Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farming going forward.

• 12-09-2012 6:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

just looking for peoples different opinions on getting into farming.

I'm in my mid 20s and have spent the last couple of years after college(no interest in course i did) working crap jobs and spending time abroad. I never lost interest in farming and always tried to help out on my days off and milk when needed. Since i've come back from abroad i've not been able to get any work so i've been tipping away on the family farm, not making much money.

I've been trying to convince the father to expand from 65 cows to 90+, if possible to get an acceptable wage for me. Only investment needed i'd say is a bigger bulk tank. The farm is well laid out on 140 acres with a 60 acre out farm that rears calves to beef. Do ye think it's feasible for 2 of us to live off the land. He will probably retire in the next 7-8 years and i hope to do the green cert part time before then. I also have a younger brother studying agriculture. What would ye do in my shoes, i love the lifestyle involved but is it feasible going into the future?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 957 ✭✭✭Arrow in the Knee

Part time Green cert cost over €3000 I think last time I checked and I think thats for the 3 years 'I could be wrong'.

As for Farming going forward for you I simple don't know.
    You seem to have an experienced head on young shoulders.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11 tiger21

If himself isnt going to retire for a few yrs yet you should do the green cert full time in one of the ag colleges, you'd prob learn more and get experience working on a good farm. I think its a 2 yr course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 442 ✭✭Dont be daft

Was in a similiar position as yourself after I finished college.

I farm part-time within my family set-up. The reason why I didnt go full time was because I have an ability to earn a decent wage outside of agriculture where as my siblings didnt.
    In your case you mentioned that your younger brother is studying agriculture, so his future prospects should also be a factor.

Realistically the farm sounds to be of a decent enough size to support two incomes. But going forward, well nobody really knows.
    I've always maintained a well run one man dairy herd with no debt is more likely to be feasible than a 300 cow, 4 employee, leased farm with huge debt. How far into the future that will be the case is unclear, but remember farms can and do expand.
    Its not the farm, or the feasibility of small farms changing over time thats really the question. The question is whether you can change with the times.

There are farmers who started with an awful lot less than what you have and expanded, and there's lads that have steady incomes from small farms cos they run a tight ship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

dinnnyde1 wrote: »

just looking for peoples different opinions on getting into farming.

I'm in my mid 20s and have spent the last couple of years after college(no interest in course i did) working crap jobs and spending time abroad. I never lost interest in farming and always tried to help out on my days off and milk when needed. Since i've come back from abroad i've not been able to get any work so i've been tipping away on the family farm, not making much money.

I've been trying to convince the father to expand from 65 cows to 90+, if possible to get an acceptable wage for me. Only investment needed i'd say is a bigger bulk tank. The farm is well laid out on 140 acres with a 60 acre out farm that rears calves to beef. Do ye think it's feasible for 2 of us to live off the land. He will probably retire in the next 7-8 years and i hope to do the green cert part time before then. I also have a younger brother studying agriculture. What would ye do in my shoes, i love the lifestyle involved but is it feasible going into the future?

Oh, this sounds awkward...

First you say "I've been trying to convince the father to expand from 65 cows to 90+, if possible to get an acceptable wage for me. "
    Fair enough I guess...

Then you ask "Do ye think it's feasible for 2 of us to live off the land"
    I assume you mean your father and you.

Then you say "I also have a younger brother studying agriculture"
    Where is he in all this?
    Does your brother live at home, and work at home?
    Should the question above be "feasible for 3 to live off the land"
    What does he think of the cows going from 65 to 90?
    Have you spoken to him about his plans?

I feel for your father to be honest, I bet he thought he had a super job done - one lad (you) educated, your brother doing agriculture, so your father prob planned your brother would get the farm. (Not saying you shouldn't get anything now, but it made an easier decision for your father I imagine...)
    Now - you are back, and hinting that you want to go farming as well...
    :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,598 ✭✭✭kerryjack

Its time to sit down and have a chat with the father and younger brother , You have done the travel and the collage life which is good, no point in trying to gees what the father is thinking, draw up a plan get the figures, look into setting up a partnership between yourself and your father, and maybe your brother could take over his fathers share eventually, There is good acreage there you would want to be thinking of about 120 cows , get all the figures ,will you need more cubicles , more slurry storage look at the costs , A good 3 year plan is vital to get the numbers up to 120.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Going forward :mad: