Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can an MEP be prosecuted?

• 01-10-2012 1:57pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭

In the wake of the most recent Nick Griffin MEP controversy in which he referred to opponents as "Fenian bastards" who would if they had thinner skins would "leak slime all over the Stormont carpets":

Can an MEP such as himself be charged with an offence, as proposed under Part III of the Public Order (Northern Ireland) Order 1987, and be prosecuted in the national courts without having to seek removal of his immunity through the mechanisms of the European Parliament?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,611 ✭✭✭Valetta

Where did he say it?

I would have thought parlimentary privilege would apply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Corruptable

He posted it on Twitter while within the grounds of Stormont as a visitor at a public event commemorating the signing of the Ulster Covenant yesterday. For those who mightn't have heard about it, here is a report from the BBC.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭Procrastastudy

He posted it on Twitter while within the grounds of Stormont as a visitor at a public event commemorating the signing of the Ulster Covenant yesterday. For those who mightn't have heard about it, here is a report from the BBC.

Communications Act in the UK springs to mind. Does anyone take this dickhead seriously enough to take offence though? Personally I think any kind of legal action would just legitimise him.

In fact to take the HIGNFY line... "Nick who?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,624 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Personally I think any kind of legal action would just legitimise him.

I think the SDLP councillor lady is a bit silly reporting Griffin's comment to the PSNI for the reason stated above.

In fairness to the BBC, they reported this comment from a local unionist about Nick Griffin...

DUP councillor and Orangeman, Christopher Stalford, said the "values the BNP represent are the antithesis of unionist values".

"Unionism is open and inclusive, you can come from any background and be a unionist. I don't believe that Nick Griffin had any place being there and this is exactly the sort of stunt that he thrives on," he said.

"The truth is, there were 35,000 or 40,000 people out on Saturday having a very positive and happy day.

"One knuckle-dragging MEP turning up does not mar the whole day. I just think it's sad that it has received the attention it has. That's probably mission accomplished as far as he is concerned."

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,455 ✭✭✭krd

Communications Act in the UK springs to mind. Does anyone take this dickhead seriously enough to take offence though? Personally I think any kind of legal action would just legitimise him.

Let's just shoot the ba****d and be done with it.

Unfortunately, we can't. Griffin has a Paiselyesque shield of invulnerability. During the 70s and 80s, there wasn't a single group in the North, who at one point or other didn't want to kill Paisely (and that includes all the loyalist groups). And what saved his life, is no group wanted to make him a martyr.

Griffin is just the dark side of Briffishness, and Briffin. We just have to live with him, and hopefully, he'll walk under a bus some day. Or have some freak accident. We only have to be lucky once.

Griffin's aim is to start something like the Troubles, in a part of England with a large mixed community. That's why he's so pal'y with the Loyalist head bangers.

Though a few years of "Troubles" in some Northern England towns might not be a bad thing. Northern Ireland's entire tourist industry is based around the legacy of its terrorist past. Murals, walking tours.......you can even get taken around by former terrorists, who'll show you the spot they shot a British soldier, where they planted a bomb, that kind of thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭Thinkingaboutit

Nick Griffin would cream himself at having another opportunity to indulge his persecution complex. He did highlight the Pakistanis who groomed little girls in the north of England, when everyone else avoided the topic, but it being seen as a BNP issue probably didn't help. He mostly incriminates his politics from his own mouth, and therefore most people avoid him. Even some of the families of the grooming victims would prefer his lot not associate themselves too much with that scandal.

Nick Griffin would cream himself at having another opportunity to indulge his persecution complex.

Fascists always need a persecution narrative. Like Hitler, and his analysis of the early thirties - we'd be doing great if it wasn't for those pesky Jews, their rootlessness and international finance, and the fluoride they put in the water, to control the minds of the good, pure, and honest, Fine Gaelers.

He did highlight the Pakistanis who groomed little girls in the north of England, when everyone else avoided the topic, but it being seen as a BNP issue probably didn't help.

