Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The SUV compromise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

Backwards girl should HTFU and get unhitched. She should have no problem keeping up with her rather brilliant mother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Cool bike, Daily Mail commenters must be one of the least evolved subgroup of our species

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,238 ✭✭✭Junior

hardCopy wrote: »
    Cool bike, Daily Mail commenters must be one of the least evolved subgroup of our species

I dunno, have you seen thejournal.ie commenters ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Would ya look at the size of that....... Cycle lane!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

stevieob wrote: »

It's Portland, it's nirvana for cyclists or something.

I think that's a shared lane anyway, but the giant bike signs remind drivers that cyclists are allowed to be there and give them room, etc.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

stevieob wrote: »

The marking is what is called a Shared Lane Marking or "Sharrow".

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Shared_lane_marking

The idea is to remind motorists that they are sharing the road with cyclists and to encourage cyclists to take a prominent road position.

It is something we could be doing here as well since the bicycle symbol has no meaning in the traffic signs regulations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 465 ✭✭Undercover Elephant

I call shennanigans. There's no way that blonde girl is related to the other children. Maybe she got switched in one of the 3 non-home births?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

The marking is what is called a Shared Lane Marking or "Sharrow".
    Citroen's and cyclists only. :)

206kaqs.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 504 ✭✭✭LeftBlank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,573 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

none of them are wearing hi-vis :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,009 ✭✭✭✭Run_to_da_hills

none of them are wearing hi-vis :eek:

Readers Comments.
    This looks so dangerous! I'm so pleased to see penny pinching is prioritised over kids' safety !!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 14,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭monument

Backwards girl should HTFU and get unhitched. She should have no problem keeping up with her rather brilliant mother.

On a normal day backwards girl peddles, likely helping her mother push the children and more up Portland's hills.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭BofaDeezNuhtz

Feckin recessions everywhere wha :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Something's not right here: there's about 175kg of child on them bikes and she appears to be going up an incline. I've owned the same bike and after two years I found pushing the kids (who probably weighed 60kg between them) up a hill well nigh impossible.

J'accuse: EPO and steroids are involved in some way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

rflynnr wrote: »
    Something's not right here: there's about 175kg of child on them bikes and she appears to be going up an incline. I've owned the same bike and after two years I found pushing the kids (who probably weighed 60kg between them) up a hill well nigh impossible.

J'accuse: EPO and steroids are involved in some way.

Careful, you'll get banned for that kind of talk! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Something's not right here: there's about 175kg of child on them bikes and she appears to be going up an incline

Camera isn't level. Look at the corner of the house behind them.

Adjusted:

2ykhp4g.jpg

Also, the bike is pointed towards the centreline of the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,021 ✭✭✭rflynnr

Ah - still some feat, however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,221 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

Ah - still some feat, however.

Actually, the article states that the total loaded weight is 40 stone (250kg). Add 50kg for herself, and you get 300kg.

Mind you, those pedicabs you see around Dublin city centre must weigh 75kg or so, and with two well-fed American tourists plus the poor sod at the pedals the all-up weight could be over 350kg. No wonder they're so slow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,969 ✭✭✭hardCopy

Lumen wrote: »
    Actually, the article states that the total loaded weight is 40 stone (250kg). Add 50kg for herself, and you get 300kg.

Mind you, those pedicabs you see around Dublin city centre must weigh 75kg or so, and with two well-fed American tourists plus the poor sod at the pedals the all-up weight could be over 350kg. No wonder they're so slow.

We got 5 big lads into a rickshaw one night, he got us half way up Harcourt St before admitting defeat. The look on his face was hilarious when we asked him to take us, a mix of "Oh Yes! This is worth a fortune" and "Oh No, I may die!"