Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AEOS 3

• 26-09-2012 9:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 828 ✭✭✭

Just got text from IFA.

New AEOS Scheme opening next week.

Maximum payment fo E4000.

Good news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,465 ✭✭✭supersean1999

by the time people are being paid will the new cap not be in place, and the greening apart of it, bit confused how all this will work,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭JCB1

Has the criteria/details of this scheme been announced yet ?
    I'm interested in the closing date for application and what the options are.
    What is the general feeling ? Is it a worthwhile scheme ?
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 896 ✭✭✭grange mac

How long does the scheme last, does aeos2 last for 1 or say upto 5 years?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

Nothing on the dept website yet.

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/farmerschemespayments/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/repsandaeosschemes/agri-environmentoptionsschemeaeos/

Was talked out of this the last two times, definitely gonna do some few measures

The paperwork has landed......

Some light lunchtime reading
    JohnBoy wrote: »
    Nothing on the dept website yet.

http://www.agriculture.gov.ie/farmerschemespayments/ruralenvironmentprotectionschemereps/repsandaeosschemes/agri-environmentoptionsschemeaeos/

Was talked out of this the last two times, definitely gonna do some few measures

Gave them a quick scan during lunch, cant see any major changes in it from last year.

Looking at some coppicing, new hedgrows and maybe .5ha of wild bird cover.

Not going to make us rich, but the coppicing needs doing, the new hedgrows wouldnt be a bad idea either, and I figure 5 years of having wild bird cover ploughed back in wont do any harm to a corner of a field.

gotta figure out the technicalities of it all now.

One change I did notice is that there's no mention of re-digitising parcels for area based options, and also a tighetening up of the wording on who's elligible.

it would seem it's only open to herd owners, which seems odd given the fact that there's a whole stream to it that's aimed at tillage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,701 ✭✭✭moy83

We were never in a scheme like this but might go for it this time . Has anyone any ideas of what kind of measures will cost the least to do ?
    Even if they dont pay the full amount I would prefer to spend as little as possible and get a small few bob whenever it comes if ye know what I mean

depends on what you've got. species rich grassland or traditional hay meadows could be profitable if they suit your system.

New hedgerow establishment should pay you fairly well, but for a lot of work.

wild bird cover strikes me as a good one if maybe you're understocked on ok ground. €869/ha/year. surely you'd establish the cover for less than €250/ha?

It's not like reps though, you do have to work/invest much more for your money. To be honest I'm in favour of that. Reps/aeos should be environmental grant schemes, but they became income supports which was wrong, DAS should have been used for that, not reps.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭eddiek

hi johnboy .how does the traditional hay meadows or species rich grassland options work? thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭patrickn

Trad Hay Meadow : Parcel must have 3 species of grass other than ryegrass. Cant have been cultivated in past 8 Years. Old meadow basically. Only allowed 30 Kgs N/HA. Mowing after July 15th. Closed from April 1.

Species Rich Grassland : Parcel must be old pasture as above with various species of grass present (list in Dept. Specification). Reduced fertilizer allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

Hi I'm new to the forum, however I have been regularly browsing the topics being discussed and find the advice very helpful. I'm interested in the new Aeos scheme but after reading the documentation there are a few issues i'm not 100% on:

Firstly, where it refers to a choice such as 'species rich grassland' for example, it limits your choices for the rest of the LPIS parcel.

On my SFP map my entire farm is covered mostly by one LPIS parcel number with the exception of buildings, excluded areas etc which have individual LPIS no's.

So if I decide I want to pick 'species rich grassland' on a suitable field, does it mean that I cant do tree plantng or new hedgerows etc because the rest of the farm comes under the same LPIS number? are is there a way of getting LPIS no's assigned to individual fields?

The second question I have is in relation to the New Hedgerow option. It says the payment is €2.50 per m/yr plus €32/m for capital costs. So, if i do the maximum of 200m I'd get a total of (200*2.5*5) +(32*200)= €8900. Is this correct? And is there much hassle getting the full €32/m for capital investment? Or do they only pay you for what receipts you submit?

Thirdly as I don't have commonage or natura areas do I need a planner at any stage over the 5 years?

TippNorth wrote: »
    Hi I'm new to the forum, however I have been regularly browsing the topics being discussed and find the advice very helpful. I'm interested in the new Aeos scheme but after reading the documentation there are a few issues i'm not 100% on:

Firstly, where it refers to a choice such as 'species rich grassland' for example, it limits your choices for the rest of the LPIS parcel.

On my SFP map my entire farm is covered mostly by one LPIS parcel number with the exception of buildings, excluded areas etc which have individual LPIS no's.

So if I decide I want to pick 'species rich grassland' on a suitable field, does it mean that I cant do tree plantng or new hedgerows etc because the rest of the farm comes under the same LPIS number? are is there a way of getting LPIS no's assigned to individual fields?

