Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting laughed at

• 21-09-2012 10:06pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭

Only a novice to the Sport and at the stage where i love the game , would play everyday if I could .

So lately if I'm talking to people and find out they play that's what the conversation turns to. Anyway I still play off 28 as I'm only playing since April but when I tell people this I seemed to get laughed at .

I'm improving with every round I play and would be better then friends that have taking up the game around the same time I have .

So I find it quite patronizing when people look down or even laugh at beginners .

So I was wondering is this just me or has anyone else got this reaction while talking to more experianced golfers

Rant over , thanks for listening

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Let them off, I play off 23 and used to be ashamed to admit it. My own brother in law (off 2) said he wouldn't play another round with me until i got below 18 as anything over is a ladies handicap. He's just sick that I can score the same as him!!

I play because I love playing, even after a few years I'd still play a few times a week if I could.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 848 ✭✭✭Kace

If I laugh at a guy playing off 28 it's always because I can't believe someone actually gave them a handicap of 28 when I see them playing excellent shots.

I play to 28 or worse myself some days and I'm sure that almost all of the guys you play with do as well.

Next time someone laughs at you off 28, make damn sure you point it out to them if they don't break 100 themselves !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

Let them off is right, I was given 18 as my 'official handicap' but play closer to about 28.

As long as I enjoy the time spent on the course (and admittedly there have been periods of time when I haven't!) and I leave the course wanting to go back then I struggle to put into words how little I care about what another persons opinion of my ability (or lack of!) is.

While that is my mindset, I must admit that only once in the 9 months I have been playing have I experienced the sort of attitude you describe in your post but like I said, water off a ducks back.

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

Sure didn't we all start somewhere the only time high handicappers annoy me is in a 4 ball comp and they're handing in ridiculous score cards.

You say you're better then your friends so you probably shouldn't be playing off 28 unless they're blind :D

You should sign up to one of the free handi cap calculators and keep track of your scores.

charlieIRL your brother in laws right :D

OP enjoy up and don't mind the begrudging we all feel the pressure off the first tee possibly the toughest shot to play especially on a busy tee box :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Only a novice to the Sport and at the stage where i love the game , would play everyday if I could .

So lately if I'm talking to people and find out they play that's what the conversation turns to. Anyway I still play off 28 as I'm only playing since April but when I tell people this I seemed to get laughed at .

I'm improving with every round I play and would be better then friends that have taking up the game around the same time I have .

So I find it quite patronizing when people look down or even laugh at beginners .

So I was wondering is this just me or has anyone else got this reaction while talking to more experianced golfers

What age are you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Danny dyers double

dines08 wrote: »

So I was wondering is this just me or has anyone else got this reaction while 28 talking to more experianced golfers

What age are you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Don't worry about it op. I'm in a very similar situation to yourself, playing with the society in work I'd rarely score high, and that's off 30 (stop laughing!). But then there's always those few holes where it all makes it worth while.

For example, yesterday I was out with the lads from work and ended up playing just with my old boss (GUI h'cap 5), and there was a 3 hole stretch where I matched him stroke for stroke (we both got a par and two bogeys). Now I finished the round with 14 points, him with 30 (playing off scratch!), but for the sake of those 3 holes, it was one of the most enjoyable rounds I've ever had, to be able to match a very good player for just 3 holes has given me such a boost in confidence that I can't wait to get back out again and get to work on that handicap!

Stick with it, enjoy yourself. People always tell me its you against the course, don't worry about the others.

Don't worry about it op. I'm in a very similar situation to yourself, playing with the society in work I'd rarely score high, and that's off 30 (stop laughing!). But then there's always those few holes where it all makes it worth while.

For example, yesterday I was out with the lads from work and ended up playing just with my old boss (GUI h'cap 5), and there was a 3 hole stretch where I matched him stroke for stroke (we both got a par and two bogeys). Now I finished the round with 14 points, him with 30 (playing off scratch!), but for the sake of those 3 holes, it was one of the most enjoyable rounds I've ever had, to be able to match a very good player for just 3 holes has given me such a boost in confidence that I can't wait to get back out again and get to work on that handicap!

