Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

TSA agent caughth stealing ipad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,835 ✭✭✭✭cloud493

Be surprised if that didn't happen in almost every airport in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭girl2

Hopefully they recovered the spellcheck facility :D

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

cloud493 wrote: »
    Be surprised if that didn't happen in almost every airprort in the world.

I hate being caughth in the airprort

cloud493 wrote: »
    Be surprised if that didn't happen in almost every aiprort in the world.

yeah Im sure it does. Great to see one getting caught though :)

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,247 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

That was really cringe worthy. I know I shouldn't feel sorry for the guy, but I was nearly embarrassed watching that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

He blamed the wife when he got rumbled.

Smooth move dude!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 94,272 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Jake1 wrote: »
    Fecking great sting :)

The TSA are the American agents who do security at Airports across the USA
    Some people who can't make the grade to be a cop join private security firms. Those that can't get into private security firms join TSA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

F*ck the TSA. The fact that they're allowed to do what they do just shows exactly how much Osama Bin Laden has won his battle. America is no longer the land of the free.
    In trying to defeat his ideology they've scored a match-deciding own goal.

I'm pretty sure allowing a security company to grope people's genitals as a routine practice is the absolute death knell for "civilized democracy". Especially when they carry it out on terrified little children who have quite rightly been brought up to guard against adults violating their private areas.

It honestly makes me absolutely sick. Incidents like these are slow nails in the coffin of the organization, let the next one come hard and fast please :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 346 ✭✭petersburg2002

Loved it when the journalist set off the alarm on the iPad. Your man nearly crapped himself. Nice uniform mate ;) They mite let you keep it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,635 ✭✭✭eth0

Shower of bastards the TSA, and the European equivalent (mostly hired hands from Gruppe Sechs security) aren't that far behind

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Looks like they went looking for some poor sucker to make a news story with.

It's borderline entrapment imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

Honey trap.

They deliberatly leave a brand new Ipad behind and walk off in the hope somebody steals it.

Do that anywhere and see what sort of return rate you get. Doubt it would be near 90%.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

Ya bit messy alright
    they stuck a lost ipad in front of him how often does that happen.
    It quite possible he was the salt of the earth and just made an impulsive mistake

I hope Ramirez is alright now
    he probably applying for his free obama phone now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

Honey trap.

They deliberatly leave a brand new Ipad behind and walk off in the hope somebody steals it.

Do that anywhere and see what sort of return rate you get. Doubt it would be near 90%.

He fooked up, tough, he knew the procedures but decided to create his own, they were not so bullet proof,

to the guillotine I say.

entrapment me hole. :)

I was in the bank yesterday where a lady counted out thousands in cash, if I jumped the counter and stole it , would it be entrapment because she counted it on front of me?

Just keep your hands off property that someone else worked to pay for, and you'll not be entrapped.

Jake1 wrote: »
    entrapment me hole. :)

I was in the bank yesterday where a lady counted out thousands in cash, if I jumped the counter and stole it , would it be entrapment because she counted it on front of me?

Just keep your hands off property that someone else worked to pay for, and you'll not be entrapped.

I am pretty right wing when it comes to law and order but i don't think this is right

it is possible that Ramirez is a hardcore thief and was robbed loads of stuff
    and picked up and took home loads of lost property stuff.

It is also possible he never robbed anything in his life until ABC stuck a shiny ipad under his nose and now he was lost his job and anyone that googles his name sees he a thief.

If someone is stupid to leave their ipad around they deserve to lose it IMO.

FREE ANDY RAMIREZ the Orlando one

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,869 ✭✭✭asherbassad

I am pretty right wing when it comes to law and order but i don't think this is right

It is also possible he never robbed anything in his life until ABC stuck a shiny ipad under his nose and now he was lost his job and anyone that googles his name sees he a thief.

FREE RAMIREZ the Orlando one

Do you realise how dumb you sound?

People like you are all for hanging someone who shoplifts a stick of chewing gum. Then when one of your uniformed goons gets busted and can't be trusted you're all liberal and "give the guy a break" bullsh!t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,073 ✭✭✭Pottler

So true - there's a car parked down the road, I'm off to take it, stupid eejits leaving it there. This new view of stuff is gonna be soo liberating. I thank you. Before, like a fool, I thought other peoples stuff was theirs and if you took it you were a bleedin thief. How wrong was I!

