Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

AI 1 ..still alive?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

The lack of a price on that advert speaks volumes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,318 ✭✭✭✭carchaeologist

And what a car to put it on!! A Golf 1.6 dayshul...:eek::rolleyes:

A piece of Ireland's motoring history....!?!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

How is the reg on a golf though?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

couldn't you transfer the old plates between cars like the UK system?

I remember hearing that VIP 1 was on a few different cars and then sold in the UK a few years ago for some obscene amount.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,499 ✭✭✭Capri

Very iffy altogether :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭rugbyman

In the 1980s or so some County Councils would reissue very old numbers ,which had been untaxed for thirty or so years. here in Co Louth many people got nice numbers to suit their car models like e.g. IY 518 on a BMW, and IY42 on a 4.2 Jag( featured on here a year or two ago). IY 2 was on a Mini. I dont know how one laid claim to a number, but it was commonplace

I imagine thats how AI 1 has come about.

I can hardly believe it but I know where that pic is taken, was there once in my life ,delivered a car there once.

Regards Rugbyman

Very common in the late 70s and 80s in Ireland. Seems yu could get any registration as long as you could prove the original car had been scrapped, how that worked for 80 year old cars at the time i dont know!!! Heres a few re-issues from the archives..
    IMG_3054.png

9a146032.jpg

UPTONSTEAMRALLY5JUNE05035.jpg

jif463.jpg

Picture3495.jpg

ToyotaCressida-1.jpg

gti1.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,271 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

If i recall correctly (wisdom of my father, not mine) the reissuing was also because county councils were running out of numbers. This was also a factor in the introduction of the current (soon to be old) system.

This is water. Inspiring speech by David Foster Wallace https://youtu.be/DCbGM4mqEVw?si=GS5uDvegp6Er1EOG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,808 ✭✭✭Stained Class

It should have been explained on the ad how the car had that number.

And from previous research i have done on the subject..
    ZK32 is a 1982 Ford Granada hearse
    ZK33 is a blue 2.8 Granada also.
    Working backwards from here as a matter of interest we get...
    ZK30 a 1984 blue VW
    ZK27 a 1986 Carina
    ZK21 a 1985 Opel Kadett
    ZK17 a 1984 Renault 4
    ZK13 a 1981 Fiesta 1300
    ZK12 a 1979 Renault 12(cool reg!)
    Zk11 a 1981 Toyota Starlet
    ZK8 a 1982 blue VW
    ZK7 a 1981 2.0 Granada hearse
    ZK6 a 1978 VW
    ZK5 a 1978 Mk2 Escort 1100
    ZK2 a 1980 green VW Golf
    ZK1 a 1976 Mk2 Escort 2.0
    Note the lack of sequence of these issues and the differnt years of issue.

Of a search of the first 20 IF**** registrations i came up with this interesting(to certain peoplewink.png) table...
    IF3 - blue 1983 Manta
    IF8 - grey 1981 Toyota Cressida
    IF10 - black 1983 Manta
    IF11 - Black 1978 Corolla
    IF16 - the above mentioned 1980 Carina
    IF17 - blue 1985 truck
    IF18 - red 1980 Ford Escort

Any missing show up as not found. Interesting how the dates are not consecutive ranging from 1978 to 1985. It seems you could pick a number at random with no pattern as such.

And to carry on another 10 numbers-

IF21 - orange 1984 Ascona
    IF23 - Green 1965 Mercedes Benz
    IF24 - blue 1977 Volvo Estate
    IF27 - green 1982 Toyota Carina
    IF28 - blue 1986 Rover Metro
    IF30 - green 1982 Ford Fiesta Van

Theres an even bigger range of years here from 1965 to 1986.
    Was the 1965 Mercedes an 80s import and put on an old plate, apparently this wasnt possible, as the car had to be a new one. Does this then mean that Mercedes got that registration in 1965 when new? As a guess i doubt it though.

Continuing onwards...

IF31 - white 1986 Rover 213
    IF32 - blue 1986 Nissan Laurel(a C32, so that explains the registration i guess)
    IF33 - white 1982 Ford Escort Estate
    IF34 - grey 1985 Nissan Bluebird
    IF36 - white 1986 Nissan Laurel
    IF37 - green 1985 Volvo 340
    IF38 - white 1986 Bluebird
    IF39 - 1986 Nissan Cherry
    IF40 - grey 1986 Lancia Thema

Im amazed at the scale of the re-issues, i thought it was only a few here and there, but of the first 40 IF re -issues 22 are active on the records, there may have been more but they could have dropped off pre 1993. Thats an entire series as such off the usual records.

