Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cheap Drink

• 15-09-2012 5:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24

For you party animals out there the tesco in terryland has an unreal deal at the moment, 2 cases of 20bud/20miller/12corona for 25quid
    couldn't beat that with a stick

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

You could beat a case of Miller with any size stick really, muck. Think there's 12 Corona in the offer as well though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

In before the 'Students who drink are a drain on the taxpayer' brigade :rolleyes:

ciano1 wrote: »
    In before the 'Students who drink are a drain on the taxpayer' brigade :rolleyes:
    The only way to solve the issue is to charge everyone through the absolute teeth for alcohol. Oh wait.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,924 ✭✭✭✭RolandIRL

The only way to solve the issue is to charge everyone through the absolute teeth for alcohol. Oh wait.

Then people will be complaining that students are wasting even more of their money on booze. You just can't win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Thats decent alright. Why is buckfast never on offer anymore? Used to be able to get 2 for €20 but now its €11 a bottle in most places :(

Two for €20 is hardly a special offer when you can buy one for under €10 in Fine Wines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,293 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

Its 10.49 in fine wines last time I checked, last wednesday I think.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24 Isildur1980

Sounds like a policy that would also be instituted and packaged as "the common good"!! Only it will make most people worse off again!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

Lads if you want cheap drink brew your own. There's a home brew shop in Galway where you can get the equipment for €90 (incl your first 40 pints). Then it's about 50c a pint for quality beer after that. Well worth getting into from first year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭ciano1

J o e wrote: »
    Lads if you want cheap drink brew your own. There's a home brew shop in Galway where you can get the equipment for €90 (incl your first 40 pints). Then it's about 50c a pint for quality beer after that. Well worth getting into from first year.

Actually, whatever happened that thread where a poster was trying to get a brewing society going? Did he make any progress?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

+1 for this.

We used to home brew when when we were in TY. I was meaning to get all the equipment out of my shed and bring it down to Galway. It's good fun. But we were terrible at it :P Always added way too much sugar and started stumbling round after 3 pints. If I recall correctly it cost us a lot less than €90 to get started, somewhere around the €40 or €50 mark. But again, we were crap at it.

Actually, whatever happened that thread where a poster was trying to get a brewing society going? Did he make any progress?

There's now a Galway City Home Brewers Club, meets in 091 labs. It's a lot handier than a college society to be honest as you'll not have to keep defending yourself against the alcohol policy and a home brew soc would attract a lot of idiots too I'd say. :rolleyes:
    +1 for this.

We used to home brew when when we were in TY. I was meaning to get all the equipment out of my shed and bring it down to Galway. It's good fun. But we were terrible at it :P Always added way too much sugar and started stumbling round after 3 pints. If I recall correctly it cost us a lot less than €90 to get started, somewhere around the €40 or €50 mark. But again, we were crap at it.

You'll get cheaper kits alright but the €90 package will really cover everything incl brew belt to keep it at temperature in the winter months. Tried it a few years ago with a cheap "Mr Beer" kit and it was a disaster.

Yeah go easy on the sugar, better having an enjoyable 5% brew than horrible rocket fuel. Also swap sugar with spraymalt, will improve the quality a lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,132 ✭✭✭Just Like Heaven

Ahh I didn't even click on your link, we went back and bought a brew belt anyway I remember so including the belt €90 sounds good. I remember seeing a beginner's kit in the beer lane in tesco last year for something like €35. But god knows what it contained.

The €90 kit includes;

48 new technology 500ml Ox-Bar bottlles,
    • Heating brew belt
    • 30L Fermenter with lid, grommet and bubbler airlock,
    • Bottle filling system
    • Stevenson Reeves hydrometer
    • Quality Stevenson Reeves glass trial jar
    • Plastic stirring paddle
    • Large Liquid Crystal Thermometer (easy to read, 10 oC to 40 oC)
    • 100 grams VWP Cleaner/Sterilizer
    • Coopers Original Lager / Canadian Blonde 1.7 Kg Home Brew Kit, includes yeast
    • 1 Kg brewing sugar
    • 1 pack of Coopers Carbonation Drops

You'll find a lot of cheaper kits leave out the bottles, hydrometer, brew belt and/or bottling wand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,003 ✭✭✭_Puma_

Hey J O E, when do ye meet up in 091 labs, might pop my head in to find out what it takes to get started. The €90 kit is tempting me sorely!:D

It's the last Wednesday of every month, so should be one next Wednesday. Keep an eye or ask on the Facebook page. I'm flat out in college with a thesis due next Friday, so I missed the last one and will very likely miss next week too unfortunately. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

It's the last Wednesday of every month, so should be one next Wednesday. Keep an eye or ask on the Facebook page. I'm flat out in college with a thesis due next Friday, so I missed the last one and will very likely miss next week too unfortunately. :o

Also tempted to start doing some homebrew but I dont have the time at the moment. Maybe in November.

I'd love to make a hard ginger beer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭yer man!

You're not allowed to have a drink related society in NUIG exactly, you are however allowed to have a society and have a wine reception in any society.... winesoc anyone....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 93 ✭✭JerryHispano

Also tempted to start doing some homebrew but I dont have the time at the moment. Maybe in November.

I'd love to make a hard ginger beer...

I'll have some ginger beer at the meet next Wednesday if you want to come and try it out.

Also, a kit beer doesn't take much time to make, about 25 mins initially and about 40 three weeks later when you bottle it up.

yer man! wrote: »
    You're not allowed to have a drink related society in NUIG exactly, you are however allowed to have a society and have a wine reception in any society.... winesoc anyone....

It's come up before but I see no reason why not. If you look at the actual alcohol policy it's there to "promote sensible drinking among students and limit campus-related drinks industry sponsorship".

I think a homebrew soc would do both. If you put some thought into your brew and spent the time preparing, brewing and bottling it, you're going to slow up and enjoy it.