Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Anthony Daly

• 12-09-2012 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44

Is anyone else getting a bit fed up waiting for a man who should probably be begging Dublin to stay in the position to decide whether he wants to grace us with his presence again next year.

The more I think about it the less I'm interested in having him back. He threw all his eggs in one basket this year and it was a disaster.

What's his plan for next year if he deigns to lower himself to come back to us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,248 ✭✭✭kstand

After this year one would certainly wonder if the whole set up has gone stale. What do the players think? Are they in favour of him staying on? If the players are backing him then thats a very important thing to consider.
    All right, he had a bad year but up to this year the whole thing was going great guns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

He is staying, he is just trying to put together a new backroom team at the moment and is waiting on them to confirm their availability before making the announcement, what's the big rush anyway?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,969 ✭✭✭buck65

Giving the Dubs time to raise a few bob to pay him I would imagine.

Seriously though (there are of course no payments to managers in the GAA)
    he is a good manager. Dublin did very well with him last year but I think winning a league may be as good as it gets for this side.

Don't have the quality at the moment need some players coming through which they would seem to have in the next few years.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 24,039 Mod ✭✭✭✭Clareman

As premierstone has said, he is staying on board but if looking to get some new people to join the back room team, which is the proper thing to do in my opinion, his contract isn't up either until the end of the inter-county championship so there's no rush in him announcing anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Keanes Road

He is staying, he is just trying to put together a new backroom team at the moment and is waiting on them to confirm their availability before making the announcement, what's the big rush anyway?

I would imagine he is staying put by this stage alright. If he was going he should have said so sooner and give anyone interested a chance to throw their hat in the ring and get their back room team sorted. What stage is the championship at in Dublin now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 dubliner 2

I would imagine he is staying put by this stage alright. If he was going he should have said so sooner and give anyone interested a chance to throw their hat in the ring and get their back room team sorted. What stage is the championship at in Dublin now?

Quarter Finals.

I know a few changes have been asked of him which is why I am curious. Money won't be as readily available apparently and he does have to take on a new selector.

But why not just say you're in and have done with it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,530 ✭✭✭davegrohl48

Is this not all a bit harsh on the manager solely responsible for making Dublin much more competitive? The work in the schools has been massive, but Daly has had serious input into the senior setup performing at a consistently high standard the last few years. Dublin should be begging him to stay on I would have thought, not the other way round.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 Keanes Road

Is this not all a bit harsh on the manager solely responsible for making Dublin much more competitive? The work in the schools has been massive, but Daly has had serious input into the senior setup performing at a consistently high standard the last few years. Dublin should be begging him to stay on I would have thought, not the other way round.

He certainly brought them on but it failed badly this season. It could be argued its gone a bit stale and in need of a new voice and fresh impetus. For that to happen a decision would surely have been made now by either side.
    It all points to Daly staying on for another year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 harrycarry

Its a catch 22 situation really. If he stays, lads will say he is staying too long & it will go stale.

Leave him go, and it could set the team back 4 years unless a serious replacement was found. A serious replacement for Daly would im guessing cost just as much as they are paying now.

Give the gym a rest, concentrate on the ball and Dublin will have a serious say in Leinster again next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,664 ✭✭✭sid waddell

Get rid of Daly and bring in who?

There isn't exactly a queue of top class inter county managers waiting to take the job.

Mistakes were made this year. Show me a manager that hasn't had made mistakes. Unfortunately I don't believe that Dublin's panel this year is in the top six in the country in terms of raw talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10 harrycarry

There isn't exactly a queue of top class inter county managers waiting to take the job.

Mistakes were made this year. Show me a manager that hasn't had made mistakes. Unfortunately I don't believe that Dublin's panel this year is in the top six in the country in terms of raw talent.

Spot on, that is the point that is regularly missed. Do they have the raw talent within the squad?

In years to come i think they will, but time will only tell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 780 ✭✭✭jossnjuice

Precisely the reason why Daly should stay, theres not much better around to bring in to the job in all fairness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12 corkrback

Daly should go. i mean a real manager would have won a few all irelands with dublin by now dub 2 wouldnt they.

harrycarry wrote: »
    Leave him go, and it could set the team back 4 years unless a serious replacement was found. A serious replacement for Daly would im guessing cost just as much as they are paying now.

jossnjuice wrote: »
    Precisely the reason why Daly should stay, theres not much better around to bring in to the job in all fairness.

Believe me the guy who has been lined up to replace him eventually will please you all, but yes I'd imagine it will be very expensive.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Fianna Fowl

Believe me the guy who has been lined up to replace him eventually will please you all, but yes I'd imagine it will be very expensive.

Donal o'Grady, Nicky English, Liam Sheedy or Jason Ryan otherwise i wont be pleased!:)

It is one of those four so you will be a happy man, but Im not saying anymore, I want to make my few euro when the betting is openend on this market :D I will tell ye once I have my bet on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 Va bene

Nicholas turned it down before Anthony Daly the last time.