Stick with it, enjoy yourself. People always tell me its you against the course, don't worry about the others.
    That's pretty much how I look at it . As in I'm playing Dublin City tomorrow and iv played it 4/5 times now and say I average 28 points .

But another way of looking at it is iv parred 4/5 holes out there , bogeyed10/14 , doubled 20/30 . So I know I'm able to play good golf and one day very soon I'll smash the 36+ It's just about having a consistent round .

I know a few lessons are needed but keep thinking ah feck paying for a lesson another round will be just as good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,695 ✭✭✭ForeRight

Hahaha you are 28 :)

Only messing Danny.

You must have realised by now playing that golf is full of absolute fools who are full of their own self importance and think they are professionals. I have played in opens with all sorts of arseholes and when I was playing off 18 initially about 15 months ago I would be trying to play out of my skin to match them or even beat them.

At the end of the game they would have changed their tune to "god you wont be off 18 for long" or "god how are you off 18"

My advice is just laugh back at them or just completely ignore what they have to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭DiegoWorst

I don't think many golfers laugh at beginners, but... Beginner or not, 28 sounds like a crazy handicap for a bloke.

In my opinion, a 20+ handicap is more of a hindrance than a help (for most guys). There's a group of guys I play with, I have to give 14 or more shots to each of them. Two of those guys regularly outdrive me, one of them putts like a demon, yet their h/caps rarely change. They only think in stableford points, never in strokes. If I only allowed them a max h/cap of 18, I'm sure they'd come in with better gross scores.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 491 ✭✭doomed

Golf is a really difficult game. You are trying to put a very small ball into a hole that is just over 4 inches wide about a quarter of a mile away with loads of obstacles in between. To do this all they give you is a few sticks with a bit of metal at the end of them.

28 is fine and you are starting out. Golf should be played for fun and the obsession with handicaps is a bit anal. Remember that the average single figure club golfer wouldn't break 100 off the back tees in Augusta. Its all relative. Just enjoy yourself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭thinks too much

The way I see it you should just forget about the A**holes that laugh about high handicaps..If you are enjoying the game then thats all that matters..and if you ever fancy a round down kilkenny way then give me a shout..good company is as important in a round of golf for me as a good score..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭WHIP IT!

DiegoWorst wrote: »

In my opinion, a 20+ handicap is more of a hindrance than a help (for most guys). There's a group of guys I play with, I have to give 14 or more shots to each of them. Two of those guys regularly outdrive me, one of them putts like a demon, yet their h/caps rarely change. They only think in stableford points, never in strokes. If I only allowed them a max h/cap of 18, I'm sure they'd come in with better gross scores.

This is a very good point. It becomes something of a "lazy" handicap and, in a way, almost a crutch for your golf game... I'm the same - my GUI has drifted from 15.0 to 16.6 (playing 17) this year and it's driving me batty... the reason it's p*ssing me off so much is because I play almost every week with my work society and, this year, my playing handicap has come down from 13 to 10!! Figure that one out!

That's the worst part of it, I've actually played well all year. Short game and putting has struggled here and there but I've hit the ball consistently all year... I just seem to have saved all my best golf for the Society outings (where we invariably play tougher courses - albeit off society tees).

But I realise that when I go out to an Open playing off 16/17 or whatever, I get lazy - I just expect it to happen because I feel like I'm a much better golfer than that. I've just been sitting back waiting for the handicap to start dropping.

Whereas when I go out with the society, playing off 10/11 or whatever, it definitely focuses the mind and I generally play better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

And what's your bra size?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Anyone above 18 handicap should still use the course management of an 18 handicap, i.e. bogey golf imo.

I play with some lads off mid teens who are capable of much better golf, the problem is that they have too many shots and so are able to get away with trying to hit ridiculous shots. They are the sort of people who play to 15 by having 12 pars, 4 bogeys, and then some 8's or 9's.
    Thats not the golf of a mid handicapper, thats a single figure golfer who needs a caddy!

"crutch" as above is the perfect word for it. Often when these guys do get cut their scores dont change at all, showing how inaccurate the handicap actually is.

Forget about playing against your handicap, play the shots that you are comfortable playing and then add them up at the end.

