Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Pulling a baler

• 23-09-2012 11:45am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭

Is it possible to pull a round baler with a jeep? The reason I'm asking is I am spotting a few on done deal at the moment and was wondering could I collect the baler myself or would I have to get a lorry to bring it for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,343 ✭✭✭bob charles

Grecco wrote: »
    Is it possible to pull a round baler with a jeep? The reason I'm asking is I am spotting a few on done deal at the moment and was wondering could I collect the baler myself or would I have to get a lorry to bring it for me?

dont dream of it. get whoever your dealing with to drop it off. If your in no rush for collection some one with a low loader would be passing and do it for reasonable money. Your asking for serious trouble if your caught on the roads with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭JD Green

The old man has put a double chop on behind the pajero and he went through a checkpoint and the guard just laughed at him. Would the baler be above the weight that requires trailer brakes though?

JD Green wrote: »
    The old man has put a double chop on behind the pajero and he went through a checkpoint and the guard just laughed at him. Would the baler be above the weight that requires trailer brakes though?

are you for real. how are you going to couple the baler to the jeep? you would have an interesting day in court if you had an accident even if it wasnt your fault. the book would be thrown at you. For the sake of the saving it would be insane to contemplate doing as was suggested. Your jeep and time cost money aswell. €150 would bring a baler a serious long distance on a backload for a truck

Are you for real, haven't you ever seen a hitch on a car that can take a pin? How do you think people can put the header off a combine on behind the jeep?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭vanderbadger

ive towed a welger 220 behind lwb pajero..longest trip of my life..wouldnt recommend it but to answer your question it can be done

JD Green wrote: »
    Are you for real, haven't you ever seen a hitch on a car that can take a pin? How do you think people can put the header off a combine on behind the jeep?

I have often seen idiots just drop the hook eye straight down on a 50mm ball eye, what are those towing eyes rated to carry? As mentioned of course its possible

I very very much doubt you've often seen that done if at all. The man in the shop said the hitch would come off jeep before the eye would break.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30 Ltrvale

ya ive seen it too, the lad that we bought our 1300 gallon tanker off brought it 15 miles that way did it with a dung spreader we bought too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Neighbour of mine started work for car / machinery dealer and had to deliver a small slurry tanker ... Wasn't thrilled to be given an old landcruiser... Upshot was tanker ended up in a chemist shop window... Not a good start...

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭grumpyfarmer

Madness to risk it i know but I've seen one of my local machinery dealers delivering a new 1600 gl slurry tank behind a land cruiser... came up behind him on a round a bout... and he could have been taking it easier... There is a reason why agriculture is one of the most dangerous professions we all take stupid risks...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭JohnBoy

no no no no no no no no.

how wide is it? if it wont fit on a hired trailer (available up to nearly 7.5 foot) then get it delivered by truck, or go for it with the tractor.

it's never about what you can pull, it's about what you can stop and control in an emergency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 474 ✭✭Casinoking

My current baler, a Welger 235, was delivered by a very reputable machinery dealer on a dolly on the back of a Freelander. It was a journey of about 75 miles, and I thought he was quite mad even considering it. As the last post said, it's not about pulling it's about stopping in a hurry. Although to be fair it wasn't as bad as the fella who bought a 10 tonne low loader from me , sat the eye of the trailer on the ball hitch of a Navara, stuck a couple of timber blocks under the suspension and headed off to Cork.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭beretta686s

a guy picked a dung spreader i our place 1 day in a mark4 gold van on a pin hitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Pat the lad

meet a guy pulling a trailed pottinger silage harvester behind a trooper jeep last week

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

i think its a bad idea alright. :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Black Smoke

Grecco wrote: »
    i think its a bad idea alright. :rolleyes:

I have seen balers on the road, towed by jeep many a time. Must say, first time I saw that, I thought to myself, he's a chancer. But seen many times since. Must be plenty chancers around:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i asked the same here about this time last year ref a tipping trailer 12ft x 7ft. Alot of advice given and i decided to buy local and collect with tractor.

