Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Tractor power

• 11-09-2012 5:27pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16

Looking for a tractor to move silage bales. Will be using a low loader should carry around 16 bales, what sort of power would I need, am looking at 100hp but iam worried that it will be under to much pressure, will be traveling around 20 miles with a bitch of a long (3miles) hill with bales on. Any makes in mind. Looking at New Holland Case Valmet JD.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

100hp should be fine but may struggle with the hill.

120hp may be much better. :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

FishhookKY wrote: »
    Looking for a tractor to move silage bales. Will be using a low loader should carry around 16 bales, what sort of power would I need, am looking at 100hp but iam worried that it will be under to much pressure, will be traveling around 20 miles with a bitch of a long (3miles) hill with bales on. Any makes in mind. Looking at New Holland Case Valmet JD.

100hp would be grand id say,alot gears down to 1st :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Juniorhurler

100 hp would be grand. I drew 14 wet silage bales home before with a ford 4000. She was under pressure and it is not a pleasant drive but she is little more than half of 100 hp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 FishhookKY

nashmach wrote: »
    100hp should be fine but may struggle with the hill.

120hp may be much better. :o
    Thanks all
    What make should I go for
    And wide Tyres yes no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 stevenkn

whats your price range

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Fat Cant

Looking for a tractor to move silage bales. Will be using a low loader should carry around 16 bales, what sort of power would I need, am looking at 100hp but iam worried that it will be under to much pressure, will be traveling around 20 miles with a bitch of a long (3miles) hill with bales on. Any makes in mind. Looking at New Holland Case Valmet JD.[/Quote
    How much do you think you will be pulling weight wise ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭nashmach

100 hp would be grand. I drew 14 wet silage bales home before with a ford 4000. She was under pressure and it is not a pleasant drive but she is little more than half of 100 hp.

Have done 11 with a Ford 3600 :eek: and still do regularly but wouldn't want to be on a road.

It really depends on the hill involved and indeed the OP's budget.

fiat new holland 110 90

absalute beast :D or massey 6190 pull like a train

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭Conor556

Thanks all
    What make should I go for
    And wide Tyres yes no?

Maybe a New Holland TS115 or something like that

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,329 ✭✭✭redzerologhlen

stevenkn wrote: »
    fiat new holland 110 90

absalute beast :D or massey 6190 pull like a train

I have had our 100-90 on a 12t dump trailer a good few times and for a tractor that is supposed to be 100hp it an animal of a yoke to pull, awkward in other aspects but for sheer pulling power they are hard beat. I always had a soft spot for a 6410 premium deere with tls too, hard got with it though. Its all down to the budget really.

true 100 90/110 90 an animal of a machine

i have 2 new hollands 110 90 both with 40k boxes

had them since new 2003 pulls 120 ton machine with ease

sheer bruth power :D straght through pipe lovely sound ;)

whats your price range
    Hoping to get someting for under 20K

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,079 ✭✭✭grazeaway

thats a fair lenght of a draw, how often are you planning on doing it. I assume you are lookign at putting a loader on the tractor as well. If so then this would need to be factored in too. What other work do you planned for it? ploughing, slurry, silage etc. it'll need to be able to do all the other stuff too.

that said there is better value on the bigger tractors (125hp and up) at the mo. but you dont need a 125hp beast for topping or general yard work.

have drawen 15 chopped bales with good heavy bale trailer on the 7610 a few times will pull it away fine but can get a bit twichty with all the weight behind even with trailer brakes.

with a budget of 20k you should be able to get something good and decent

grazeaway wrote: »
    thats a fair lenght of a draw, how often are you planning on doing it. I assume you are lookign at putting a loader on the tractor as well. If so then this would need to be factored in too. What other work do you planned for it? ploughing, slurry, silage etc. it'll need to be able to do all the other stuff too.

that said there is better value on the bigger tractors (125hp and up) at the mo. but you dont need a 125hp beast for topping or general yard work.

have drawen 15 chopped bales with good heavy bale trailer on the 7610 a few times will pull it away fine but can get a bit twichty with all the weight behind even with trailer brakes.

Yea 125hp plus seams to be better value,
    But what about fuleing and tyering these beasts, would they be more costly.
    And going topping big tractor.
    Have a quad for all fert spreading.
    What would ye go for was told keep away from JD and Case, then again was told to keep away from almost every type tractor some time or another!!!!!