/edit
    As for people laughing...most people are idiots :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

3 friends of mine are off 36 and are only playing the game 18 mths. One is about to break the 36 pts mark after hard hard work. They laugh at their selves, sure why wouldn’t they. A few friends of mine taking up golf , think the handicap system is a joke, as there is no handicap system in rugby or GAA or anything else. I don’t agree with that, as I understand the system and the sport of golf. But, I have noticed that there is so much emphases on stableford, that the guy with the best gross is often forgotten and not even mentioned in the prize giving in society golf. Maybe it is not the same in clubs ?

All top pros, at all sports, laugh at each other, due to the slightest error made. It is a driving point behind all sport , “ to prove that bastard wrong “.I’m not saying amateur golf is about that. But, an interesting point has been raised, is the handicap system a handicap to progression ?

I played with a lad off 27 recently, he is playing the game over 30 years, with all the gear, I am a guy who loves to play golf, with anybody at any level. But, this guy was laughing at himself, he was hitting every tree on the course. I had to laugh when he took out a Bushnell to measure how far he was from the green.

If you are in your 20s, 30s and 40s and playing the game over 2 or 3 years and in the mid 20s you are doing something wrong. There is no point, slapping each other on the back, saying, keep it up. I did the wrong thing for 20 years , you can sort it out if you want to ?

Perhaps that is very conceited, but I’m struggling off 12 for a good 10 years. I feel, that is laughable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

3 friends of mine are off 36 and are only playing the game 18 mths. One is about to break the 36 pts mark after hard hard work. They laugh at their selves, sure why wouldn’t they. A few friends of mine taking up golf , think the handicap system is a joke, as there is no handicap system in rugby or GAA or anything else. I don’t agree with that, as I understand the system and the sport of golf. But, I have noticed that there is so much emphases on stableford, that the guy with the best gross is often forgotten and not even mentioned in the prize giving in society golf. Maybe it is not the same in clubs ?

All top pros, at all sports, laugh at each other, due to the slightest error made. It is a driving point behind all sport , “ to prove that bastard wrong “.I’m not saying amateur golf is about that. But, an interesting point has been raised, is the handicap system a handicap to progression ?

I played with a lad off 27 recently, he is playing the game over 30 years, with all the gear, I am a guy who loves to play golf, with anybody at any level. But, this guy was laughing at himself, he was hitting every tree on the course. I had to laugh when he took out a Bushnell to measure how far he was from the green.

If you are in your 20s, 30s and 40s and playing the game over 2 or 3 years and in the mid 20s you are doing something wrong. There is no point, slapping each other on the back, saying, keep it up. I did the wrong thing for 20 years , you can sort it out if you want to ?

Perhaps that is very conceited, but I’m struggling off 12 for a good 10 years. I feel, that is laughable.

Jaysus FDP the reason I gave up playing society golf was the time it was taking. Generally 4 hours 45 mins for 3 balls - and you're suggesting societies play strokeplay. You'd need an abacus for some of the scores. Stableford is there for quicker golf. Pick up when you can't score a point. There's nothing more anoying than watching someone hole out for an 8 on a par four :(

AldilaMan wrote: »
    Jaysus FDP the reason I gave up playing society golf was the time it was taking. Generally 4 hours 45 mins for 3 balls - and you're suggesting societies play strokeplay. You'd need an abacus for some of the scores. Stableford is there for quicker golf. Pick up when you can't score a point. There's nothing more anoying than watching someone hole out for an 8 on a par four :(

Yes very slow. :)

Is that laughing at someone or time management :D

I have great patience, one of my few skills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

Down at my club a chap off 15 turned and asked me was I not embarrassed to admit my handicap when we were doing the usual first tee routine. I was really put off for it for the full first hole.

/beat him by ten points in the end (5 points nett) so took a little satisfaction from the day.

uberwolf wrote: »
    Down at my club a chap off 15 turned and asked me was I not embarrassed to admit my handicap when we were doing the usual first tee routine. I was really put off for it for the full first hole.

/beat him by ten points in the end (5 points nett) so took a little satisfaction from the day.

Fair play.

There you go - take it to drive you on. That is the same for.