The second question I have is in relation to the New Hedgerow option. It says the payment is €2.50 per m/yr plus €32/m for capital costs. So, if i do the maximum of 200m I'd get a total of (200*2.5*5) +(32*200)= €8900. Is this correct? And is there much hassle getting the full €32/m for capital investment? Or do they only pay you for what receipts you submit?

Thirdly as I don't have commonage or natura areas do I need a planner at any stage over the 5 years?

If you pick species grassland on one field or a number of fields you can split parcel by submitting an amendment form to S.P.S. and carry out other measures on separate new parcel.

In relation to hedgerow you will receive the 2.50 euro /m flat rate but the rest is based on invoices and labour/plant hire form filled out on completion. The 32 euro/m is very generous and in reality when all invoices are totalled up you will reach about 20-25 euro/ha.

Only require a planner if you have commonage or lands designated as S.A.C./S.P.A.

The application form states that you can redraw parcels in your 2013 sps application.....

"Area based actions must carried out on either a full LPIS parcel or on plots which you must apply to Single Payment Section, Portlaoise to have digitised out as part of your 2013 SPS application. Failure to digitise in 2013 will result in no payment issuing on this plot for the duration of the contract. Plots submitted for re-digitisation must have permanent boundaries on the ground for actions chosen, "

I thought you could still do linear measures like dry stone walls or new hedgerows on a parcel with area measures, the two dont really effect each other.

@patrickn, what do they allow for own labour on the new hedges?

The application form states that you can redraw parcels in your 2013 sps application.....

"Area based actions must carried out on either a full LPIS parcel or on plots which you must apply to Single Payment Section, Portlaoise to have digitised out as part of your 2013 SPS application. Failure to digitise in 2013 will result in no payment issuing on this plot for the duration of the contract. Plots submitted for re-digitisation must have permanent boundaries on the ground for actions chosen, "

I thought you could still do linear measures like dry stone walls or new hedgerows on a parcel with area measures, the two dont really effect each other.

@patrickn, what do they allow for own labour on the new hedges?

As far as I know hedgerow planting cant take place on a plot selected for Species Rich, Traditional Hay. Stonewall maintenance is allowed.

Own labour can be charged up to 16 euro/m or 3200 for 200m. The labour elemnt of form has to include any plant hire. Materials can be claimed up to 16 euro/m eg. Hedge plants, Fencing , Polythene .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭Toplink

Anyone have a link to the info for this new scheme?

Some changes from last years scheme are fencing of hedgerows no longer has to be to S148 standard ie no certs required. Also in previous years commonage had to have been entered on S.P.S. for previous 5 years by you or the person you succeeded. Now it just has to have been entered in 2012.

Was informed at meeting that of all those who exited REPS 3 in 2011 and eligible just over 6000 were commonage or S.A.C. This does not look too promising for anyone not in these categories as the aforementioned will be taken first and no room for others.

patrickn wrote: »
    Was informed at meeting that of all those who exited REPS 3 in 2011 and eligible just over 6000 were commonage or S.A.C. This does not look too promising for anyone not in these categories as the aforementioned will be taken first and no room for others.

Similar has been said at each previous round of AEOS and each time the schemes have been undersubscribed, so this time I'm putting in an application, it'll cost nothing to fill in the form!

I would suggest you look at the grading system in the Terms and Conditions Annex 2 when filling in form. Some of the options are ranked higher in preference in the Dept. viewpoint and will push you up the list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 276 ✭✭IrishLad2012

Is it essential that you submit your application through a planner?I am thinking of submitting my own plans as our planner has got lazy recently,seems he only contacts us for the yearly cheque.

Not essential to engage a planner but make sure you read the spec. and the terms and conditions on website. The Golden rule by the Dept. in this scheme unlike REPS.no amendments allowed. For instance filling in form to plant hedgerow in Parcel P1 cant then change to Parcel P2 after approval.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 429 ✭✭foxylock

Anyone here with commonage and in AEOS? How do ye fare out with stocking densities? Are there serious restrictions. I was thinking about applying this time but the stocking densities might be a worry as I was also hoping to increase the sheep numbers over the next few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

Is it essential that you submit your application through a planner?I am thinking of submitting my own plans as our planner has got lazy recently,seems he only contacts us for the yearly cheque.

Not at all, I did the one for our farm as simply our payment is only €1800 per annum and a planner's fee would be €400 of it.

Had a few queries so just rang Johnstown and no problem - plan accepted no issue and payments received and capital forms also okay so I was told at the ploughing.

Saved my Dad a good few bob there :D

read the specification. if you're in natura or sac area you may need a planner.

foxylock wrote: »
    Anyone here with commonage and in AEOS? How do ye fare out with stocking densities? Are there serious restrictions. I was thinking about applying this time but the stocking densities might be a worry as I was also hoping to increase the sheep numbers over the next few years.

