Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kevin King Memorial Leisure Tour

• 27-09-2012 1:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭

The annual Kevin King Tour will take place on Sun Oct 28th at 10am from the retail park on the Donore Rd in Drogheda.It will have a distance of 90km with a shorter 50km option also available.It will be in aid of Drogheda Support 4 older people and St Johns Ambulance brigade Drogheda.Lennymc will post a map of the route which goes across through Duleek,Bective,Scurlugstown,Summerhill,and back through Dunsany and Rathfeigh.
    Its planned that there will be two groups [two speeds]
    Thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

50 km route from last year is at http://app.strava.com/activities/2233664

Im working on mapping the 90k route at the moment and will hopefully have something tomorrow morning.

unfortunately I will be unable to take part in this ride, but Its a nice spin. As wav says, there will be two groups, so everyone will be catered for.

Lenny

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 517 ✭✭✭rich.d.berry

I'd do this if I wasn't doing the Dublin Marathon the next day. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

I'd do this if I wasn't doing the Dublin Marathon the next day. :(
    Just good preparation my friend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,148 ✭✭✭okane1

lennymc wrote: »

Im working on mapping the 90k route at the moment and will hopefully have something tomorrow morning.

unfortunately I will be unable to take part in this ride, but Its a nice spin. As wav says, there will be two groups, so everyone will be catered for.

Lenny

Have you been able to map the 90km route? I'll be taking part in the 90km route. Any indication of the two groups regarding their speed?

okane1 wrote: »

Lenny

Have you been able to map the 90km route? I'll be taking part in the 90km route. Any indication of the two groups regarding their speed?

Havent had a chance yet, should be up tomoorow evening. Ill find out about the groups aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

My memory of the 90k route is at http://www.mapmyride.com/routes/view/57027256
    Like a lot of sportifs, the distance is a bit exaggerated - 84k is what I clocked.

I think this route is nearly correct,but where you show a left turn at Trim it actually continues to Summerhill and then back the way you show.In otherwords it takes in the little triangle shown on the map.This as far as I know throws it over the 90k,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 430 ✭✭bren_mc

i think last year the route deviated from the planned one because of a poor road surface somewhere along the way.

bren_mc wrote: »
    i think last year the route deviated from the planned one because of a poor road surface somewhere along the way.
    That deviation is included in Lennys map.Its where the route crosses the N2 on the way back.

90k map here - sorry for the delay!

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/1808748

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

90k map here - sorry for the delay!

http://ridewithgps.com/routes/1808748

Thanks Lenny. Tried to edit my route following Wav1's correction last week but MapMyRide is a disaster of a programme. Must switch to Ride with GPS next year. Like yourself I will be missing this year but am encouraging some friends to get along. Hope the weather is as good as the Nicolas Roche cycle.

np. tis a pity im missing this cos i really enjoy it.

Is sign on open from 10 or the cycle beginning at 10?
    Is there a registration fee or donations?

cycle begins at 10 am as far as i know. There is a minimum donation of 10 euro, payable at signon, or alternatively, if people want to donate more they can. hth.

Lenny

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

I am probabaly on for doing this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 588 ✭✭✭t'bear

bcmf wrote: »
    I am probabaly on for doing this
    Me too. Looking forward to it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Planning on doing this one.
    Forecast is good for the weekend too.

CPL 593H

We had meeting last night about Sunday.All systems go and the forecast not too bad.A cuppa for all on return.As part of the proceeds go to the local St Johns ambulance brigade they will be on duty with a full back up crew etc.All looking good.Just need all you lot to turn up.Going to be controlled at about 25kph if possible.

Sounds good. I'll be the fool in the Killarney CC gear!

okane1 wrote: »
    Sounds good. I'll be the fool in the Killarney CC gear!
    Cyclists in pink always welcome.

wav1 wrote: »
    Going to be controlled at about 25kph if possible.

