Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shed Designs for Maximum Bike Storage

• 11-09-2012 8:20am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭

I'm about to build a shed. I've 3 bikes to store in it with probably more come later. What is the most efficient way of bike storage? The shed isn't built yet.

I was thinking that hanging from the roof might allow extra space.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

I use hooks screwed into the shed roof, they are in the shape of a large question mark ? upside down I hang the bikes by the front wheel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

As deandean says you need to hang the bikes vertically to make the best use of the space. You would need a very high ceiling to have clearance to suspend a bike horizontally (I've tried it!). I use these hooks from Chainreaction which I find work really well!

http://www.chainreactioncycles.com/Models.aspx?ModelID=10230

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,333 ✭✭✭72hundred

Cheers that's perfect. I think I'll go with that for the easiest option

The other thing I was thinking, but not as efficient, was to leave two bike on the ground on the left and right as you walk in and have two more suspended over them via something like this pulley systems that I saw just now on youtube.... http://www.amazon.com/Racor-PBH-1R-Ceiling-Mounted-Bike-Lift/dp/B00006JBL3

But the hook idea is much simpler!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,794 ✭✭✭C3PO

72hundred wrote: »

The other thing I was thinking, but not as efficient, was to leave two bike on the ground on the left and right as you walk in and have two more suspended over them via something like this pulley systems that I saw just now on youtube.... http://www.amazon.com/Racor-PBH-1R-Ceiling-Mounted-Bike-Lift/dp/B00006JBL3

Those yokes are really neat but you need more than 10-12 feet in ceiling height to be able to walk under a bike!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

I use the bracket below from bbb for hanging the bikes on the wall in my shed with no problems. Have 8 bikes hanging at the moment but its a big shed.

bbb-btl-19-med.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 197 ✭✭Mcofferon

Shed seems very posh

I have to make do with the downstairs Jacks

2f100b4d.jpg

And in close up...

83c877a6.jpg

And yes, I'm hoping a pair of proper pedals are hiding under the tree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Highway_To_Hell

72hundred wrote: »

I had one of these in the Garage and while height is required they are better suited to long term storage like putting the bike away for winter. I found it tough enough to pull the bike up and down single handed so I ended up not using it. I have used the wall mounts for the kids bikes and find them great.

HTH

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,460 ✭✭✭lennymc

op - go the whole hog and buy the biggest shed you can.

DSC_0136.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Man sheds rock!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭merc230ce

That photo needs a caption! Tell us their names, left-to-right please!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭fat bloke

I use those hooks as well, but not with posh wheels.

Our shed has a supporting bar going from one wall to the other and I've taken to just hanging bikes off it via the saddle. It works really well, the natural pivot point of the saddle suspends them very nicely and safely, I just have a towel across the shed bar so as not the scratch seatposts etc. It's also handy for oiling chains or adjusting rear derailleur etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

merc230ce wrote: »
    That photo needs a caption!

New Series of 'Drogheda Cribs' Fails to Live Up to Expectations

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,575 ✭✭✭Indricotherium

lennymc wrote: »

DSC_0136.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Man sheds rock!!

Does that setup not ruin the forks on the mountain bikes?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭RidleyRider

DSC_0136.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Man sheds rock!!

Complete with tv... I salute you sir:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭AverageJoe82

Use Google imagines and type in Man Sheds, some serious Man sheds in there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭merc230ce

Mcofferon wrote: »
    Shed seems very posh

I have to make do with the downstairs Jacks

2f100b4d.jpg
    I will also be using my downstairs jacks - I have a bracket on the way from Wiggle to hang my bike (horizontally from the top tube) so I've no problem with the basic idea, but GOOD LORD MAN - the Christmas tree?? Seriously?! You could do horrendous damage to yourself staggering in for a post-pub pitstop before tackling the stairs on the way to bed ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭sled driver

DSC_0136.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Man sheds rock!!

Outstanding lennymc. May I suggest a little bar counter for the other side, just to complete the man shed

Cycling-Bar-Stool,X-D-286321-13.jpg

merc230ce wrote: »
    I will also be using my downstairs jacks - I have a bracket on the way from Wiggle to hang my bike (horizontally from the top tube) so I've no problem with the basic idea, but GOOD LORD MAN - the Christmas tree?? Seriously?! You could do horrendous damage to yourself staggering in for a post-pub pitstop before tackling the stairs on the way to bed ;-)

It would have to be one hell of a pub as that's the Jacks at work :)

I have taken the precaution of unplugging the Christmas lights though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,830 ✭✭✭doozerie

DSC_0136.jpg

DSC_0117.jpg

Man sheds rock!!

It looks like your man shed mated with its sister shed beside it and produced an odd looking pergola with seven fingers and some leftover bits. Very rural :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 492 ✭✭seven stars

I'm currently lobbying for a new shed. Can't see herself signing off on anything remotely close to what lennymc posted, but I might get a moderately-sized steel shed. Has anyone put in a decent bike storage system into one of those?

I'd hate to invest and then find out that they're far from ideal for putting up wall mounts or whatever.