Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

continental gp4000 or 4 season tyres?

• 24-09-2012 11:08am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭

I'm about to order some new tyres for my new road bike (I dont think the ones it comes with are puncture resistant at all).

I cycle through Dublin city at the mo with 'Panaracer puncture resistant crosstowns' on my hybrid. They're great, I still haven't had a puncture, despite all the glass I've cycled over, but they're quite heavy tyres.
    For my new road bike I was thinking the Cont gp4000 tyres would be lighter whilst still offering good puncture protection?
    Or would I be better with the Continental 4 season tyres?

Any opinions much appreciated, I'd like to order my tyres today.
    Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

I use Bontrager Racelite hardcase, no punctures as yet on the commute. I need new tyres now though, LBS guy recommnded Panaracer Ribmos over the Bontragers and Gatorskins to me though, I might give them a go.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

I went for Durano plus 25mm around this time last year, and have yet to see a puncture. A bit heavier than GP4000s or GP 4 season (~150g extra per tyre), but that's a trade off you make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

smacl wrote: »
    I went for Durano plus 25mm around this time last year, and have yet to see a puncture. A bit heavier than GP4000s or GP 4 season (~150g extra per tyre), but that's a trade off you make.

Thanks smacl, that tyre looks like it would slip and slide all over the place! I'm used to seeing big grips on commuter tyres. If you got them last year and still haven't had a puncture, that's good going. My Crosstowns are 600g each :eek: I just looked up specs and yours are 360g - so that's quite a bit lighter than mine.

Staggerlee, if you don't mind heavyish tyres the Panaracer ones are good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40 nattefrost

If you plan on riding in the rain I would steer clear of the ribmos. They are a good tyre but I've had quite a few brown trousers moments in the wet with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭crumliniano

I've been riding gp4000 and gp4000s for about 5 years and have only had two punctures in that time (I know I've just jinxed that now and will get one in each wheel next weekend :) ). Only used for leisure though, not commuting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

I've Conti 4 seasons on a bike and their fine - weighty and solid, but plenty of grip and puncture resistance.

The only ones I actively not recommend are Armadillos - excellent puncture protection, but skittery in the wet.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,881 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

MB Lacey wrote: »
    Thanks smacl, that tyre looks like it would slip and slide all over the place!

I find the Durano's pretty grippy, and picked them over gatorskins for this reason. Some great advice on picking winter tyres from last year here. If you want bulletproof, semi-slick and don't care about the weight, marathon plus or marathon supreme seem to be a favourite. I have the supremes on my hybrid, but it's already a heavy slow yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭montac

I've been using the 4 seasons tyres for 3 or 4 years now. Very happy with them. Good grip, and very good puncture resistance. I use them for commuting and for training too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

+ 1 on the Durano plus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

smacl wrote: »
    I find the Durano's pretty grippy, Some great advice on picking winter tyres from last year here. marathon plus or marathon supreme seem to be a favourite.
    Thanks for that link, I've read through and from that link am veering towards Conti 4 seasons.
    I've looked at crc reviews of Marathon plus and noticed a few people in the latest reviews complaining that the grip in the rain aint great, that's put me off the marathon pluses, I cycle to work whatever weather, so want good grip in the rain.

Thanks all, you seem to be favouring the Conti 4 seasons and Schwalbe durano plus - there seems to be nothing between them, but I'm going to go for the Conti 4 seasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

i like the ribmo but yesterday on a poxt stretch of road i ripped the side wall i have a patch on the inside of the tire hopefully it will hold up, never found them a bother on wet roads. to be honest it's hard to beat mitchlin pro race 2 if you can find them great all round tire :D:D sorry about that.
    seen this today good tires and good price on tubes as well
    http://www.chaindrivencycles.com/index.php?option=com_virtuemart&page=shop.product_details&flypage=flypage-sparkstore.tpl&product_id=61&Itemid=73

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 226 ✭✭The Big Lebowsky

I had very bad luck with continental GP 4000s. The tread compound seems to be optimised for grip rather than long life. Too many of them failed prematurely to be a concidence..

I used to swear by the GP 3000, it was such a durable tyre capable of big mileage with very few tread cuts.

Word has it that the GP 4 season is a solid long lasting tyre, with few of the performance disadvantages of their gatorskin tyres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭columbus_66

If anyone is interested I have a few pairs of Conti GP4 Season 25c or GP4000s 23c for €65 a pair.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Staro

Would be interested in a pair of gp4000"s if you still have a pair, pm sent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

Me and the missus are both riding on Vittoria Rubino Pro's and so far so good (knock on wood). Her set had done about 6 months of commuting by now and my set has done about 3 months. Grip seems good in dry and wet conditions. Also the puncture resistance seems to be holding up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 824 ✭✭✭columbus_66

I was trying out a new Vittoria Rubino Pro last week into the city centre in the rain and the grip I thought was terrible, my back wheel skidded around by College Green, I'm glad I didn't have one on the front.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,004 ✭✭✭Hmmzis

I was trying out a new Vittoria Rubino Pro last week into the city centre in the rain and the grip I thought was terrible, my back wheel skidded around by College Green, I'm glad I didn't have one on the front.

Haven't experienced that myself but the power outputs might be different here :D (mine being rather unspectacular). Or was that on one of those nasty manhole covers that seem to cover the every inch of the road there? I yet have to see a tyre that doesn't slip on those things, especially when wet.