Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alloy Wheels Stolen

• 26-09-2012 9:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭

I had the alloy wheels stolen off my car last night, they were nothing fancy just the ones that came with the car. I haven't heard of this for years, is this something that's on the way back again??

Car is a Kia Ceed and only a month old :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

What you need is some rusty locknuts !

Look awful but better in the long run :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,347 ✭✭✭Rackstar

What you need is some rusty locknuts !

Look awful but better in the long run :p

I'm getting a set don't worry! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

That's a pig. I hope their hands drop off! :mad:

I've heard of this happening. I suppose they can either be sold 'as is' or sold for scrap. Apparently, there was a spate of alloy nicking where I live, so I've invested in locking wheel nuts. You can't tell unless you look close!

Only thing to do is to replace, and get locking wheel nuts.

My locknuts are easy to spot, dirty rusty yokes :(

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 10,015 ✭✭✭✭mik_da_man

Where abouts did this happen?

That's a pig. I hope their hands drop off! :mad:

I've heard of this happening. I suppose they can either be sold 'as is' or sold for scrap. Apparently, there was a spate of alloy nicking where I live, so I've invested in locking wheel nuts. You can't tell unless you look close!

Only thing to do is to replace, and get locking wheel nuts.

Hopefully karma gets them alright!!

They took them off my neighbours car too and as she said hers were wrecked and not worth taking, so most likely gone for scrap! Infuriating :mad:

mik_da_man wrote: »
    Where abouts did this happen?

Car was parked outside the house in Naas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,238 ✭✭✭Deank

Rackstar wrote: »
    Car was parked outside the house in Naas

Funny that, my spare alloy was robbed from underneath my jeep in Sallins train station last year, haven't got around to replacing it yet either, can't find one in a breakers and new they're far too expensive.

Deank wrote: »
    Funny that, my spare alloy was robbed from underneath my jeep in Sallins train station last year, haven't got around to replacing it yet either, can't find one in a breakers and new they're far too expensive.

It's a pain alright, it must be on the rise again. My neighbour told me this evening that it happened to a car around the corner last year as well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,546 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

What size are they?

colm_mcm wrote: »
    What size are they?

Not sure whether that question was for me or not, anyways mine is a 2005 Santa Fe alloy 16" I think.

Asking the OP. just curious more than anything

Disgraceful that they don't put locknuts on, uk spec gets them

What size are they?

They are 16". They left me with two! Left the neighbour with one!! Jack was still under her car so they must have been disturbed!

That sucks, I'd say new ones are pricey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 723 ✭✭✭bfocusd

I seen a car last week near Walkinstown on blocks, it was parked outside a house on a busy road, the owner looked really p!ssed off, don't blame them, that's real scummy thing to do.

Another thing to be weary of is I've passed several shores missing lids, they've no idea how dangerous it is, was driving home one evening, starting to get dark out and I seen a lad running down the road trying to carry a circular shore cover, only when I got further up the road I realised it was from the middle of the road!!!! About a 6 foot drop to the invert, could easily kill someone!

Scum is all they are!

That sucks, I'd say new ones are pricey

No idea yet, insurance are covering it. No excess and no effect on the no claims thank god!

bfocusd wrote: »
    I seen a car last week near Walkinstown on blocks, it was parked outside a house on a busy road, the owner looked really p!ssed off, don't blame them, that's real scummy thing to do.

Another thing to be weary of is I've passed several shores missing lids, they've no idea how dangerous it is, was driving home one evening, starting to get dark out and I seen a lad running down the road trying to carry a circular shore cover, only when I got further up the road I realised it was from the middle of the road!!!! About a 6 foot drop to the invert, could easily kill someone!

Scum is all they are!

Sure is scummy alright! What the hell are they taking the manhole covers for? Scrap as well??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,411 ✭✭✭ABajaninCork

Yup! Sadly the trade in scrap metal is now booming. :mad:

No idea yet, insurance are covering it. No excess and no effect on the no claims thank god!