There is obviously many more across all the older series of every county like these as a quick example
    ZF1 - a brown 1977 Mercedes
    ZK1 - a yellow 1976 MK2 Escort
    ZP1 - a grey 1977 Escort also

Having talked to a few lads about this it seems the practice of re reging cars was primerally a Cork thing. It's mainly PI, IF, ZF and ZT regs that come up in these discussions.
    GTI 205 was transferred from a 1965 Morris Minor to a 1980's Peugeot 205 GTi.
    Following a discussion with a fellow boardsie, IU50 & IU51 were/are a Mercedes and a BMW respectively.
    AIN2 was a black 1984 VW Golf in Kerry, since scrapped.
    KIN 1 is on a Lamborghini Countach.
    PI49 was on a mid-80's red Mercedes 190

Anyone else got anymore that they know of?

I would be very interested in anymore information on this subject?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭tashiusclay

hoodie6029 wrote: »
    This was also a factor in the introduction of the current (soon to be old) system.

Soon too be old? Are they changing the current system?

Next year could see more stupididy from those monkeys we call government, helped along with the SIMI.

#13......Unlucky for all of us....:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Apart from the rear left door it's a clean looking car. Always liked the Golf II and that colour suits it very well IMO. Wheels don't really suit it though.

View2-14352593.jpeg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,042 ✭✭✭Grimreaper666

SI1 1986 Sierra hatchback...........what a bloody waste of a great number, if it was in the UK it would be worth a mint!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭2cv

The lack of a price on that advert speaks volumes...

A mate of mine enquired about this car... Yer man's looking for €10,000 for this, no NCT and 300k + on the clock....

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

2cv wrote: »
    A mate of mine enquired about this car... Yer man's looking for €10,000 for this, no NCT and 300k + on the clock....

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

Well then.. That man is a deluded idiot! :p

That plate has no monetary value as such, only a novelty value and the car certainly isn't worth much being an old Golf!

You would think he would go to the bother of at least testing it if he's looking for that kinda money?

Anyone who would pay €10k for that would need his head checked!

Well then.. That man is a deluded idiot! :p

Couldn't agree more :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Blue850

SI1 1986 Sierra hatchback...........what a bloody waste of a great number, if it was in the UK it would be worth a mint!!

I've seen a photo of a #1 reg on a Morris Marina somewhere, now thats a waste of a reg:D

RoolsRoyceSilverGhost.jpg

Here's a proper car to transfer a reg onto:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭kasper

i remember a fiat uno with the reg it 70

Come to think of it there used to be a Corsa saloon near here with the number ZT77, confused me for ages!

on the subject of Louth Numbers ,i thought of another few, IY 450 on a 450 merc, IY1117 on a polo (there must be a reason, perhaps a n ancestors reg),polo long scrapped.
    then i met a fellow who rhymed off these ones of his ,the marques are evident
    IY 320,3201,3231(perhaps ZY that one) 520.

re all the instant dismissals of price of the Golf AI1, if you had it for sale how much would you ask?

Golfs are one of the cult cars of the moment(Not being too well up I dont know if that model is) , but a bare shell can be made into almost any sort of rocket.

Only last week I chatted to a Boardsie( I am still chuckling over his reply to my PM, @ I see you like poking around in ditches, as I do). he has a Mark 1 golf standing him 12 k and plans to spend a bit more.
    There are two brothers in my home town who think nothing of spending 20k on a golf, if fact5 if some rare tweek made of titanium/ mars rock was to come available for one of their babies ,they would not hesitate to pull it apart.

Another wee thought, I dont know why the Uk allows number transfers, whether its an old law from the past ,or as is often said,a money earner. but if we were to go that way!!!!

By the way i am a bit of a number fan and am allergic to zv s.

Regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,748 ✭✭✭Do-more

GTI 205 was transferred from a 1965 Morris Minor to a 1980's Peugeot 205 GTi.

That used to be the personal transport of George Frayne at the time, he was one of the proprietors of Frayne Bros. of Naas who were then the local Peugeot dealers, if I recall correctly.

And that was owned by a guy called Greg Kinahan of Kinahan Commercials who are a Mercedes/Mitsubishi Commercials dealership outside Moate.

Not sure of the present status of either car.

invest4deepvalue.com

GTI205 is or at least was a rally car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

It was at Durrow this year, although on a trailer, it looked bog standard to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,031 ✭✭✭Silvera

You are correct carchaeologist.
    I viewed the car many years ago in Fraynes when it was kitted out as a rally car. George himself confirmed that the reg originated from a Morris Minor.

rugbyman wrote: »
    re all the instant dismissals of price of the Golf AI1, if you had it for sale how much would you ask?

