Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

fox calling

• 16-09-2012 10:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭

hi lads got a new fox caller and amp has four settings vixen fox rabbit and hare was out this evening till dark and seen a few foxs about alright so i set up had the caller going nothing came near at all tried all the settings apart from the hare as i dont see many of them about,
    any advice?
    Cheers
    2SB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

hi lads got a new fox caller and amp has four settings vixen fox rabbit and hare was out this evening till dark and seen a few foxs about alright so i set up had the caller going nothing came near at all tried all the settings apart from the hare as i dont see many of them about,
    any advice?
    Cheers
    2SB

What make of caller is it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 58 ✭✭2smokinbarrels

not sure pal let it with the aul fella tonight,
    it takes cartridges has a teal magpie crow and dove caller cartridge with it,

$(KGrHqF,!pcE8Wpn9Y,QBPOUuKkL5Q~~60_12.JPG

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

Sounds like the old U Caller

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTCCL-v5zMgJk6j46StiY-xKn72DNQKoiPTDtZ8mZdECWo7w8dkjA

lokks right!
    Any use?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭.james1984

your better off with a bit of wet aero board on the window this time of year or a childs toy that squeaks. the electronic caller are far better when the weather is harsh and you want to call a fox a big distance. dont use the vixen caller till mating time and the cubs call will work in the spring when the cubs are out. hope this helps

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭dev110

I agree with james. aero board and glass is hard bet.
    I have used the U caller but only found the hare any good but now all my calling is done with a fox call uk:

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcSc6JfOUgUnuffu32lNrEIA4d9SBGeFnPA4CKX9fo8av4UQRNWHQQ

i was trying to find the name of that caller. they are deadly and you can change the pitch and volume as the fox is gettin closer.

cheers pal had the vixen on for ages nothing happened but we had it of while we where having a yap of whats wrong when in the distance we herd a yelp very similar to the vixen call,
    we bought it for the teal setting this was the main reason but the land we shoot seems to be full of ffoxes at the mo never shot one but dying to,
    the land is full of cattle and sheep so no rifles dont have one anyway (yet) so hence we where thinking try call them to us,
    we got a box of big game shot to make sure we are equiped to put them down.

ye want to organise a hunt for a sunday. what number shot ya get. i shhot with a guy that does all the calling. he can bring a hungry fox nearly to my feet. we walk at night with the power packs.
    #

were you based man I am not around for a couple of weeks but sort something out later,
    The shells are remington big game 36g 1 1/4 oz number 7,
    slightly longer than normal shells but I let one off tonight to make sure they were ok,
    seemed fine,
    I was watching that youtube vid on yourmans website getting on!!
    tried the u caller on magpies it seemed to be ok drove them nuts give it a go on the pond when there is more teal about see how it fairs out but it think the caller uk is the way to go,
    and i can just stick it in the bag no batterys nothing!
    I am sure a bit of practise should do it.

its very simple to use. bite on it and blow. you want summit alot stronger for the fox. the mag call is mighty but again not really till there nesting or when they hungry but the crow call will bring the grey crows. i in sligo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Your better off sticking to the hand callers.

1. your not breaking the law like you are using an electric one ;)

2. you cant change and vary the pitch and volume depending on how the fox is reacting to it.
    3. you could hang a half dozen ones around with all different sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

garv123 wrote: »
    Your better off sticking to the hand callers.

1. your not breaking the law like you are using an electric one ;)

2. you cant change and vary the pitch and volume depending on how the fox is reacting to it.
    3. you could hang a half dozen ones around with all different sounds.
    +1 on hand calling
    It's easy to do saves money and it works better than any callers
    Just practice doing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

+2
    Ive a good few electronic and manual callers.i find the manual 1s better because like already said, pitch/volume control, lightweight.and no finnickin about with feckin batterys!!!
    Only use the elec 1s for mags and crows
    soon ill be ordering a weemes tho!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

any advice?
    Cheers
    2SB

if other's are using the same caller in the same area that's 1 reason for a fox not coming in, i used an electronic caller for a few years and done very good with it but it was nearly a 2 man job with 1 person controlling the caller and the other on the gun. changed then to the mouth caller and they are a lot handier to use and easy to control, miles cheaper. as above the electronic caller is savage for magpie and crow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

djflawless wrote: »
    +2
    Ive a good few electronic and manual callers.i find the manual 1s better because like already said, pitch/volume control, lightweight.and no finnickin about with feckin batterys!!!
    Only use the elec 1s for mags and crows
    soon ill be ordering a weemes tho!
    Even for crows or mags the blow ones are better by far imo. Well the proper blow through one is better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,868 ✭✭✭djflawless

Aye twas anthonyos from this that told me about them.its next on the wishlist

Cheers lads,
    tbh didn't know about the law breaking on the fox caller and it was nailed that it is a two man job hassle imo, seen the manual one is on sportsdens site so will pop in get on and do a bit of practise I prefare the caller for feather was a bit scepticale (sorry about the spelling) anyway as it seems the same pit/volume/recording/speed over and over with no breaking unless as specified 2 people.
    Thanks again Lads.
    I will pic up the caller shortly and give it a go after the jollydays heading to the states the shops over there are full of callers etc so most likely be like BA with the amout of callers around my neck by year end.