Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What to eat and drink before a big match

• 15-09-2012 1:10pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭

So I have a big match tonight (Championship QF) and was wondering what to eat and drink and how long before the match.

Usually I'd have a banana or a few jaffa cakes and down a can of red bull for energy but I am noticing near the end of games I am getting really tired. I drink lots of water too.

Any advice?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Pasta 3 hours before eating plenty of water, banana maybe too.
    Avoid red bull type drinks they only give you a short term boost. Complex carbs are better.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,028 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

Avoid red bull, it's all about hydration now, get loads of water into you, try mixing in some Miwadi from time to time as well, not only will it make it easier to drink more water but you'll get a few minerals with it that'll replace some of the loss cause of the amount of times you're going to the bathrooms.

Match day meal should be pasta and plain chicken, if you find that awful hard to eat stir in a spoon of Philadelphia cheese into the pasta. Have a pack of wine gums in your gear bag as well for half time, they should help you replace some of the energy you lost in the first half and help you get to the final whistle, first time I heard of that was when I played rugby and the dressing room was like a tuck shop at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭rpurfield

if your playing junior b or lower its customary to have a feed of pints the night before and follow up with a large breakfast roll the morning of the match.generally another pint an hour before the match gets you through to full time as well :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Ristiano Conaldo

^^ Haha definitely not Junior B, however if we do win tonight there will be a barrel of beer drank by me anyway.

Thanks for the suggestions guys, off to the game now. :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

pasta? grain based carbs are way over emphasised in athletes' diets

lots of green veg is the way to go along with lean protein (chicken, eggs etc)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭deisedude

rpurfield wrote: »
    if your playing junior b or lower its customary to have a feed of pints the night before and follow up with a large breakfast roll the morning of the match.generally another pint an hour before the match gets you through to full time as well :D

To be safe you would want a hip flask for half time too. Wouldn't want to be dehydrated in the second half :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48,336 ✭✭✭✭km79

Did ye win ? Did you drink a barrel of beer :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,460 ✭✭✭Orizio

So I have a big match tonight (Championship QF) and was wondering what to eat and drink and how long before the match.

Usually I'd have a banana or a few jaffa cakes and down a can of red bull for energy but I am noticing near the end of games I am getting really tired. I drink lots of water too.

Any advice?

Sweet jaysus...

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Yes a diet of all these is great but complex carbs are the way to go for an even energy boost on match day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

rpurfield wrote: »

LOL... I remember as a young fella playing junior b and the aul lads (30 somethings :rolleyes:) arriving at the pitch after a heavy Saturday night .. them saying "I'm dying stick me in full forward/back line" .. us young fellas were left do the running in the half back/forward line. Went on to play Inters and one season Senior, then the slow fallback to where it all started .."here young lad gimme that number 3 jersey me heads lifting" !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 108 ✭✭Ristiano Conaldo

km79 wrote: »
    Did ye win ? Did you drink a barrel of beer :D
    No and yes :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

buck65 wrote: »
    Yes a diet of all these is great but complex carbs are the way to go for an even energy boost on match day.

show me the science?

Well ok , a simple internet search brought this up, read through it , it mentions that carbs rather than protein are more efficient fuel providers.

Again not a medical journal but this is standard stuff I would have thought?

http://sportsmedicine.about.com/od/sportsnutrition/a/Carbohydrates.htm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭Antisocialiser

Anyone interested have a read of this sticky from the Health and Fitness forum. This guy is a very well renowned trainer and has worked with plenty of GAA teams, olympic athletes, weightlifters etc

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=67563426&postcount=28

Work a read for anyone serious about their match day nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

I'd always eat a bag of peanuts the day of a game and a banana if the game was on early. Def avoid eating meat or anything heavy. And drink plenty of water or lucozade sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Velvety

nice_guy80 wrote: »

Bullshit. A low carb, lean meat diet is great for losing fat and getting lean. No use at all for performance and energy on the day of a match.