A new development this year is that all commonages have been reviewed and where their was a destocking order back in 2001 in most cases there will be a restocking order now as hills are undergrazed. To enter A.E.O.S. farmers will have to maintain a no. of sheep that will fall within a max. and min figure for each commonage. The main problem arising from this will be for those understocked and not for those with high sheep nos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,968 ✭✭✭dzer2

I have looked through the forms and t&cs the only one I can enter under is the old meadows and making hay one. this dont suit as the holding is small and I need 2 cuts of silage a year. I could do the hedge coppicing and replacement. But the system wants somethong that dont make sense it seems to me its a scheme for people that dont need it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

Is there a list of payment rates available somewhere??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Curious Geroge

Re planners or self submission.

Teagasc want €300 for the application - is this in line with your planners costs ?

Page 22 of the application requires Signature of Planner. For those of you that did your own application, what did you do here ?

Interested in doing the application myself as arable margins, hay meadows and dry stone wall maintenance

There's a number of forms in the one document....

I only completed forms A and B, no planner required there.

Did my maps last night too, we had map changes in 2012 SFP so I got the new parcel numbers from agfood.ie and then drew them onto a google images screen shot with my measures shown also.

I must get herself to proof read it, but I think I'm done. the form itself only took a few minutes, put in the the parcel numbers, the area for wild bird cover and the lengths for new hedgerow and coppicing. far more time spent reading the specification and terms and conditions than actually doing the measuring, form filling and map drawing.

Completing the Application

• There are five separate forms called Form A, Form B, Form W, Form C and Form N.
    • Form A is the basic application. Everyone has to fill this in.
    • You must also complete only one of the forms B, W, C or N.
    - Form B addresses the environmental priority Halting Biodiversity Decline.
    - Form W addresses the environmental priority Maintaining Water Quality.
    - Form C addresses the environmental priority Combating Climate Change.
    - Form N addresses designated lands (excluding short term rented in land or Forestry)

You must select at least one Mandatory and one Complementary Action or two Mandatory Actions

Points to note when selecting your preferred form.

Form B:
    This form to be used if your preferred option is Halting Biodiversity Decline and there is less than 0.5ha of UAA Natura or Commonage Land on your farm.

Form W:
    This form is to be used if your preferred option is to Maintain Water Quality and there is less than 0.5ha of UAA Natura or Commonage land on your farm.
    You should also use form W if the only designated area is a river running through, or bounding the land farmed you.
    (In this instance you do not require the assistance of a planner to complete form W).

Form C:
    This form is to be used if your preferred option is Combating Climate Change and there is less than 0.5ha of UAA Natura or Commonage land on your farm.

Form N:
    You should use form N if 0.5ha or more of the Utilisable Agricultural Area of your land, is designated NATURA (SAC or SPA) or Commonage excluding short term rented in land, or Forestry, which must be completed by a Planner.
    Only Natura land declared in your name in your 2012 SPS application will be considered eligible.
    It is very important that you use Form N if you have designated land, otherwise your application will not be successful.

Regarding the Rich Species Grassland option... I understand that you cant out-winter cattle if you are going with this option.

However I have one question... I have a 30ha field of which I would like to set aside 10Ha for this option. Can I out-winter on the other 20 Ha?

you'll need to split the parcel both in your aeos and sfp maps, and have a permanent boundary in place on the split.

Thanks JohnBoy.

So let's say I split the holding and fence off the 10ha that will be used for the aeos option.. Zone A if you like. I know I can't graze this piece over winter.

I can however graze the remaining land during the winter (Zone B)... but can I feed silage out of round feeders on this Zone B over the winter?

Anyone?

Trying to get my father to apply for this but he reckons he wont be able to feed cattle outdoors on the paddock beside the one being used for the mature grass option.

if zone B is not under aeos it's not under aeos I'd imagine.

Ring wexford for clarification, they're surprisingly helpful

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 59 ✭✭TippNorth

Toplink wrote: »
    Anyone?

Trying to get my father to apply for this but he reckons he wont be able to feed cattle outdoors on the paddock beside the one being used for the mature grass option.

I'm afraid I can't help with the issue at hand but I'd say your best option at this stage is to ring the Aeos section in Wexford, they'll clarify any questions straight away because you don't have much time now to get the application in. Here's the number 053 916 3400
    and also here is the direct dial number of a really helpful lady called Pauline who assisted me with my aplication a few days ago 053-9170328, in case the main number is busy!;)

Thanks folks. I'm on it.

Aye, pauline sorted out my emails too.

All sorted lads. Managed to drag the ould fella over the line in the end. Thanks for all the help.

Hopefully we'll get in now.