Anyway just my opinion.

There is a website in ireland where haulage lads advertise back loads.
    example - i got 7 pallets of paving blocks collected in mallow cork and dropped to Mullingar for €250. with my jeep and trailer i would have to do a minimum of 2 runs. diesel and breakfast rolls would have been €250:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

i asked the same here about this time last year ref a tipping trailer 12ft x 7ft. Alot of advice given and i decided to buy local and collect with tractor.

Anyway just my opinion.

example - i got 7 pallets of paving blocks collected in mallow cork and dropped to Mullingar for €250. with my jeep and trailer i would have to do a minimum of 2 runs. diesel and breakfast rolls would have been €250:D

www.handyhaulage.ie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25 The hawlk

May be on a tri axel trailer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,822 ✭✭✭Mickey H

Anyway just my opinion.

It would have been a day out though, and probably a bit of craic. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

Have a friend who buys square balers around the country to fix up and brings them home behind a landcruiser and at times he is on fairly narrow roads.
    He pretty careful and lucky too up to now as had no accidents but its the other person you have to worry about as on narrow roads etc and with the baler being wider then the jeep if he meets another car thats going fairly fast and specially in these wet conditions it would be straight into him, dont think he would have a leg to stand on.

kincaid wrote: »
    , dont think he would have a leg to stand on.

that guy is an idiot for doing this over and over.....:rolleyes:

that aside, his insurance would extend to covering the other party within third party extension on his or any policy if he hit someone, but he'd be left having to pay for his own property damage and maybe just a slap on the wrist prosecution (if even) he was summons to court by the Gardai.

but overall, its a real chancy dumbass thing to do is go on any journey with a wide/heavy/unbraked/unlit up/undesigned for the highway agricultural machine behind a van or jeep........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,403 ✭✭✭kincaid

yes very risky but suppose if you get away with it a couple of times you will keep doing it, he has met both police and the guards at checkpoints too and wasnt stopped but suppose they dont bother you until an accident does happen

kincaid wrote: »
    yes but suppose if you get away with it a couple of times you will keep doing it

tis true kincaid, and stuff like this is not policed proper here, you'd never get 2 miles down the road in the uk pulling a baler or something mad like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭Grecco

What about a silage wrapper, surly thats not heavy and a jeep should pull it no problem

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

We bought a small 850 gallon star tank at the weekend.. I was dreading a 2 hour each way drive to collect it...
    He delivered it behind a jeep rather then have to give a "luck penny".. NOt the biggest of tanks but I wouldn't be happy with it behind a jeep..

Another thing I met during the week was a fella with a SWB land cruiser, Ifor Williams with 6 bales of silage in tow.. I met him on a small road and given his speed I got out of his way snappy... I couldn't see him stopping handy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,844 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Jeep, trailer and six bales that's got to bring him into 7.5 ton territory..... What would happen to you if you were pulled at least 4 ton (more than 100%) over weight ... it'd be serious for a hgv driver ..

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭RaggyDays

You could use my old Polo to pull the baler :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,401 ✭✭✭reilig

bbam wrote: »
    Another thing I met during the week was a fella with a SWB land cruiser, Ifor Williams with 6 bales of silage in tow.. I met him on a small road and given his speed I got out of his way snappy... I couldn't see him stopping handy.

I regularly bring 3 bales on the trailer behind the jeep. It's a heavy enough load. 6 bales would be a tough slog for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭st1979

Anyone watch shippers on discovery. About people who haul unusual loads across the US. Anyway one of the guys was hauling 2 boats behind his pickup truck that had a swan neck hitch similar to a lorry. I think he said his total weight had to be under 30,000 lb about 14 ton. Now that would be a load. But in fairness their pick up trucks are twin wheel monsters compare to our little Hilux's and Dmax's