Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Insurance Question

• 09-09-2012 3:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭

Hey all. Im going to look at a car in a couple hours. My problem is if i buy it how will i put my insurance on it seen as the insurance companies phone lines isnt open. Im having problems with my online log in to change it over and it will not work atall. is there any number or anything i could ring? its liberty insurance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 143 ✭✭michelleling

Hey all. Im going to look at a car in a couple hours. My problem is if i buy it how will i put my insurance on it seen as the insurance companies phone lines isnt open. Im having problems with my online log in to change it over and it will not work atall. is there any number or anything i could ring? its liberty insurance.

You can try to put the insurance disk display but it is Illegal tho. You really must contact your insurance company to change your insurance status which is ideal.

You may display your insurance disk, and if stopped by a Gardai you can try and explain. Some Guards may understand and let you go, whilst some wouldnt give a sh*t and give you a fine.

Hope that answers your question

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

Has the car got a valid NCT ? Are you the policy holder ? If yes to both and once its not in your name, you can drive it 3rd party back to your house.

Not sure what way it will work if you just bought it as it is yours just not in your name yet.

Or you could just wait till tomorrow !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

You can try to put the insurance disk display but it is Illegal tho. You really must contact your insurance company to change your insurance status which is ideal.

You may display your insurance disk, and if stopped by a Gardai you can try and explain. Some Guards may understand and let you go, whilst some wouldnt give a sh*t and give you a fine.

A fine?

Im sure they would be banned from driving?

• Site Banned Posts: 957 ✭✭✭leeomurchu

You could take out an online quote which will be active in an hour or so and then cancel it Monday morning :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

Some Gardai may understand what? The new car is not insured; you may as well put a beermat on the windscreen as it would be as legal as taking the disc from another car without the policy having been changed over!

OP you may be able to drive the car 3rd party on your current insurance as the car will not have been changed over into your name from the original owner yet. Youd need to confirm this though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭msg11

djimi wrote: »
    OP you may be able to drive the car 3rd party on your current insurance as the car will not have been changed over into your name from the original owner yet. Youd need to confirm this though.

Just tell the buyer to hold out a day before sending any documents off with regards ownership, ask the seller to do the final part of the sale tomorrow ie documents. The buyer gives him cash, seller gives him a lend of car for the night. All would be legal, that's the only way I can think of it working or just wait till tomorrow.

Usually if the online thing won't let you change it there is an issue with them giving out insurance as the car might be too big for the driver etc.. That's from my experience.

DylanII wrote: »
    A fine?

Im sure they would be banned from driving?

Haha, I dont think that is the case because he has an insurance. It may be the case for people that dont have insurance at all.

I think its 60% possible for him to drive the Car if it has NCT

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

If you have open driving on your policy, you might be ok as the new car is not yet in your name. This might cover you for third party driving only. Check terms and conditions, you might be able to email them to get covered, but then the insurance company is the formewr quinn insurance, so maybe not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

AFAIK you have roughly a week to get your papers in order from a guards point of view, I got stopped in a car I'd bought a few days earlier with 0 disks and I was just asked to produce documentation in local station when I recived it.

Haha, I dont think that is the case because he has an insurance. It may be the case for people that dont have insurance at all.

I think its 60% possible for him to drive the Car if it has NCT

It doesnt matter if he has insurance policies on 100 other cars; if this car doesnt have insurance in his name then it is not insured. The other policy does not make a blind bit of difference in that regard.

The only way the other insurance policy comes into play is if it has an extension allowing the OP to drive other cars on 3rd party cover. If the existing policy does not have this extension or the car in question falls outside the limits of the 3rd party cover then the current policy is irrelevant.

Marsden wrote: »
    AFAIK you have roughly a week to get your papers in order from a guards point of view, I got stopped in a car I'd bought a few days earlier with 0 disks and I was just asked to produce documentation in local station when I recived it.