Fat Cant wrote: »
    Looking for a tractor to move silage bales. Will be using a low loader should carry around 16 bales, what sort of power would I need, am looking at 100hp but iam worried that it will be under to much pressure, will be traveling around 20 miles with a bitch of a long (3miles) hill with bales on. Any makes in mind. Looking at New Holland Case Valmet JD.[/Quote
    How much do you think you will be pulling weight wise ?
    This years bales could be pulling 10 ton plus low loader.

tyres and juice would pretty much depend on what your doing with them.
    was getting tyres for the car the other day and there was a new set ready to go on a big john deere price was 7k. that said it was on a tractor that was doing a lot of road work and had about 8000hr on the clock.

juice wise again depends on what your doing a smaller tractor would burn a huge amount if it under pressure but a bigger one wont. different of course if it only ticking over in the yard. id say a 125hp would burn less then a 100hp on that silage draw but again depends on how often you do it and what other work there is for the tractor.

another solution is would it make more sense to hire a fella to do the draw if your only doing a few draws a year. 20k would pay for a lot draws??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

i have a 100hp turbo and it will pull a 2.5t trailer (single axel super single) cut down lorry and 10t of gravel no problem.

I think your problem is making sure u can stop the load. 10T can be heavy especially when the push comes on going down a hill on a narrow road and a car coming . So a tractor with a trailer brake connection and brakes on the trailer should be high up the order.

tyres and juice would pretty much depend on what your doing with them.
    was getting tyres for the car the other day and there was a new set ready to go on a big john deere price was 7k. that said it was on a tractor that was doing a lot of road work and had about 8000hr on the clock.

juice wise again depends on what your doing a smaller tractor would burn a huge amount if it under pressure but a bigger one wont. different of course if it only ticking over in the yard. id say a 125hp would burn less then a 100hp on that silage draw but again depends on how often you do it and what other work there is for the tractor.

another solution is would it make more sense to hire a fella to do the draw if your only doing a few draws a year. 20k would pay for a lot draws??

Have been hiring a fella last few years it's working out at around €8 a bale, leaving my silage around €22.have to change tractor now 4 wheel drive gone on my 6600 four, not worth fixing. Was thinking of going for a bigger tractor and doing the job myself.

What would ye go for was told keep away from JD and Case, then again was told to keep away from almost every type tractor some time or another!!!!!

would you consider a massey 6160

very good tractor at a good price

or my personal faverote fiat new holland 110 90

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,217 ✭✭✭Viewtodiefor

Have jd 6320 se bought new in 08 hasn't given an ounce of bother so far. Touch wood!
    Id say 100hp would be fine for what you are doing but depends what you like yourself, would you like a bigger tractor? Like most lads said here a fiat/ new holland 100-90 r 110-90 are pretty bullet proof and great to pull n are a good heavy tractor, they do have one design flaw and it is a weakness in the clutch but is easy to replace and I'd buy one in d morning if I was in d market for such a tractor. Valtra are pretty good too. Neighbour has two of em n they seem like a solid enough machine.
    Hell of a lot of cash to splash out on a tractor if all you will do with it is draw a few bales once r twice a year! There is a clean looking jd3050 with a loader on done deal for ten grand

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

would you consider a massey 6190

Steer clear of 61xx
    From someone who has a mf6140.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,422 ✭✭✭just do it

Have been hiring a fella last few years it's working out at around €8 a bale, leaving my silage around €22.have to change tractor now 4 wheel drive gone on my 6600 four, not worth fixing. Was thinking of going for a bigger tractor and doing the job myself.
    Would you consider selling the silage from the field 20 miles away and buying a field of silage closer to home? Save a lot of time and money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 convoy

Just to put a spanner in it,I draw 14 bales on a double axle loader with a jx90,good brakes on the trailer and your fine,plus have a quickie loader on it,its very light at the rear so care needed when loading.

convoy wrote: »
    Just to put a spanner in it,I draw 14 bales on a double axle loader with a jx90,good brakes on the trailer and your fine,plus have a quickie loader on it,its very light at the rear so care needed when loading.

thats a good piont. the bigger tractors dont need to add on extra ballast on the back when loading the bales (unlike smaller tractors). would make it a lot easier for loading and less wear on the front axel. and you wont need to bring a weight box with you (espically if the bales are on soft ground).

just do it wrote: »
    Would you consider selling the silage from the field 20 miles away and buying a field of silage closer to home? Save a lot of time and money.

Good land hard to come by near me.
    Making crazy money