can we do? 6 of us in total

well with him being a landlord he should have landlord insurance which i would assume should cover any stolen property from tenant???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 CocoAyl

If you look here the Landlord is obligated to insure the property. "Insure the property (if it is impossible to get insurance, or if the cost is unreasonable this obligation doesn’t apply)"

http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/housing/renting_a_home/landlords_rights_and_obligations.html

Sorry to hear about your house man. Happened us two years ago few 100e worth of stuff nicked.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,649 ✭✭✭Not The Real Scarecrow

Landlord has to Insure the property but not the contents.So stolen goods aren't covered unless you take out your own insurance for property contents.

Only thing to do is report it to the police and see where it goes from there,unfortunately.

Its a ****e thing that happened to ye but not much can be done about it now,unless the guards catch the guys and retrieve your stuff.

same thing happened to us years ago. Guys were eventually caught but we got none of our stuff back and they got a slap on the wrists. Laws do little for the victims of crime on Ireland.

Hope yer all all right and things work out for ye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 214 ✭✭kearney13

Theres no contents cover and the landlord is blaming us for the house being broke into but there is no sign of forced entry what so ever and 6 of us left the house friday and we all checked and made sure the place was locked up and secure..... we had a chat with our neighbors who hate our landlord with a passion because of the people who he brings to the area in the summer...

Its gets more interesting this landlord uses 3 different surnames and another one of his house was robbed at the weekend as well I dont think this was a coincidence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭john 08

sry to hear about your unfortunate incident. im living in lismore park myself. when was ur house broken into ?? i know that another house was broken into in lismore park about 2 weeks again.
    is your house any where near xtra vision ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 Jenners!

Bad doss. If there is a cash connectors or other pawn shops in the town, maybe give them a heads up on what your missing, then if it comes in, the guards can trace back. Happened to a band a few years back, playing a gig and after the sound check all the equipment was gone. Next day the thieves where caught while selling off the equipment into the pawn shop. Best of luck in retrieving anyhow :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭Media999

Welcome to Waterford. Highest rate of burglarys in the country.

People make a living off students who leave their house empty every weekend.

2 grand isnt bad for an hours work.

Chances are the house has been broken into several times and Landlord doesnt care as he gets his money. Dont bother with the conspiracy theories about the Landlord being involved.

Around the college is full of professional burglars.

What was taken?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 Redfish2004

Theres no contents cover and the landlord is blaming us for the house being broke into but there is no sign of forced entry what so ever and 6 of us left the house friday and we all checked and made sure the place was locked up and secure..... we had a chat with our neighbors who hate our landlord with a passion because of the people who he brings to the area in the summer...

Its gets more interesting this landlord uses 3 different surnames and another one of his house was robbed at the weekend as well I dont think this was a coincidence

No forced entry? So how exactly did they manage to get into the house? you must me wealthy enough students to say you had 2 grands worth of stuff left in a rented house over the weekend. Sounds like the landlord helped himself, and to be honest you haven't a leg to stand on. I wouldn't go pointing the finger at the landlord either unless you have evidence, you could land yourself into trouble. That's a stingy amount of money to lose.

If he uses three different surnames, then that should have sent alarm bells ringing. You shouldn't have rented the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 125 ✭✭duinegorm

No forced entry? So how exactly did they manage to get into the house? you must me wealthy enough students to say you had 2 grands worth of stuff left in a rented house over the weekend. Sounds like the landlord helped himself, and to be honest you haven't a leg to stand on. I wouldn't go pointing the finger at the landlord either unless you have evidence, you could land yourself into trouble. That's a stingy amount of money to lose.

If he uses three different surnames, then that should have sent alarm bells ringing. You shouldn't have rented the house.

2 grand worth of stuff between 6 people = €333 each. That's not a lot. Also, it's obious from what the OP wrote that he knew nothing about the 3 surnames until after the house was robbed. Have you no compassion at all for the victims of a crime?

Dont be idiots and say the Landlord robbed it.

I live down here many years. People like you come down year after year.
    Completely clueless as to what the area is like. Its a hellhole.

Burglars everywhere. You where targeted because your clueless. The fact that you would blame your landlord shows your even still clueless.

Most likely a few 16 year olds that where eyeing you up the last while.

Ask the landlord for a copy of his Insurance conditions. Say one of the lads mothers is a solicitor and shed like a look.

Landlord just doesnt want his premium going up. Guaranteed he has contents insurance as a condition on his mortgage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Howlin1

Have any of ye (or possibly all at the same time) went and talked to the Student's Union about this? Cassandra (the welfare officer) might be able to help ye (the other officers might be able to as well). If they couldn't help you directly, they might be able to direct you to somewhere/body that might be able to help you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,071 ✭✭✭Conas

Live and Learn as they say. Feel sorry for the people who were robbed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,931 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Media999 wrote: »
    Landlord just doesnt want his premium going up. Guaranteed he has contents insurance as a condition on his mortgage.

I have never heard of a bank requiring contents insurance as a condition of giving out a mortgage.

First condition on my house.

I assumed it was the same for all Student houses that are mortgaged. Maybe not.