That only applies where the car is actually covered by insurance. If the OP had a crash on the way home tonight then their insurance would rightly deny all knowledge of the cars existance.

If you have open driving on your policy, you might be ok as the new car is not yet in your name. This might cover you for third party driving only. Check terms and conditions, you might be able to email them to get covered, but then the insurance company is the formewr quinn insurance, so maybe not.

Just to clarify, open driving relates to who can drive your car, not what other cars you can drive. Its 3rd party driving of other cars extension that you need on the policy, not open driving.

It doesnt matter if he has insurance policies on 100 other cars; if this car doesnt have insurance in his name then it is not insured. The other policy does not make a blind bit of difference in that regard.

The only way the other insurance policy comes into play is if it has an extension allowing the OP to drive other cars on 3rd party cover. If the existing policy does not have this extension or the car in question falls outside the limits of the 3rd party cover then the current policy is irrelevant.

That was the point that I was trying to make. He can drive the car depending on his insurance. He can as well risk driving it, and pay a fine if get caught as it is illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭OldmanMondeo

Just to clarify, open driving relates to who can drive your car, not what other cars you can drive. Its 3rd party driving of other cars extension that you need on the policy, not open driving.

Cheers for that correction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66 ✭✭johnbobtheslob

Thanks for the replies everyone. Yes i do have open insurance. So if i tell the seller to sed the tax book off tommorow evening or something , then i'l have 3rd party cover? Insurance companies should have a 24 hour phone line tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,416 ✭✭✭Maldesu

Thanks for the replies everyone. Yes i do have open insurance. So if i tell the seller to sed the tax book off tommorow evening or something , then i'l have 3rd party cover? Insurance companies should have a 24 hour phone line tbh.

You try their claims number to see if someone there can do it?

You re right. They should have 24/7 phone line for emergencies in regards to insurance policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 673 ✭✭✭Marsden

That only applies where the car is actually covered by insurance. If the OP had a crash on the way home tonight then their insurance would rightly deny all knowledge of the cars existance.

Your dead right they would, they try to avoid paying out on cars they do cover, the weeks grace would just be if your stopped at a checkpoint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭DylanII

That was the point that I was trying to make. He can drive the car depending on his insurance. He can as well risk driving it, and pay a fine if get caught as it is illegal.

No he wont. If the car is not insured then he will not get a fine. He will get a ban.

A judge or garda wont give a **** if your insured in another car.

If he is covered then he wont be in trouble. No mater what, it wont just be a fine.

edit: Just checked. The judge has the option to decide to just give you a fine, but I have never heard of someone who is charged with driving without insurance not getting a ban.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Why not take someone else with you who is covered (under their own policy) to drive the car home for you? Regardless of whether the cars in your name or the sellers, your designated driver will still be covered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭readytosnap

buy the car tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

buy the car tomorrow

Sometimes it suits people better to buy at the weekends, work commitments or whatever.

I wouldn't take a days holidays just to collect a car if I could avoid it.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

I called my insurance company with the same question last week. Their easy solution was to email them with the make, model, reg, purchase date, time, colour of car etc on their support address. It's on their system then, even if not actually changed over.

It is advisable then to call on monday to check if there are any price changes / confirm details etc.

Ideally you would have called during the week to confirm how to do it!

DylanII wrote: »
    No he wont. If the car is not insured then he will not get a fine. He will get a ban.

A judge or garda wont give a **** if your insured in another car.

If he is covered then he wont be in trouble. No mater what, it wont just be a fine.

edit: Just checked. The judge has the option to decide to just give you a fine, but I have never heard of someone who is charged with driving without insurance not getting a ban.

It all depends on individually cases. People automatically get a ban if they dont have insurance at all. And most people that drive without insurance do not have an insurance at all.

In this case, the individually :may: be spared by the judge since he has an insurance and that can somehow covers the road drivers if he happens to have an accident or something

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Once money changes hands you're the legal owner, registered or not.