Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travelling solo

• 01-10-2012 3:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54 ✭✭

Hey there. 21 year old male and at the minute I've a couple of months free and I'm really considering travelling. I've never travelled abroad before on my own so I'm a little bit cautious.

I'm wondering are there any places/countries which suit solo-travellers? It seems everyday I change my mind. North America..no Australia...Asia...around Europe...If it's a case of going where my interests lie,

I'd love to travel to Asia/Japan but the language barrier and being on my lonesome far away is making me jittery :/ There's also Europe for the inter-railing as well...just so undecided! Some of my family went to the West coast of America and that looks equally as amazing.

Main reason for travelling would be to just get away from Ireland for a small bit. See a bit of the world/history side of it, some "me" time, come back with few funny stories etc...

Just want to find out if anyone has done this before?/thoughts etc... The people I've talked to before about this have said it's one of the best decisions of their lives but at the same time I don't want to be completely reckless and through caution to the wind.

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,503 ✭✭✭Tipperary animal lover

Go for it, it'll be the best thing you will do and regret it in years to come if you don't, south east Asia or India would be great for you, very cheap to get around eat and accommodation is cheap, most people speak some piece of English, India is a incredible country and you meet a lot of single travellers on your travels there. Thailand Vietnam Cambodia Laos Malaysia all these countries speak English and you'll see more westeners some times in these countries than the locals.... You have to be a bit social and start talking to people and you'll get on grand, just be careful for scams etc if something doesn't feel right to you just walk away from the situation ..... As there's plenty of scams out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

Just finishing 3 months in South America on my own. Youre never really on your own. Youll always meet people in hostels, tours, etc. Sometimes youll hook up with people and just travel with them, dont book anything too far in advance (other than flights obviously). But you are your own boss, can do what you want whenever you want. Id say if youre nervous go to Thailand and SE Asia. But I couldnt recommend South America enough to be honest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,075 ✭✭✭lc180

Go for it!

I'm 28 and only really got the nerve to start travelling on my own in the last few years. I totally regret not doing it years ago.
    token101 wrote:
    But you are your own boss, can do what you want whenever you want.
    This is my favorite thing about solo trips, the sense of freedom is amazing. Its got to the stage where I actually enjoy going abroad along far more than going away with the lads.

If you are nervous Europe is a good start, stay in Hostels and you'll meet loads of other solo backpackers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,629 ✭✭✭Adiboo

My first solo trip was to Japan when I was 18. Go for it. It's something you'll always remember and look back on fondly.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,575 Mod ✭✭✭✭dory

I, and many others, travel alone as solo females. There's nothing wrong with it. When I was 22 I did 15 months traipsing around the world. Just go!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

Do it, it'll be the best thing you ever do. IMO I think the US can wait until you are older, thinks like backpacking around Asia and South America are things that you need to do while younger. If I were you I would pick somewhere that interests me as opposed to somewhere you think you would meet lots of people. If a country interests you, you will meet other travellers with an interest in that country and instantly have something in common.

I went 2 years ago and I regret nothing. I will be off travelling again once I finish my job here, I'll meet up with people who I met initially travelling at some point but being on your own is much more fun

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 112 ✭✭Allah_

There have been a million and one "Where should I go as a solo traveler" threads and nobody ever recommends Africa as a backpacking destination. Why is that?

Ino112, would you be interested in backpacking in Africa? I went travelling there myself and had the best craic ever. Unreal sessions and plenty of solo travellers to hang out with. Even the odd Irish pub! By the way of course there are touristy things such as Safari, Kayaking, Mountains, Jungles and gorillas etc.