Not that I am a speed merchant - far from it, but 25k all the way or just at the start?

t'bear wrote: »
    Not that I am a speed merchant - far from it, but 25k all the way or just at the start?
    Shackles normally come off with about 20k to go.

will have bonked by then :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Tomred13

Am definetly heading to this on sun? will there be many at it? didnt see it on the CI calender. il be wearing a an post jersey.
    Tom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,091 ✭✭✭furiousox

Looks like it might rain tomorrow :(
    Anyway 10am tomorrow, and don't forget the clocks are going back tonight!

CPL 593H

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭padjo5

What a day for it! Nice spin, decent pace, which ramped up nicely towards the end, driven by a few of the A1 boyos! Everyone was head to toe in muck.
    Lovely tea and sambos at the finish. Thanks to Wav1 and the usual suspects for the efforts in putting this on and marshalling etc. Nice to meet some of the boards crew also. Only down-side was having to listen to 'studentcyclist' talking absolute scutter for a good half an hour on the way around!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 cyclestudent

padjo5 wrote: »
    What a day for it! Nice spin, decent pace, which ramped up nicely towards the end, driven by a few of the A1 boyos! Everyone was head to toe in muck.
    Lovely tea and sambos at the finish. Thanks to Wav1 and the usual suspects for the efforts in putting this on and marshalling etc. Nice to meet some of the boards crew also. Only down-side was having to listen to 'studentcyclist' talking absolute scutter for a good half an hour on the way around!!
    Couldn't even get my name right padjo! Lovely basket holder on the back of the bike, I'll know who to go to if I need someone to carry my shopping home!

padjo5 wrote: »
    Thanks to all the hardy annuals who came along today.Pity about the weather but thats life.Padjo5 try listening to that ''scutter'' on an ongoing basis,and then add a few more apprentice studentcyclists and ite easy to understand why I spend so much time out on the road.Thanks to all again.Will update you all re how much for the charities when all the cards come back in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14 cyclestudent

Thanks to all the hardy annuals who came along today.Pity about the weather but thats life.Padjo5 try listening to that ''scutter'' on an ongoing basis,and then add a few more apprentice studentcyclists and ite easy to understand why I spend so much time out on the road.Thanks to all again.Will update you all re how much for the charities when all the cards come back in.
    Weather doesn't bother you when your in the car!

As the saying goes Wav1, they didn't lick that ability to talk scutter off the ground!!! They learnt from the best IMHO!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

couldn't make this one just over the flu got out yesterday for a nice handy spin around the coast, dont think i would have lasted the pace today.
    first time i missed it tough:(

couldn't make this one just over the flu got out yesterday for a nice handy spin around the coast, dont think i would have lasted the pace today.
    first time i missed it tough:(
    Dont worry feck sake lads We have a nice 80k leisure tour o in a month Sun Nov 25th taking in Termonfeckin,Clogherhead,Annagassan.Castlebellingham.Tallanstown,Ardee.Collon
    Hope we get a better day for that one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

Dont worry feck sake lads We have a nice 80k leisure tour o in a month Sun Nov 25th taking in Termonfeckin,Clogherhead,Annagassan.Castlebellingham.Tallanstown,Ardee.Collon
    Hope we get a better day for that one.
    hah as long as theres a coffee break half way i'm game for a laugh.;)

Great day out. Nice pace on the way home, wind to the backs helped. Completely covered in mud, only just managed to wash it all out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,679 ✭✭✭bcmf

Showed up for this. Was enjoying the muddy conditions until I got to 45kms in when my left hand crank decided it didnt want to stay attached to the axle. Off to the wav and broomwagon (which quickly became full) where we had a bit of a laugh.
    A good (short) day and not a bad turnout considering the weather.
    A massive thanks to wav and his broomwagon.

bcmf wrote: »
    Showed up for this. Was enjoying the muddy conditions until I got to 45kms in when my left hand crank decided it didnt want to stay attached to the axle. Off to the wav and broomwagon (which quickly became full) where we had a bit of a laugh.
    A good (short) day and not a bad turnout considering the weather.
    A massive thanks to wav and his broomwagon.
    You're very welcome.Nice to put a few faces to the names.

sounds like yis had fun! sorry i missed it.

Update.Funds raised presented to the two charities last night.
    E510 each to Drogheda Support 4 older people and St Johns ambulance crew,
    Thanks to all again till the next time.