Landlord hasn't come back to me over this and I want to move out after next week as rent is paid till then and he said I'm not aloud go back to the house now and wont give me my deposit back either even tho I did not sign any sort if contract I should name and shame his name(s) I have got on to the PTRB tonight

I'll be honest when he text me this I got a bit angry and cursed at a text back to him and he said I threatened him altho I did not I just said for f sake and gimme back my f'in deposit I want out of your sh1thole of a house

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭diamondgirl

even if the landlord has contents insurance, it would be for his property only. It usually states that in the terms & conditions of the policy, that the contents are items belonging to you or a member of your family. So you wouldnt be able to claim off his insurance

Landlord hasn't come back to me over this and I want to move out after next week as rent is paid till then and he said I'm not aloud go back to the house now and wont give me my deposit back either even tho I did not sign any sort if contract I should name and shame his name(s) I have got on to the PTRB tonight

I'll be honest when he text me this I got a bit angry and cursed at a text back to him and he said I threatened him altho I did not I just said for f sake and gimme back my f'in deposit I want out of your sh1thole of a house

Ask him did he know the house was robbed before. If he did its grounds to bring him to the small claims court and get all money back ase should have informed you.

Youll have to prove it was robbed before though if it was. maybe ask the neighbours or Guards.

Problem here is that another group will move in and be none the wiser. maybe even have their stuff robbed. Landlord just keeps all the deposits and makes a nice profit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 152 ✭✭Howlin1

Yea definitely contact the SU about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Howlin1 wrote: »
    Yea definitely contact the SU about that.

+1, and also the guys in accomadation and property forum may be a bit wiser than here. From what ive heard the PRTB wont be much help unless you want your deposit back in a year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 CocoAyl

Just looking on Daft.ie forums "*

*Due to the fact that I wasn\\\'t given any form of lease or contract I should not lose my deposit right?**

WRONG!

You made a verbal contract to rent in a house share. You paid the deposit and moved in, therefore you have agreed to the contract. The fact that you have not signed a lease (for a fixed term) means that you have a Part 4 tenancy and in order to leave and retain your deposit, under Part 4 tenancy laws, you must give 28 days (as you have been in occupancy for less than 6 months) notice in writing. Failure to do this means you forfeit your deposit, plus, you owe the rent for the days that you have been in the house."

But you should be allowed back into the house. i'd also check is he a legitimate landlord. Ask if the tenancy is registered, ask the Gardai or ring up the revenue. To be 'registered', he must register the tenancy which is valid for 3 years, with the Private Residential Tenancies Board, also known as PRTB. You should have received a letter confirming the tenancy, along with the landlord receiving one also. You can go online and see if the property is registered, along with your landlord.

If the property is not registered, the tenant will have more rights (landlord and tenancy Act, 1995), hence its in the best interest to have the property registered. With regards to him being registered with Revenue, probably not, and should it be the case he's not registered, the gardai and revenue would be on to him pretty soon.

Sorry I can't be more help, but even if there no tenancy reg might force him into given the deposit backs

Thanks for your help the house is registered alright as a 3 bed but there 6 bedrooms I never got any letters from the landlord or anyone else for the house?

Hes scamming the taxman something serious id say.

Probably taking cash in hand and saying hes only getting a smaller amount

Thanks for your help the house is registered alright as a 3 bed but there 6 bedrooms. I never got any letters from the landlord or anyone else for the house?

You have him cornered.

This kind of sh*t that's going on is why the countries screwed. Take him to a small claims court, and once you bring this up, you'll win hands down. Scammers of the tax system get away with nothing these days. You'll get your money back for the property robbed, and you'll get your deposit back.

Might I also add depending on how long he's been claiming the house to be a 6 bedroom one it could go further than a small claims court. This man could be in fairly serious trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

So how exactly did they manage to get into the house?
    It's a rented house. Probably ex-tenants, or someone that got a key of an ex-tenant. This is why you should change the locks when you move into the house.
    he said I'm not aloud go back to the house now
    Eh?
    Revenue will love him. When asking for your deposit back, ask about the three surnames, and then ask him does Revenue know about all three names?

You actually have him snookered.

So he never got the locks changed either then says its your fault when the house is robbed.

Either that or they took the glass out of a back window and put it back in before they left. Watch out for knife or screwdriver marks around the glass. Bastards do this to make it look like there was no break in when they know students wont be back for 2 days.

Id say an anonymous email to the tax man when all this is done would go a long way. Bastard probably has your deposits spent and all by now.

Small claims court and then rat him out to the taxman. He didnt think about any of you so you dont feel sorry for him.

household charge + back tax X 3 houses X many years equals one sorry taxdodger.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 191 ✭✭jjjade

I am really sad to hear that your having issues with the house and landlord.

It just annoys me how they get away with keeping the deposit. It isn't the first time i heard that and it wont be the last .... Dont give up on the deposit keep at it. have you claimed rent tax credits.... as if he isnt registered you can claim without his pps number (once you have the address), you might scare him by announcing this. If he isn't registered, they will then register him and it will be a small victory that he got found out.... and he might get back taxed for it.