Mmm, might check the excess on my policy too and see if its worth getting a brand new one, not sure lock nuts are worth a sh!t when the spare is in a cage under the car.
    The toerags cut the security bar and tied the cage back up with wire, it was probably a couple of weeks before I noticed it missing.:mad:

Mmm, might check the excess on my policy too and see if its worth getting a brand new one, not sure lock nuts are worth a sh!t when the spare is in a cage under the car.
    The toerags cut the security bar and tied the cage back up with wire, it was probably a couple of weeks before I noticed it missing.:mad:

They went to plenty of effort there. Bit of a coincidence I'm down in that car park at the train station every day!!

They went to the effort to tie it back up so I wouldn't notice it missing immediately and rumble their thieving by reporting it to the police straight away.

One of my neighbours caught lads doing the same in Tesco's car park, fu€kers pull up in a van, one lad hops out the side door, the van is tight to the car, whip off spare wheel and tie cage back up, all in about a minute, these boys got collared and got a few slaps for their trouble as well as a trip to Naas Garda station, allegedly they were eastern european.

They went to the effort to tie it back up so I wouldn't notice it missing immediately and rumble their thieving by reporting it to the police straight away.

One of my neighbours caught lads doing the same in Tesco's car park, fu€kers pull up in a van, one lad hops out the side door, the van is tight to the car, whip off spare wheel and tie cage back up, all in about a minute, these boys got collared and got a few slaps for their trouble as well as a trip to Naas Garda station, allegedly they were eastern european.

Glad to hear that hopefully it ends similarly for whoever took mine!!

Or the next car they try it on falls on one of them, utter scum...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,812 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Or the next car they try it on falls on one of them, utter scum...

ya but they would probably then sue the car owner for their injuries and get €200k for their trouble.

They were robbing from cars in corkagh park, I've heard about those lads, they robbed several cars in the carpark beside the naas road, they got caught when guards were hiding in a tinted van, you can't have anything these days without some scruff trying to take it!! :(

Sure is scummy alright! What the hell are they taking the manhole covers for? Scrap as well??

That's it all over, we were actually buying a replacement shore lid about 3 months ago and they're 110 new, but the shop lads were telling me they don't buy them back cause of all the stealing, he was saying it's under 10e in scrap per shore lid!!

I wonder if they are selling the tyres off the wheels too? Part worn and all that?

They are atleast taking off the tyres as they lose a fiver per

That's it all over, we were actually buying a replacement shore lid about 3 months ago and they're 110 new, but the shop lads were telling me they don't buy them back cause of all the stealing, he was saying it's under 10e in scrap per shore lid!!

I wonder if they are selling the tyres off the wheels too? Part worn and all that?

I don't know about the tyres, one the the steel rim wheels left under the neighbours car had a brand new tyre on it. Looked like a full sized spare wheel that had never been used!!

My spare that was stolen was full size, brand new hankook tyre on it, not even a kilometre on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

@op
    If u have time try looking around the scrap metal dealers yards you might come across ur wheels . u might have to pay scrap value to get them Back .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,062 ✭✭✭cjt156

About time the scrap metal trade was properly regulated. Everything stolen is being sold on somewhere.
    FFS these guys are paying out for stuff they have to know is stolen; brass plaques, bronze statues, alloy wheels and man-hole covers. Even copper overhead telephone and power lines. 'Oh yeah, its a site-clearance.'

Bunch of fecking shysters: photo ID logged with every purchase and regular inspections from the Gardai, honest dealers won't have a problem with it.

cjt156 wrote: »
    About time the scrap metal trade was properly regulated. Everything stolen is being sold on somewhere.
    FFS these guys are paying out for stuff they have to know is stolen; brass plaques, bronze statues, alloy wheels and man-hole covers. Even copper overhead telephone and power lines. 'Oh yeah, its a site-clearance.'

Bunch of fecking shysters: photo ID logged with every purchase and regular inspections from the Gardai, honest dealers won't have a problem with it.

Well said man.its crazy to think of what's going on out there.

cjt156 wrote: »

Wasn't a monument stolen for scrap from Christ church about a year ago too? That's a one way ticket to hell