Andy Murray
    Ronaldo
    Katie Taylor
    Messi
    Peter Stringer
    Ali
    Sonia O'Sullivan
    Roy Keane
    Tiger Woods
    Paul Hession
    Shane Lowry
    Paul McGrath
    Donegal
    Mayo

It goes on and on -

All laughed at and told they were crap or can't do it. We need the laughers, it is part of sport and life, don't let it upset you.

I'm laughing at myself with that post. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 146 ✭✭DiegoWorst

3 friends of mine are off 36 and are only playing the game 18 mths. One is about to break the 36 pts mark after hard hard work. They laugh at their selves, sure why wouldn’t they. A few friends of mine taking up golf , think the handicap system is a joke, as there is no handicap system in rugby or GAA or anything else.

I hope they are female friends? I played in a society outing recently when two guys claimed to have a handicap of 36. Fair play to the organiser, slap on the wrists for them, and told they were lucky to be given 28.

Handicap sytem is good for a number of reasons. For one, it gives the individual notice of how well he/she is playing against everyone else. Often I hear guys saying they have a handicap of X but play more to a Y. Your handicap is what it is, as long as you don't cheat it, it is an accurate reflection of one's ability.
    Some people have been playing golf since childhood, and/or play/practise every other day. Other's get a round in every other week, the handicap gives everyone a chance to win once in a while.
    If you play GAA, and don't hit the field at least three times a week.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭MP62

Hate to burst your bubble uberwolf, but one swallow does not a summer make, there's a reason you're play off a higher handicap and I don't think it's because you're a better golfer or because you had a better score on one particular day and you have to laugh at the ribbing he gave you on the first tee, it did inspire you to play better after all, so you should be thanking hm really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,581 ✭✭✭uberwolf

MP62 wrote: »
    Hate to burst your bubble uberwolf, but one swallow does not a summer make, there's a reason you're play off a higher handicap and I don't think it's because you're a better golfer or because you had a better score on one particular day and you have to laugh at the ribbing he gave you on the first tee, it did inspire you to play better after all, so you should be thanking hm really.

I am embarrassed by my handicap. I don't like playing off it. I don't think a lower handicapper should be giving me abuse for it though. That's the extent of my point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,370 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

I am embarrassed by my handicap. I don't like playing off it. I don't think a lower handicapper should be giving me abuse for it though. That's the extent of my point.

What handicap are you?
    How long have you been playing?
    What age are you?
    What have you done to get better?

There are plenty of people who should be embarrassed by their handicaps, for different reasons.
    - Too high for their ability, going to look silly winning with -10 some day
    - Too low for their ability, look silly every week getting 20 points
    - Too high for too long, never put any effort into getting any better

However, no one should ever make someone feel bad because of their handicap (unless its mates) imo. Some people just arent good at it, despite great efforts.

The only embarrassing thing about a high handicap is someone who is off 24 or so rocking into the clubhouse with 46 points or so. If they have a great day to score that there is no reason why a bit of work won't get it down to 18 pretty quick.

A high handicapper collecting prizes with outrageous scores is very embarrassing for all involved and none more so than the golfer himself IMO.

I was given 18 last summer when I started playing regular. It was my first ever GUI and it was definitely too high for me. I should have got 12 or so and I was getting 44-46 points in comps throughout winter. I was mortified and felt like a creep winning opens. When cuts came back in this year I was delighted to get slashed down.

I'd never laugh at anyone's handicap no matter what it is. I enjoy playing with high handicap golfers actually. I'd prefer it more than playing with those idiots who will only play with single figure players etc... We all know the type. Stuck up snobs suck the life out of you walking around for 4 hours full of their own self importance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,893 ✭✭✭alxmorgan

Perhaps the answer is to give yourself a handicap of 18 as that is what most (sweeping generalisation I know but let's leave it at that) clubs will give you starting out regardless of what your scores are.