I'd ask the going rate for a Mk2 Golf diesel with no test and 300k + on the clock... probably less than a grand... the reg is worthless really cos it can't be transferred onto another car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭hi5

DSC01357.jpg

hi5 wrote: »
    It was at Durrow this year, although on a trailer, it looked bog standard to me.

Looks mint indeed! Wonder would the be a flying tax book situation here? I have a pic of it as a rally car, will post it later?

Unless they are just show plates?

GTI 205 may have been a rally car at some stage(no pun intended) .
    in the late eighties I used see it parked in Roscrea as a road going car over quite a period.

never dreamt at the time that the number was not issued to it rather than transferred.

In those days I just waited in the queue in the tax office and got three different numbers that I wanted,205,280 and 141 long since scrapped unfortunately.

regards Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,198 ✭✭✭Bitten & Hisses

And so is IF205:

ev99ww.jpg

Hmm. I wonder am I mixing up the two of those cars so? Maybe GTI205 was always that clean.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭Basil Fawlty

It could have been restored. The registration would have made it worth restoring.

Ya, but anything that's been rallied has usually been beaten half to death with holes drilled everywhere and various damage. I would bet on it being a reshell if it was restored.

Quote:

And that was owned by a guy called Greg Kinahan of Kinahan Commercials who are a Mercedes/Mitsubishi Commercials dealership outside Moate.

Not sure of the present status of either car.

Last time I was down in Kinahans ( looking at a Dodge Ram V10) he showed me a 'project' - Lamborghini engine mid mounted in a Vito van !!! :eek::eek::eek: said the engine was out of a "damaged Lambo"

Don't know / haven't seen said Vito V12 since, but it'd be a serious WHITE VAN ( Like Ford's Supervan Transit ;)

on the subject of Louth Numbers ,i thought of another few, IY 450 on a 450 merc, IY1117 on a polo (there must be a reason, perhaps a n ancestors reg),polo long scrapped.
    then i met a fellow who rhymed off these ones of his ,the marques are evident
    IY 320,3201,3231(perhaps ZY that one) 520.

Golfs are one of the cult cars of the moment(Not being too well up I dont know if that model is) , but a bare shell can be made into almost any sort of rocket.

Only last week I chatted to a Boardsie( I am still chuckling over his reply to my PM, @ I see you like poking around in ditches, as I do). he has a Mark 1 golf standing him 12 k and plans to spend a bit more.
    There are two brothers in my home town who think nothing of spending 20k on a golf, if fact5 if some rare tweek made of titanium/ mars rock was to come available for one of their babies ,they would not hesitate to pull it apart.
    Another wee thought, I dont know why the Uk allows number transfers, whether its an old law from the past ,or as is often said,a money earner. but if we were to go that way!!!!

By the way i am a bit of a number fan and am allergic to zv s.

Regards, Rugbyman

Case in point - http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/vintagecars/3936205 VERRRY CLEAN and a credit to the man, BUT - is anybody willing to fork out the bobs :rolleyes::rolleyes:

Morning Capri, you are an all hours man, like myself

thats a beautiful audi, dare i say it,a wee bit wallied up for me ,but i love the spartan interior.
    its terrific that someone has done that.

Jobs like that would barely give the owner a euro an hour for his work .

Regards, Rugbyman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

On the basis that it has an NCT and has no major technical or rust issues I'd pay €2500-3000 for that Golf. The number alone makes it worth keeping, if the car is done up a bit you'd get the money back in a few years. There is also the (slim) chance that we would go the way as the UK in the future and allow desirable numbers to be bought and sold. In that case you're investment would be returned many fold. But that's a risk, part of the gamble and for me why it's worth €2,500-3000.

€10k is crazy though, he'd want the car restored and resprayed for that cash.

Morning Capri, you are an all hours man, like myself

thats a beautiful audi, dare i say it,a wee bit wallied up for me ,but i love the spartan interior.
    its terrific that someone has done that.

Jobs like that would barely give the owner a euro an hour for his work .

Regards, Rugbyman

Up a 5-6am winter and summer, best part of the day :eek:

That was a labour of love, your time never comes into it unless you're West Coast Customs

http://www.westcoastcustoms.com/

or Desert Valley

http://www.dvap.com/

I watch some German stuff that

customises/restores Euro cars

Tuning alarm
    http://www.dmax.de/video/tuning-alarm-der-rallye-zwerg-teil-1/

Til rust do us part

http://www.dmax.de/fotos/galleries/bis-dass-der-rost-uns-scheidet/

Don't speak German but ....

Essen show in December ( beside Dusseldorf) is a good show that I usually go to :cool:

http://www.essen-motorshow.de/en/ems2011/index.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Those low Cork nos. were rumoured to have been given to the rally lads by someone that worked in the Cork motor tax office who was involved in the rally scene.