This is another massive myth. An outrageous myth. His highlighting was something along the lines of "You know the Pakistani grooming gang in Bradford...Yeah the one you all read about in the papers...The one whose arrest, trial, and prosecution ..has been widely reported on, even in the Guardian over the last 18 months..........well, I'm the only one who's been talking about it. And if it wasn't for me, you'd never have heard of it. It would have just been on a few front pages, Sky news and then quickly swept under the carpet by the politically correct brigade "

It's not even up there with the Jedi mind trick, it's the Moron mind trick.
    He mostly incriminates his politics from his own mouth, and therefore most people avoid him.

But not you........the faecal stench from his mouth doesn't much bother you, as his words make so much sense............And it's time something was done.
    Even some of the families of the grooming victims would prefer his lot not associate themselves too much with that scandal.

Have you heard of the grooming gang from Cornwall who were done around the same time?........Nearly identical, except all the groomers were white bald headed fat bsatards...........Did you hear?

You didn't hear. And it's not because of Nick Griffin. Nick doesn't give a sh1t. And neither do the racist vermin making hay out of the kebab shop paedos.

krd wrote: »
    Fascists always need a persecution narrative. Like Hitler, and his analysis of the early thirties - we'd be doing great if it wasn't for those pesky Jews, their rootlessness and international finance, and the fluoride they put in the water, to control the minds of the good, pure, and honest, Fine Gaelers.

This is another massive myth. An outrageous myth. His highlighting was something along the lines of "You know the Pakistani grooming gang in Bradford...Yeah the one you all read about in the papers...The one whose arrest, trial, and prosecution ..has been widely reported on, even in the Guardian over the last 18 months..........well, I'm the only one who's been talking about it. And if it wasn't for me, you'd never have heard of it. It would have just been on a few front pages, Sky news and then quickly swept under the carpet by the politically correct brigade "

It's not even up there with the Jedi mind trick, it's the Moron mind trick.

But not you........the faecal stench from his mouth doesn't much bother you, as his words make so much sense............And it's time something was done.

Have you heard of the grooming gang from Cornwall who were done around the same time?........Nearly identical, except all the groomers were white bald headed fat bsatards...........Did you hear?

You didn't hear. And it's not because of Nick Griffin. Nick doesn't give a sh1t. And neither do the racist vermin making hay out of the kebab shop paedos.

Almost all the past 50 convictions for child sex grooming, was by Asians, and almost all were Pakistanis. It was ignored. The Guardian more recently published an article denying this was an issue at all. Channel 4 were very reluctant to show a documentary on the topic. One victim was told to learn Urdu. There is a vast amount on how this topic was ignored, and is now given attention. Baroness Warsi, until recently Tory Party Chairwoman, and herself of Pakistani origin, Jack Straw of the Labour Party, and others all spoke up on the topic. It most certainly is not a massive myth. I am not going to expend energy on someone with that starting point.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/crime/asian-grooming-why-we-need-to-talk-about-sex-7734712.html might be a start.

I think it might be a waste to spend too much on this with you.

These Asians were quite from the standard set of weird middle aged men who expend their limited social skills to engage in kiddie fiddling. They were nearly all married men, of good standing in their community.

Some UK social workers who saw thing in terms of 'white privilege' and how ethnic minorities could do know wrong, will hopefully lose their jobs and liberty.

This is off the topic, so that's that.

I am right.

Snipped

Dramatic thoughts Krd.

The guards usually seem bored if a burglary is reported to them. No glamour for them, and I am not a member of Fine Gael. It does sadly seem that for a poor dead woman, say, that can be end. If the victims of Larry Murphy were a bit more important, a lot of disappearance of women could be solved. The same might be said about dead heroin addicts who are found in the foothills of the Dublin mountains.

Leave the denizens of Clongowes Wood alone, they tend to have good manners.:).

Basically, Nick Griffin did latch on to some poor young girls who found that the police were positively bored about investigating their complaints. That did change later, when more respectable people and bodies from Straw to Warsi and the Daily Mail took some interest. The Guardian positively avoided taking an interest until it became a standard case in court. Channel 4 took an interest, but the documentary on it, was for unknown reasons delayed until after the British GE. I suspect some politicians were a bit ashamed at the mess.

The EDL and BNP might all the knuckleheads, but that does not make all their causes wrong. They might take up a cause for dishonest reasons, but the cause itself, might have merit. Personally if them and the more radical Moslems had a televised cage fight, it might do good.