I handed i n108,110 and 113 as cards and was given 18.
    Now I didn't play anywhere near that for a year but it was a target and it kept me motivated

If you are giving yourself 24 or 28 or whatever to give you a relative standard when playing mates then you could just do my mate + 3 or whatever

Ignore anyone pulling the piss but I think 18 is just a better target as its simple. I have one shot per hole and that's it until such time as I join a club and get a handicap or I start breaking 36 pts and starting having less holes with shots which is the real aim :D

ForeRight wrote: »
    The only embarrassing thing about a high handicap is someone who is off 24 or so rocking into the clubhouse with 46 points or so. If they have a great day to score that there is no reason why a bit of work won't get it down to 18 pretty quick.

A high handicapper collecting prizes with outrageous scores is very embarrassing for all involved and none more so than the golfer himself IMO.

I was given 18 last summer when I started playing regular. It was my first ever GUI and it was definitely too high for me. I should have got 12 or so and I was getting 44-46 points in comps throughout winter. I was mortified and felt like a creep winning opens. When cuts came back in this year I was delighted to get slashed down.

I'd never laugh at anyone's handicap no matter what it is. I enjoy playing with high handicap golfers actually. I'd prefer it more than playing with those idiots who will only play with single figure players etc... We all know the type. Stuck up snobs suck the life out of you walking around for 4 hours full of their own self importance.

I would go along with that and say you have more of a laugh with high high handicap players.

ForeRight - Are there single figure players who only play with single figure golfers :eek::eek::eek: ?

I would go along with that and say you have more of a laugh with high high handicap players.

ForeRight - Are there single figure players who only play with single figure golfers :eek::eek::eek: ?

I was in the clubhouse ages back and these 2 lads arrived in who I had booked in with on the timesheet. They asked me what I was off and I think I was off 10 at the time. They said ok thats grand because we only play with single figure players usually. I laughed at them but then realised they were deadly serious.
    Anyway I took great pleasure in beating both of them on strokes. One was off 6 the other off 7.

Two arseholes of the highest order.

I was in the clubhouse ages back and these 2 lads arrived in who I had booked in with on the timesheet. They asked me what I was off and I think I was off 10 at the time. They said ok thats grand because we only play with single figure players usually. I laughed at them but then realised they were deadly serious.
    Anyway I took great pleasure in beating both of them on strokes. One was off 6 the other off 7.

Two arseholes of the highest order.

Fair play :p:D

You off 10 and all (spas)

You could understand somebody saying that as a joke. But they are the joke.

I hope to be a single figure player one day (soon) , but I am and was a hacker for too long to ever laugh at anyone or carry on like that.

When I get to 9, i'll give up practice, become a drunk and put on 5 stone and end up at about 20. :D

I'll be that sad bastard saying , "I was a single figure player once " .

Fair play :p:D

You off 10 and all (spas)

You could understand somebody saying that as a joke. But they are the joke.

I hope to be a single figure player one day (soon) , but I am and was a hacker for too long to ever laugh at anyone or carry on like that.

When I get to 9, i'll give up practice, become a drunk and put on 5 stone and end up at about 20. :D

I'll be that sad bastard saying , "I was a single figure player once " .

:):):)

I have a baby arriving in a few weeks so after all my hard work getting mysefl down to 5 I can see myself shooting back up now. I wont be able to play too much for gthe first while anyway but hopefully get out once every couple of weeks to try keep some consistancy.

Stupid babies ruin everything :rolleyes:

:):):)

I have a baby arriving in a few weeks so after all my hard work getting mysefl down to 5 I can see myself shooting back up now. I wont be able to play too much for gthe first while anyway but hopefully get out once every couple of weeks to try keep some consistancy.

Stupid babies ruin everything :rolleyes:

Lol. Women too ( sorry i love women, i am speaking in a golf context, i'm sorry i love women, i love all women )

When the first kid came along I gave up golf for about 4 years. To be honest I was crap so did not make much of a difference.

Kids are worth it (cough, cough).

I brought my lad to the driving range, he ended up just throwing balls at everybody, no hope for that lad, no need for the washing machine trick yet. He is more into robots at the moment. Even super glue with the putter did not work.

The young girl is a great hope, loves golf and only 2. Meanwhile the young lad, has his robots attacking the young girls dolls at the range.

This was just a crazy time for me to take on a golf project.

You can never get back the young years with the kids, that is the way I looked at it.

