Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Odies first retrieve today

• 12-09-2012 2:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭

Well lads i am a beaming dog owner today was out with the 6month old bitch hunting her on rabbits when a crow flew over and was nailed, she marked the bird and ran out, was a little bit baffled as i was to see what she would do, but instinct kicked in and she picked the bird straight back to my feet.....DELIGHTED. 1st bird she ever saw nailed, The video posted obviously wasnt the first retrieve but i put her on the lead and a friend threw the crow out and i let her off just to let ye see. Also retrieved a live Grey backed one also soon after.

Tagged:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Very good thats a fine Dog you have there best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

She's well able to run aswell.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 211 ✭✭Maggie 2

Thank you for sharing that with us. It brought a lump to my throat, as my late father had a bitch just like that, called Curley.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 241 ✭✭Brazzill

Maggie 2 wrote: »
    Thank you for sharing that with us. It brought a lump to my throat, as my late father had a bitch just like that, called Curley.

Not a bother.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

happy days well done she is a georgous looking bitch keep em coming ya should start a thread and post all her progressions and setbacks be very helpfull aswell

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

true snipe02 good idea ,i seen this bitch and for her age she is going places believe me ,:)

Just a quick update on my springer getting strong and steady. 18 months now going well cant fault her yet(my opinion) just hope my younger springer turns out to be half the bitch this one is!

null_zps3a95233e.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

Brazzill wrote: »
    Well lads i am a beaming dog owner today was out with the 6month old bitch hunting her on rabbits when a crow flew over and was nailed, she marked the bird and ran out, was a little bit baffled as i was to see what she would do, but instinct kicked in and she picked the bird straight back to my feet.....DELIGHTED. 1st bird she ever saw nailed, The video posted obviously wasnt the first retrieve but i put her on the lead and a friend threw the crow out and i let her off just to let ye see. Also retrieved a live Grey backed one also soon after.

Nice one well done, best of luck, nicely marked bitch

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

i can vouch for that 18 month old bitch she has an excellent nose and savage bitch to trail a bird,not afraid of cover and well able to use her head,also this bitch can hunt snipe better than any pointing dog and i shot many a good double over her

sound lad

Quick video of her i took last month stopping to whistle on retrieve. hopefully i can move it onto her for when a rabbit bolts....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

Quick video of her i took last month stopping to whistle on retrieve. hopefully i can move it onto her for when a rabbit bolts....

Nice bitch , seems to be going well for ya, what sort of lines she got

TriggerPL wrote: »
    Nice bitch , seems to be going well for ya, what sort of lines she got

i'm not sure to be honest lad, have no papers for her but my cousin has both parents and he said he would find out for me but lad he has a head like a siv! have a cool video here now uploading it there just back from a walk with the springers. she trails and flushs nice cock and a different video of her tipping cover for a bit without me telling her anything. will upload it there now will take a bit dho.

Odie doing her own thing with no pressure from me atal! makes a days huntng way better when she uses her head without me telling her get in or inside all the time. a pleasure and long may it continue.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32 ByeByeGTI

Just reading this thread, cant believe what i'm seeing.

Hunting pheasants out of season! easily know you don't give a **** about breeding birds in your area.

ByeByeGTI wrote: »
    Just reading this thread, cant believe what i'm seeing.

Hunting pheasants out of season! easily know you don't give a **** about breeding birds in your area.

Hi lad keep your nose out if you have nothing good to say. As I said I was out walking my 2 springers and I normally work them ditches you see there for rabbits 2/3 times a week! It's over grown now so wasnt hunting rabbits just went for a walk, I have 2 young springers and will work these 2 fields in the summer time as much as I like lad, the more time out with them the better. And I didn't intentionally head out to find a pheasant, they normally don't come near the housing estate anyway. The next day lad before I will head out I will sit down with my 2 springers and ask them not to hunt a pheasant! Plenty of pheasants around this area lad 2 fields shouldn't make a bit of a difference.

don't be telling me what i can and cant say lad, ill say what i like lad:cool:
    you put a picture up in the photo thread saying you flushed two cocks and a hen and you knew your dog was on them thats four birds you disturbed surely if you had any cop on you wouldn't be running your dogs during the breeding period.

you put a picture up in the photo thread saying you flushed two cocks and a hen and you knew your dog was on them thats four birds you disturbed surely if you had any cop on you wouldn't be running your dogs during the breeding

I'm not even going entertain a fella like you. It's not all bout the hunting season atal, it's about the dogs as well.

you put a picture up in the photo thread saying you flushed two cocks and a hen and you knew your dog was on them thats four birds you disturbed surely if you had any cop on you wouldn't be running your dogs during the breeding

I'm not even going entertain a fella like you. It's not all bout the hunting season atal, it's about the dogs as well.

well its obvious its not all about the hunting season to you.
    their is plenty of other things you could be doing with your dogs in the off season. even for a fully trained dog if their is such a dog? their is plenty of work can be done out of the field.

well its obvious its not all about the hunting season to you.
    their is plenty of other things you could be doing with your dogs in the off season. even for a fully trained dog if their is such a dog? their is plenty of work can be done out of the field.

Thanks for that ;)