Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paralympics Closing Ceremony - Channel 4: 7pm

• 09-09-2012 7:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭

Should be good*

*except for Coldplay

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

At least the Athletes are in the Stadium before it starts. That will speed it up a bit.

While we are waiting for things to get going, here was one of my favourite Paralympic moments ...

Someone has been watching The Simpsons ...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,283 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

A guy at my cousin's wedding took part in the Olympics Opening Ceremony - simply getting into a black taxicab dressed in a suit made of newspaper...SIX MONTHS of rehearsals!!

Michael McKillop winning an award there, good to see.

A guy at my cousin's wedding took part in the Olympics Opening Ceremony - simply getting into a black taxicab dressed in a suit made of newspaper...SIX MONTHS of rehearsals!!

Just as well he didn't have a bigger role in the Ceremony ... seeing as it took him Six Months to master getting into a car.

Zzzzz

There's whatshernames Son from Fair City playing the Drums, your man with no arms.

Jay-Z and Rihanna are also rumoured to be performing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Jesus Megaman, you've up to more openings and closings than Bertie Ahern..

Should this thing not just have para-musicians ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,585 ✭✭✭✭Lady Chatterton

Skid wrote: »
    There's whatshernames Son from Fair City playing the Drums, your man with no arms.
    Mat Fraser

_40132016_matfraser1_203x250.jpg

Why aren't Def Leppard playing?, they would tick the 'Para' box (and be a lot more lively than Coldplay)

MrsD007 wrote: »
    Mat Fraser

_40132016_matfraser1_203x250.jpg

Thanks, That's him alright. He was giving it socks on the drums with Coldplay earlier.

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

I spotted him too in the Sports forum...;)

Can someone please tell Coldplay its not all about them FFS its getting ridiculous...

Thank god for David Guetta!!!!

Imagine if Rihanna fell, and got injured really badly, but returned in the next Paralympics. As an Athlete.

Can someone please tell Coldplay its not all about them FFS its getting ridiculous...

Yeah, this is just a full Coldplay Live Concert with a few token Disabled dancers. Not really appropriate for the Paralympic Closing Ceremony.

Thank feck for that...

Sounds like the old theme to Emmerdale Farm in parts.

Boris will try to keep the flag

Didn't your mama tell you it's rude to snatch, Rio Mayor?

Brazil will be busy for the next few years - World Cup 2014 and Olympics in 2016. Pele will clean up from endorsements.

Thanks, That's him alright. He was giving it socks on the drums with Coldplay earlier.

Out drumming while Suzanne is raising his child.. (the b*ll*x :mad: )

All very nice, but will Rio have Del Boy and Rodney emerge from an exploding Robin Reliant? Didn't think so.

Out drumming while Suzanne is raising his child.. (the b*ll*x :mad: )

Yeah, didn't he say he was off working for the UN or something. I hope they all saw him tonight.

Seb Coe is brilliant. He is already Lord Coe, I don't know what they can give him in the next honours list. Pippa Middleton, maybe?

ohnoyoudidnt.gif

*gives myself pat on back*

Self praise is no praise, and all that :)

You know those Welsh lads Skid, a bit full of themselves... megaman might need a good talking to from Newstalk's Ken Burley... :D

megaman might need a good talking to from Newstalk's Ken Burley... :D

LoL, I love Ken Burley. One of the highlights of every Ireland v Wales game for me.

London Firework Sellers will never have it so good again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭srm23

thank god its finally over, we don't have to be PC about these people anymore.

the best bit of the whole thing was coldplay and rihanna which speaks volumes.

srm23 wrote: »

Yeah, this really annoyed me as well... After every news bulletin.. "Oh it's been another great day today Tom, hasnt it", before Tom comes on and tells us how many medals the country won that particular day... It's as if some Nazi Para Party were monitoring the airwaves to ensure enough interest (whether genuine or feigned) had been given to the Paralympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭Playboy

Was there last night and it was an excellent show. Coldplay were brilliant live and I'm not really a fan of theirs. Some of the set pieces were amazing to see up close.

Sad that the Olympics are now over. Was a brilliant few weeks in London... tickets for both the Olympics and the Paralympics were very very difficult to come by but thats a testament to how the city embraced the games. It created a brilliant buzz in the city and its the best time I have had in the 6 years or so I have lived here.

LoL, I love Ken Burley. One of the highlights of every Ireland v Wales game for me.

Legend..! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 55,571 ✭✭✭✭Mr E

srm23 wrote: »

the best bit of the whole thing was coldplay and rihanna which speaks volumes.
    Yeah, this really annoyed me as well... After every news bulletin.. "Oh it's been another great day today Tom, hasnt it", before Tom comes on and tells us how many medals the country won that particular day... It's as if some Nazi Para Party were monitoring the airwaves to ensure enough interest (whether genuine or feigned) had been given to the Paralympics.

Are you guys for real? 'These people' have done us proud, and are a credit to our country.

Jesus Megaman, you've up to more openings and closings than Bertie Ahern..

A-a-a-t the outset, I-i-i-i w-w-would like t-to m-m-make it quite clear that a-a-a-at no time h-have I-i-i-i e-ever a-a-a-acted in a corrupt m-m-manner on b-b-boards.ie

Mr E wrote: »
    Are you guys for real? 'These people' have done us proud, and are a credit to our country.

I have a lot of respect for the people, but I dont understand why there has been this implication that we (the general sports watchers :D) havent been taking the paralympics seriously up to now, and that it's about time we did...

But (to take one example) I cant take Jason Smyth's events seriously... If the guy can run 0.04 off the A standard for the Olympics, then he really isnt hugely inhibited by his sight problems in this event... And being a white athlete (and not having those fast twitch fibres that black athletes have), he probably wouldnt be able to run much faster if his vision was perfect... Fair enough if he was doing the pole vault or something...

That's not to take anything from the guy himself, he's a great athlete.

I have a lot of respect for the people, but I dont understand why there has been this implication that we (the general sports watchers :D) havent been taking the paralympics seriously up to now, and that it's about time we did...

But (to take one example) I cant take Jason Smyth's events seriously... If the guy can run 0.04 off the A standard for the Olympics, then he really isnt hugely inhibited by his sight problems in this event... And being a white athlete (and not having those fast twitch fibres that black athletes have), he probably wouldnt be able to run much faster if his vision was perfect... Fair enough if he was doing the pole vault or something...

That's not to take anything from the guy himself, he's a great athlete.

Strange reasoning to say the least...