Worth it man, when they hit school, you can go back to golf. But not everybody goes along with that. Nothing added but time.

Lol. Women too ( sorry i love women, i am speaking in a golf context, i'm sorry i love women, i love all women )

When the first kid came along I gave up golf for about 4 years. To be honest I was crap so did not make much of a difference.

Kids are worth it (cough, cough).

I brought my lad to the driving range, he ended up just throwing balls at everybody, no hope for that lad, no need for the washing machine trick yet. He is more into robots at the moment. Even super glue with the putter did not work.

The young girl is a great hope, loves golf and only 2. Meanwhile the young lad, has his robots attacking the young girls dolls at the range.

This was just a crazy time for me to take on a golf project.

You can never get back the young years with the kids, that is the way I looked at it.

Worth it man, when they hit school, you can go back to golf. But not everybody goes along with that. Nothing added but time.

I suppose when the child comes along I will forget about golf and put things into perspective.
    Unless there is some sort of trolley/buggy combo on the market. That would be very handy indeed.

I suppose when the child comes along I will forget about golf and put things into perspective.
    Unless there is some sort of trolley/buggy combo on the market. That would be very handy indeed.

I think we have gone off thread a little (lol)

But, i've thought about this long and hard, how do you practice with kids, It is hard actually, it is not possible !

The answer is creche or a creche at a golf practice area. Not much of a market for it.

But back to topic. There should be strokes for kids on your handicap :D:D, 2 per under 2 years of age , 1 for over 6.

You could just go back to the 80s , give the yolks to the wife. Head off with the lads for the day, throw your cafe latte away , get a load of pints in, go golfing and then more pints, come home for the dinner on the table and the kids in bed. Then head off to All Ireland final the next day for the week. :P;):eek:confused::D

I think we have gone off thread a little (lol)

But, i've thought about this long and hard, how do you practice with kids, It is hard actually, it is not possible !

The answer is creche or a creche at a golf practice area. Not much of a market for it.

Imagine that :eek::eek::eek::)

Yes, a pub, a 4 star pizza, and a free taxi at it too. :D

Best of luck ForeRight. It is worth every minute to the see the world again through the eyes of a child.

Worth every lost night of sleep and shot in golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Are you sure they are laughing at "your ability" or "your handicapp" ?

For example we have a bit of craic with one of the lads whose off 14 and he is a very VERY good golfer, its joking and laughing at his handicapp, not his ability as a player.

When I came back this year I got some fierce stick for getting 12 as my handicapp(after being lower before) it was laughing at my handicapp, not my ability.

If its a case of someone genuinely laughing and joking that your a bad player, that is bad form.
    28!?!? HAHA, god your ****
    That's bad form
    28?!?!?, how much it that handicapp cost you?
    I'd say thats having a joke about the handicapp.

Can be fine lines at time, if its laughter at your expense, relating to ability, its pretty poor form. Unless they are professional earning their living from golf, they have nothing to laugh down at...

TheDoc wrote: »

Are you sure they are laughing at "your ability" or "your handicapp" ?

For example we have a bit of craic with one of the lads whose off 14 and he is a very VERY good golfer, its joking and laughing at his handicapp, not his ability as a player.

When I came back this year I got some fierce stick for getting 12 as my handicapp(after being lower before) it was laughing at my handicapp, not my ability.

If its a case of someone genuinely laughing and joking that your a bad player, that is bad form.
    28!?!? HAHA, god your ****
    That's bad form
    28?!?!?, how much it that handicapp cost you?
    I'd say thats having a joke about the handicapp.

Can be fine lines at time, if its laughter at your expense, relating to ability, its pretty poor form. Unless they are professional earning their living from golf, they have nothing to laugh down at...
    It would be generally guys that have never even see me play , just tools that are playing years I suppose and forgot they struggled themselves when starting out .

I'm going hopefully get a lesson in this weekend , iv being saying this the last 2 months but I'm at the stage now where I need a lesson or two . Because I could go on Saturday and play well and go out the next day and be terrible . Iv read enough times on this site that lessons are a must for beginners plus I don't think I'll ever improve till I know what I'm doing wrong