Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New farm electricity line

• 29-09-2012 5:05pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭

Lads,

Am humming and hawing bout doing this but after 3 wire melting snapps enough is enough and advice would be appreciated.

we have old unhabitated farm house, 20 years ago 'we' ran a 2.5 cable from it to the new slatted houses 376meters away...worked away fine most years, this year 3 cracks where moisture got into cable i ld say (all rain in this summer west cork) as wire is suspended on 'poles' to keep it up.

Spoke to two fellas at ploughing, one said need another connection @1800 plus monthly esb charge....

other guy said 6's wire should take it as will be used for lights n fencer only @ bout 800...

It is important that i keep original supply as dwelling is ' half habitable'.

Any of ye do anything like above recently?

cost is the MAJOR issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

grange mac wrote: »
    Lads,

Am humming and hawing bout doing this but after 3 wire melting snapps enough is enough and advice would be appreciated.

we have old unhabitated farm house, 20 years ago 'we' ran a 2.5 cable from it to the new slatted houses 376meters away...worked away fine most years, this year 3 cracks where moisture got into cable i ld say (all rain in this summer west cork) as wire is suspended on 'poles' to keep it up.

Spoke to two fellas at ploughing, one said need another connection @1800 plus monthly esb charge....

other guy said 6's wire should take it as will be used for lights n fencer only @ bout 800...

It is important that i keep original supply as dwelling is ' half habitable'.

Any of ye do anything like above recently?

cost is the MAJOR issue.

Over that distance you would be well advised to use 10 square underground cable! You would be surprised how much of a voltage drop you will get over that distance if you skimp on the copper.
    You absolutely do not need another connection. Absolutely not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Over that distance you would be well advised to use 10 square underground cable! You would be surprised how much of a voltage drop you will get over that distance if you skimp on the copper.
    You absolutely do not need another connection. Absolutely not.

10sq would be cutting it tight if you wanted to use any powertool in the shed. If you had a small incline that in future you may develop this yard it might be advisable to go 16sq, its a while since I bought such heavy cable but it probably costs around €10m nowadays. what you currently have would be under serious pressure just to run a light bulb

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭grange mac

Thanks lads,

Will look at the 10's wire so....bob i got a craic off fencer yest and believe me it is still strong. cant see any usage other than lights n fencer so no need for anythn more than that...as said cost is major issue will depend on how my bullocks do in mart in few weeks

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I think the 10 sq cable is about 6.50 a metre for underground cable. You can calculate the voltage drop easily enough
    http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=69852298
    Have a look here
    post 27 gives a formula I think.

Look up ohm's law, you will need to know the resistance of the cable you are using though. I suppose you could hire in a generator if you are using a welder etc at the shed.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.