Do you realise how dumb you sound?

People like you are all for hanging someone who shoplifts a stick of chewing gum. Then when one of your uniformed goons gets busted and can't be trusted you're all liberal and "give the guy a break" bullsh!t.

Can you back this up?
    Where did i say I supported capital punishment for shoplifting chewing gum?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

You see that line in bold, everyone? That's the indicator that Cork boy 55 is taking the piss. You may miss it when you're frothing at the mouth with rage but I've shown it to you now so you can all put away that outrago-pistol, mister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

"Look what you made me do! You made me steal your ipad!"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 512 ✭✭✭tiger55

These TSA filth are always groping passengers also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,010 ✭✭✭✭Cuddlesworth

I don't tar all crimes with the same brush. Their is a firm difference in my mind between a person who voilently takes a wallet, a person who goes through jackets looking for wallets to take and a person who picks up a wallet on the street and takes it home.

This was a honey trap. It was the most effective and garunteed way of having something stolen and it was clearly done for the shock headline to go with it.

You see that line in bold, everyone? That's the indicator that Cork boy 55 is taking the piss. You may miss it when you're frothing at the mouth with rage but I've shown it to you now so you can all put away that outrago-pistol, mister.
    In future I'm gonna pm you for the "Miracle Fit Anorexic Interpretation" of every post, in case I get it wrong. This might involve a deluge of PMs, but better safe than sorry and it's good to talk. Thanking you in advance, etc. BTW, how'd you know that? Is it a Zen skill that I can learn through some sort of open-university? Who was outraged btw? I'm dying to know. I thought the sheepish look on yer mans face was priceless, especially the tache drooping when yer man asked about the iPad. "iPad, nooo sir...no iPads here...Oh- THAT iPad... the one the wife stole". Priceless.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Pottler wrote: »
    In future I'm gonna pm you for the "Frada Interpretation" of every post, in case I get it wrong. This might involve a deluge of PMs, but better safe than sorry and it's good to talk. Thanking you in advance, etc. BTW, how'd you know that? Is it a Zen skill that I can learn through some sort of open-university?

I'm just born with it, Pottler. :cool:

By the way, a PM explaining this post is forthcoming.

I'm just born with it, Pottler. :cool:

By the way, a PM explaining this post is forthcoming.
    Cheers Frads, btw, you lucky basterd! I was born with an ability to arm-wrestle, but it's not half as cool as your gift.:D Edit - no PM, so once more, I may be so wrong on this. Don't panic, I'll swing one across to you with my questions and interpretations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭Fight_Night

I don't tar all crimes with the same brush. Their is a firm difference in my mind between a person who voilently takes a wallet, a person who goes through jackets looking for wallets to take and a person who picks up a wallet on the street and takes it home.

That's the best way to put it IMO. All three are wrong but to different degrees, with the latter obviously being the least wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,184 ✭✭✭3ndahalfof6

This was a honey trap. It was the most effective and garunteed way of having something stolen and it was clearly done for the shock headline to go with it.

me thinks you are wrong, you are missing the intelligent link, I go through jackets (less chance of getting caught) I jump you to take you wallet (desperation),

there is a good chance I will get caught for the 2nd.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The TSA are the Us equivalent of the German Gestapo and is a sign things to come.

it won't be too long before you will find them at supermarket malls, train stations and bus terminals.

The UK is also following a similar trend at London Underground stations,

Here is a recent clip taken from a phone showing TSA checking passengers refreshments for explosives :rolleyes:, Interrogation at its best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,202 ✭✭✭el dude

The mistake he made was not doing a factory reset.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

el dude wrote: »
    The mistake he made was not doing a factory reset.
    or place it in a lead envelope aka Faraday cage until things cooled down. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I'm trying to see past the uniform. I'm no lover of authority - believe me. I could imagine the guy thinking that if he didn't take it someone else in the chain of command might have.

Personally, I would have tried to get it back to its owner myself and failing that it would be a case of finders keepers.