Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

drilling for water

• 14-09-2012 9:54pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12

hello all, drilling for water for my new build and man came with rig and divined it himself and said 2 'streams' crossing there so drilled on that spot. 580 feet later and not a drop of water hit. he has pulled up his rig and wants it blasted now at 160 and 400 feet. blasting costs 700 euro. my question is this, how much will he charge me as he did not get water after divining it himself? its 11 euro per foot all in but i persume he cant charge that now. he said he will only charge me to cover his 'costs' why did he not stop drilling at 400 feet? i am really mad and wonder have i consumer rights in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,555 ✭✭✭✭muffler

tombomb123 wrote: »
    my question is this, how much will he charge me as he did not get water after divining it himself?
    I dont know. Not being awkward here but have you tried asking the guy himself?

its 11 euro per foot all in but i persume he cant charge that now.
    What was in the contract or did you have one, even a verbal contract?

why did he not stop drilling at 400 feet?
    Again, you need to thrash this out with the guy.

i am really mad and wonder have i consumer rights in this case
    Back to the contract. What was the agreement beforehand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 tombomb123

ya but he said we would sort it out after blasting....how much per foot would u pay him seen as though he did not hit the water....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,533 ✭✭✭the keen edge

Consumer rights to protect against a failed attempt at water dousing?

Yeah off course you have consumer rights, IIRC its under the same charter that protects against the Easter bunny, the tooth fairy and santa clause not providing their respective services.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Consumer rights to protect against a failed attempt at water dousing?

Yeah off course you have consumer rights, IIRC its under the same charter that protects against the Easter bunny, the tooth fairy and santa clause not providing their respective services.
    If the diviner is putting themselves forward as a professional providing a service, "there's water here" and as a result there is €5,000 worth of drilling carried out but no water is found, then I'd say you've been the victim of fraud and should be looked into by your solicitor (not the borehole but the situation).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

I have a friend and after three bores on the site there was no water supply available.. The company insisted on full payment as they charge for boring the well.. Contract was to provide the bores with no guarantee of water supply, this was an extremely reputable company.

They recommended blasting the well and it was successful but would only arrange it after full payment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Fracking Cylon

I was verbally told when drilling that they don't charge if they don't hit water. Saying that, I should probably have got it put in writing, but didn't at the time. I said to stop after 200 feet if they didn't hit water as I would want to re access. They hit water at 180 ft thankfully and added 40. About 10 a ft + vat for drilling and plastic lining, and 20 a ft for steel lining at the top as far as I remember if that helps.

ya i know that but its a joke really in that the diviner found no water after sayint there were 2 springs crossing there...was i only being taken for a fool so by him...should i have hired my own independent diviner to search first so...i will pay him for the drilling but surely he will provide me with a discount as a blast is needed to get the water so in theory he failed to find it...

so lads what would ye do...tell him to drill a new borehole or strike a deal on existing hole over payment and blast it.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭bbam

If the diviner is putting themselves forward as a professional providing a service, "there's water here" and as a result there is €5,000 worth of drilling carried out but no water is found, then I'd say you've been the victim of fraud and should be looked into by your solicitor (not the borehole but the situation).

How on earth would anyone consider a diviner as a "professional", really lads...??
    so lads what would ye do...tell him to drill a new borehole or strike a deal on existing hole over payment and blast it.....

in my friends case the company pumped out the well, estimated the 24 hour fill rate and advised that blasting would help..
    without some sort of investigation then blasting the well might be throwing good money after bad..

Did you sign anything before drilling ?? My friend had signed a contract that stated he had to pay no matter what, small print of course :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

bbam wrote: »
    How on earth would anyone consider a diviner as a "professional", really lads...??
    Well I wouldn't either, but if he is putting himself forward as one (as clearly stated in my post) then make that work for you and turn the tables on him.

blasted the other day and got 'water'...he has to decide now if there is enough to meet the requirements...cost 800 to blast at 2 depths...still its good to have some drop of water anyway...just hope now it never goes dry and that i can get a discount off him for now striking water after 580 feet of drilling after he divining it and telling me there was 2 springs there...

hey folks...got my water well blasted but now that it is pumping away there is an awful smell and taste off the water..it tastes like sulphur...got it tested and the ammonium is very high..just wondering is this a result of the blasting in the well and will it eventually die out of it...thanks