Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting train/bus in evening from Dublin-Maynooth

• 09-09-2012 7:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭

I'm starting a new part-time job in Dublin soon, and I'll be getting either the bus or the train home at around 8 or 9 in the evenings from O'Connell Bridge around that area out to Maynooth, or the train.

I'm just wondering if Dublin is safe at night (evenings will be getting darker, 8PM will seem more like night time then) for a girl walking on her own to the bus from Henry Street? Would I be better off getting the train or which would be the better option? Would there be many people walking to O'Connell Bridge/Connelly at this time?

Thanks in advance for any advice :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 598 ✭✭✭stehyl15

probably take the 7:53 67 bus would leave at o'connell bridge at around 8:43 i would say the bus would be a better bet as you would have to change for a 145, 90 busses or a luas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭bg07

stehyl15 wrote: »
    probably take the 7:53 67 bus would leave at o'connell bridge at around 8:43 i would say the bus would be a better bet as you would have to change for a 145, 90 busses or a luas.
    You're thinking of celbridge where the train leaves from hueston. You can get a train direct to maynooth train from pearse, Tara street or Connolly stations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭Wote

Tara Street station is an option, there's a direct train at 19:43 or 20:10. No changes necessary and takes 44 minutes to Maynooth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,016 ✭✭✭thomasj

Yep, forget about going near hazelhatch/celbridge
    Completely pointless, considering you have the maynooth station where trains take you straight into the heart of the city! (Connolly, Tara street, pearse)

Trains home at night are generally hourly there is trains at around 8.05, 9.10 or 10.10, from tara street they'll have you home in maynooth in aroundabout 45 minutes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,606 ✭✭✭schemingbohemia

Safety wise, you will, generally, be safe on either mode. Either option should have other passengers on board and walking from Henry Street to either bus or train is safe as long as you take normal precautions ie don't look like you're scared, don't walk around with phone in your hand (some instances of guys on bikes robbing iphones/sg3s etc) and look like you know where you're going.

Dublin is generally a very safe city.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 367 ✭✭The Idyll Race

stehyl15 wrote: »

Unless you are an absolute glutton for punishment do not under any circumstances take the 67 from Town to Maynooth unless you want to have a hour and a quarter of your life vanished down a plughole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Don't get the 67 to Maynooth. If you must get a bus get the 66 instead. But the train is the best option. Unfortunately that time of the evening they're no more frequent than once an hour, so if you miss your train you'll have quite a wait.

I think that Connolly Stn is probably closer to Henry St than Tara St Stn.

n97 mini wrote: »
    Don't get the 67 to Maynooth. If you must get a bus get the 66 instead. But the train is the best option. Unfortunately that time of the evening they're no more frequent than once an hour, so if you miss your train you'll have quite a wait.

I think that Connolly Stn is probably closer to Henry St than Tara St Stn.

Tara is definitely closer than Connolly especially when you factor in the walk to the platforms.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭bleuhh

Thanks very much everybody for the advise! Much appreciated. Yeah, I think the train is my best bet and I'm used to getting that back to Maynooth, just not at night time. Is Tara St station safe? Would it be safer than Connolly? I've heard a that Connolly isn't that safe at night. Hopefully there will be some people going to the train or bus at that time from work so that I won't be walking on my own. But yeah, I'm sure if I'm not flaunting all my belongings I should be okay!

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 23,458 Mod ✭✭✭✭bk

Both Tara St and Connolly can be a bit dodgy. Tara St because I believe there is a methadone clinic nearby so you have some drug users around.

Connolly no better as it is on the end of Abbey St, the street with the highest crime rate in Ireland.

However having said that, once your in the stations it is no problem, they are full of security, staff, Gardai, other travellers and brightly lit.

I would say use Tara St as you spend less time passing the dodgy part and into the station quicker. Also there will be lots of other travellers doing the same.

Make sure you have you ticket beforehand and topped-up (leap card, etc.), so you don't have to stop and spend time at the ticket machines where you might get bothered by beggars.

To be honest while it is go to be concerned about your safety and to watch your surroundings, I think you are a little too concerned. It really isn't that bad or that unsafe. These are really busy and well lit areas, with literally thousands of people passing by at all hours of the day.

The worst that might happen is someone might try to snatch an iphone in your hand or a bag. Mostly it is just beggars who can be annoying. Don't be too scared, don't live your life in fear.

Why frighten the girl? She's asking about using the Dart/Bus in the evening, the methadone clinic near Tara St operates in the morning, there won't be junkies waiting around in the evening for a clinic that isn't open!

Never seen any hassles at either Tara or Connolly, there are usually STT security guys at both in the evenings. From Henry St, stroll over the bridge then along the South Quays to Tara Street as these are busier areas.

The main thing is not to worry but to be aware.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,295 ✭✭✭n97 mini

Never seen any hassles at either Tara or Connolly, there are usually STT security guys at both in the evenings.
    There is frequently a bit of activity on the Luas platform at Connolly. I've seen bumfights, and most recently groups of men knacker drinking cider and people pimping strip clubs. STT don't seem bothered by what happens down at the Luas.

It doesn't bother me, but I would say Tara's a lot quieter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭bleuhh

Thanks a lot everyone, I really appreciate the advice and I feel so much better about the whole thing now. Tara St station sounds the best to me, not a lover of Talbot St. to be honest! Haven't got a train from Tara St. before but had a look at it on Google street view there and it's in a grand spot to get to. You've made me feel a lot better, thanks Boardsies! :-)