Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

online registration and orientation stuff

• 13-09-2012 1:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 113 ✭✭

hello i was registering there online for my course but wont be paying the fees yet. so i just accpeted the modules and stuff. does this mean i cannot set up the dcu email and enter the portal until this is done? also there is nothing on the fees payment section to say u are awaiting a grant for fee payment. which is what i am.
    they said the deadline is friday so i had reg something. this is all i can do now so will that suffice?

also about orientation im thinking of giving the 2 day yoke a miss. im not currently living in dublin and when i went to these before when i first went to college not much went on really. i wont be able to get my student card anyway as i dont have proof of payment or any approval letter from susi.

so the plan is to turn up on monday wk1 for lectures. im sure they tell you the craic with the course then anyway and not at orientation. so can i just get a timetable off the website and work from there? then deal with the fees office too, im sure they will want me to cough up some bread as im not sure when susi will pay the f@kin fees and i need a form stamped to say im attending college for the dole office.

anyone who knows the craic think my plan is ok?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 357 ✭✭Steodonn

Same I haven't paid the fees but your email address will still be set up mine is and I haven't paid yet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 714 ✭✭✭PlainP

If you don't pay any fees by the 28th of September you will get charged the 170 euro late registration fee, whether you are entitled to the grant or not.

I read on another thread that people have heard that SUSI won't be paying out till mid October..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,345 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

You don't need to go to orientation week. You can just get your timetable off the website and attend lectures from Week 1.

I'm pretty sure you have to pay at least €1163 before you can register fully and before the 28th September otherwise you will have to pay a late fee.

You can pay your fees and when the grant comes in DCU will give you a cheque for the amount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 Ballyfornia

Where did yous get the information about September 28th being the last day to pay registration fees?

An email sent to all continuing students.

Kavrocks wrote: »
    An email sent to all continuing students.

Any Idea about undergrads? When the deadline to pay registration fees are? What happens if you go in and your grant doesn't come through?

I'm not a continuing student but starting an undergrad.

In my course pack that I received it has the acedemic calendar and states as Kavrocks has said about the 28th September for both continuing and undergaduates as the last day for registration.

I was also in contact with the fees office who confirmed this.

Any Idea about undergrads? When the deadline to pay registration fees are? What happens if you go in and your grant doesn't come through?

Do you think that you won't get the grant or do you mean in relation to when you'll hear if you are eligible or not?

Any Idea about undergrads?
    I'm an undergraduate. Just because I was in college last year does not mean I'm not an undergraduate.
    When the deadline to pay registration fees are?
    Students are permitted to pay in 2 instalments, the first of €1163 which must be paid on/before Registration with the balance of €1125 to be paid on/before 18th January 2013 or alternatively you can pay in full.
    What happens if you go in and your grant doesn't come through?
    Go in where? You can't register fully until €1163 whether you get your grant or not.

PlainP wrote: »
    Do you think that you won't get the grant or do you mean in relation to when you'll hear if you are eligible or not?

I sent out the photocopy of the passport and the other forms. I'm just waiting to hear if I'm eligible. Do I have to pay the fees before hand and the grant will act as a refund or something?

Yes this is what you need to do. Try and get a loan or ask family if your sure that you will get the grant. Online registration for 1st years closes today, so if you don't use the online function you'll have to go to the fees office and get a bank giro slip to pay the money into the bank (afaik).